Rate based on Check-in: Dec 1, 2014 Check-out: Dec 3, 2014

Holiday Inn COUNTRY CLUB PLAZA

3 stars
One East 45th Street, Kansas City, MO 64111
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.4
out of 5
80 reviews
Enjoyable Stay

Location of the hotel is great. Parking was limited and difficult along the side of the building.... See full review

  • cris123
  • Jul 21, 2014
Great Location

Great place to stay if you want to be close to downtown! See full review

  • Shyloh
  • Jun 18, 2014
Family-friendly hotel in a prime location for dining and entertainment

Guests of Holiday Inn at The Plaza enjoy close access -- a short walk or complimentary shuttle ride -- to the city's premier 15-block dining, shopping, and entertainment district, Country Club Plaza. Culture beckons from around the corner at two outstanding art museums, and the hotel is convenient to myriad attractions and downtown nightlife. Families appreciate the connecting rooms, free dining for children, and extra large pool with a shallow end. Pets are also welcome (fees apply).

Highlights
  • Located near Country Club Plaza, with more than 150 shops and restaurants
  • Kansas City's largest heated outdoor hotel pool
  • Free shuttle to Country Club Plaza and other nearby attractions
  • Free wireless high-speed Internet access throughout
  • Free garage parking
Rooms

Choose from king rooms, suites, or the Executive Club Level. All rooms include a desk with ample workspace, lamp, desk-level electrical outlets, and complimentary Wi-Fi and local telephone calls. For in-room entertainment, enjoy pay-per-view and premium cable movies or the DVD player. Executive Club Level guest quarters are larger, and free morning newspapers are delivered to rooms. Seven of the hotel's 241 rooms accommodate handicapped or physically challenged guests.

Features

The lively Country Club Plaza, with its busy calendar of music and special events and dozens of dining and leisure options, is a major attraction for guests, but the hotel offers distractions of its own, beginning with a super-large heated outdoor pool. Exercise enthusiasts work out on universal, treadmill, stair stepper, and elliptical equipment in the small on-site Health and Fitness Center. For guests with small children or on a longer stay, the Guest Self-Laundry includes a washer and dryer. Internet access is free in public areas.

Dining

Kids eat for free at the Main Street Grill restaurant, located off the lobby and serving breakfast and dinner daily and lunch on Saturdays only. American cuisine ranges from fine aged steaks to specialty sandwiches and salads. Room Service delivers from 6:30 a.m. to 10:30 p.m. The Main Street Lounge offers beer, wine, and cocktails.

Transportation
  • Kansas City International Airport (30 mi/48 km)
  • Amtrak Union Station (3.0 miles/4.8 km)
  • Charles B. Wheeler Downtown Airport (5.9 mi/9.4 km)
  • Free shuttle within three miles of the hotel
Nearby attractions
  • Nelson-Atkins Museum of Art  (0.3 mi/0.4 km) 
  • Kansas City Convention Center (4.5 mi/7.2 km)
  • Sprint Center Arena (4 mi/6.4 km)
  • Truman Sports Complex, baseball and football (8 miles/12.8 km)
  • Union Station Science City  (3.0 miles/4.8 km)
Business
  • Business center with free PCs and printers
  • Complimentary wired and wireless high-speed Internet access
  • Executive Club Level with additional business facilities
  • Ballroom accommodates up to 285 people and divisible into 3 sections
  • 5 stand-alone meeting rooms on same level

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Free local telephone calls
Ice machine
Activities
Outdoor pool
Children's activities
Golf
Tennis
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Room service
Services
Business center
Maid service
Guest laundromat
ATM/Cash machine
In-Room Safe
Shops/Commercial services
Car rental desk
FAX
Overhead projector
White board
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Free parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Satellite TV
DVD player
Phone with speaker
Desk with lamp
Hairdryer in room
Cribs available
In room movies
Temperature control
Ironing board
Bath tub

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Holiday Inn COUNTRY CLUB PLAZA also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5

Hotel Map

39.0456 -94.5867
Nearby airports
Kansas City International, (MCI), 23.00, MI;
Area description
Downtown, downtown

Nearby points of interest

  • Kemper Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.1 mi
  • Nelson-Atkins Museum of Art: 0.3 mi
  • The Ewing and Muriel Kauffman Memorial Garden: 0.5 mi
  • Loose Park Rose Garden: 0.8 mi
  • Toy and Miniature Museum: 1 mi
  • Westport: 1.2 mi
  • The Money Museum: 2.1 mi
  • Kaleidoscope: 2.5 mi
  • Coterie Theatre: 2.6 mi
  • Sea Life Kansas City Aquarium: 2.7 mi
  • LEGOLAND Discovery Center: 2.7 mi
  • National World War I Museum: 2.7 mi
  • Union Station: 3 mi
  • Kemper Arena: 3.3 mi
  • Kauffman Center for the Performing Arts: 3.4 mi
  • Kemper Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.1 mi
  • Nelson-Atkins Museum of Art: 0.3 mi
  • The Ewing and Muriel Kauffman Memorial Garden: 0.5 mi
  • Loose Park Rose Garden: 0.8 mi
  • Toy and Miniature Museum: 1 mi
  • Westport: 1.2 mi
  • The Money Museum: 2.1 mi
  • Kaleidoscope: 2.5 mi
  • Coterie Theatre: 2.6 mi
  • Sea Life Kansas City Aquarium: 2.7 mi
  • LEGOLAND Discovery Center: 2.7 mi
  • National World War I Museum: 2.7 mi
  • Union Station: 3 mi
  • Kemper Arena: 3.3 mi
  • Kauffman Center for the Performing Arts: 3.4 mi
  • American Jazz Museum: 3.4 mi
  • Negro Leagues Baseball Museum: 3.5 mi
  • The College Basketball Experience: 3.6 mi
  • Sprint Center: 3.7 mi
  • The Midland by AMC: 3.8 mi
  • Kansas City Public Library: 4 mi
  • Kansas City Zoo: 4.1 mi
  • The Steamboat Arabia Museum: 4.5 mi
  • Airline History Museum: 5.1 mi
  • Arrowhead Stadium: 5.5 mi
  • Kauffman Stadium: 5.7 mi
  • Missouri Town 1855: 6.7 mi
  • Ameristar Casino Kansas City: 9.2 mi
  • Worlds Of Fun: 10.5 mi

Dining

Main Street Cafe
A wide variety of dishes from fine aged steaks to specialty sandwich delights and salads.
Main Street Lounge
What you need to unwind, an iced cold beer, glass of wine or an "on the rocks" cocktail, whatever your pleasure!

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (80)

Ratings and reviews for Holiday Inn COUNTRY CLUB PLAZA

Overall score

3 / 5
5.01.0
17 out of 80
Amenities:
3.1
Room cleanliness:
3.6
Hotel staff:
3.9
Room comfort:
3.5
Location:
4.3
Value:
3.2

65% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Holiday Inn COUNTRY CLUB PLAZA

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
UMKC parent
Business
Michigan
May 20, 2014

visit to UMKC

Staff were very friendly, rooms were clean, bed was comfortable. Good location to shopping and UMKC Only issue is the underground garage seemed dark, more lighting would be appreciated

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Holiday Inn COUNTRY CLUB PLAZA

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
ShelleyPeck
Business
St. Charles, Iowa
Apr 7, 2014

Never staying there again!!!

Horrible! Purchased 2 standard rooms through a discount website (2 double beds) for myself, 2 adult daughters, mother and sister. When we arrived all they had was 2 king beds. No roll away available. No indoor pool or hot tub. Front desk not friendly. They blamed the discount website for the room mess up. No one offered to give me any discount for the error.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Holiday Inn COUNTRY CLUB PLAZA

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Katatonic
Business
Nebraska
Mar 18, 2012

Better than expected ^.^

We selected the Holiday Inn despite some like warm reviews, but were pleasantly surprised. The location is fantastic, within (hilly) walking distance of the Plaza, Kemoer & Nelson Atkins museums, Westport, and several parks. Staff was exceedingly friendly and helpful. Free parking and WiFi were pluses and our room was quite comfortable - except for a very firm mattress. We had the breakfast buffet which was very good, especially a great assortment of fresh fruit. our only real disappointment was that the pool was outdoors and not yet open for the season.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Holiday Inn COUNTRY CLUB PLAZA

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Harvard, IL
Apr 28, 2011

Great location, shame about the mess

We arrived at the hotel after a 4 hour drive from Des Moines. The entrance looked like a war zone. Don't judge a book by its cover. The first thing we were looking forward to was enjoying a swim in the "largest heated outdoor pool in Kansas City." The pool was closed. So, we checked in. The desk staff were friendly and looked happy to be there, a plus for checking in. I was pleasantly surprised when the staff offered to look up my Holiday Inn rewards account and verified that I was a member. The perk was free morning breakfasts. We were all happy with this as the weekend breakfast buffet was wonderful. The dining room staff were friendly and helpful. The hotel offered another great service, free shuttle service within the mid-town area. This made for a nice evening since we could get a ride to Crown center and see the sights along the way. The shuttle driver was courteous and professional and was knowledgable of the area. Once we were done shopping, we called the shuttle phone number and were picked up and taken back to the hotel. We had two rooms, a King room and a 2-queen room. The King bed was comfortable and soft. The queens were very firm. Parking in the garage was easy to access. The location of the hotel is extremely close to the Nelson Art Museum and the Kansas City Contemporary Museum of Art. For the art lovers reading this, the location is perfect. Also, a short walking distance to the Country Club Plaza. In spite of the re-modeling that was taking place, our 3-day stay was enjoyable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Long walk from hotel

Use the hotel shuttle to get around the mid-town section. You don't have to worry about getting lost and you can enjoy the sights along the way.

Review of Holiday Inn COUNTRY CLUB PLAZA

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Dallas, tx
Dec 18, 2010

Hotel Review

Easy

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Holiday Inn COUNTRY CLUB PLAZA

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Cultured & Corn Fed
Business
Clear Lake, IA
Aug 12, 2010

Disappointing

Our stay here was incredibly disappointing. We booked based on high rated previous reviews and I'm not sure where the reviewers stayed, but it couldn't possibly have been here. The hotel was going through rennovations [...] We were continually trying to find our way through the hotel due to contruction reroutes, broken elevators and lobby remodel. One of the days the water was shut off for several hours. The hotel was filthy, smelled musty and our non-smoking room reeked of smoke and had an ashtray on the bedside table. Online, the hotel listed microwaves being in the rooms which is one of the things we looked for due to traveling with a child. They failed to mention there was an additional fee per day to have them provided. The only things this hotel had going for it was the outdoor pool and convenient location. I've traveled quite a bit for work and play and this was by far one of the worst hotels I've stayed in.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Holiday Inn COUNTRY CLUB PLAZA

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Nicholasville, KY
Aug 1, 2010

Great Reunion

Very convienent location with nice facilities for people attending the reunion to get together.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Holiday Inn COUNTRY CLUB PLAZA

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
bogeygal76
Business
Kansas
Jul 14, 2010

Do Not Stay Here!!!

This was the worst stay we have ever had!Please do not disregard the other reviews like I did. The beds were soo hard. Our room was filthy and the carpets were full of stains. Even our coffee make in our room was broken! The power went out and the back up generator was broke so we remained in the dark for hours.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Holiday Inn COUNTRY CLUB PLAZA

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
portland, or
Jun 21, 2010

perfect location for our visit

We were there to visit the Kansas City Art Institute which was located directly behind the hotel. It is right next door to the Kemper Museum & the Nelson. This hotels is also within walking distance to the Country Club Plaza which we frequented many times to shop and eat. The room was simple and clean. The staff was helpful with directions and such when we had them. It was a nice feature to have an on-site laundry facility that we did use. We visited in June, which was unusually hotter than normal we were told, so it was quite refreshing to go to the pool in the evening and the water was a perfect 90 degrees! I no longer have a young child, but the pool has a good size (1-2 foot deep) shallow end for little ones.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Holiday Inn COUNTRY CLUB PLAZA

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago, Illinois
Jun 18, 2010

Nice hotel, good location

The staff was very friendly, the hotel was clean, and in a great location. The price was very reasonable!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

It was a short walk to several great restaurants!

Back to menu Return to top