Rate based on Check-in: Apr 20, 2014 Check-out: Apr 21, 2014

Econo Lodge & Suites

2 stars
3415 Queen City Drive, Charlotte, NC 28208
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.1
out of 5
98 reviews
great find

had I known this hotel was so amazing I'd have spent both nights here. room was clean staff was... See full review

  • losky
  • Feb 17, 2014
Great for the price

I was in town for a 2-day conference near the airport and the Econo Lodge was a great place to... See full review

  • video guy
  • Sep 16, 2013
Airport value with free breakfast, shuttle, pool and Wi-Fi

The smoke-free Econo Lodge & Suites packs thoughtful amenities into its low room prices. Stay three miles from the airport and enjoy plenty of freebies, including a deluxe continental breakfast, hotel-wide Wi-Fi, access to the 24-hour business center and a shuttle to and from the Charlotte airport. A compact fitness center offers a chance to jump on the treadmill or elliptical machine. The pleasant outdoor swimming pool refreshes on sunny days. Friendly staff make for a pleasant stay, whether a quick stopover or on business or vacation in Charlotte.

Highlights

  • Free deluxe continental breakfast and free coffee
  • Free shuttle service to and from the airport
  • Free wireless Internet access
  • Compact 24-hour fitness room
  • Seasonal outdoor swimming pool

Rooms
Before or after a long flight, sink into a pillow-top mattress in one of the simply decorated, simply affordable rooms at Econo Lodge & Suites. Coffee-makers, large work areas, hair-dryers, and irons and ironing boards are expected but appreciated amenities. Refrigerators and microwaves are available in some rooms as well. Before drifting off to sleep at the budget-friendly hotel, check email with the free Wi-Fi, catch up on favorite cable shows or order a pay-per-view movie.
Features
Just several miles from the Charlotte airport, the friendly folks from Econo Lodge & Suites pick guests up and drop them off at their terminal free of charge. Wake at this Charlotte hotel to a free continental breakfast or venture to one of several nearby restaurants for a hot morning meal. Great rates in a great location leave room for a splurge on Charlotte attractions, from NBA, AHL and NFL games and NASCAR races to incredible shopping and nightlife at the Epicentre.
Transportation

  • Charlotte/Douglas International Airport (3 mi/4.8 km)
  • Free shuttle to and from the airport

Attractions

  • Billy Graham Library (4.4 mi/7.1 km)
  • Renaissance Park Golf Course (5.1 mi/8.2 km)
  • Bank of America stadium (5.1 mi/8.2 km)
  • Charlotte Convention Center (5.8 mi/9.3 km)
  • NASCAR Hall of Fame (6.2 mi/10 km)
  • Time Warner Cable Arena (7 mi/11.3 km)
  • U.S. National Whitewater Center (7.8 mi/12.5 km)
  • Daniel Stowe Botanical Garden (15.1 mi/24.3 km)
  • Charlotte Motor Speedway (18.2 mi/29.3 km)

Business

  • Free wireless Internet access throughout hotel
  • Business center with copy and fax services (fees apply)
  • Valet cleaning service available (fees apply)

Amenities

  • Free breakfast
  • WiFi
  • Free airport shuttle
  • Outdoor pool
  • Non Smoking
General
Air conditioned
Non Smoking
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Exercise gym
Dining
Free breakfast
Coffee maker in room
Meal plan - continental
Vending machines
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
FAX
Internet
WiFi
Transportation
Free airport shuttle
Parking
Parking
Outdoor parking
Truck parking
Bus parking
Accessibility
Ramp access to buildings
Room
Television with cable
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
In room movies
Iron

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Econo Lodge & Suites also booked these hotels.

Hotel Map

35.2399 -80.9225
Nearby airports
Charlotte Douglas Int'l Arpt, (CLT), 2.00, MI, SE;
Area description
Airport, I-85 exit 33

Nearby points of interest

  • Carolinas Aviation Museum: 1.4 mi
  • The Billy Graham Library: 3.3 mi
  • The Bank of America Stadium: 4.1 mi
  • The Fillmore: 4.3 mi
  • North Carolina Music Factory: 4.4 mi
  • Bechtler Museum of Modern Art: 4.4 mi
  • Charlotte Convention Center: 4.5 mi
  • Fourth Ward: 4.6 mi
  • Discovery Place: 4.7 mi
  • Blumenthal Performing Arts Center: 4.7 mi
  • Charlotte Bobcats Arena: 4.8 mi
  • Levine Museum of the New South: 4.8 mi
  • ImaginOn: The Joe & Joan Martin Center: 4.9 mi
  • US National Whitewater Center: 5.2 mi
  • Charlotte Nature Museum: 5.4 mi
  • Carolinas Aviation Museum: 1.4 mi
  • The Billy Graham Library: 3.3 mi
  • The Bank of America Stadium: 4.1 mi
  • The Fillmore: 4.3 mi
  • North Carolina Music Factory: 4.4 mi
  • Bechtler Museum of Modern Art: 4.4 mi
  • Charlotte Convention Center: 4.5 mi
  • Fourth Ward: 4.6 mi
  • Discovery Place: 4.7 mi
  • Blumenthal Performing Arts Center: 4.7 mi
  • Charlotte Bobcats Arena: 4.8 mi
  • Levine Museum of the New South: 4.8 mi
  • ImaginOn: The Joe & Joan Martin Center: 4.9 mi
  • US National Whitewater Center: 5.2 mi
  • Charlotte Nature Museum: 5.4 mi
  • Freedom Park: 5.5 mi
  • Wing Haven Garden and Bird Sanctuary: 6.2 mi
  • Metrolina Expo Center: 8.3 mi
  • Carowinds: 9.5 mi
  • McDowell Nature Center and Preserve: 9.9 mi
  • Halton Arena: 11.6 mi
  • Reedy Creek Nature Center and Preserve: 11.6 mi
  • UNC Charlotte Botanical Gardens: 11.9 mi
  • The Golf Club at Ballantyne: 13.3 mi
  • Hendrix Motorsports Complex: 15 mi
  • Lowe's Motor Speedway: 15.5 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (98)

Ratings and reviews for Econo Lodge & Suites

Overall score

3.1 / 5
98 out of 98
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3.7
Hotel staff:
3.9
Room comfort:
3.5
Location:
3.7
Value:
3.9

84% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Econo Lodge & Suites

Reviewer score

1
Anonymous
Business
Pittsburgh, PA
Feb 8, 2010

Avoid if possible.

Small dirty room with bad heating. Up all night trying to get heat right.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Econo Lodge & Suites

Reviewer score

1
OEM_Rg_Sales_Manager
Business
Chicago, IL
Jul 11, 2011

Needs Work

The hotel rooms were rather antiquated in their decor and showed signs of excessive wear and tear. Towels and floor mats were sometimes a bit tattered showing signs of longivity & excessive use. The tub had been recoated but was very slippery with the material chosen. The shower handle could rotate almost completely thus it was hat to regulate water tempuratere. The windows had hertemic seal failure and were cloudy and need replacing. The hotel security was very much lacking in that all the EXIT doors had card readers, but none of them worked. Thus ANYBODY could roam through the hotel freely right up to your room door. This hotel needs an update and renovation badly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Econo Lodge & Suites

Reviewer score

1
Stacilynn
Camp Lejeune, NC
Jun 25, 2012

horrible

Worst hotel I ever stepped foot into. Mold ALL OVER the bathroom. Just appalling --- so horrible I don't even have words. We left immediately and tried to get our money back and of course they wouldn't give our money back. Horrible. Horrible. Horrible.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Review of Econo Lodge & Suites

Reviewer score

1
albeteg
Business
charlotte
Mar 31, 2014

terrible pillows.

I think they could have appeased me after the curtainrod fell on me, and the rate was not honored. I flew in to put to rest my mother and sister.I tried to get them to understand, but they just didn't.won't go back...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Econo Lodge & Suites

Reviewer score

1
smuuthie
London, U.K.
Oct 17, 2013

Overlooking the freeway

with pond scum. The pool was closed, it was this weird color of green with a build-up of debri both floating and sunk to the bottom. My room was on the side facing I-85, and was awoken a couple of times by the passing trucks and cars. I really hate that, and the only place open at 10:30 at night was the gas station which stunk of old fryer grease, and the waffle house, and believe it or not, they were the best thing about the stay there. I won't be back, not unless I stay on the other side of the road, and as far away from the freeway as I can get.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
1
Value:
3
Review of Econo Lodge & Suites

Reviewer score

1
Anonymous
Canton, Ohio
Aug 2, 2010

Bad

This was horrible. First we went in the Hotel and the front lady did not want to help us she seemed like she was to good to help us. Then we go to the room and their was cobwebs throughout the room and then we went into the bathroom and their was trash on the floor and the bathroom was dirty.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Review of Econo Lodge & Suites

Reviewer score

1
Anonymous
Upper Sandusky, OH
Jul 26, 2010

An "A" rating for cleanliness???

The first room they gave us was FILTHY! Dirty walls, dirty bathroom, not even close to being clean. The second room was better, but there were ants everywhere in the room. Other guests were buying ant spray to use in their rooms. The customer service was good. But, I will NEVER stay in another hotel that dirty again. The free continental breakfast and Wi-Fi were nice, but it's disgusting to be sent to a hotel that we had to sanitize with Clorox wipes before we could use the bathroom.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
1
Value:
1
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Waffle House right on the corner is pretty good. The staff there was really friendly, and we had some good, simple food.

Review of Econo Lodge & Suites

Reviewer score

1
Anonymous
Tampa, fl
May 6, 2011

Not worth the money!!

I am in the military and travel many times throughout the year and have stayed in every level of hotel. I was not expecting much from the econolodge due to the cost. I was disappointed though since surrounding hotels were same price and I have had better results from them. The first thing when I got there it took several minutes for the clerk to acknowledge me even though she was sitting right in front of me. Once she did she was not very pleasant. Upon entering the room I found it to be acceptable but did not appear to be very clean. I spent almost 30 minutes on hold with technical support only to be told to call back later. When I did call back I spent 22 minutes on hold and was disconnected. The ice machines on the 2nd and 3rd floor were broke and the pool said it was closed for cleaning the entire time yet nobody was seen cleaning it. I would not recommend this hotel since there are so many near by that are much better for the same price!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
1
Review of Econo Lodge & Suites

Reviewer score

2
Mushfoot
Hilton Head Island, SC, USA
Oct 17, 2011

Seemed clean enough for the money. The bath sink was clogged and water went down VERY slowly.

I'd give it a C minus but I was with the guys for the race so it was fine.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Econo Lodge & Suites

Reviewer score

2
MsBusiness
Charlotte, NC
Oct 22, 2012

Wedding weekend

The room was comfortable and reasonable, good central location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

There is a Walmart about 3 miles up the road!

Back to menu Return to top