Rate based on Check-in: Aug 22, 2014 Check-out: Aug 24, 2014

Crowne Plaza ST. LOUIS - DOWNTOWN

3 stars
200 N. FOURTH STREET, ST. LOUIS, MO 63102
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.7
out of 5
198 reviews
Good Price - Good View

I had a corner room with a FANTASTIC view of The Arch! Was at a convention ... walking distance... See full review

  • thewarner
  • Jul 19, 2014
Work Trip

I had to go down to STL for work. When permutable, I bring my wife. I opted for a King Suite... See full review

  • KGDesigns
  • Feb 12, 2014
Riverfront views and crisp, clean guest rooms in downtown St. Louis
Located in the heart of downtown St. Louis, the Crowne Plaza Hotel St. Louis Downtown provides convenient access to the Gateway Arch and Busch Stadium. A lobby lounge offers ample gathering space with a refined atmosphere, with mahogany wood, high ceilings and contemporary furnishings. An on-site restaurant features riverfront views. Guests at the Crowne Plaza Hotel St. Louis Downtown take advantage of complimentary Internet access. Extensive function and meeting space is available.
Highlights
  • Free Internet access
  • Across the street from the Gateway Arch
  • Seasonal rooftop swimming pool with city views
Rooms
Crisp duvets, neutral decor and entertainment armoires give guest rooms at the Crowne Plaza Hotel St. Louis Downtown a relaxed, smart feel. All rooms include cable TV with in-room movies, coffee makers and complimentary high-speed Internet access. Some rooms feature balconies and views of the Gateway Arch or Busch Stadium. Suites have separate living and sleeping areas, microwaves and refrigerators.
Features
A 24-hour fitness center at the Crowne Plaza Hotel St. Louis Downtown features a range of cardiovascular and weight machines, most of which have personal LCD monitors. A rooftop pool features city views. Self and valet parking are available for a fee.

The Union Grill at the Crowne Plaza Hotel St. Louis Downtown features floor-to-ceiling windows with views of the Gateway Arch and riverfront. At the Atrium Lounge, the focal point is a painting depicting Mississippi River steamboats. Room service is available.
Transportation
  • Lambert-St. Louis International Airport (13 mi/20.2 km)
  • Adjacent to I-70
  • 8th & Pine MetroLink Station (0.3 mi/0.4 km)
  • I-64 (0.4 mi/0.7 km)
  • Gateway Transportation Center (0.9 mi/1.4 km)
Attractions
  • Gateway Arch (Across the Street)
  • Busch Stadium (0.4 mi/0.7 km)
  • Edward Jones Dome (0.4 mi/0.7 km)
  • America‚Äôs Center convention complex (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • Scottrade Center (0.8 mi/1.3 km)
  • Anheuser-Busch brewery (2 mi/3.7 km)
  • Forest Park (5 mi/8.5 km)
Business
  • Business center
  • 16,000 square feet of function space
  • 17 meeting rooms
  • Catering menus available

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Outdoor pool
General
Executive level
Ice machine
Activities
Outdoor pool
Children's activities
Tennis
Dining
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Room service
Services
Business center
Maid service
Guest laundromat
Concierge desk
ATM/Cash machine
In-Room Safe
Porters
FAX
Overhead projector
White board
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Satellite TV
DVD player
Phone with speaker
Desk with lamp
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
In room movies
Temperature control
Ironing board

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Crowne Plaza ST. LOUIS - DOWNTOWN also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5

Hotel Map

38.6269 -90.1873
Nearby airports
Saint Louis Downtown Airport, (CPS), 4.00, MI; America's Center - Convention Center, (STL), 15.00, MI, SE;
Area description
Downtown, downtown

Nearby points of interest

  • Busch Stadium: 0.4 mi
  • City Garden: 0.4 mi
  • Edward Jones Dome: 0.4 mi
  • Jefferson National Expansion Memorial Park: 0.7 mi
  • Peabody Opera House: 0.8 mi
  • Scottrade Center: 0.8 mi
  • Shrine of St. Joseph: 0.8 mi
  • Savvis Center: 0.8 mi
  • City Museum: 0.9 mi
  • Chaifetz Arena: 2.2 mi
  • Powell Symphony Hall: 2.5 mi
  • The Fox Theatre: 2.6 mi
  • Cathedral Basilica of Saint Louis: 3.8 mi
  • Missouri Botanical Garden: 3.9 mi
  • Saint Louis Science Center: 4.5 mi
  • Busch Stadium: 0.4 mi
  • City Garden: 0.4 mi
  • Edward Jones Dome: 0.4 mi
  • Jefferson National Expansion Memorial Park: 0.7 mi
  • Peabody Opera House: 0.8 mi
  • Scottrade Center: 0.8 mi
  • Shrine of St. Joseph: 0.8 mi
  • Savvis Center: 0.8 mi
  • City Museum: 0.9 mi
  • Chaifetz Arena: 2.2 mi
  • Powell Symphony Hall: 2.5 mi
  • The Fox Theatre: 2.6 mi
  • Cathedral Basilica of Saint Louis: 3.8 mi
  • Missouri Botanical Garden: 3.9 mi
  • Saint Louis Science Center: 4.5 mi
  • The Muny: 5.1 mi
  • Missouri History Museum: 5.5 mi
  • St. Louis Zoo: 5.7 mi
  • Saint Louis Art Museum: 5.9 mi
  • The Tivoli Theater: 6.7 mi
  • Jefferson Barracks Historic Park: 8.8 mi
  • The Magic House: 12.3 mi
  • Laumeier Sculpture Park: 13.2 mi
  • Lone Elk Park: 19.7 mi

Dining

Union Grill
Restaurant that overlooks the Mississippi River and the majestic St. Louis Arch. The Union Grill severs breakfast, lunch and dinner, along with room service to all the guest of the hotel. The Union Grill features several daily specials , so please come an

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (198)

Ratings and reviews for Crowne Plaza ST. LOUIS - DOWNTOWN

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
198 out of 198
Amenities:
3.6
Room cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.9

77% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Crowne Plaza ST. LOUIS - DOWNTOWN

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mer Bear
St Louis, MO, USA
Feb 24, 2012

Great location

Wonderful view of the Arch and walking distance to great food, the City Museum and the Arch.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Crowne Plaza ST. LOUIS - DOWNTOWN

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
dadasdodo
Atlanta,Ga.
Jul 26, 2014

you get what you pay for

Hotel check in @ 3:00 does not move quickly on a game day. If you get a discount rate on your room, you will get discounted service. Terrible attitude @front desk. Booked king size room, got two queens. Asked for a room NOT next to ice machine or elevator, given room next to both. You will get a TERRIBLE room if you don't pay the full rate. Area is perfect for walking to Busch Stadium, the Arch, all of downtown. 10-15 min drives to Budweiser and the Hill. If you self park, get your ticket validated at front desk pronto.If you come and go in car, you still have to pay daily lot rates. And the hotel will charge you $10 daily if you don't dispute paying lot attendant.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Walk to Busch Stadium, Arch, Downtown area

Review of Crowne Plaza ST. LOUIS - DOWNTOWN

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
thewarner
Business
San Mateo, CA
Jul 19, 2014

Good Price - Good View

I had a corner room with a FANTASTIC view of The Arch! Was at a convention ... walking distance about 6 blocks, but do-able. If you're a woman I'd advise getting a taxi back to the hotel at night though (if it is late) as the streets are emptier.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Crowne Plaza ST. LOUIS - DOWNTOWN

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Carl Sandburg
Illinois
Jul 8, 2014

Family Getaway

Excellent location to see the downtown sites of St.Louis. Balcony overlooking the Gateway Arch and the Mississippi River. The staff greeted us whenever we came back from a walk which was nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Crowne Plaza ST. LOUIS - DOWNTOWN

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
mizsz
Iowa
Jun 25, 2014

Birthday Weekend

It was a nice location to downtown attractions. Room was a little run down, pool was ok, staff was friendly. The trouble we had was waiting until 4 o'clock for housekeeping to clean room and drop off more towels. We had to call them twice for clean towels since we were eating an early dinner and had to wash up.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Review of Crowne Plaza ST. LOUIS - DOWNTOWN

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Leigh R
Philadelphia
Jun 24, 2014

Needs Renovations but close to Ballpark

Although this hotel was right outside of the ball park, the hotel in general needs major updating. Many reviews suggest the AC unit does not work properly however we did not find this to be true. In fact our room was too cold at times. This met our needs of being close to the ball park and the arch but was too far from the Budweiser factory, meaning we had to take a cab, while most other nearby hotels were offering shuttles to and from. Additionally, a cab ride from the airport will run approximately $40 plus tip. Overall, it was mostly ok of a hotel and met our needs for a place to sleep.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Crowne Plaza ST. LOUIS - DOWNTOWN

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
CardsLove
Indiana
Jun 24, 2014

Great location!

Walking distance to the staduim, arch, and landing, which was super convenient!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of Crowne Plaza ST. LOUIS - DOWNTOWN

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Blt2010
Arkansas
Jun 20, 2014

Over priced

I have paid 30-40$ less and received more. I understand it's a location thing but it's frustrating to pay $135 plus parking plus breakfast(not worth eating). Just seems something should be included. I have to say best staff EVER! Super nice staff...couldn't have asked for better people:).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
1
Review of Crowne Plaza ST. LOUIS - DOWNTOWN

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
dartoutoftown
Kentucky
Jun 3, 2014

Couple getaway

Upon arrival we were early and our room was not ready. The bellhop secured our luggage for us and directed us to a affordable and eclectic setting for dining and in walking distance. Our room was changed to an available suite with a view of the arch and a balcony for the same price. Front desk staff - encountered 4 people and every one was so informative, friendly, attentive and just a joy to stop and chat with. Thorough in describing transportation system and directions to obtain! I loved this hotel. A bit dated but adds to the charm. Enforced rules for crowds for the BB game which made it nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Metro train. Safe to take from airport to downtown, 4 bucks per person, and very quick in lieu of a cab. Metro stops are patrolled by officers in and out of uniform. Just great St. Louis people all around! So much to do and so much history. Architecture awesome

Review of Crowne Plaza ST. LOUIS - DOWNTOWN

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
B Mac 456
kalamazoo, mi
May 28, 2014

in town for a game

stayed 2 nights to catch a baseball. The location was perfect, we could walk to everything. The view was amazing from our room. Staff was friendly and the price was rite! Would stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Crowne Plaza ST. LOUIS - DOWNTOWN

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Female traveler 1001
Business
Oakland,CA
Apr 25, 2014

Great views and location

Corner room suite with balcony view of the Arch was awesome. Room internet on the house was much appreciated. Only problem was when I found at 10pm that the power circuit was off in the bedroom, but a call to the front desk brought a maintenance person to switch the breaker back on at the panel and get things plugged in so I'd have a wakeup alarm the next morning. Helpful front desk clerks and friendly waitresses in the dining room made my brief stay a pleasant one.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top