Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Oct 18, 2014 Check-out: Oct 19, 2014

Charlotte Marriott City Center

4 stars
100 West Trade Street, 100 West Trade Street, Charlotte, NC 28202
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
62 reviews
Great for Panther game1

Left car in hotel garage and walked to the stadium See full review

  • ginger Ginger
  • Dec 30, 2013
A Pampered Weekend

I have never felt so pampered by the services of any staff at any hotel comparable to that of this... See full review

  • BigMoma
  • Aug 20, 2013
Cigars, sports, business and a quick walk to the best of downtown
Few Charlotte hotels can top the pedestrian-friendly location of the Charlotte Marriott City Center, with an abundance of shops, restaurants, sports events, businesses and the Convention Center just feet from the front door. With a fresh face after a $10 million hotel renovation, this Charlotte Marriott remains a favorite convention and wedding venue amid many downtown attractions. Enjoy the indoor pool and fitness center before a special meal at Savannah Red Restaurant and Wine Bar or a cocktail at Cutter's Cigar Bar.
Highlights
  • Free wireless Internet with wired available (fees apply)
  • Indoor heated swimming pool, lockers and whirlpool
  • Free 24-hour fitness center with tanning available (fees apply)
  • Upscale restaurant and wine bar, breakfast bar, coffeehouse, sports bar and cigar lounge
  • Great location to Uptown corporate buildings
Rooms
Take in spectacular Uptown views from many of the 434 rooms at the Charlotte Marriott City Center. With 300 thread-count linens and ultra-thick mattresses on new Marriott Revive beds, guests can settle in for a sound sleep. Bright gold and red accents fill spacious rooms with modern touches like a glass-topped work desk with contoured chair and a MP3-compatible clock radio. New 37-inch LCD TVs come equipped with speedy video checkout. Access free wireless Internet or pay a daily fee to use the high-speed wired connection. Business meetings and VIP guests prefer one of four expansive luxury suites.
Features
As a AAA Three-Diamond hotel, find a newsstand, ATM and both on-site and valet parking (fees apply) available. In addition to easy access to businesses, the banking district and the Convention Center, Charlotte Marriott City Center lies steps from fun favorites like the bustling EpiCentre with shops, restaurants and nightlife, and Discovery Place for hands-on science education, experiences and experiments. Score tickets and head to nearby arenas for hockey, basketball and football.
Dining
Fans flock from throughout the area to Charlotte Marriott City Center for one of the last remaining smoking lounges in Charlotte. Club-style stuffed leather furnishings, a fireplace and a billiards room create a cozy den environment at Cutter's cigar lounge, where guests pair authentic Cuban cigars with a fine brandy, whisky or scotch. A full menu is also available. Over at Savannah Red restaurant, The James Beard Foundation declared the eclectic choices to be "the boldest food in Charlotte." For a lighter meal, peruse the tapas menu at the adjacent wine bar with more than 30 varieties by the glass and 200 by the bottle. Or, catch the game on one of 45 large-screen HDTVs in a casual, smoke-free setting at Champion's Sports Bar and Restaurant.
Transportation
  • Charlotte/Douglas International Airport (7.6 mi/12.2 km)
Attractions
  • EpiCentre shops and restaurants (0.2 mi/0.3 km)
  • Time Warner Cable Arena (0.2 mi/0.3 km)
  • Blumenthal Performing Arts Center (0.2 mi/0.3 km)
  • Discovery Place (0.3 mi/0.5 km)
  • Charlotte Convention Center (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • NASCAR Hall of Fame (0.6 mi/1 km)
  • Bank of America stadium (0.6 mi/1 km)
  • Highland Creek Golf Course (11 mi/17.7 km)
  • Carowinds Theme Park (12.8 mi/20.6 km)
  • Charlotte Motor Speedway (13.6 mi/21.9 km)
Business
  • Full-service business center with copy, fax notary secretarial service and courier (some fees apply)
  • 12 meeting rooms with 20,000 square feet of event space and an elegant Grand Ballroom that seats up to 1,200 guests
  • A half mile from Charlotte Convention Center
  • Laundry on site and valet dry cleaning (fees apply)

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Indoor pool
  • Non Smoking
General
Air conditioned
Non Smoking
Elevators
Ice machine
Activities
Indoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Exercise gym
Tennis
Water skiing
Horseback riding
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Continental breakfast
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Coffee shop
Room service
Services
Business center
Maid service
Laundry service
Express check in
Guest laundromat
Express checkout
Concierge desk
Laundry/Valet services
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Car rental desk
Barber/Beauty shop
FAX
Video checkout
Gift shop
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Accessible parking
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Safe
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Cribs available
In room movies
Temperature control
Shower
Iron
Ironing board
Bath tub

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Charlotte Marriott City Center also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5

Hotel Map

35.2272 -80.8431
Area served
Charlotte
Nearby airports
Charlotte Douglas International Airport, (CLT), 7.30, MI, NE;
Area description
City Center, Location Type: City

Nearby points of interest

  • Blumenthal Performing Arts Center: 0.1 mi
  • Charlotte Bobcats Arena: 0.3 mi
  • Discovery Place: 0.3 mi
  • Bechtler Museum of Modern Art: 0.3 mi
  • Charlotte Convention Center: 0.3 mi
  • Levine Museum of the New South: 0.3 mi
  • Fourth Ward: 0.3 mi
  • ImaginOn: The Joe & Joan Martin Center: 0.3 mi
  • The Bank of America Stadium: 0.6 mi
  • The Fillmore: 0.9 mi
  • North Carolina Music Factory: 0.9 mi
  • Charlotte Nature Museum: 2.2 mi
  • Freedom Park: 2.6 mi
  • Wing Haven Garden and Bird Sanctuary: 3.3 mi
  • The Billy Graham Library: 4.5 mi
  • Blumenthal Performing Arts Center: 0.1 mi
  • Charlotte Bobcats Arena: 0.3 mi
  • Discovery Place: 0.3 mi
  • Bechtler Museum of Modern Art: 0.3 mi
  • Charlotte Convention Center: 0.3 mi
  • Levine Museum of the New South: 0.3 mi
  • Fourth Ward: 0.3 mi
  • ImaginOn: The Joe & Joan Martin Center: 0.3 mi
  • The Bank of America Stadium: 0.6 mi
  • The Fillmore: 0.9 mi
  • North Carolina Music Factory: 0.9 mi
  • Charlotte Nature Museum: 2.2 mi
  • Freedom Park: 2.6 mi
  • Wing Haven Garden and Bird Sanctuary: 3.3 mi
  • The Billy Graham Library: 4.5 mi
  • Carolinas Aviation Museum: 4.9 mi
  • Reedy Creek Nature Center and Preserve: 7.4 mi
  • Metrolina Expo Center: 7.7 mi
  • Halton Arena: 8.2 mi
  • UNC Charlotte Botanical Gardens: 8.6 mi
  • US National Whitewater Center: 9.7 mi
  • Carowinds: 10.2 mi
  • The Golf Club at Ballantyne: 11.7 mi
  • McDowell Nature Center and Preserve: 11.8 mi
  • Hendrix Motorsports Complex: 12.3 mi
  • Lowe's Motor Speedway: 12.4 mi

Dining

First Light Breakfast Bar
Begin your day on the right foot at First Light Breakfast Bar, one of our tastiest uptown Charlotte restaurants. We offer a variety of delectable options to help keep you going throughout the day. Enjoy your favorite morning drink alone or bring a friend.
Champions
Catch the game at our popular downtown Charlotte sports bar, Champions. We offer 42 large flat-screen TVs throughout the restaurant as well as a casual setting to gather with friends for deliciously crafted beer and traditional burgers with fries.
Cutter's Cigar Bar
Cutter’s Cigar Bar is one of the last remaining Charlotte cigar bars. This exclusive establishment features authentic Cuban cigars and fine spirits. Gather here for a relaxing experience with colleagues after handling a day's worth of business.
Savannah Red Restaurant
Discover one of the finest uptown Charlotte restaurants serving "the boldest food in Charlotte." Internationally renowned Chef Jean-Pierre Marechal uses local, hand-picked produce and combines flavors of traditional Southern cooking with a modern twist.
re:STORE
Enjoy delicious, freshly brewed Starbucks® Coffee while staying at our premier Charlotte hotel. re:STORE is the ideal destination for reading, studying or chatting with colleagues and offers gifts and grab-n-go food items as well as tasty beverages.
Wine Bar at Savannah Red
This uptown Charlotte restaurant offers a unique atmosphere for a casual dinner. Wine Bar at Savannah Red features a tapas menu and more than 30 wines by the glass. The wine list features more than 200 varieties, including limited edition selections.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (62)

Ratings and reviews for Charlotte Marriott City Center

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
62 out of 62
Amenities:
3.9
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4.7
Value:
3.9

90% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Charlotte Marriott City Center

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
BoBaby
Raleigh, NC, USA
Apr 30, 2012

Terrific!!!

Fabulous rooms. The free breakfast was outstanding!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of Charlotte Marriott City Center

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Atlanta, GA
Oct 18, 2009

Horribe experience

When we arrived to the hotel the bell hops never opend the door for us nor did they volunteer to assist us with our luggage.After 8 requests our room was never cleaned. We spoke to the front desk 6 times and the maids on the floor 2 times and no one bothered to clean our room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Review of Charlotte Marriott City Center

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Newark, NJ
Feb 17, 2008

Toilet Troubles

This hotel was very nice except for a problem with the plumbing. After 3 calls on 2 separate days the problem with our toilet was never fixed. It would not flush and overflowed. The staff was most unhelpful and offered to do nothing for us. I will not stay here ever again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Charlotte Marriott City Center

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Charlotte, NC
Jul 5, 2011

Not so Happy

We went to a concert and out to dinner. Have stayed at this Marriott before and loved it. This time we had to call security because of loud noise and music from room beside us. That then stopped but all night they were up and down the hallway being loud. We were told the hotel was only 18% full, do not understand why we were put so close to this family reunion.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of Charlotte Marriott City Center

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
chaz2806hud
Charlotte nc
Jan 20, 2014

dissatisfied

Booked a suite and when I arrived I was told they didn't have suites so they gave me a credit to the hotel. Then a friend that was staying at the hotel with me checked in later and was upgraded to a suite because she was a rewards member just shows how they treat there regular customers!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Review of Charlotte Marriott City Center

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
+++++++++++++++tompkitl
Business
+++++++++Dallas
May 17, 2010

Charlotte

Very average and pretty costly

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Capital Grill and Black Finn

Review of Charlotte Marriott City Center

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
bgor
south carolina
Oct 29, 2012

great location

I enjoyed the location other than the cleaning staff kept knocking when check out was at 12.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of Charlotte Marriott City Center

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Mobile, AL
Mar 24, 2011

Very clean and nice, but nothing fancy

The location was great and the Hotel was very clean and nice. It just was not at that impressive for the price. The pool and weightroom are small and the equipment is poor.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Charlotte Marriott City Center

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
rommik
Charleston
May 26, 2014

family travel

Staff- Noel is very nice and helpful. Hotel in downtown -too loud , actually very loud out room was in connection or close to another room we can hear them so clearly

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of Charlotte Marriott City Center

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
rrosenthal13
Los Angeles, CA
Feb 27, 2013

Fine Stay in Downtown Charlotte

This hotel is fine. It's not great, and it isn't bad. The location is perfect for downtown, and it the price was much better than the Omni across the street. Pros: Location, friendly staff, comfortable bed. Cons: While it is centrally located, there are bars across the street which are very very very noisy until about 2am nightly. Also, if you are sensitive to smoke, there is a cigar bar in the hotel as soon as you walk in the main hotel entrance. I would stay here again if the price was right.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Charlotte Marriott City Center

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Robe Lover
New York, NY
Nov 3, 2009

A General Hotel Experience

I was there for a friend's wedding and was looking forward more to the weekend away by myself, than to the wedding. The room and hotel were fine. The thing I was looking forward to the most was some quiet, comfy study time. The hallways were pretty loud (I was surprised you could hear so well from inside the rooms) with kids running up and down, but not that big of a deal. I called down for a robe (my favorite part of staying in a hotel is putting on a big, fluffy robe) and they brought me a completely rough, starchy thing of a robe that was not comfy at all. That being said, the sheets and bedding were great. At one point in time I called the front desk and asked where I could get a bagel or something for breakfast. The woman told me that there was no where outside of the hotel lobby where I could find such things (obviously, there were 2 different places inside the lobby that were more expensive than I was looking for).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

A couple of blocks away there is a shopping center with a bagel place and a bunch of sports bars and such where you can find most things you need. It is nice to get out of the hotel lobby.

Back to menu Return to top