Rate based on Check-in: Mar 9, 2016 Check-out: Mar 10, 2016

Tropicana Casino and Resort Atlantic City

3 stars
View map of Brighton Avenue and the Boardwalk, Atlantic City, NJ 08401

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Tropicana Casino and Resort Atlantic City

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
140 out of 140
Amenities:
3.9
Cleanliness:
3.8
Hotel staff:
3.8
Comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.8

85% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Tropicana Casino and Resort Atlantic City

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Andrea P.
Couples
VA
Feb 20, 2013

Couples Getaway

This place is pretty big, we were checked in & able to get a room fairly quickly, the staff was nice and there were many great restaurants worth checking out inside.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Tropicana Casino and Resort Atlantic City

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jersey player
Couples
toms river
Feb 7, 2013

short stay with friends

Stayed for one night with friends from out of state. We were immediately upgraded (having a club card) at checkin to a spacious room on the 17th floor with 2 queen beds, a Jacuzzi tub and a view of the ocean. Room was clean and modern. Staff was nice and casino was decent yet quiet being a Tuesday night. All in all a nice short stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Tropicana Casino and Resort Atlantic City

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Vcer
Couples
New Jersey
Jan 15, 2013

I wouldn't return...

We booked the Tropicana for $157.00/per night. It had a stand up shower with no bath that had a dip which lead to the bathroom floor. Every time we took a shower, the entire bathroom floor was flooded. There were no accomodations, toothbrushes, iron, etc. I love the shops, restaurants and casino at the Tropicana but they have to do better with the hotel rooms. It was below average. It would've been only $20.00 more per night to stay at the Trump which would have had way better hotel rooms. I guess I learned my lesson.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: In Hotel

Carmines is highly talked about. The food was average, I didn't even finish and it was soooo expensive.

Review of Tropicana Casino and Resort Atlantic City

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Ray amazing
Family
Atlantic city
Dec 10, 2012

Fun fun fun

There is so much to do in this hotel that u don't even have to step a foot out ..it's amazing.. The pool could be a bigger but other than that awesome

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Tropicana Casino and Resort Atlantic City

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Party Weekender
Couples
New York, NY
Sep 9, 2012

My Stay on Review

Me and my wife decided to come for a day of the weekend in Atlantic City, we chose Tropicana to stay in. The check in was friendly, easy and fast. It was very confusing to get to the elevator tower, it was too far away from check in area. The room was super simple, with cheap blankets / covers on the bed. The hotel is a little far from other main entertainment areas of interest in Atlantic City. The price was a bit high for what we got from it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: In Hotel

Hooter's was a good place to eat, even late at night and right in the hotel area.

Review of Tropicana Casino and Resort Atlantic City

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Nucky Thompson
Couples
New Brunswick, NJ
Sep 1, 2012

Just what we needed

My wife and I decided to end our summer with a trip to Atlantic City. The Trop had been recommended as a fun place to be for a young couple. We were very happy with our room. We were able to smoke, we had an ocean view, and a jacuzzi. We will be back!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Cape May was a 30 minute drive.

Review of Tropicana Casino and Resort Atlantic City

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Stosh
Couples
Philadelphia
Aug 9, 2012

I am glad I didn't pay any more

We were placed in the Havana Tower which I assume is the newer tower, which is a good thiing because I heard nothing but complaints from people staying in the North, Souith and West Towers. The place needs some help. First odd, we were put into a 'handicap' room. Which meant the room was smaller because the bathroom space took up so much of the room. Carpet, furniture and drapes all looked a bit 'worn'. There were signs of mold at various points around the ceiling and tops of the walls. I ddon't think I would stay there again. Too many other choices. Amenities were such as restaurants and the casino were fine. Great location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Entertainment tip: In Hotel

Comedy CLub Show was very good.

Review of Tropicana Casino and Resort Atlantic City

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Jackie 22nd bday girl
Friends
Connecticut
Jul 26, 2012

Good last minute trip

The hotel was nice not too bad but we wanted to go to the pool but it cost $10 per person and no where online did it say that so a little disappointed there but otherwise it was a good experience I might go closer to the center of the boardwalk next time since this was at the far end causing for a long walk everywhere

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of Tropicana Casino and Resort Atlantic City

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Bachlorette Fun
Friends
Atlantic city, nj
Jul 16, 2012

Tropicana bachlorette party

Great timr- only complaint is that the non-smoking room smelled like smoke (the entire floor did)- but there is plenty to do without leaving the hotel

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of Tropicana Casino and Resort Atlantic City

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Overworked Business Guy
Business
Marlboro, NJ
May 9, 2012

Great Place on the Boardwalk

Stayed at the Trop before a flight out of ACY. Staff was friendly and the room was nice with a comfortable bed. The quarter area has a number of good restaurants including Cuba Libra and Carmines as well as a number of bars. I stayed on a Monday so it was all pretty quiet but it is a great place to relax from work and it is in close proximity to all the other spots on the boardwalk. It is a nice place for a weekend getaway but keep in mind the rooms are much more expensive on the weekends.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top