Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 7, 2014 Check-out: Sep 8, 2014

Howard Johnson Inn Atlantic City

2 stars
1339 Pacific Ave, Atlantic City, NJ 08401-7204
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.2
out of 5
68 reviews
Road trip!!!

The staff was great. I felt they gave the best customer service ever . I really enjoy my stay. And... See full review

  • Nicole 1010
  • Jul 13, 2014
birthday getaway

It was fantastic. I arrived early and they still let me check in. The staff are great. Its close to... See full review

  • kepopoz509
  • Jun 20, 2014
Near the Boardwalk casinos with free Wi-Fi and outdoor pool

One block from the beach and famous Atlantic City Boardwalk, the Howard Johnson Inn Atlantic City makes it quick and easy for guests to reach the big-name casinos. Walk to Bally's, Resorts, Trump Taj Mahal and Showboat or catch the hotel jitney bus and hop off at any of the casino stops along the route. Unlike many hotels in town, this Hojo does not tack on extra fees for parking or in-room Internet access. Get some fresh Boardwalk air on your way to the beach, designer stores, dining spots or the carnival atmosphere of Central Pier.

Highlights
  • One block from the beach, with a jitney bus to all casinos for a small fee
  • Free parking and Free Wi-Fi
  • Seasonal outdoor pool
  • On-site restaurant delivers room service
Rooms

For budget accommodations, the basic rooms at Howard Johnson Inn Atlantic City do well to make guests happy. Each includes complimentary Internet access, a coffee maker, hair dryer, iron and ironing board, and free HBO on the TV. Some also offer a refrigerator and microwave.

Features

Perry's Cafe serves breakfast all day and delivers room service at this budget Ho-Jo. Many other restaurants, plus retail shops, outlets, and local attractions are within comfortable walking distance. In the vast Howard Johnson chain, this property is AAA approved and has earned the Howard Johnson Gold Medal Award for outstanding product quality and guest experience.

Transportation
  • Atlantic City International Airport (12 mi/ 19 km)
  • Philadelphia International Airport (66 mi/ 106 km)
  • Jitney bus to all casinos (fees apply)
Attractions
  • Atlantic City Beach and Boardwalk (across the street)
  • Steel Pier Amusements (0.3 mi/ 0.5 km)
  • Central Pier Arcade (0.3 mi/ 0.5 km)
  • Ripley's Believe It or Not (0.3 mi/ 0.5 km)
  • Atlantic City Outlets (0.5 mi/ 0.8 km)
  • Pier Shops at Caesars (0.7 mi/ 1.1 km)
  • Absecon Lighthouse (0.8 mi/ 1.3 km)
  • Atlantic City Historical Museum and Art Center (0.9 mi/ 1.4 km)
  • Atlantic City Convention Center (0.9 mi/ 1.4 km)
  • Atlantic City Aquarium (1.8 mi/ 2.7 km)
Business
  • Business center

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Ice machine
Activities
Outdoor pool
Dining
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Vending machines
Services
24 hour front desk
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Accessible parking
Room
Safe
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Free newspaper
TV remote control
Cribs available
Ironing board

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Howard Johnson Inn Atlantic City also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 2.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5

Hotel Map

39.3608 -74.4267
Area description
Downtown

Nearby points of interest

  • Legends in Concert: 0.4 mi
  • Boardwalk Hall: 0.7 mi
  • Absecon Lighthouse: 0.8 mi
  • IMAX Theater at Tropicana: 1.1 mi
  • Borgata Casino: 1.3 mi
  • Atlantic City Boardwalk: 1.3 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (68)

Ratings and reviews for Howard Johnson Inn Atlantic City

Overall score

3.2 / 5
5.01.0
68 out of 68
Amenities:
2.9
Room cleanliness:
3.6
Hotel staff:
3.8
Room comfort:
3.4
Location:
3.4
Value:
3.4

74% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Howard Johnson Inn Atlantic City

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
York, PA
Nov 29, 2010

DO NOT EVER STAY HERE! EVER!

Our first night, someone attempted to break into our room. The two males who were attempting to break the door open also had to walk through the lobby and then continue to our room which for some reason you have to go outside to get to. The hotel staff never once checked with us about the entire situation. We did not feel comfortable AT ALL staying in this hotel/motel. The non-smoking rooms reeked of cigarette smoke, when our bathroom wasn't supplied with shampoo, conditioner, or soap, we notified the front desk, and keep in mind this is after we had to deal with the police 3am the night before, and they insisted that we had to come get it ourselves if we wanted it. Barely any of the hotel staff spoke fluent English. I will never, ever stay in this hotel again, even if they paid me to.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
1
Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

Never walk the streets at night.

Review of Howard Johnson Inn Atlantic City

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Ms Jan
PA
Jul 21, 2012

terrible

The room was small and dirty. We had several waterbugs in the room, one was in my sons bed. Also the location is a high crime area, we heard shooting and sirens all the time. Would not recommend this location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Review of Howard Johnson Inn Atlantic City

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
USA
Dec 5, 2010

Not after dark

The hotel was alright and good with asking who was coming in. But after walking back from the casinos at night is not recommended. I saw two i believe to be hookers across the street and several other people that made us feel unsafe.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
1
Value:
4
Review of Howard Johnson Inn Atlantic City

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Not going back ever
Pittsburgh,PA
Aug 26, 2010

Scary part of town

We are glad we were parked under a camera. We will never go back to that part of town. In Atlantic City you can only stay oceanfront. We did not feel safe walking anywhere, the best thing about the hotel was the front desk. The restaurant in the lobby closes @ 4:00pm. The Casinos do not start until well after dark. We did not feel safe walking two blocks to the beach,because of the location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
1
Dining tip: In Hotel

Open from 7-4 food was really good, not expensive.

Review of Howard Johnson Inn Atlantic City

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
South Jersey
Aug 16, 2009

Bad and Ugly and then it got worse!

Desk personal talked down Orbitz and charged us an extra $15 per day for double occupancy, even tho we had booked the room for double to start. Parking was inadequate. We had to leave our keys at the desk if we parked in street level garage. Empl. moved our car and never locked it. Room: Toilet handle had to be fixed when we first entered the room, mold in the bathroom, stains on linens, coffee pot was not cleaned out, and a roach in the bathroom. Extreme noise and door slamming until all hours of the morning, to the extreme that the bed shook. Guests beating on the walls and yelling all hours. Snack machine out of order and the elevator was down for a day. Not much fun at this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Review of Howard Johnson Inn Atlantic City

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Dont go here!
DC
Apr 11, 2011

Dont bother

Was more like a cement prison the Hotel. Beds were so hard my back is still hurting. Worryed about getting mugged every time we walked outside.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Review of Howard Johnson Inn Atlantic City

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
annapolis, maryland
Aug 3, 2010

howard johnson

It sucks never will stay there in this lifetime I rather stay in car then spent one night at howard johnson.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Review of Howard Johnson Inn Atlantic City

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Wash, PA
May 2, 2011

not to shaby

the rooms were clean inside. the carpeting outside the rooms were dirty looking but, are just old. The staff was Ok, but unflattering. the room keys didnot work very well, they are old also. Hotel could definatly stand to be updated. the walls could use some sound proofing, because you can hear everything going on outside of your room and your neighbor on the otherside of the wall. No one would have guest be quiet late at night, music and sceaming was going on all hours of the night non-stop. Would not stay agian 2days were enough with little sleep.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Review of Howard Johnson Inn Atlantic City

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
CraziieeCAR
Philadelphia, PA, USA
Oct 11, 2011

Good value for your dollars

The hotel was next to mini market , deli, chinese restaurant, pizza shop, etc.not far from the boardwalk and casinos overall not bad ,but the king size bed sucks had to many spring popping me all over my body when it was time to rest.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Dining tip: In Hotel

Perry not bad for breakfast dont eat early on Sunday realluy busy

Review of Howard Johnson Inn Atlantic City

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
CATROD
UNION CITY, NJ
May 29, 2011

GOOD LOCATION, BAD AREA

IT WAS A NICE HOTEL. CLEAN AND HELPFUL STAFF. THE AREA WAS NOT NICE, HOWEVER, AND ALTHOUGH LOCATED NEXT TO A CHURCH, THERE WAS A REHAB CENTER ON THE OTHER SIDE. THE FIRST NIGHT THERE WE WERE TOLD NOT TO WALK AROUND LATE AT NIGHT, THAT THERE ARE "A LOT OF CRAZIES" AND WE SAW PROSTITUTES AT THE DOOR OF OUR HOTEL. IT WAS A VERY CLOSE DISTANCE TO THE BOARDWALK AND FOR THE PRICE DEF COULDNT BEAT THAT!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

TRY OUT THE HARRAHS BUFFFET AND PACKAGE DEAL. THE BUFFET WAS AMAZING AND THE SHOW FANTASTIC. TOOK THE JITNEY BUS RIGHT OUTSIDE THE HOTEL AND DROPPED US OFF RIGHT IN FRONT. THE JITNEY PASSES 24/7

Back to menu Return to top