Best Western Normandy Inn & Suites

3 stars
405 S. 8th St., Minneapolis, MN 55404
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
247 reviews
Quiet elegance

Probably on of the nicest hotels that we have stayed in. Very elegant, old world service and style.... See full review

  • Granny Ginn
  • Jun 18, 2014
Cozy place perfect for Twins game

Was looking for a cheap but nice place to stay for some baseball games. Lucked out with The... See full review

  • BaseballJunkie
  • Jun 7, 2014
Charming European style innkeeper since 1925

The warm chalet-style exterior of the Best Western Normandy Inn & Suites is inviting against the cool Minneapolis skyline. This same style is reflected in recently renovated guest rooms and other thoughtful details. Conveniently located near the Metrodome, Nicollet Mall and Orchestra Hall, this downtown Minneapolis hotel offers free shuttles to the Minneapolis Convention Center and Target Field for Twins games. Guests enjoy free access to the heated indoor pool, whirlpool and sauna. Fresh baked cookies and milk are offered every night at 10 p.m.

Highlights

  • 4-story garden atrium houses a heated indoor swimming pool, whirlpool and sauna
  • 3 blocks from the Light Rail serving the MSP Airport and Mall of America
  • Delicious home style cooking at the on-site Normandy Kitchen
  • Free high-speed wireless Internet access
  • New Fitness Suite offers cardio machines and free weights

Rooms

The guest room and suites at the Best Western Normandy Inn & Suites are newly appointed with modern amenities. Guests enjoy a large work desk, free high-speed wireless Internet, new flat-screen TV and satellite cable. Euro-style bedding, pillow-top mattresses and fluffy duvets promise a restful sleep. In-room amenities include a coffee and tea maker, hairdryer, iron and ironing board. Suites with separate living room, kitchenette and adjoining guest rooms are also available.

Features

At the Best Western Normandy Inn, a working piano surrounded by a fireplace and large chairs adds distinct character to the hotel's lounge area. The on-site Normandy Kitchen is a cozy yet upscale restaurant with reasonably priced American and Bistro style dishes. The high-backed leather booths, mahogany woodwork and sidewalk-view windows lend to a very European atmosphere. The Normandy Kitchen is open daily for breakfast, lunch and dinner.Guests can fit in a workout at the onsite exercise facility offering weightlifting equipment, a treadmill and stationary bike. The heated indoor pool is housed by a 4-story atrium and includes a jacuzzi and sauna.

Transportation

  • Minneapolis-St. Paul International Airport (9.4 mi/15.1 km)
  • Amtrak (5.8 mi/9.3 km)

Attractions

  • Metrodome (0.7 mi /1.1 km)
  • Minneapolis Convention Center (0.8 mi /1.3 km)
  • Nicollet Mall (0.9 mi /1.4 km)
  • Guthrie Theatre (0.9 mi /1.4 km)
  • Target Center (0.9 mi /1.4 km)
  • Downtown St. Paul (9.5 mi /15.2 km)

Business

  • 5,900 square feet of banquet and meeting space
  • Newly renovated Continental Room comfortably hosts up to 240 people
  • 2 board rooms and 3 classrooms
  • Free computers with Internet access are available in the Business Center

Policies and fees
The pool area will be closed for remodelling from December 2 to 23.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Best Western Normandy Inn & Suites Rooms

King Suite-Non-Smoking
This is a two room non-smoking suite with a living room and bedroom featuring with one king bed, kitchenette including sink, fridge, microwave and 32" flat panel TV, large sleeper sofa, hard wire and wireless internet connection.
Deluxe Non-Smoking Double Queen Room
Non-Smoking deluxe quality guest room includes two queen beds.
Double Suite-Non-Smoking
This is a two room non-smoking suite with a living room and bedroom featuring with two double beds, kitchenette including sink, fridge, microwave and 32" flat panel TV, large sleeper sofa, hard wire and wireless internet connection.
Deluxe Non-Smoking King Room
Non-Smoking deluxe quality guest room includes one king size bed.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Pool
  • Non Smoking
General
Non Smoking
Pet friendly
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Hotel Map

44.9732 -93.2674
Area served
Minneapolis, MN.
Nearby airports
MSP - Minneapolis Saint Paul International Airport.
Area description
Located in the heart of downtown Minneapolis and provides easy and convenient access to the Government Center, convention center, Metrodome Stadium, Target Center, Nicollet Shopping Mall, Orchestra Hall and the Skyway System.

Nearby points of interest

  • Foshay Tower: 0.3 mi
  • Peavey Plaza: 0.4 mi
  • Minneapolis Convention Center: 0.4 mi
  • Hubert H. Humphrey Metrodome: 0.5 mi
  • Orpheum Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Target Center: 0.6 mi
  • Mill City Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Guthrie Theater: 0.7 mi
  • Stone Arch Bridge: 0.8 mi
  • Target Field: 0.8 mi
  • Basilica of St. Mary: 0.9 mi
  • Children's Theatre Company: 1 mi
  • Minneapolis Institute of Arts: 1 mi
  • Minneapolis Sculpture Garden: 1.1 mi
  • American Swedish Institute: 1.2 mi
  • Foshay Tower: 0.3 mi
  • Peavey Plaza: 0.4 mi
  • Minneapolis Convention Center: 0.4 mi
  • Hubert H. Humphrey Metrodome: 0.5 mi
  • Orpheum Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Target Center: 0.6 mi
  • Mill City Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Guthrie Theater: 0.7 mi
  • Stone Arch Bridge: 0.8 mi
  • Target Field: 0.8 mi
  • Basilica of St. Mary: 0.9 mi
  • Children's Theatre Company: 1 mi
  • Minneapolis Institute of Arts: 1 mi
  • Minneapolis Sculpture Garden: 1.1 mi
  • American Swedish Institute: 1.2 mi
  • Weisman Art Museum: 1.5 mi
  • University of Minnesota: 1.8 mi
  • Williams Arena: 1.9 mi
  • Mariucci Arena: 2 mi
  • Lake of the Isles: 2.1 mi
  • TCF Bank Stadium: 2.1 mi
  • Eloise Butler Wildflower Garden: 2.9 mi
  • Lakewood Cemetery: 3.2 mi
  • Lake Harriet Rose Garden: 3.5 mi
  • The Bakken Museum: 3.5 mi
  • Lake Harriet Band Shell: 3.7 mi
  • Riverview Theater: 3.8 mi
  • Lake Harriet: 4 mi
  • Minnehaha Park: 4.7 mi
  • The Museum of Russian Art: 4.8 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
The Normandy Kitchen at the Normandy Inn is the perfect venue for your banquet, meeting, or special occasion. Featuring menus from the kitchen of acclaimed Minneapolis Chef Pete Stumme. Featuring the all new Continental Ball Room. Four private banquet rooms, Easy on-site parking. Internet access and audio visual services available.

Dining

The Normandy Kitchen
Classic... Comfortable... Timeless... The Normandy Kitchen welcomes you with the food and drinks you have always known and loved. The Normandy Kitchen serves classic American fare, prepared from scratch with the freshest ingredients. You'll love the decor and ambience that reflect the history of the hotel and the city. Breakfast, lunch, dinner and cocktails served daily.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (247)

Ratings and reviews for Best Western Normandy Inn & Suites

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
247 out of 247
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.4
Value:
4.2

89% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Best Western Normandy Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Varbrook
Iowa
Jul 12, 2012

Summer in Minneapolis

Location can't be beat. Walking distance to many great restaurants, shopping, and public transportation. Room was clean and overall adequate, but could have been improved with a refrigerator in the room or an ice machine on the floor. Good place for an inexpensive getaway.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of Best Western Normandy Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
sudie
Pueblo, Co.
Jul 8, 2012

Pleasure trip with friends

All of the young women at the front desk were very helpful and polite. However, the young men working the front desk were very arrogant and condescending! Actually, the young man working the evening of Saturday, June 23rd was very rude! There were two men at the front desk Monday morning, June 25th, the day we checked out. The younger one was extremely rude when we asked if the shuttle could take us to the airport. He told us the shuttle does not go to the airport, and he didn't know who would tell us that! (we had been told when we checked in that it would). The older of the two men told us he would call for a towncar for us to take us to the airport. We turned down several cabs because we were told the towncar was on its way. However, another cab (van) pulled up and asked us if we needed a ride. We told him no, we were waiting for the ride that was called for. The cab driver went inside then came back out and said he was the ride the hotel called for us. I went in to ask, and was told "yes" by the same man who told me he called for a lincoln towncar! On the second day of our stay, the elevator went out, and we were told they could not have it repaired until Monday. It was a good thing we were staying on the second floor because our friend had a broken foot and was in an orthopaedic shoe, and she had to climb the stairs. There was a female bartender/server in the lounge that was also just a bit rude. I don't remember her name, but she had very curly brown hair. However, there was a male bartender/server working Sunday night, June 24th that was extremely nice. Very, very personable! The food was average, but extremely over-priced! We ate dinner there one night, and it was $200.00 for a small pizza, fish & chips, one bowl of french onion soup, a baked chicken meal, and a six-ounce sirloin meal along with our cocktails. We ate the next night at Tony Roma's and we had an appetizer, four large dinners, and our cocktails for $165.00!! We had also eaten one night at the 8th street grill, and the price was no where near what was charged at the Normandy! All-in-all, we had a great trip and met some amazing people. We will be coming back to Minneapolis/St. Paul, but we will not be staying at the Normandy Inn again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Review of Best Western Normandy Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
RichMar
Northville, Michigan
Jul 3, 2012

Great Minneapolis location and accomodations

We stayed for 4 nights in June/July 2012 and found the hotel very comfortable, the staff was very attentive and helpful and the location was central to seeing the city. In addition, we looked forward to the milk and cookies at 10 PM nightly. It has an attached restaurant, at which we had an ok breakfast. There is onsite parking at an additional cost, but it was worth it. We would stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Easy to get to Nicolette Mall and central city attractions.

Review of Best Western Normandy Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Costanza 3319
Wisconsin
Jun 19, 2012

Great Location

Right downtown Minneapolis, within walking distance of Target Field and the Metrodome. Front desk staff was friendly and infomative. Parking wasn't too bad. They've got a lot that charges $9 per day. Our room overlooked the pool area which was pretty cool. Really good value for being downtown. I'd definitely come back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

A half mile away from the Nicollet Mall.

Review of Best Western Normandy Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ted999
Business
Palo Alot Ca
Jun 7, 2012

YES

The staff and returant personel were great. The room spatious with everything you would want. It is a 5 minute walk to the center of everything. The price was really cheap. The room and place has small maintainance problems everywhere though (a knob that fell off, a sink drain that doesn't close...)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Best Western Normandy Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Scribemjhf
Business
Philadelphia, PA
May 7, 2012

Good and bad

Good: Staff was attentive, though not always helpful. Great location for being in downtown Minneapolis. Bad: Biggest problem was with Internet access. It took 24 hours for them to figure out how to grant me access to their wireless network. As a business traveler that is not good. I was supposed to host a webinar while staying at this hotel, but because of the problems with the Internet, I had to make other arrangement. And they did not offer to compensate me for this lack of access to the Internet.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Seven is a great place for sushi in downtown Minneapolis. It is about a ten minute walk from the hotel.

Review of Best Western Normandy Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
hawkflyer
Business
Oakland, Ca
May 3, 2012

Conference attendee

This was in a great location to the conference center and had a much lower price than any of the larger hotels downtown. I loved the interior decor, felt like Bogart would walk in any moment, the food was really good at a good price and bar was perfect to relax after a long day with some friends. I would have no hesitation to stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Best Western Normandy Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
howestock
mchenry il
Mar 28, 2012

girls weekend

Great hotel especially for the price. Nice staff !

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of Best Western Normandy Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Mankato
Business
Mankato, MN, USA
Mar 17, 2012

Cheaper Alternative

We stayed here while attending an annual conference. It was a great deal compared to the hotel where the conference was located. The walk was fine because of the unseasonably warm weather, but it would not have been fun if it was cold. We were a bit disappointed that the courtesy shuttle would not drop us off near our conference location when providing service to others attending basketball games. Overall, good stay for the price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Nicollet mall is about 4 blocks from this hotel.

Review of Best Western Normandy Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
WayneMN
Minneapolis, MN, USA
Mar 3, 2012

Good visit

We stayed at the Normandy Inn in downtown Minneapolis and attended the Guthrie Theater. The location was perfect, the staff gave us free shuttle to and from the Guthrie, and the room was great. Do not expect a brand new hotel,since the Normandy was originally built in 1925. But it is very well maintained and has been updated to modern standards. We could easily walk the sky-ways to almost anywhere in the downtown area. Great value. We had an excellent breakfast in the Normandy's restaurant.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Back to menu Return to top