Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 29, 2015 Check-out: Apr 30, 2015

The Hotel Blue

3 stars
View map of 717 Central Ave. NW, Albuquerque, NM 87102

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Hotel Blue

Overall score

3.4 / 5
5.01.0
150 out of 150
Amenities:
3.4
Cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3.9
Location:
3.7
Value:
3.8

74% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Hotel Blue

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Scottiemom
Business
AZ
Sep 24, 2013

Don't stay here

This hotel's management wrote the book on cutting corners to save money. We got one hand towel for two people. The furnishings were cheap and shabby. One uncomfortable metal chair with a stained seat cushion. The disgusting huge soap and shampoo pumps with products unknown inside. The coffee maker hadn't been cleaned in years. Carpets everywhere stained. No Monday Night Football on the fancy satellite TV because" nobody watches that". I had to pin the meager drapes shut to get any privacy. On and on. I saw hotel desk staff wave an unkempt person from the park across the street in to use the lobby restroom. The young woman who checked us in yawned in our faces. The breakfast was good and the bed was comfortable. This was probably the worst hotel/motel I have ever stayed in.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Hotel Blue

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Statgirl
Business
Boston, MA
Sep 12, 2013

Rundown but good location

I stayed here for two nights while on a solo vacation. While the location was great and close to Old Town and all of the major highways, the hotel itself felt rather creepy and rundown. There were very few people around, no matter what time of day I was there, and everything looked like it had been built during the 80's and never touched again. The front door of the room had rust spots all over it, one of the lamps did not work, and housekeeping left their trash (open sodas and cups) in the room. The gated/key card access parking lead me to believe that this may not be the safest area, so I would not stay here again if I visited Albuquerque, even though it was inexpensive.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Hotel Blue

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Lbrady3611
Business
Baltimore, MD
Sep 8, 2013

Great Location

The Hotel Blue's location on Central Ave makes it the perfect hotel for people unfamiliar with Albuquerque. Just a short walk from the hotel you will find the Rail Runner Express transit system. For $10 bucks you can enjoy a scenic view of New Mexico from the from comfort of a train that takes you to Sante Fe. The Hotel Blue is also within walking distance of restaurants, a movie theater, art galleries, and a couple of night clubs all on Central Avenue. The staff at the hotel were nice. My flight left at 6:00AM which was unfortunate because the Hotel's shuttle service starts at 7:00 am. However, the staff called a cab for me which arrived ten minutes early. The Hotel Blue is definitely a great bang for your buck.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Hotel Blue

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Burquena
Business
Albuquerque
Sep 6, 2013

Tempur-pedic beds very comfortable

When I arrived, the desk clerk told me he didn't see a reservation for me. I asked if I could give him my booking/confirmation # and he said it wouldn't help anything. The online reservation took over thirty minutes to go through the system so I had to wait. The key entrance for the gate to the parking lot needs to be fixed. Takes several tries to make it open. Saw several other people having trouble with it. The pool looked clean, the room was clean and I was pleased to find out that all of the rooms had Tempur-pedic mattresses. The little fake fireplace was also a nice touch. Mini fridge and freezer worked great. Even had a microwave. Good value if you want to stay downtown, but it can be very noisy on the weekends.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Downtown Albuquerque on Central is a nice bar hopping time if you want to go drinking and walk back to the room. Start at Blackbird, over to Sister for a plethora of beers, across the street for cheap Jager shots at the Distillery and free billiards, back across the street to Anodyne, and if you feel like seeing girls wearing practically nothing-continue to The Library and end at Knockouts (probably the most ghetto strip club in town). You'll surely have drowned your sorrows away and feel better knowing you're probably not as crazy as half the people around you. Plus, you're only a short walk away from your Tempur-pedic mattress and clean toilet.

Review of The Hotel Blue

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
kentgear
Business
tucson, az
Sep 2, 2013

The Hotel Blue

Good location. Walk into Downtown. Good breakfast. Great bed. A few minor facelifts. I'd repaint the whole property. New floors in the elevators, repaint the hotel room doors and a coat of paint on the cement floors. Saturday morning farmers market is nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Hotel Blue

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jimmy Rimmy
Business
USA
Sep 2, 2013

Nice Hotel

Great location, very clean rooms, fantastic tempurpedic bed! Only downside is the parking lot. It has automatic doors to enter and you have to use your room key. Sometimes it worked , sometimes it didn't. Other than that, no complaints.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Short walk to downtown. Lots of restaurants etc.

Review of The Hotel Blue

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
G42na
Business
Lansing, MI
Aug 31, 2013

a great hotel

the breakfast is good and the coffee is great the room is clean and the bed is nice

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

across the street a nice italian restaurant

Review of The Hotel Blue

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
SJ1y
Business
Santa Fe NM
Aug 31, 2013

Hotel Blue

Excellent value, great bed, TV, breakfast, pool Not great AC, bad fitness center An old property that they've done a good job on, and I believe are still working to improve I wil be back because of the tremendous value

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Hotel Blue

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
summer traveling
Business
ohio
Aug 21, 2013

shopping trip

Glad I stayed at this downtown hotel, it was the perfect location for the things I wanted to do. Very friendly staff and clean hotel. I definitely would stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Hotel Blue

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
vgsgirl17
Business
ABQ, NM
Jun 26, 2013

Nice place to stay

If you have to stay downtown on a budget, then this is the place to stay. Decent rooms, friendly staff, gated parking.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top