Rate based on Check-in: Feb 21, 2016 Check-out: Feb 22, 2016

Crowne Plaza ST. LOUIS - DOWNTOWN

3 stars
View map of 200 N. Fourth Street, St. Louis, MO 63102

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.3
out of 5
11 reviews
superbowl party

we needed a hotel for one night. we attended a superbowl party downtown and didn't want to drive... See full review

  • Robert S.
  • Feb 17, 2015
a solid value

My experience may not be very meaningful, because my stay was brief, and I made no special demands.... See full review

  • ossip
  • Jun 20, 2013
Welcome to the Crowne Plaza St. Louis Downtown Hotel and Suites. Located in the heart of downtown St. Louis, adjacent to the majestic Gateway Arch, the newly-renovated Crowne Plaza St. Louis-Downtown offers the kind of warm hospitality, inviting atmosphere, and top notch services sure to please business and leisure travelers alike. Exciting attractions which are within minutes of the Crowne Plaza St. Louis-Downtown include Busch Stadium home of the St. Louis Cardinals, Edward Jones Dome, America's Center Convention Center and the World-Famous Anheuser-Busch Brewery. Nearby entertainment districts include Laclede's Landing, Washington Avenue Loft District and Soulard neighborhood. We are also conveniently located near many Fortune 500 companies such as Accenture, Bank of America, Deloitte, Kraft, Anheuser Busch, Wachovia, Nestle, AT&T, IBM, and Peabody Energy to name a few. The Crowne Plaza St. Louis Downtown just completed a 6 million dollar renovation. Experience a night like no other in our brand new 'Sleep Advantage' seven layer bed amenity package and utilize our complimentary high-speed Internet in all guestrooms. Stay at the Crowne Plaza St. Louis Downtown and enjoy our breathtaking views of the arch, 24 hour fitness club, business center, sundries shop, and renovated guestrooms. This hotel is committed to providing accessible facilities under the American Disabilities Act. If your accessibility needs are not met, please contact the Hotel Manager on Duty. Should you require additional information regarding accessible facilities for guests with disabilities, please call 1-800-Holiday (U.S. and Canada) or contact the hotel directly. For the hearing impaired, TDD service is available at 1-800-238-5544 within the U.S. and Canada.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Crowne Plaza ST. LOUIS - DOWNTOWN also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.5 out of 5

Hotel Map

38.6269 -90.1873
Area served
ST. LOUIS
Nearby airports
St. Louis Lambert International Airport, (STL), 15.00, MI, SE;
Area description
City Center, city

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by CheapTickets

Ratings and reviews for Crowne Plaza ST. LOUIS - DOWNTOWN

Overall score

3.3 / 5
5.01.0
11 out of 11
Amenities:
3.3
Cleanliness:
3.4
Hotel staff:
3.9
Comfort:
3.6
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.9

82% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Crowne Plaza ST. LOUIS - DOWNTOWN

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mer Bear
Friends
St Louis, MO, USA
Feb 24, 2012

Great location

Wonderful view of the Arch and walking distance to great food, the City Museum and the Arch.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of Crowne Plaza ST. LOUIS - DOWNTOWN

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Robert S.
Couples
foristell
Feb 17, 2015

superbowl party

we needed a hotel for one night. we attended a superbowl party downtown and didn't want to drive home. Excellent room for the price. the staff was very friendly and helpful. it's the second time we stayed there and we would definitely go back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Crowne Plaza ST. LOUIS - DOWNTOWN

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
dadasdodo
Couples
Atlanta,Ga.
Jul 29, 2014

ordinary

Nothing special. Location good for ball games and sight seeing.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Crowne Plaza ST. LOUIS - DOWNTOWN

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
dadasdodo
Couples
Atlanta,Ga.
Jul 26, 2014

you get what you pay for

Hotel check in @ 3:00 does not move quickly on a game day. If you get a discount rate on your room, you will get discounted service. Terrible attitude @front desk. Booked king size room, got two queens. Asked for a room NOT next to ice machine or elevator, given room next to both. You will get a TERRIBLE room if you don't pay the full rate. Area is perfect for walking to Busch Stadium, the Arch, all of downtown. 10-15 min drives to Budweiser and the Hill. If you self park, get your ticket validated at front desk pronto.If you come and go in car, you still have to pay daily lot rates. And the hotel will charge you $10 daily if you don't dispute paying lot attendant.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Walk to Busch Stadium, Arch, Downtown area

Review of Crowne Plaza ST. LOUIS - DOWNTOWN

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ossip
Single
ny, ny
Jun 20, 2013

a solid value

My experience may not be very meaningful, because my stay was brief, and I made no special demands. Staff was pleasant. Location near Metro. Business room with computer--important to me, because I don't carry a laptop, more comfortable than computer service at some other hotels. Breakfast good. At the rate I got as part of a package, a very good buy, and I was satisfied.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Single

Review of Crowne Plaza ST. LOUIS - DOWNTOWN

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
woman
Friends
IL
Aug 20, 2012

Trip to game in St. Louis

Overall the employees were very nice. We used the valet parking and a nice man took our bags to our room for us. Both of these gentlemen were very nice. The rooms were very big, had refrigerator, coffee machine and such. Only had one bath towel but I called down and they brought more to us. The location was good we could walk to anywhere downtown, to the game, casino, shopt & restaurants. We didn't try the hotel food. This hotel was a little older but we still enjoyed our stay. There is a roof top pool I thought was pretty cool.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Friends

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Everything was within walking distance.

Review of Crowne Plaza ST. LOUIS - DOWNTOWN

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
STL
Jan 1, 2011

Good value

Stayed here on New Year's Eve. Found the room was nothing out of the ordinary, the front desk staff was very friendly, the bartenders at the lobby bar were great. This location is awesome, we could walk to Lumiere and the Landing.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Laclede's Landing and Lumiere Casino are about a 10 minute walk

Review of Crowne Plaza ST. LOUIS - DOWNTOWN

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
HRM
Couples
Minnesota
Aug 7, 2010

A nice place to stay

The location was superb and our view overlooked the Arch and river. Rooms were clean and neat and the staff was very friendly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Take a walk along the old cobble streets near the hotel and choose one of the tasty restaurants along the riverfront.

Review of Crowne Plaza ST. LOUIS - DOWNTOWN

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Retiree Wantabe
Couples
Cincinnati, OH
May 25, 2010

Great Location!

The Crowne Plaza is in a great location. We were able to walk to a lot of places. The room was clean and the bed was large and comfortable. Both, checking-in and checking out were quick and easy. This hotel is very affordable. We were dissappointed that the pool was not open yet. We stayed the week before Memorial Day. The pool is located on the roof with a view of the Arch. Since the pool was not open yet, they wouldn't even let us out on the roof to see the view. They did not offer free continental breakfast. Their restruant is way too expensive. The meals there were more expensive than the nice restraunts around town.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

If you plan on going up into the arch, buy your tickets ahead of time on the internet. It costs $3 service fee but is worth it. We showed up at the Arch at noon for our 1:00 tram ride. They were already sold out for the rest of the day and were turning people away.

Review of Crowne Plaza ST. LOUIS - DOWNTOWN

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
gohome
Business
Irvine, CA
Jan 1, 2010

Pluses & Minuses

Exterior tells the story: old, tired, needs renovating, but located in a grand space next to the Arch. Staff was friendly and very helpful--though they said they don't run shuttle service downtown, they were willing to take us to the museum. Rooms huge--biggest non-suite I've ever seen. Includes sofabed, two queens, kitchenette with refrigerator, sink and microwave (ours didn't have one, but neighbors did). Carpets, paint, towels, elevators--everything needs to be replaced. Doors were cracked with gap big enough to peek under. Lights were burned out. Some towels had big ugly stains. You get the picture.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Stadium, convention center, Arch....everything within 10 minute walk. Do not eat at the waterfront (especially Drunken Fish)--tourist rip off area, prices high.

Review of Crowne Plaza ST. LOUIS - DOWNTOWN

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Colliebeth
Couples
South Hadley, MA
May 4, 2009

Delivers exactly what it advertises!

Our view of 'the Arch' and our access to EVERYTHING was perfect for walking, the MetroLine, nice eateries and fun exploration. Had we received complimentary ear plugs the first night, rather than the third, sleeping would have been easier. The heat or air exchange system was confusing but not too uncomfortable - sometimes we had cold air blowing on us and other times, hot air. Check out details were a bit different as the desk told us one thing one time and as we left we were told no need to do anything as we had paid and booked in advance through Orbitz. Over-all, the location and space was perfect for our week in St. Louis, including our team winning the Women's Final Four!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Fabulous, inexpensive breakfasts and lunches at Teutenberg's, 701 Olive Street!

Back to menu Return to top