Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Oct 5, 2014 Check-out: Oct 6, 2014

Ace Hotel New York

4 stars
20 West 29th St, Corner of 29 and Broadway, New York City, NY 10001
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
93 reviews
Fav Hotel in NYC!

I've stayed at the Ace several times now and have enjoyed all those experiences due to the... See full review

  • Redeka
  • Aug 19, 2014
You're probably not hip enough to stay here.

Square Pants McGee, you are just not cool enough to stay here. If you don't know who April... See full review

  • PleazBuyMeThings
  • Aug 9, 2014
Cutting-edge Manhattan boutique mixes DJs with Michelin-starred dining
Find the heart of New York City hip at the Ace Hotel New York, in midtown Manhattan. Rooms range from standard to loft and bunk-style, with cool decor such as vintage furnishings, a record turntable, hardwood flooring or a clawfoot tub. All include free Internet, a flat-screen TV and a stocked minibar. On-site, The Breslin offers Michelin-starred dining, and John Dory Oyster Bar is open long past midnight. Walk to the Empire State Building, the Theatre District, Chelsea and more from the Ace, or just hang out in the lobby and listen to the DJ spin.
Highlights

  • Experience the New York edge in loft or bunk bed guest rooms with vintage furnishings
  • Dine at the three fantastic on-site eateries, including the Michelin-starred Breslin
  • Walk to the best of New York, including downtown neighborhoods and Times Square

Location

Ace Hotel New York is conveniently located in midtown Manhattan, on West 29th Street and Broadway. The Empire State Building is only a few blocks uptown, and Penn Station, Madison Square Garden and Times Square all within walking distance. A subway station is around the corner.

Rooms
Embrace the unique at Ace Hotel New York, designed in homage to the "anti-design" and the hip history of the city. Room categories range from standard loft and bunk bed, plus a budget-friendly selection. Rooms include free high-speed Internet/Wi-Fi access and a fully stocked mini refrigerator/bar. Most also feature vintage furnishings and special decor touches.
Features
Dining at Ace Hotel is a treat -- choose from Stumptown Coffee Roasters, John Dory, No. 7 Sub Shop or the Michelin-starred The Breslin, each an adventure of flavors. Room service is available 24/7. Be sure to visit the on-site shops, a treasure-trove of original goodies.
Transportation

  • Penn Station (0.6 mi/1 km)
  • Grand Central Terminal (1.2 mi/1.9 km)
  • Statue Cruises, Battery Park (Statue of Liberty/Ellis Island ferry) (4.1 mi/6.7 km)
  • LaGuardia Airport (11.5 mi/18.6 km)
  • Newark Liberty International Airport (14.7 mi/23.6 km)
  • John F. Kennedy International Airport (17.3 mi/27.8 km)

Attractions

  • Empire State Building (0.3 mi/0.5 km)
  • Madison Square Garden (0.6 mi/1 km)
  • Times Square (1 mi/1.2 km)
  • Rockefeller Center (1.5 mi/2.5 km)
  • Central Park (1.5 mi/2.5 km)
  • Museum of Modern Art (1.7 mi/2.8 km)
  • Lincoln Center for the Performing Arts (2.4 mi/3.9 km)

Business

  • Offers 3,000-square-foot Liberty Hall and 700-square-foot The Boardroom (fees apply)
  • Full selection of presentation and event equipment (fees apply)
  • Catering services available from the on-site eateries (fees apply)

Ace Hotel New York Rooms

Loft Suite
The Loft suites are great for intimate get-togethers, small meetings, cocktail parties or prepping for a big night out. These 700-square-foot corner rooms have big half-moon couches, a large table for eating or meeting, bathroom with clawfoot tub (fill it with ice and bottles), full-size Smeg refrigerator, hardwood floors, and bright views of both Broadway and 29th Street. There's also high-speed wireless internet, a big flat-screen TV and an in-room safe.
Medium Double
Medium Double offers 2 beds with private bathroom and are up to 330 sq. ft. Many of our deluxe rooms include SMEG refrigerators, turntables and vintage furniture. These rooms also offer views of Broadway and 29th Street.
Mini
Mini rooms offer a Double bed and private bathrooms, in-room safes and many with vintage furniture and fully stocked mini refrigerator and mini bar. Room is 140 sq. ft.
Small
Small Room offer a full, queen or king size bed and private bathrooms, vintage furniture and complimentary high speed wireless internet as well as a fully stocked mini bar and refrigerator some of these rooms even include a SMEG refrigerator! Room is 170 sq. ft.
Medium
Medium room with Full, queen or king size bed and private bathroom. Many of our Medium rooms include SMEG Refrigerators, turn tables and vintage furniture. These rooms also offer views of Broadway and 29th Street. Room is up to 330 sq. ft.
Large
This 400 sq. ft. spacious room boasts a king size bed and views of either Broadway or 29th Street, private baths with French doors, vintage furniture including a turntable and SMEG refrigerators are featured in all of our super deluxe rooms.
Bunk
Bunk bedded rooms come with twin size bunk beds and a private bathroom. All rooms include complimentary high speed wireless access, amenities including mini refrigerators and a fully stocked mini bar. Maximum Occupancy for this room is two guests. Room is 140 sq. ft.

Amenities

  • Free internet in room
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Pet friendly
Elevators
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Internet
Free internet in room
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Ace Hotel New York also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5

Hotel Map

40.7459 -73.9884
Area served
Blocks away from the Empire State Building, Chelsea, Time Square and the Flatiron Building
Nearby airports
JFK, Newark, LaGuardia
Area description
Blocks away from the Empire State Building, Chelsea, Time Square and the Flatiron Building

Nearby points of interest

  • Koreatown, Manhattan: 0.1 mi
  • Manhattan Mall: 0.2 mi
  • The King's College: 0.2 mi
  • Herald Square: 0.3 mi
  • Museum at FIT: 0.3 mi
  • Limelight Marketplace: 0.3 mi
  • Metropolitan Life Insurance Company Tower: 0.3 mi
  • Flatiron Building: 0.3 mi
  • Macys: 0.3 mi
  • American Academy of Dramatic Arts: 0.3 mi
  • Penn Station: 0.4 mi
  • Hughoneill Dry Goods Store: 0.4 mi
  • Union Square - the Flatiron District: 0.4 mi
  • Chester A. Arthur Home: 0.4 mi
  • Pierpont Morgan Library: 0.4 mi
  • Koreatown, Manhattan: 0.1 mi
  • Manhattan Mall: 0.2 mi
  • The King's College: 0.2 mi
  • Herald Square: 0.3 mi
  • Museum at FIT: 0.3 mi
  • Limelight Marketplace: 0.3 mi
  • Metropolitan Life Insurance Company Tower: 0.3 mi
  • Flatiron Building: 0.3 mi
  • Macys: 0.3 mi
  • American Academy of Dramatic Arts: 0.3 mi
  • Penn Station: 0.4 mi
  • Hughoneill Dry Goods Store: 0.4 mi
  • Union Square - the Flatiron District: 0.4 mi
  • Chester A. Arthur Home: 0.4 mi
  • Pierpont Morgan Library: 0.4 mi
  • Madison Square Garden: 0.4 mi
  • Flatiron District: 0.5 mi
  • Murray Hill: 0.5 mi
  • Lord & Taylor: 0.5 mi
  • Theodore Roosevelt Birthplace National Historic Site: 0.5 mi
  • School of Visual Arts: 0.5 mi
  • National Arts Club: 0.6 mi
  • Grammercy Park: 0.6 mi
  • NY Public Library: 0.6 mi
  • The Players: 0.6 mi
  • Bryant Park: 0.6 mi
  • Garment District: 0.6 mi
  • Union Square Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Joyce Theater: 0.7 mi
  • Bank of America Tower: 0.7 mi
  • Nederlander Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Condé Nast Building: 0.7 mi
  • Forbes Magazine Galleries: 0.7 mi
  • Stephen Sondheim Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Town Hall: 0.7 mi
  • Union Square Park: 0.7 mi
  • New Victory Theater: 0.7 mi
  • New York Times Building: 0.7 mi
  • Ford Center For The Performing Arts: 0.7 mi
  • American Airlines Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Foxwoods Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Theater District: 0.7 mi
  • Lower Plaza: 0.8 mi
  • Port Authority Bus Terminal: 0.8 mi
  • Grand Central Station: 0.8 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (93)

Ratings and reviews for Ace Hotel New York

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
93 out of 93
Amenities:
3.9
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.8

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Ace Hotel New York

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
six figure a year travel budget
Business
New York City
Feb 14, 2010

Great hotel, horrible room

Great staff, apparently a very hip lobby (but it was closed due to a private party!), and the worst room I have ever paid for in my life. Great fixtures, but horrible layout and as small as a prison cell. Unbelievably uncomfortable. If all the rooms are like this (#500) I wouldn't recommend this to my worst enemy.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

You're near one of the biggest collection of Indian restaurants in the Western world (on Lexington Avenue.)

Review of Ace Hotel New York

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
SaraSara
Pennsylvania
Dec 29, 2013

the worst experience

the hotel doesn't deserve any star. The room is dark, too small and doesn't follow any standard for a hotel. Don't get fool by the nice lobby.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Review of Ace Hotel New York

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
bone1
Business
New York, NY, USA
Sep 9, 2011

The Ace Hotel

I had a room that obviously had water damage and was never properly fixed, it smelled musty and my eyes were tearing...as it is Fashion Week the hotel was sold out and I could not change but for $445 this is not good value. To top it off the windows were blacked out and I was afraid to open and see what was being hidden as the Ace is an old building in NYC and who knows what is out there! Too bad as there are some very nice rooms for the same price that my associates were in here...i just got a room that should be taken out of service.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Ace Hotel New York

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Ned Hoss Brown
Business
Magnolia, DE 19962
Apr 8, 2013

Fair accomondations

After being in the room no longner than a minute, a large roach took a stroll across the room. We coul not wait to leave for home the next day. While there we went to the Rose room at the Lincoln Center to hear an outstanding jazz program.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Ace Hotel New York

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Jimmy Page
DC
Apr 30, 2012

Ace Hotel

While the hotel was clean and ideally located, it's decor appeals to a much younger demographic than that of my wife and me (mid 50s) as well as my 84 year old mother. Everything in the hotel is dark; the lobby, the corridors (especially), and the room. I think younger people would find it interesting and hip but it is clear that all the "fixtures" in the hotel rooms are made of plumbing piping painted dark grey or black. Staff was friendly but the decor was not our thing.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of Ace Hotel New York

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
spinynorman
UK
Mar 4, 2014

Place for hipsters

Booked Ace NYC on basis of family member's experience of Ace Palm Springs. NYC isn't in same league. Problem is the hotel tries so hard to be a cool hangout for "hipsters", it forgets to be a hotel and paying overnight guests are a low priority. We arrived about 4pm on Friday. Lobby seating was full of people surfing on Macbooks. We just needed somewhere to sit for a coffee and a sandwich, but there was nowhere. The coffee shop was crowded and freezing cold because of people coming in from outside, the sandwich shop is only accessible from the street and has no seating. Took sandwiches back to hotel, but weren't allowed to eat them in the bar/restaurant area, despite the shop being listed as one of the hotel's amenities. The Mini rooms are spartan and tired, with a very strange theme, like a futuristic prison cell with 1960s pine furniture. Bathroom suffered from icy draught from ill-fitting windows, shower and bath tap came on together, outlet was slow, so bath filled with water. Shower was lukewarm, though basin water was hot. The room had a kettle and some random packs of tea, but no coffee, sugar or milk. Positives, most staff were helpful, breakfasts were excellent, beds were comfortable. My recommendation to the hotel would be to create a space exclusive to overnight guests, maybe on an upper floor, where they can sit, get a coffee or other drink and light meals or sandwiches. That alone would have improved my first impression by 100%. And freshen up the decor and furniture in the rooms, it's not like they're cheap.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Entertainment tip: Long walk from hotel

Film Forum has great programs of classic films on big screen.

Review of Ace Hotel New York

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Boutique Hotel Expert
Florence, Italy
Jun 26, 2011

Kinda Gross

Pros: Nice staff, free internet. Cons: Whole hotels smells like stale cigarettes. Rooms are decorated like cheap college dorm. Carpet & walls are black and seem dirty (due to smell). Location is gross. Hotel is not chic or luxurious or hip at all.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
1
Value:
3
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Opening Ceremony store has nice things, and is only nice thing in 4-8 block radius.

Review of Ace Hotel New York

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
UTer
Toronto
Jun 10, 2014

Fun, but didn't really see what all the fuss is about

I was looking forward to staying at a super hip boutique hotel, but I can't say my stay here was notably better than one at a more generic hotel. Our "mini" room was, indeed, very small, but fine. The sink was located in the carpeted main area next to the bed, which I didn't love. The bathroom was small, but nice. For a 4-star hotel, I expected the a/c unit to cool the (small) room much better than it actually did. The free wi-fi and on-site coffee shop were nice amenities, but honestly, did the facts that my room had a vintage fridge and the lobby was always full of people on laptops do anything to enhance my stay? Not really.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Ace Hotel New York

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
small rooms, long wait for check in
Business
huntington beach, ca
Aug 24, 2010

ACE HOTEL

I like this hotel alot. The location is great (for me) but it is in an up and coming area, so if this is your first trip to New York, it is a little bit out of the way. The lounge is the best part of this hotel. The details in the rooms are also really cute. The only bad thing was that there was a cockroach in my room...and where there's one, there's more!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Ace Hotel New York

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
mumsoos
irmo,sc
Aug 31, 2010

stay at the ace

I came to go to a baby shower my daughter was giving. The room was clean but had a very strong moth ball smell. I didn't mention it to the staff but did feel strongly enough to purchase air freshener.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

my daughter took me to Locanda Verde in TRiBeCa. Everything we ate was delicious. The scallops were cooked just right, browned on the outside and creamy on the inside.

Back to menu Return to top