Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Oct 20, 2014 Check-out: Oct 23, 2014

The Hotel Blue

3 stars
717 Central Ave. NW, Albuquerque, NM 87102
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.3
out of 5
142 reviews
Road tripping pair

The hotel was very nice. I loved that they had gated parking and the breakfast was pretty good. The... See full review

  • LadyDeadpool
  • Aug 19, 2014
my Albuquerque hotel if come again

great room with ample size refrigerator for frozen entrees for longer stays. wide variety of... See full review

  • LynneDS
  • Nov 10, 2013
Downtown Albuquerque hotel offers a restful sleep with specialty beds

Soothing Tempur-Pedic beds, Starbucks coffee and free continental breakfast are special touches provided by The Hotel Blue for a comfortable stay in downtown Albuquerque. Guests are welcomed with a freshly baked cookie at check-in and enjoy at-home amenities like a microwave and a refrigerator in each guest room. The Hotel Blue is located midway between the Albuquerque Convention Center and ABQ BioPark Zoo. Take advantage of The Hotel Blue swimming pool, or go across the street for a stroll through Robinson Park.

Highlights
  • Free in-room bottled water
  • Located in the downtown business district of Albuquerque on historic Route 66
  • Free Wi-Fi in the lobby and free high-speed Internet access in guest rooms
  • Complimentary airport and local area shuttle
Rooms

At The Hotel Blue in downtown Albuquerque, get a great night of sleep on king or queen-sized Tempur-Pedic beds that conform to each individual body to minimize pressure points. Microwaves, refrigerators, coffee-makers, 40-inch HDTVs, cable channels, irons, ironing boards, and hair-dryers are some of the comforts of home. Free local phone calls, free high-speed Internet access and voice mail help guests keep in touch.


Families or individuals who prefer a little extra space take advantage of The Hotel Blue suite, featuring separate living and sleeping spaces with an additional television, as well as a full kitchen with hardwood floors.

Features

The Hotel Blue complimentary breakfast bar includes cereal, fruit, muffins, yogurt and beverages. Stop by the lobby any time for fresh-brewed Starbucks coffee, cookies and complimentary USA Today. Enjoy a refreshing swim in The Hotel Blue outdoor pool, or spend a quiet afternoon the courtyard with a good book. Free parking -- available on a first-come, first-served basis -- is accessible only by guest room key.

Transportation
  • Amtrak station (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • Greyhound station (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • Interstate 25 (1.1 mi/1.8 km)
  • Interstate 40 (1.5 mi/2.4 km)
  • Albuquerque International Sunport (3.5 mi/5.6 km)
  • Free shuttle to the airport, convention center and Old Town, 7 a.m. – 10 p.m.
Attractions
  • Robinson Park (Across the street)
  • Albuquerque Convention Center (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • ABQ BioPark Zoo (0.7 mi/1.1. km)
  • Old Town Albuquerque (1.1 mi/1.7 km)
  • University of New Mexico (2 mi/3.3 km)
  • Balloon Fiesta Park (7.7 mi/12.5 km)
  • Sandia Peak Tramway (12.4 mi/19.9 km)
Business
  • Two meeting rooms available

The Hotel Blue Rooms

Non-smoking King
One king size Tempur-Pedic bed; microwave and refrigerator; iron and ironing board; coffee maker, voice messaging and data ports, hairdryers, high-speed internet access, 40-inch HDTV, free local phone calls.
Non-smoking Double
Two queen size Tempur-Pedic beds; microwave and refrigerator; iron and ironing board; coffee maker, voice messaging and data ports, hairdryers, high-speed internet access, 40-inch HDTV, free local phone calls.

Amenities

  • Free full breakfast
  • WiFi
  • Airport shuttle
  • Free parking
  • Pool
General
Pet friendly
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Dining
Free full breakfast
Services
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Transportation
Airport shuttle
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Hotel Blue also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5

Hotel Map

35.0852 -106.6563
Area served
Albuquerque.
Nearby airports
Albuquerque International Airport.
Area description
The Hotel Blue is located in the heart of the Albuquerque downtown district. The hotel is surrounded by many shopping, dining and entertainment venues and is within walking distance to the Albuquerque Convention Center and the Historic Old Town area.

Nearby points of interest

  • KiMO theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Rio Grande Zoo: 0.6 mi
  • Albuquerque Little Theatre: 0.8 mi
  • New Mexico Museum of Natural History and Science: 1 mi
  • Explora Science Center and Children's Museum of Albuquerque: 1.1 mi
  • San Felipe de Neri Church: 1.1 mi
  • Albuquerque Museum: 1.1 mi
  • Old Town Albuquerque: 1.1 mi
  • Turquoise Museum: 1.2 mi
  • National Hispanic Cultural Center: 1.2 mi
  • New Mexico Steam Locomotive and Railroad Historical Society: 1.3 mi
  • Albuquerque Aquarium: 1.4 mi
  • Indian Pueblo Cultural Center: 1.7 mi
  • Albuquerque Isotopes Baseball: 1.7 mi
  • University of New Mexico: 2 mi
  • KiMO theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Rio Grande Zoo: 0.6 mi
  • Albuquerque Little Theatre: 0.8 mi
  • New Mexico Museum of Natural History and Science: 1 mi
  • Explora Science Center and Children's Museum of Albuquerque: 1.1 mi
  • San Felipe de Neri Church: 1.1 mi
  • Albuquerque Museum: 1.1 mi
  • Old Town Albuquerque: 1.1 mi
  • Turquoise Museum: 1.2 mi
  • National Hispanic Cultural Center: 1.2 mi
  • New Mexico Steam Locomotive and Railroad Historical Society: 1.3 mi
  • Albuquerque Aquarium: 1.4 mi
  • Indian Pueblo Cultural Center: 1.7 mi
  • Albuquerque Isotopes Baseball: 1.7 mi
  • University of New Mexico: 2 mi
  • University Stadium: 2 mi
  • American International Rattlesnake Museum: 3.2 mi
  • Rio Grande Nature Center State Park: 3.5 mi
  • Unser Racing Museum: 3.9 mi
  • Tingley Coliseum: 4.7 mi
  • Petroglyph National Monument: 5.8 mi
  • The National Museum of Nuclear Science and History: 7.1 mi
  • Corrales Bosque: 7.7 mi
  • Anderson - Abruzzo International Balloon Museum: 8 mi
  • Rainbow Ryders: 8.3 mi
  • Volcano Park: 11.8 mi
  • Elena Gallegos Park: 12 mi
  • Sandia Peak Tramway: 12.4 mi
  • La Luz Trail: 13 mi
  • Jemez State Monument: 48 mi
  • Cibola National Forest: 72.7 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (142)

Ratings and reviews for The Hotel Blue

Overall score

3.3 / 5
5.01.0
142 out of 142
Amenities:
3.3
Room cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3.8
Location:
3.7
Value:
3.8

73% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Hotel Blue

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Milwaukee, Wi
Aug 5, 2010

Unique! Comfortable!

We were at a Conference at the Albuequerque Convention Center so Hotel Blue's location was ideal for us, being in the downtown area. We were close to Old Town and other shopping. The service was good and the Breakfast was excellant. Very homey! The pool looked very inviting, wish time would have allowed use of it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Hotel Blue

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Denver, CO
Aug 4, 2010

Comfy beds

It met my friend and I's needs. We flew in for a concert down the street and they provided a free shuttle from the airport. The beds were comfy, no problem sleeping. There was a good selection of food for breakfast available in the morning. They had computers and a free printer so we were able to print out our boarding passes for the return flight. All the services claimed on the site were provided with no hassle.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Hotel Blue

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Shirley Gray Fox
Business
Washington, DC
Aug 2, 2010

Unbeatable location for the price

I was at a conference, which was in another hotel. The service and staff was wonderful. Everyone I met went out of his or her way to give me the best service possible. I will recommend Hotel Blue to be compared with one of the five star hotels.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Their shuttle service is the BEST!

Review of The Hotel Blue

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Antonio, Texas
Jul 19, 2010

The Hotel Blue

Overall the Hotel was good we had a meeting in town for three days the staff was great and helpful

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Hotel Blue

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Santa Barbara, CA
Jul 14, 2010

Nice place

At first the surrounding area threw me off a little because it looked kind of shady but I liked that in order to get into the hotel parking you need a key. So parking is secure. The beds were the most comfy beds I've sleep in and they were big too. The continental breakfast was really good, they had hot waffles to choose from. If you visit Albuquerque, NM go see "Old Town" and see the many shops. Have dinner or lunch at La Hacienda restaurant. You'll get "Sopa pias" which is a warm bread. So yummy!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Old Town

Review of The Hotel Blue

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
four corners, NM
Jun 21, 2010

inside and out

They have just redone the inside and were getting ready to give the outside a face lift. The rooms were spotless. the new air conditioner in the first room we had did not work, but they changed our room quickly. The staff was very courteous, friendly and helpful. The pool was nice in the courtyard setting. The only problem we really had was the noisy next door people. the tempurpedic beds were awesome. Over all we had a pleasant stay. One other drawback was the fact that the hotel charged a $30 deposit for I'm not sure what. I did not like that little surprise at all. We were told that we would get it back after checkout.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

We were doing business downtown and the location was very good. We left our car in the parking lot and was able to walk to every place we needed to get to.We really liked the fact that the parking lot was only accessible to patrons.

Review of The Hotel Blue

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Providence, RI
Jun 15, 2010

Good Heading to Very Good

A little frayed around the edges but they appear to be upgrading the whole place. Mattress was nice memory foam. Bathroom was small but with nice granite counter. Room had a new microwave and frig/freezer combo. TV's are huge plasma with Direct TV including HBO. They operate their own free shuttle to and from the airport. Free wired internet in room. Free computer with a printer in the lobby (so printing boarding passes was a breeze). Free big breakfast spread. Staff was very professional and helpful. Everything was clean. The frayed part is the furniture in room was dated, elevator was a little dingy and building is old.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

At the edge of the downtown business district so you can walk to anywhere downtown.

Review of The Hotel Blue

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
phacops rana
Business
Rapid River, MI
Jun 15, 2010

Great location, price and service

Excellent, professional staff who were very knowledgable of special events going on around town. We walked the neighborhood at all times of the day and we did not feel threatened at any time during the week we stayed here. Noise level was minimal at night. Sun rise and sun set can be seen from one of the 6th floor balconies. Continental breakfast was very well stocked and clean. I rate it 10 of 10.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Lots of options for entertainment within walking distance of hotel.

Review of The Hotel Blue

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Turf Valley
Business
Vista, CA
May 17, 2010

It was OK.. NOT the best

There is NO hot tub and the exercise room is not BIG at all!!!!!! You have to pay $6 to walk to another exercise hotel. It's downtown but about 5 blocks away from everything you need.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

There's movie theater on 1st street and you're on 8th street. It's not bad of a walk

Review of The Hotel Blue

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago
May 14, 2010

Run down & Old

OLd run down hotel. Breakfast NOT!! Dirty on outside and inside. Nest time I will spend a few extra bucks and stay in the burbs.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top