Rate based on Check-in: Nov 2, 2014 Check-out: Nov 3, 2014

Holiday Inn CHARLOTTE-CENTER CITY

3 stars
230 North College St, Charlotte, NC 28202
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
65 reviews
Conference Stay

I was in Charlotte for a conference and could not get into the hotel where the conference was being... See full review

  • JMEDly
  • Oct 8, 2014
Great Weekend

Great hotel in the heart of downtown! We were able to walk everywhere that we wanted to including... See full review

  • Dax1
  • Aug 4, 2014
Affordable Uptown style with a rooftop pool and track

A cut above a typical Holiday Inn, Holiday Inn CHARLOTTE -- CENTER CITY stuns guests with Uptown flavor and amenities, starting in the boutique-chic lobby. From there, the style only escalates, right up to the rooftop rotunda with skyline views, an outdoor pool, hot tub and jogging track. Dine indoors or out at Caffe Sienna morning until night. The cocktail lounge with tapas menu hops until 2 a.m. on weekends, but rooms are quiet and comfortable with free Wi-Fi. Bobcats and Checkers fans love that Time Warner Cable Arena adjoins the hotel.

Highlights

  • Rooftop rotunda with skyline views, outdoor pool , spa tub, jogging track and fitness center
  • Caffe Siena open all day with new tapas menu and martini lounge area until 2.a.m.
  • Walking distance to shops, museums and restaurants plus free Uptown Charlotte shuttle
  • Upscale modern lobby and rooms with a fresh look and feel
  • Concierge-level corporate guests enjoy free deluxe Continental breakfast and evening social

Location
The Time Warner Cable Arena is adjacent to the Holiday Inn CHARLOTTE -- CENTER CITY for easy access to sporting events and concerts. A smart Uptown location means Bank of America Stadium, home of the NFL Carolina Panthers, NASCAR Hall of Fame, Discovery Place family science center and Charlotte Convention Center are all only blocks away. A complimentary shuttle zips guests to their destination of choice within three miles.
Rooms
Tailored decor of dark woods, streamlined lighting fixtures and triple-sheeted contemporary bedding welcomes guests in all 296 rooms at Holiday Inn CHARLOTTE -- CENTER CITY. Guests love the skyline views, free Wi-Fi access and the room service menu from on-site Caffe Siena restaurant. Televisions have premium cable channels and in-room movies, and all rooms include coffee/tea makers, multi-line phones and work desks with a comfy, ergonomic chair.
Features

Newly renovated with cosmopolitan flair, the Holiday Inn CHARLOTTE -- CENTER CITY received the Intercontinental Hotel Group's Renovation of the Year Award. Stop by the attractive Caffe Siena open for breakfast, lunch and dinner. The restaurant serves Mediterranean cuisine and offers both indoor & al fresco dining. Garage and valet parking are available (fees apply). Affiliated with the International Gay & Lesbian Travel Association (IGLTA), the hotel welcomes lesbian, gay, bisexual, and transgender (LGBT) guests.

Transportation

  • Charlotte/Douglas International Airport (7.3 mi/11.7 km)
  • Free transportation within three miles of the hotel
  • Adjacent to the LYNX Charlotte Light Rail line

Attractions

  • Time Warner Cable Arena (across the street)
  • EpiCentre shops and restaurants (0.2 mi /0.3 km)
  • Blumenthal Performing Arts Center (0.3 mi/0.5 km)
  • Charlotte Convention Center (0.3 mi/0.5 km)
  • NASCAR Hall of Fame (0.4 mi/0.6 km)
  • Discovery Place (0.4 mi/0.6 km)
  • Bank of America stadium (0.6 mi /1 km)
  • Carowinds Amusement Park (12.4 mi/20 km)
  • U.S. National Whitewater Center (13.2 mi /21.2 km)
  • Charlotte Motor Speedway (14.8 mi/23.8 km)

Business

  • Business center
  • New Conference and Event Center can host groups of up to 400
  • 9,700 square feet of meeting space in 8 contemporary meeting rooms, 2 ballrooms and a scenic rooftop rotunda

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Executive level
Ice machine
Activities
Outdoor pool
Live entertainment
Children's activities
Golf
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Room service
Services
Business center
Maid service
Concierge desk
ATM/Cash machine
In-Room Safe
Shops/Commercial services
Car rental desk
Porters
FAX
Overhead projector
White board
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Satellite TV
DVD player
Phone with speaker
Desk with lamp
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
Temperature control
Ironing board
Bath tub

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Holiday Inn CHARLOTTE-CENTER CITY also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5

Hotel Map

35.2275 -80.8397
Nearby airports
Piedmont International, (GSO), 104.00, MI; Concord Regional Airport, (JQF), 17.00, MI; Charlotte Douglas International, (CLT), 8.00, MI;
Area description
Downtown, downtown

Nearby points of interest

  • Blumenthal Performing Arts Center: 0.1 mi
  • Levine Museum of the New South: 0.1 mi
  • ImaginOn: The Joe & Joan Martin Center: 0.1 mi
  • Charlotte Bobcats Arena: 0.2 mi
  • Discovery Place: 0.2 mi
  • Fourth Ward: 0.3 mi
  • Charlotte Convention Center: 0.4 mi
  • Bechtler Museum of Modern Art: 0.5 mi
  • The Bank of America Stadium: 0.7 mi
  • The Fillmore: 0.9 mi
  • North Carolina Music Factory: 0.9 mi
  • Charlotte Nature Museum: 2.3 mi
  • Freedom Park: 2.7 mi
  • Wing Haven Garden and Bird Sanctuary: 3.3 mi
  • The Billy Graham Library: 4.7 mi
  • Blumenthal Performing Arts Center: 0.1 mi
  • Levine Museum of the New South: 0.1 mi
  • ImaginOn: The Joe & Joan Martin Center: 0.1 mi
  • Charlotte Bobcats Arena: 0.2 mi
  • Discovery Place: 0.2 mi
  • Fourth Ward: 0.3 mi
  • Charlotte Convention Center: 0.4 mi
  • Bechtler Museum of Modern Art: 0.5 mi
  • The Bank of America Stadium: 0.7 mi
  • The Fillmore: 0.9 mi
  • North Carolina Music Factory: 0.9 mi
  • Charlotte Nature Museum: 2.3 mi
  • Freedom Park: 2.7 mi
  • Wing Haven Garden and Bird Sanctuary: 3.3 mi
  • The Billy Graham Library: 4.7 mi
  • Carolinas Aviation Museum: 5.1 mi
  • Reedy Creek Nature Center and Preserve: 7.3 mi
  • Metrolina Expo Center: 7.6 mi
  • Halton Arena: 8.1 mi
  • UNC Charlotte Botanical Gardens: 8.4 mi
  • US National Whitewater Center: 9.9 mi
  • Carowinds: 10.4 mi
  • The Golf Club at Ballantyne: 11.8 mi
  • McDowell Nature Center and Preserve: 11.9 mi
  • Hendrix Motorsports Complex: 12.2 mi
  • Lowe's Motor Speedway: 12.3 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (65)

Ratings and reviews for Holiday Inn CHARLOTTE-CENTER CITY

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
6 out of 65
Amenities:
3.3
Room cleanliness:
3.7
Hotel staff:
3.2
Room comfort:
3.8
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.7

83% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Holiday Inn CHARLOTTE-CENTER CITY

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
StephTrom
Business
Richmond, VA
May 28, 2013

The Underdog wins this one

We arrived to Charlotte for an over night stay to see Sara Bareilles at the Booth Playhouse. Upon entering, Dan was lively and polite to take our car for us. Valet is $22 a day or self service parking is $16. At the desk we were rushed through check in. Skimming through the paperwork and questioning the clerk about why they needed an additional card when the room was booked under one to have a $100 deposit charge later on, with no mention of it from the clerk. I called after my trip to verify that I was not to be charged other then the valet service (which sadly to say was the only portion to boast about) the clerk became snotty. Room was just as photo showed. During the night the toilet would not stop filling. I had to remove the back and work the rotted plug into place. The maid knocked on the door about 10 AM which was very polite and stated she would return later when she realized we where still occupying the space. The normally unsung heroes of the hotel operations are what would even make me consider going back to this place. Having worked with the public there is one thing you do not lie to them about: Their obligation with their money when entering a contract. Other than the clerks disregard for handling business properly I would inform friends of the fee before the trip. The only time that anyone has to deal with the front desk is when checking in so don't let that stop you from going everyone else was very kind and willing to help.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

If we hadn't come across kind woman on the street to direct us as to where Booth Playhouse was we would have been lost and would not have enjoyed the concert experience nearly as much as we did! To get to Booth Playhouse its best to walk down the block against traffic and enter the bank of America building. Use the escalators to then cross the skywalk the entrance to the playhouse is to the right. The instructions are not nearly as precise on any of the websites.

Review of Holiday Inn CHARLOTTE-CENTER CITY

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
HEAT FAN MOM
Business
KNOXVILLE
Apr 7, 2013

awesome day with my son

I enjoy the hotel location and specially the town,,i didn't like they didn't have refrigerator in the room but beside that I enjoy it and rest.. we have plans to come back and stay at the same hotel...q

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Holiday Inn CHARLOTTE-CENTER CITY

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Briahsmommy
Business
Conway, NC
Aug 26, 2009

Jonas Brothers Concert

Overall it was a good experience but when checking in the man at the front desk was not that friendly. You definitely did not get a personal feel, but at least it was very close to our "Jonas Brothers Concert". This is also right in uptown of Charlotte, NC.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Holiday Inn CHARLOTTE-CENTER CITY

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
West Coast Family
Business
Canyon Lake, California
Apr 22, 2009

Good Value

We stay here for the location. We did not find any amenities, but it is comfortable and satisfactory/

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Holiday Inn CHARLOTTE-CENTER CITY

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Feb 17, 2008

Very Clean

Room was clean and comfortable. Coffee in room, but no hair dryer. Parking was alittle bit inconvenient.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Shopping in Charlotte with alot of malls

Review of Holiday Inn CHARLOTTE-CENTER CITY

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Dec 15, 2007

good location

The Holiday Inn was in a great location to walk to the Bobcats but other than that its not too much to say nice. The parking garage is confusing to the first time visitor and the elevators smelled. The morning staff was nice on the way out.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top