Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 25, 2015 Check-out: May 26, 2015

Ace Hotel New York

4 stars
View map of 20 West 29th St, Corner of 29 and Broadway, New York City, NY 10001

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Ace Hotel New York

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
105 out of 105
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4.3
Value:
3.9

90% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Ace Hotel New York

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Sterling Sharp
Business
Boston ma
Mar 6, 2013

All-day getaway

Cool place with cool amenities. Room was comfortable but small - I'm small, so it didn't matter to me, but I could see it being an issue for others. The lobby is pretty much the center of everything, and it's a place you can stay all day and night. Feels like a college library/dining hall/brasserie with tables, comfy chairs, couches, and a darker, academic ambience. I sat down during the day at a table, did work and ate brunch. Wifi is free, and servers are attentive, but you have to flag them down. Early afternoon, I started kicking back more, ordered some beers (generally $7-8) and people-watched. At night, the bar is a pretty happening spot. I brought my friends over on Friday and saturday, and they had dj's spinning 80s breakbeats and other non top 40 music. Also, if you do feel like going out, the location is great. Near ktown, MSG, trains, and pretty much all of midtown manhattan. Keep in mind that it's not very bright inside, and hallways have a semi-musty smell, so look elsewhere if that's an issue for you. As for me, I would definitely stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Ace Hotel New York

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
not a hipster.
Business
ct
Mar 6, 2013

hipster oasis

a really well styled hotel and rooms - my "mini" room was perfect for a solo traveler, and would still be more than adequate for a couple. had a great view of the empire state buildling. the vibe is insanely hipster, but service was impeccable - everyone was extremely helpful and very nice. a bit of a bummer was the wait at all the eateries in the hotel - stumptown coffee, the breslin for brunch, and john dory for the osyters - but the food was great. oh, and the lobby is packed all throughout the day - folks on their lap tops throughout the day, and then a lounge/bar scene at night. would absolutely stay again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Ace Hotel New York

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Eddie Lim
Business
Jersey City
Jan 28, 2013

Great staycation

The ambience is great. Nice vintage feel to it and luxurious at the same time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

EAT at the Breslin. Lamb burger is a must

Review of Ace Hotel New York

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Allison and Jim
Business
Arkansas
Jan 4, 2013

Ace is Ace

Pleasantly surprised with all aspects of this hotel. To begin with, there was a nice, secure parking garage affiliated with the hotel only a block away, so we took advantage of this option. While waiting for check-in, we had coffee at Stumptown and lunch at the oyster bar. Awesome. Then we were so surprised with our wonderful room. We had a king bed and the room was huge. And it was huge by any hotel standards. The bed was super comfortable and the bathroom features were awesome--hot water, rainfall showerhead, and great toiletries. I will stay here again and while I am in Portland!! Youthful crowd-no kids! A plus.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Drive in to the city and take advantage of the parking garage affiliated with the hotel. Cost was $55 for 24 hours, but only a block away and very secure.

Review of Ace Hotel New York

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MEBC
Business
Cle, OH
Dec 30, 2012

Better than expected!

The staff was very nice and helpful! The DJ was awesome every night! Great food and coffee available on site!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Ace Hotel New York

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
super shopper irene
Business
San Francisco, CA
Dec 29, 2012

Happy in Manhattan

I really enjoyed my stay at the Ace Hotel. The hotel has a sense of whimsy and fun. The room was nicely done and the bed was comfy. It's probably not for everyone since it is definitely kind of avant garde but I was a happy camper. The Breslin restaurant was excellent. All the staff were friendly and even remembered my name when I came back to ask more questions. I will definitely stay there again when in nyc.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

One of my favorite shopping destinations is ABC Home. It's on Broadway and is close to the Ace Hotel.

Review of Ace Hotel New York

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Cornell hotel school alum
Business
Ithaca, NY
Dec 21, 2012

enjoy the thought that went into guest comfort

What a blast! It's edgy, young, energetic and even this not-so-young guest felt totally at home. Great staff, very interesting decor, loved the sustainability aspect and the terrific snacks! So sorry I missed the restaurant; I loved the Portland OR restaurant....

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Ace Hotel New York

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Super Treker
Business
NJ/NY
Dec 18, 2012

ACE delivers again

Have stayed other times and The Ace continues to never let us down. Front desk super nice people (even when taking care of guests with a sense of entitlement). Rooms are funky/eclectic but extremely comfortable. Had another great view of the Empire State building. Lobby is ALWAYS buzzing. Since we always drive into the city when we stay it would be nice if they offered valet service but there are several garages/lots nearby so it's liveable and they aren't the best at hailing cabs.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Ace Hotel New York

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
JB315
Business
New York, NY
Dec 17, 2012

Dependably great

Always love staying at the Ace. Friendly staff, great rooms. Area on NYC leaves something to be desired, but a really fun hotel

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Ace Hotel New York

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
JB315
Business
New York, NY
Dec 9, 2012

Great!

Always enjoy this hotel. Very private feeling rooms with great amenities.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top