Rate based on Check-in: May 11, 2014 Check-out: May 12, 2014

Affinia Dumont

4 stars
150 East 34th Street, New York, NY 10016
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.3
out of 5
152 reviews
Relaxin wonderful stay

Love the Affinia Dumont !! Our stay was quiet and relaxing. Beds are soo comfy. Would love to stay... See full review

  • Mary Ann y town m
  • Feb 23, 2014
great

great no problems had a nice trip good good good!! See full review

  • jane1111111
  • Sep 25, 2013
Suites, spa and fun amenities near the Empire State Building
Service is the name of the game at the Affinia Dumont, a boutique-style property in Murray Hill. The hotel offers special services and complimentary perks for guests' children and pets. Guests can choose a themed Experience Kit such as the running kit, which includes an iPod to borrow. Most suites have kitchens. A spa and fitness center round out the amenities. Staying at Affinia Dumont affords guests access to a complimentary wine hour.
Highlights
  • All-suites rooms, most with kitchens
  • On-site spa that offers in-room treatments
  • Pet-friendly (fees apply, call for details) hotel has pet beds, toys and treats
Rooms

The Affinia Dumont is an all-suite hotel. The suites start at 400 square feet. Beige walls and dark wood accents lend a soothing and contemporary feel. Beds feature a six-choice pillow menu. Most studio suites, and all junior and one-bedroom suites, come with a full kitchen. High-speed Internet access (fees apply) and Damana bath products are among the amenities.

Features

The Affinia Dumont offers several themed Experience Kits that contain complimentary information and products for guests to use during their stays. The yoga kit has a yoga mat, props and yoga DVDs. The Jet Set Pets program provides amenities for guests' pets, including an in-room pet bed and a toy and treats.

Dining
Staying at the Affinia Dumont affords guests access to a complimentary wine hour. For dining needs, the hotel is within close proximity of numerous restaurants, bistros and cafes that offer a myriad of cuisines to satisfy discerning culinary palates.
Recreation

Oasis Day Spa offers a full menu of massage, facial, waxing and nail services. The spa is open seven days a week. The complimentary fitness center is open seven days a week.

Transportation
  • MTA Subway 4, 6 lines at 33rd St.-Lexington subway station (0.3 mi/0.5 km)
  • Grand Central Terminal (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • Penn Station (0.8 mi/1.29 km)
  • La Guardia Airport (8.3 mi/13.4 km)
  • Newark Liberty International Airport (14.9 mi/24 km)
  • John F. Kennedy International Airport (16.5 mi/27 km)
Attractions
  • Empire State Building (0.4 mi/0.6 km)
  • Macy's Herald Square (0.6 mi/1 km)
  • Madison Square Garden (0.8 mi/1.3 km)
  • Times Square (1.2 mi/2 km)
  • Jacob K. Javits Convention Center (1.4 mi/2.3 km)
  • Central Park (1.6 mi/2.6 km)
Business
  • Business center (fees apply)
  • 1,100-square-foot meeting room for up to 100 people
Policies and fees

All rooms at Affinia Dumont are non-smoking. A $250 penalty will be assessed for anyone found in violation of the non-smoking policy.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Affinia Dumont Rooms

One-Bedroom Skyline Suite - 1 Ki
550SF-CHRYSLER VIEW-42IN LCD-ONE KING BED SOFA BED-OVERSIZED DESK-IPOD DOCK-FULL KITCHEN
Junior Skyline Suite - 1 King Be
400SF-CHRYSLER VIEW-42IN LCD-KING BED-SOFA BED OVERSIZED DESK-IPOD DOCK-FULL KITCHEN
One-Bedroom Skyline Suite - 2 Qu
550SF-CHRYSLER VIEW-42IN LCD-TWO QUEEN BEDS SOFA BED-OVERSIZED DESK-IPOD DOCK-FULL KITCHEN
STUDIO SKLYINE SUITE
400SF-CHRYSLER VIEW-42IN LCD-KING BED OVERSIZED DESK-IPOD DOCK-PHILOSOPHY BATH
Junior Suite - 1 Queen Bed - Acc
Accessible Junior Suite with 1 bed offers -accessible bathroom-full kitchen- hi speed.
Studio Suite - 1 King Bed
Studio 1 Bed-HI speed-Comfort Zone bath- Luxury bed-Pillow menu-Kitchen-400-600 sq ft
Studio Suite - 2 Queen Beds
Studio Suite -2 Beds-HI speed-Comfort Zone bath Luxury bed-Pillow menu-Kitchen-400-600 sq ft
One Bedroom Suite - 1 King Bed
1 Bedroom-Living area-sofabed-Kitchen-HI Speed-Comfort Zonebath-Luxury bed
One Bedroom Suite - 2 Queen Bed
Bedroom 2 Beds-Living area-sofabed-Kitchen- HI speed-Comfort Zone bath-Luxury bed
Junior Suite - 1 King Bed
Junior -1 bed-Sofabed-Full kitchen-Comfort Zone bath-HI-speed-Living area-Full kitchen

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Elevators
FEMA approved
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Dining
Continental breakfast
Coffee maker in room
Room service
Family plan
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Laundry service
Express checkout
Concierge desk
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Porters
FAX
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Copy service
Audio visual equipment
Computer rental
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Indoor parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Accessible facilities
Accessible rooms
Room
DVD player
Television with cable
Radio
Cordless phone
Safe
Phone with speaker
Telephone
Kitchen
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Mini bar
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
Outlet adapters
Turndown service
Bathroom telephone
In room movies
Temperature control
Shower
Electronic door locks
Iron
Ironing board
Sprinklers in rooms
Wet bar

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Affinia Dumont also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

Hotel Map

40.7461 -73.9791
Nearby airports
La Guardia Airport, (LGA), 7.99, MI, W; Westchester County Airport, (HPN), 33.80, MI, W; John F. Kennedy International Airport, (JFK), 16.97, MI, W; Newark International Airport, (EWR), 17.78, MI, NE; Teterboro Airport, (TEB), 13.40, MI, E;
Area description
City Center

Nearby points of interest

  • Murray Hill: 0.2 mi
  • Pierpont Morgan Library: 0.2 mi
  • Chester A. Arthur Home: 0.3 mi
  • American Academy of Dramatic Arts: 0.3 mi
  • Century Building: 0.3 mi
  • Daily News Building: 0.4 mi
  • The King's College: 0.4 mi
  • Koreatown, Manhattan: 0.4 mi
  • Lord & Taylor: 0.4 mi
  • Tudor City: 0.4 mi
  • East 34th Street Heliport: 0.5 mi
  • NY Public Library: 0.5 mi
  • Chrysler Building: 0.5 mi
  • School of Visual Arts: 0.5 mi
  • Grand Central Station: 0.5 mi
  • Murray Hill: 0.2 mi
  • Pierpont Morgan Library: 0.2 mi
  • Chester A. Arthur Home: 0.3 mi
  • American Academy of Dramatic Arts: 0.3 mi
  • Century Building: 0.3 mi
  • Daily News Building: 0.4 mi
  • The King's College: 0.4 mi
  • Koreatown, Manhattan: 0.4 mi
  • Lord & Taylor: 0.4 mi
  • Tudor City: 0.4 mi
  • East 34th Street Heliport: 0.5 mi
  • NY Public Library: 0.5 mi
  • Chrysler Building: 0.5 mi
  • School of Visual Arts: 0.5 mi
  • Grand Central Station: 0.5 mi
  • Robert Moses Playground: 0.5 mi
  • MetLife Building: 0.5 mi
  • Herald Square: 0.5 mi
  • Ralph Bunche Park: 0.5 mi
  • Metropolitan Life Insurance Company Tower: 0.5 mi
  • Manhattan Mall: 0.6 mi
  • Bryant Park: 0.6 mi
  • Macys: 0.6 mi
  • Flatiron Building: 0.7 mi
  • United Nations Headquarters: 0.7 mi
  • Union Square - the Flatiron District: 0.7 mi
  • Grammercy Park: 0.7 mi
  • Bank of America Tower: 0.7 mi
  • Flatiron District: 0.7 mi
  • National Arts Club: 0.7 mi
  • Japan Society Gallery: 0.7 mi
  • Asser Levy Playground: 0.7 mi
  • The Players: 0.7 mi
  • Peter Cooper Park: 0.7 mi
  • Stephen Sondheim Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Town Hall: 0.7 mi
  • Penn Station: 0.7 mi
  • Theodore Roosevelt Birthplace National Historic Site: 0.7 mi
  • Belasco Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Second Avenue Kosher Deli: 0.8 mi
  • Condé Nast Building: 0.8 mi
  • East Side: 0.8 mi
  • Hughoneill Dry Goods Store: 0.8 mi
  • Museum at FIT: 0.8 mi
  • Ford Foundation Building: 0.8 mi

Dining

Cinema Cafe
Room service available 8am-11pm Cinema Cafe provides all in-room dining and catering for the hotel. The diverse menu includes everything from small plates to nosh to black angus burgers to fill up after a long day in the Big Apple. Room service is availa

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (152)

Ratings and reviews for Affinia Dumont

Overall score

4.3 / 5
152 out of 152
Amenities:
4.3
Room cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.6
Room comfort:
4.7
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.5

95% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Affinia Dumont

Reviewer score

4
Hoping to Return Soon
Ontario, Canada
May 11, 2011

Great place to stay

I stayed at this hotel once before and returned because of that first experience. I like the hotel because it offers kitchen facilities, which means I can buy my own food and prepare my own meals and don't have to rely on eating out all the time. I also like the hotel because it is in a fairly quiet location, for NYC, yet still close enough to 42nd and 5th Ave. I was overjoyed with the "room" that I had this time. It was like (no, it was) a fully furnished apartment. I could not have asked for more. It made a special trip that much more special!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Affinia Dumont

Reviewer score

4
Solrac
San Juan, PR
Apr 26, 2011

Very, very good hotel!

The hotel is in an excellent location in midtown Manhattan. The rooms are spacious and conveniently appointed. The staff is helpful, professional, and amiable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Affinia Dumont

Reviewer score

4
Anonymous
Charlottesville, VA
Feb 27, 2011

Incredible customer service and location

My husband and I went to NYC to celebrate Valentine's Day and go see Green Day's American Idiot on Broadway. Affinia Dumont was away from the crowds and close enough to the theatre that we chose Affinia Dumont. When I contacted the hotel to inform them that we were celebrating Valentine's Day, Tenille at the front desk, hooked us up with a gorgeous corner suite that faced the Chrysler Building (which is one of my favorites). She also set us up with Champagne, chocolate-covered strawberries and a rose petal-scattered room when we came in for the night. That was extra, of course, but it was wonderful. The people who work there are fabulous. kind and respectful. The room was a bit worn and the bathroom was a bit small, but it was comfortable and BIG for NYC standards. We liked the fact that we could go get wine and snacks and keep them in the fridge in the kitchenette--that was a nice bonus. Once recommendation: Ask for a room on one of the higher floors (30+); there is a lot of traffic nearby and I could see that being a nuisance...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

We asked [...] about an authentic Italian restaurant that we could go to without having to go to Little Italy. She suggested one that was right around the corner and it was fabulous. All the pastas were house-made and it was very quaint and authentic. They also have wood-fired pizzas that looked great. The name of it is Da Cira on Lexington Ave.

Review of Affinia Dumont

Reviewer score

4
Anonymous
Business
LA, CA
Jan 30, 2011

Terrific value

The size of the rooms here are extraordinary for New York City - a large suite with a full kitchen. And all with views of the Chrysler Building from both rooms! It's not fancy - non-flat screen TVs and wired internet - but who cares when you're in New York! I'll be staying here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Affinia Dumont

Reviewer score

4
Local Rob
Business
Fairfield County CT
Dec 1, 2010

Excellent value for Manhattan...

The main thing that stuck out for me was the amount of space available for a Manhattan hotel room. I had a 1BR suite which included a separate kitchen, living area, bedroom, and bath. All rooms were large and represented more space than the average person living in Manhattan might have. Some things were not brand new like the TV (not flat screen), bathroom faucets, etc. But this was trivial for me. Overall the decor was tasteful, service was excellent, and cost was very competitive. I would stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Shopping at Herald Square (Macy's) is just a short walk. Also, the subway is a block away which makes getting around very easy.

Review of Affinia Dumont

Reviewer score

2
World Traverler
New Jersey
Nov 22, 2010

Hotel in NYC Needs remodeling

My husband and I found this Hotel on a last minute. Unfortunately for us it was every bit Not worth the $379 a night. Very old, needs a complete remodel inside. We were also shocked how dusty the room was, the linens were clean and New, but that was it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

There is a reason this hotel is a Travel Special.

Review of Affinia Dumont

Reviewer score

4
Anonymous
Chicago, IL
Nov 21, 2010

STAY HERE!!!!

Great hotel experience. Located in a great location central in Manhatten, walking distance to many locations. Room was large for New York standards, and very clean, including the bathrooms. They have a workout facility on second floor which is Ok. Next door restauration is average to below average, with so many other restaurations, go somewhere else. No WIFI or jack to hook up to computer. So, if planning on spending a lot of time in room, probably would go somewhere else. However, for comfort and a room that will be clean and close to everything, highly recommend it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Affinia Dumont

Reviewer score

4
Anonymous
St. Augustine, Florida
Nov 15, 2010

Great for business or personal travel

Very nice staff and great accomodations. Getting a bit worn, but still very comfortable. Bed was fantastic as was the view uptown and of the East River. Location is perfect for tourists or others returning to visit friends. I was moments away from everything uptown or down.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Hudson Place for brunch is a must. Excellent and reasonably priced. Do not miss El Parador's between 1st and 2nd on 34th. Outstanding Mex. Wish there had been a WHERE magazine in the room for other eateries close to the hotel.

Review of Affinia Dumont

Reviewer score

5
Anonymous
Canada
Nov 1, 2010

NYC is Fanfreakingtastic

This was our first trip to NYC and it couldn't have been any better. The Affinia Dumont located at 34th and Lexington was absolutely perfect. First the hotel staff were super friendly and our room was great. The pic's are exactly as shown. It is very clean and in a very safe central neighbourhood. Check in and check out are so easy and simple. The cleanliness was amazing. This hotel should definitely not be a 3 1/2 star.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

We arrived in La Guardia which I am certain was the right choice. It was a quick 15 minute ride to our hotel. Beware of the shuttles that are offered outside of the terminal. While the prices are good, be warned no matter what they say that the shuttle is not direct to your hotel on arrival or departure. But if you're ok with going for a little ride then it's a good deal. We choose to hop off at Union Station and walk to our hotel. We choose to eat breakfast and lunch on the go but for dinners we ate in the neighbourhood. We were eating amoungst the locals which is more our fare. There are lots of eating options close by.

Review of Affinia Dumont

Reviewer score

4
Frequent NYCer
Business
Florida
Oct 23, 2010

Another great stay

I stay at this hotel every two weeks. It is spacious, clean, quiet and the staff is very nice and accommodating. By signing in at [@] your pillow preferences as well as other items which will be in your room upon check-in. Never a surprise here. Always great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Great food on 3rd ave. from Patsys for pizza to Amber for sushi and thainy, and coppolas. Barking Dog next store is great for drinks and light food.

Back to menu Return to top