Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 28, 2014 Check-out: Dec 29, 2014

Howard Johnson Inn Atlantic City

2 stars
1339 Pacific Ave, Atlantic City, NJ 08401-7204
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.2
out of 5
68 reviews
Road trip!!!

The staff was great. I felt they gave the best customer service ever . I really enjoy my stay. And... See full review

  • Nicole 1010
  • Jul 13, 2014
birthday getaway

It was fantastic. I arrived early and they still let me check in. The staff are great. Its close to... See full review

  • kepopoz509
  • Jun 20, 2014
Near the Boardwalk casinos with free Wi-Fi and outdoor pool

One block from the beach and famous Atlantic City Boardwalk, the Howard Johnson Inn Atlantic City makes it quick and easy for guests to reach the big-name casinos. Walk to Bally's, Resorts, Trump Taj Mahal and Showboat or catch the hotel jitney bus and hop off at any of the casino stops along the route. Unlike many hotels in town, this Hojo does not tack on extra fees for parking or in-room Internet access. Get some fresh Boardwalk air on your way to the beach, designer stores, dining spots or the carnival atmosphere of Central Pier.

Highlights
  • One block from the beach, with a jitney bus to all casinos for a small fee
  • Free parking and Free Wi-Fi
  • Seasonal outdoor pool
  • On-site restaurant delivers room service
Rooms

For budget accommodations, the basic rooms at Howard Johnson Inn Atlantic City do well to make guests happy. Each includes complimentary Internet access, a coffee maker, hair dryer, iron and ironing board, and free HBO on the TV. Some also offer a refrigerator and microwave.

Features

Perry's Cafe serves breakfast all day and delivers room service at this budget Ho-Jo. Many other restaurants, plus retail shops, outlets, and local attractions are within comfortable walking distance. In the vast Howard Johnson chain, this property is AAA approved and has earned the Howard Johnson Gold Medal Award for outstanding product quality and guest experience.

Transportation
  • Atlantic City International Airport (12 mi/ 19 km)
  • Philadelphia International Airport (66 mi/ 106 km)
  • Jitney bus to all casinos (fees apply)
Attractions
  • Atlantic City Beach and Boardwalk (across the street)
  • Steel Pier Amusements (0.3 mi/ 0.5 km)
  • Central Pier Arcade (0.3 mi/ 0.5 km)
  • Ripley's Believe It or Not (0.3 mi/ 0.5 km)
  • Atlantic City Outlets (0.5 mi/ 0.8 km)
  • Pier Shops at Caesars (0.7 mi/ 1.1 km)
  • Absecon Lighthouse (0.8 mi/ 1.3 km)
  • Atlantic City Historical Museum and Art Center (0.9 mi/ 1.4 km)
  • Atlantic City Convention Center (0.9 mi/ 1.4 km)
  • Atlantic City Aquarium (1.8 mi/ 2.7 km)
Business
  • Business center

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Ice machine
Activities
Outdoor pool
Dining
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Vending machines
Services
24 hour front desk
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Accessible parking
Room
Safe
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Free newspaper
TV remote control
Cribs available
Ironing board

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Howard Johnson Inn Atlantic City also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 2.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5

Hotel Map

39.3608 -74.4267
Area description
Downtown

Nearby points of interest

  • Legends in Concert: 0.4 mi
  • Boardwalk Hall: 0.7 mi
  • Absecon Lighthouse: 0.8 mi
  • IMAX Theater at Tropicana: 1.1 mi
  • Borgata Casino: 1.3 mi
  • Atlantic City Boardwalk: 1.3 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (68)

Ratings and reviews for Howard Johnson Inn Atlantic City

Overall score

3.2 / 5
5.01.0
68 out of 68
Amenities:
2.9
Room cleanliness:
3.6
Hotel staff:
3.8
Room comfort:
3.4
Location:
3.4
Value:
3.4

74% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Howard Johnson Inn Atlantic City

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Tenn Jed
Business
CT
Nov 15, 2011

Just what we needed.

Conveniently close to bars and restaurants and just minutes walk to the Boardwalk Hall Areana. The place was clean and staff courteous. No problems why not stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Long walk from hotel

Boardwalk Hall Areana

Review of Howard Johnson Inn Atlantic City

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
WinBig
Business
Greene, NY 13778, USA
Oct 27, 2011

Average Weekender

Second time staying here. Great location to stay at if you want to be close to the action but not spend a lot of money on a room at one of the casinos. Nothing really special about this place but will stay again on the next trip.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Resorts is about two blocks away as well as the boardwalk. Also some adult entertainment nearby to make your trip to "Little Vegas" complete.

Review of Howard Johnson Inn Atlantic City

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
CraziieeCAR
Business
Philadelphia, PA, USA
Oct 11, 2011

Good value for your dollars

The hotel was next to mini market , deli, chinese restaurant, pizza shop, etc.not far from the boardwalk and casinos overall not bad ,but the king size bed sucks had to many spring popping me all over my body when it was time to rest.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Perry not bad for breakfast dont eat early on Sunday realluy busy

Review of Howard Johnson Inn Atlantic City

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
walbob63
Business
PA
Sep 12, 2011

Affordable option

Nothing special but had what you needed, staff was nice and they have a decent pool. Not to far from the beach and casinos so that was a plus.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Great chinese food on the corner across the street. Also the in house cafe provides room serivce.

Review of Howard Johnson Inn Atlantic City

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
hempstead ny
Sep 4, 2011

Vacation

Trip was wonderful

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Howard Johnson Inn Atlantic City

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
joohopark
Business
fort lee, nj
Jun 25, 2011

great place!

Stayed during a two night trip to Atlantic city. We were looking for a cheap place but also decently nice. We pretty much got a bargain when we booked through orbit. When we got to the hotel we were surprised to how not NOT shady the place actually was. The room was clean and nothing was wrong except for a light that seemed to be out. We called the front desk and they had the light working while we took a walk to the beach. The staff was very nice and respected the guest and did a good job cleaning and taking care of us. Definitely recommend.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Howard Johnson Inn Atlantic City

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Colonia, NJ
May 30, 2011

good for the price

hotel was clean and staff very nice and friendly. area hotel is in is not that great, but if you're from the city no big deal.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Howard Johnson Inn Atlantic City

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
CATROD
Business
UNION CITY, NJ
May 29, 2011

GOOD LOCATION, BAD AREA

IT WAS A NICE HOTEL. CLEAN AND HELPFUL STAFF. THE AREA WAS NOT NICE, HOWEVER, AND ALTHOUGH LOCATED NEXT TO A CHURCH, THERE WAS A REHAB CENTER ON THE OTHER SIDE. THE FIRST NIGHT THERE WE WERE TOLD NOT TO WALK AROUND LATE AT NIGHT, THAT THERE ARE "A LOT OF CRAZIES" AND WE SAW PROSTITUTES AT THE DOOR OF OUR HOTEL. IT WAS A VERY CLOSE DISTANCE TO THE BOARDWALK AND FOR THE PRICE DEF COULDNT BEAT THAT!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

TRY OUT THE HARRAHS BUFFFET AND PACKAGE DEAL. THE BUFFET WAS AMAZING AND THE SHOW FANTASTIC. TOOK THE JITNEY BUS RIGHT OUTSIDE THE HOTEL AND DROPPED US OFF RIGHT IN FRONT. THE JITNEY PASSES 24/7

Review of Howard Johnson Inn Atlantic City

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Litebrite
Business
Brooklyn, NY
May 16, 2011

Great location great price

The hotel was in a great spot in walkin distance to casinos. They had a bus that stop right in front of the hotel to take you to the outlet stores and other casinos. My husband and I had a great time. This was our first trip to Atlantic city but we plan on going again and stayin at the Howard Johnson

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Howard Johnson Inn Atlantic City

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Wash, PA
May 2, 2011

not to shaby

the rooms were clean inside. the carpeting outside the rooms were dirty looking but, are just old. The staff was Ok, but unflattering. the room keys didnot work very well, they are old also. Hotel could definatly stand to be updated. the walls could use some sound proofing, because you can hear everything going on outside of your room and your neighbor on the otherside of the wall. No one would have guest be quiet late at night, music and sceaming was going on all hours of the night non-stop. Would not stay agian 2days were enough with little sleep.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top