Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 21, 2014 Check-out: Aug 24, 2014

Grand Hotel Ocean City

2 stars
2100 N Baltimore Ave., Ocean City, MD 21842
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
182 reviews
wonderful, wonderful wonderful

the view was perfect of the ocean. The desk clerks were very helpful.the room was of great size... See full review

  • Anonymous
  • May 27, 2011
wonderful, wonderful wonderful

the view was perfect of the ocean. The desk clerks were very helpful.the room was of great size... See full review

  • Anonymous
  • May 27, 2011
Large hotel with ample features on Ocean City boardwalk

Grand Hotel is a high-rise on the long, vibrant Ocean City boardwalk, just steps from the sand. Features include free Wi-Fi indoor and outdoor pools, fitness center, saunas, game room, salon with full beauty and spa services, meeting/banquet facilities, guest laundry facilities, and on-site shops. Grand Terrace restaurant on the sixth floor offers upscale dining and sweeping bay views. Lounge and 24-hour coffee house are also on site. Features available seasonally include a pizzeria, ice cream parlor, and the second-floor Pool Bar.

Highlights

  • Indoor and outdoor swimming pools
  • Free wireless high-speed Internet access
  • On-site restaurants, full-service salon, and shops
Rooms

All 251 guest rooms (including two suites) boast full or partial ocean views. Most rooms have two queen beds. Rooms on the top (12th) floor come with a king-size bed and Jacuzzi. Additional room features include balcony, cable television, free Wi-Fi, refrigerator, microwave, coffeemaker, hair dryer, iron/ironing board, electronic safe, and wet bar. Nonsmoking and handicapped-accessible rooms are available.

Features

Grand Hotel takes advantage of its beachfront setting with ample ocean views and a seaside-holiday atmosphere. The 251-room hotel features indoor and outdoor pools, free Wi-Fi, a fitness center, full-service salon with spa services, meeting/banquet facilities, guest laundry facilities, and a jewelry store and other on site.

                   

Guests can dine in Grand Terrace restaurant, which offers sweeping bay views from the sixth floor. Java Beach Coffee House provides service 24 hours a day, and a pizzeria and ice cream parlor are open in season. Shipwreck Lounge offers pool tables and karaoke. Six-story garage provides plenty of parking.

Transportation
  • Baltimore-Washington International Airport (138 mi/222.1 km)
  • Reagan Washington National Airport (151 mi/243 km)
Nearby attractions
  • Jolly Roger Amusement Park (0.7 mi/1.1 km)
  • Ocean City Convention Center (1.3 mi/2.1 km)
  • Ocean City Life-Saving Station Museum (2 mi/3.2 km)
  • DiscoverSea Shipwreck Museum (7.6 mi/12.2 km)

Grand Hotel Ocean City Rooms

Premier View/Unobstructed ocean views
Room with 2 Queen Beds include Refrigerator, Microwave, Wet Bars, Coffee Makers, Wireless High Speed Internet Access, Cable Television, Irons and full size ironing boards. Smoking or non-smoking by request and subject to availability. Every room is equipped with an electronic safe. A daily safe warranty fee of $1.50 plus tax will be posted to your account.
Grandview/ Limited or side ocean views
Room with 2 Queen Beds include Refrigerator, Microwave, Wet Bars, Coffee Makers, Wireless High Speed Internet Access, Cable Television, Irons and full size ironing boards. Smoking or non-smoking by request and subject to availability. Every room is equipped with an electronic safe. A daily safe warranty fee of $1.50 plus tax will be posted to your account.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Pool
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
Restaurant
Services
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Grand Hotel Ocean City also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.2 out of 5

Hotel Map

38.3504 -75.0766
Area served
Ocean City.
Nearby airports
Ocean City Airport (SBY).
Area description
Nearby Attractions : Atlantic Ocean and Ocean City Boardwalk, Numerous Restaurants/Lounges within Walking Distance, Trimper's Amusement Park and Interactive Arcade, Waterslides/Miniature Golf/Go Karts, 21 Area Golf Courses, Fishing and Charter Boats, Jet Skis/Parasailing, Ocean City Life Saving Museum.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (182)

Ratings and reviews for Grand Hotel Ocean City

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
182 out of 182
Amenities:
3.9
Room cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.7

80% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Grand Hotel Ocean City

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Valley Stream, NY
Aug 20, 2010

could have been better

we went there for a 4 day vacation. we love the hotel location because it is near the boardwalk. since it's a vacation, a good night sleep could have been better and with a softer pillow. it's not going to stop me from coming back but i would bring my own pillow next time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

make sure to get a boardwalk map.

Review of Grand Hotel Ocean City

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
The Better Half
Frederick, Md.
Aug 15, 2010

Nice place to stay for weekend getaway

Very good location. Room was clean. The carpet in the room needed to be re-stretched, it was bunched up in places.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Excellent restaurant 1 block away.

Review of Grand Hotel Ocean City

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
The Better Half
Frederick, Md.
Aug 15, 2010

Nice place to stay for weekend getaway

Very good location. Room was clean. The carpet in the room needed to be re-stretched, it was bunched up in places.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Excellent restaurant 1 block away.

Review of Grand Hotel Ocean City

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Chicago, IL
Jul 24, 2010

On the boardwalk and view of the ocean

We parked the car in the hotel's garage and did not move it for three days. Great location - right on the boardwalk and a view of the ocean. You could lie on the bed and watch the waves roll in. We played on the beach, used the indoor pool and morning bike rides and evening strolls on boardwalk. Only complaint (small) was the room was not cleaned until 4:00 pm.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: In Hotel

They only take cash at many of the places on the boardwalk. Take cash or prepare to pay hefty atm fees.

Review of Grand Hotel Ocean City

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Chicago, IL
Jul 24, 2010

On the boardwalk and view of the ocean

We parked the car in the hotel's garage and did not move it for three days. Great location - right on the boardwalk and a view of the ocean. You could lie on the bed and watch the waves roll in. We played on the beach, used the indoor pool and morning bike rides and evening strolls on boardwalk. Only complaint (small) was the room was not cleaned until 4:00 pm.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: In Hotel

They only take cash at many of the places on the boardwalk. Take cash or prepare to pay hefty atm fees.

Review of Grand Hotel Ocean City

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Northern VA
Jul 21, 2010

What A Great Vacation

Location, location, location was Fabulous for our family, its on the boardwalk but far enough away from downtown that you dont get all the noise. its close to 2 putput coarses and the jolly roger amusement park and Phillips and Embers resteraunts off boardwalk. A great find was the Terrace resteraunt on the 6th floor for breakfast, great food at reasonable price. All of the staff was super helpful. on our last day when we checked out the front desk said if we planned on spending the day we were welcome to use all of the facilities that guests could. so we stayed on the beach until 5pm our last day. The Hotel really is a great place to spend your vacation!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Time-saving tip: Long walk from hotel

Would definitely recommend taking the trolly up and down the boardwalk if you just want to go to the rides at the inlet.

Review of Grand Hotel Ocean City

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Northern VA
Jul 21, 2010

What A Great Vacation

Location, location, location was Fabulous for our family, its on the boardwalk but far enough away from downtown that you dont get all the noise. its close to 2 putput coarses and the jolly roger amusement park and Phillips and Embers resteraunts off boardwalk. A great find was the Terrace resteraunt on the 6th floor for breakfast, great food at reasonable price. All of the staff was super helpful. on our last day when we checked out the front desk said if we planned on spending the day we were welcome to use all of the facilities that guests could. so we stayed on the beach until 5pm our last day. The Hotel really is a great place to spend your vacation!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Time-saving tip: Long walk from hotel

Would definitely recommend taking the trolly up and down the boardwalk if you just want to go to the rides at the inlet.

Review of Grand Hotel Ocean City

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
PA
Jun 30, 2010

good time

very nice accomodation

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Grand Hotel Ocean City

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
PA
Jun 30, 2010

good time

very nice accomodation

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Grand Hotel Ocean City

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
DKumpf4
Pennsylvania
Jun 23, 2010

Rooms clean, great location

Our first room was ocean view, but the balcony was next to the huge air conditioner units which masked the ocean sounds; fortunately for us the lock on the patio door was broken so they gave us a room facing ocean front (room 1111)--beautiful view of the ocean. Room was clean, fixtures getting a bit old and worn but fine for us; very roomy with a microwave and small refrigerator, sink and cabinets for storage. Price we got was expensive for us but a deal compared to the regular price. I'd never pay the $300 per nite for this, but $200 was nice. BEWARE: The 'Grand Pizza' shop in the lower level is not associated with the hotel, and was horrible--my "Italian" sub consisted of one piece of minced bologna (for $7 bucks). No one there spoke English (or just the basics) so when I asked for a manager, everyone just shrugged. OC Food recommendations: The Fish Tale nearby has good sandwiches/fish tacos, fresh and reasonable. Best Mexican restaurant is a bit of a drive-in Selbyville Delaware (just over the border, about a 20 minute drive but well worth it: Cactus Cafe. Excellent meals! Get your pizza elsewhere on the boardwalk!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
2
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Cactus Cafe, Selbyville, Delaware - excellent mexican type food. Layton's restaurant on 16th?/highway for breakfast; the Grand Hotel coffee/bake shope, 24 hours, great bagels.

Back to menu Return to top