Renaissance Baltimore Harborplace Hotel

4 stars
202 East, Pratt Street, Baltimore, MD 21202
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
83 reviews
Star Spangled Spectacular Stay

Our stay at the Renaissance in Baltimore was very enjoyable. Staff was very helpful and was able to... See full review

  • Rob and Kathy
  • Sep 15, 2014
Labor Day on the Harbor

I booked this hotel for my parents for Labor Day weekend and they have not stopped telling me about... See full review

  • Beecs
  • Sep 2, 2014
Cushy digs, quality service -- a first-rate Inner Harbor encounter

The AAA 4-diamond Renaissance Baltimore Harborplace Hotel ranks among Baltimore's finest. Located just off the waterfront, it places guests within steps of Inner Harbor's shops, restaurants and attractions. The National Aquarium is just across the street and the Harborplace Mall is adjacent to the hotel. All 586 guest rooms and 34 suites have been recently renovated and feature thoughtful touches like cotton-rich linens and Aveda bath products. The on-site restaurant serves all-natural ingredients all the time.

Highlights
  • Premium Inner Harbor location, overlooking the waterfront and its myriad shops, restaurants and cultural attractions
  • Acclaimed on-site restaurant features a seasonal, all-natural menu
  • State-of-the-art fitness center offers sweeping city and harbor views
Location

Forget taxis. From the Renaissance Baltimore Harborplace Hotel it's easy to cover the bustling Inner Harbor scene on foot. The hotel sits just off the harbor's eastern corner, directly across the street from the U.S.S. Constellation and within striking distance of myriad sites and attractions, including Fell's point, the Maryland Science Center and Camden Yards.

Rooms

Guest rooms at the Renaissance Baltimore Harborplace Hotel exude a chic, urban feel with sleek furnishings and the occasional splash of bold color. All offer high-speed Wi-Fi (fees apply) and some deliver partial or full harbor views. Club Level Rooms come with evening turndown service and access to the Club Lounge, which serves complimentary breakfast (continental), midday snacks, hors d'oeuvres and cocktails (for a fee). Every suite has a king bed, separate living room and harbor view.

Features

The Renaissance Baltimore Harborplace Hotel has received the AAA 4-diamond award for 22 years and counting. Located on the fourth floor, the state-of-the-art fitness center is free and open 24/7. Personal flat-screen monitors adorn each cardio station and guests enjoy spectacular city and water views. The indoor pool area includes a sleek, Wi-Fi-enabled lounge to kick back in, order room service or catch up on e-mails.

Dining

Located on the fifth floor of the Renaissance Baltimore Harborplace Hotel, Watertable specializes in all natural American fare with a Chesapeake twist. Its seasonal menu relies heavily on ingredients harvested from regional farms and waters -- and its floor-to-ceiling windows ensure spectacular harbor views from every table.

Transportation
  • Metro stop (0.4 mi./0.6 km)
  • Penn Station (1.5 mi./2.4 km)
  • Greyhound Terminal (2 mi./3.2 km)
  • Baltimore-Washington International Airport (8 mi./12.9 km)

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Indoor pool
  • Non Smoking
General
Air conditioned
Non Smoking
Elevators
Ice machine
Activities
Indoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Exercise gym
Tennis
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Coffee shop
Room service
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Laundry service
Guest laundromat
Express checkout
Concierge desk
Laundry/Valet services
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Car rental desk
Barber shop
Barber/Beauty shop
FAX
Video checkout
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Drugstore
Florist
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Accessible parking
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Safe
Phone with speaker
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Turndown service
Cribs available
In room movies
Temperature control
Iron
Ironing board
Bath tub
Bidet
Wet bar

Hotel Map

39.2866 -76.6117
Area served
Inner Harbor
Nearby airports
Baltimore/Washington International Thurgood Marshall Airport, (BWI), 8.00, MI, S; Washington Dulles International Airport, (IAD), 60.00, MI, NE; Ronald Reagan Washington National Airport, (DCA), 45.00, MI, N; Martin State Airport, (MTN), 10.00, MI, SW;
Area description
City Center, Location Type: City

Nearby points of interest

  • Historic Ships in Baltimore: 0 mi
  • Harborplace & The Gallery: 0.1 mi
  • Inner Harbor: 0.1 mi
  • Top of the World Observational Level: 0.1 mi
  • Maryland Science Center: 0.3 mi
  • Convention Center: 0.4 mi
  • Baltimore Arena: 0.4 mi
  • Pier Six Concert Pavilion: 0.4 mi
  • American Visonary Art Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Federal Hill Park: 0.5 mi
  • Little Italy: 0.6 mi
  • Hippodrome Theater: 0.6 mi
  • Oriole Park at Camden Yards: 0.6 mi
  • Edgar Allan Poe's Grave Site and Memorial: 0.7 mi
  • The Walters Art Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Historic Ships in Baltimore: 0 mi
  • Harborplace & The Gallery: 0.1 mi
  • Inner Harbor: 0.1 mi
  • Top of the World Observational Level: 0.1 mi
  • Maryland Science Center: 0.3 mi
  • Convention Center: 0.4 mi
  • Baltimore Arena: 0.4 mi
  • Pier Six Concert Pavilion: 0.4 mi
  • American Visonary Art Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Federal Hill Park: 0.5 mi
  • Little Italy: 0.6 mi
  • Hippodrome Theater: 0.6 mi
  • Oriole Park at Camden Yards: 0.6 mi
  • Edgar Allan Poe's Grave Site and Memorial: 0.7 mi
  • The Walters Art Museum: 0.8 mi
  • M&T Bank Stadium: 0.8 mi
  • Washington Monument and Mount Vernon Park: 0.8 mi
  • Fell's Point: 1 mi
  • Baltimore Museum of Industry: 1 mi
  • Baltimore and Ohio Railroad Museum: 1.1 mi
  • The Johns Hopkins University: 1.4 mi
  • Fort McHenry National Monument: 2.2 mi
  • Baltimore Museum of Art: 2.8 mi
  • Druid Hill Park Conservatory: 3.2 mi
  • Hampden: 3.5 mi
  • The Maryland Zoo: 3.5 mi
  • Basilica of the National Shrine of the Assumption of the Blessed Mary: 4.1 mi
  • Cylburn Aroboretum: 5 mi
  • Pimlico Race Track: 5.7 mi
  • Port of Baltimore: 6.2 mi

Dining

Watertable
Savor all-natural American classics created by a skilled culinary team using only the freshest of each season's ingredients. From small plates and cocktails to multi-course meals and fine wine, memorable fine dining in Baltimore, MD starts here.
Watertable Lounge
Whether ending the day or kicking off the evening, the Watertable Lounge offers an atmosphere filled with breathtaking Inner Harbor views, friendly service and an offering of inventive cocktails, fine wine, tasty appetizers and delicious meals.
The Ground Floor Cafe & Bar
Boasting choice StarbucksĀ® Coffee drinks, fresh pastries and free Wi-Fi, this coffee house serves up tantalizing fare throughout the day making it easy to brunch or lunch as time allows. Sandwiches, fresh fruits and salads are daily menu favorites.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
04:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (83)

Ratings and reviews for Renaissance Baltimore Harborplace Hotel

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
83 out of 83
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.8
Value:
3.7

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Renaissance Baltimore Harborplace Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
very disapointing vaca
illinois
Apr 15, 2014

Location Right in Port Area but VERY NOISY

WE DID NOT GET ANY REST IN THE EVENING OR THRU THE NIGHT FOR ALL THE SIRENS. We would never stay at that location unless it were a inside room away from the streets. Which would be difficult considering the Hotel it is in the centered by four main city streets. A center room would be open to the city mall inside the hotel which may not be any better. There seems to be a lot of trouble inside the mall with teens hanging out. We did see several arrest made in our four day stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
1
Review of Renaissance Baltimore Harborplace Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
USA
Aug 25, 2008

Very Poor

Upon arriving at 2:30 PM we were advised that our room was not ready. We were finally allowed to check into our room at 5 PM. The hotel elevators were extreemly slow and unable to handle the guest capacity so we choose to utilize the stairs from our 8th floor room. In utilizing the West stair well, specifically between the 5th & 4th floors (kitchen & dining are located on the 4th floor), is was evident due to the massive amounts of discarded cigarette butts and trash this was the unofficial break area for the dining and wait staff. The stair well was absolutely filthy. Sunday morning there were used discarded condoms in the stair well. I guess the cooks were having a little desert. Glad we did not eat at the restaurant! The location was great but I will avoid this and other Renaissance Hotels at all costs in the future.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Review of Renaissance Baltimore Harborplace Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Ben sales guy
Business
Baltimore, MD
Dec 15, 2013

2 star for the price of 4 star

I'm in sales and stay in hotels frequently. I've never actually submitted a negative review on a hotel, but this place is a blemish on the brand name. One elevator means that if your room is on the opposite side of building, you will spend a lot of time walking. It took a good ten minutes of walking to get from lobby to my room. The rooms were unimpressive, though admittedly clean and the bed was good quality. There is NOTHING complimentary, and valet service is rather pricey at $40/night. You will find a bottle of water in your room with a tag stating it's "provided for your convenience," followed by a statement that you'll be charged $4.00 "if consumed." I'm sorry, but for a hotel whose rooms start out at a minimum of $200/night, and don't provide even a continental breakfast, it feels shady to over-charge me for a bottle of water that should have been complimentary. Furthermore, I called room service to get a bowl of soup and a beverage, and they told me it would arrive in AN HOUR. I said that if it was going to take that long, thank you but I'll skip it. The person I was speaking to got an attitude and asked me in a huff if that meant I wanted her to cancel the order. It should be noted that the rest of the staff was absolutely wonderful and accommodating to the best of their ability. I feel like I paid for a 4-star hotel and ended up in a 2-star.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: In Hotel

An admittedly nice feature at this hotel is that the lobby has an entrance into a nice shopping mall where you can purchase a replacement for that suit or pair of shoes you forgot to pack.

Review of Renaissance Baltimore Harborplace Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Ella and Dale
Rehoboam Beach.,Delaware
Feb 6, 2014

They have bed bugs!!!!!!!

Beautiful hotel,somehow friendly staff BUT when we got in,the sheets were dirty!it had dirt and make-up stains. We called to get them changed .I'd like to mention that we were traveling with our 4 month old baby and this is why this situation got us so upset! Later on,I went to the bathroom and usually,at other hotels,when the toilet had been cleaned,the seat would be up,but not this time. I lifted the top,and there were some red stains on it(hopefully wine). I told my husband and I wiped it with a wet wipe;I looked into the shower and it had some yellow stains,and that's when he called the front desk. They asked if we want another room but,since we already knew that at least this one has clean sheets now,we asked them to come clean the bathroom. When my husband went to use the toilet,he found some more stains under the seat. We left the room for a couple of hours and came to,what it appeared to be,a cleaner room. Watching tv,we fell asleep,and when I woke up to nurse my daughter, my husband saw something crawling from under the pillow that was next to her. When he squeezed it with a tissue,blood came out of it,which means it had just bitten someone. That's when we said we had enough and left in the middle of the night, and drove to another state. They took are of the room and parking,but that's only fair because we only spent in there probably 3-4 hours.Driving home, we researched and realized it was a bed bug!!! If you never had to know what that does to your house,than let me tell you that it is very dangerous and your house can get contaminated from just one egg! We had to throw out everything that was in that room :suitcase,clothes,baby car seat and everything we wore. I got bitten and had 3 bites.When we called back to the hotel the second day and wanted to let the staff know they have the bugs, they ,at first,sounded very sorry and terrified. We told them we would just like to get reimbursed for the stuff we're throwing away in order to replace them. Someone called and she was very nice,apologizing and saying that we should throw everything away and that we were gonna be taken care of,so we made a list with the stuff we tossed with the price of almost every item. We counted only what was pricier, and not the items that it wouldn't be that hard to replace. The total came up to $1357. We let the person know and nobody called us back.When we tried calling, someone basically told us to stop bothering them with our questions and that they usually pay for the dry clean,so I guess that happens a lot. One thing you have to know about bed bugs is that they like the heat,and the only thing we saved was our coats, which we left outside for a couple of days,in cold temperature. We took them to the dry clean but never asked for the money we paid for them getting clean,since we had a feeling that we'll be neglected again. My husband used to stay at Marriott hotels all the time he would travel for business but now Hilton will be the choice,I guess. That brand will never we restored in our mind, nor did anybody try to do so.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Review of Renaissance Baltimore Harborplace Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
CKarn
PA
Apr 21, 2014

Horrible weekend

I ask for a room with king bed and I got a upgraded to a suite with a fold down full size bed. I felt like I was sleeping on a pull out couch. The room next door was loud all night and loud early in the morning. I had to wait for the second or third time for the elevator. I guess it was a holiday weekend. Only thing good about this place was the location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Review of Renaissance Baltimore Harborplace Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Dallas, TX
May 17, 2010

Not great.

$26 for self park was outrageous. Desk staff was unfriendly and not helpful when I was trying to get parking ticket validated....so that I could pay $26. Room was extremely noisy and I had requested a quiet room. No coffee maker in the room. Room rate high.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
2
Review of Renaissance Baltimore Harborplace Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Mike2230
Washington DC
Feb 20, 2014

Other than location, not much going for it.

Noisy at night. Lots of door banging and noise in the hallways. Security is really lax. The door to the next door shopping gallery was open all day with no security oversight of those entering. The hotel restaurant food was terrible ! Bread was stale; soup was warm; totally bad experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of Renaissance Baltimore Harborplace Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Cincinnati, OH
Nov 29, 2009

Great location, but I won't return

Forget about help with your bags if you check in later (we got in at 9p.m.) or if you check out early. It also really gets me when you spend this much money for a hotel room and they still want to stick you for $12.95/d for internet access when the donut shop across the street has free WIFI (out of range from my room, however). Very tacky on their part. We didn't have a car with us, but they were charging almost $40/night to valet park your car.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
2
Review of Renaissance Baltimore Harborplace Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Havertown, Pa.
Apr 22, 2010

Not worth the money

Reserved a room with two double beds, when I checked in they told me none were available at my price but if I spent 40.00 dollars more a night they would give me the room I reserved...the pool was so full of clorine that you had trouble breathing in the area, no ventilation(indoor pool)room service screwed up my order twice as well as being 45mins late the first day and 20mins late the second day...the hall ways at all hours had trays all over them they didn't come back and pick up the trays... the elevators were the slowest, smallest elevators I have encountered in a "luxury Hotel" save your money there are plenty of hotels in the inner habour area that cost half of what this hotel charges, very dissapointed...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
1
Review of Renaissance Baltimore Harborplace Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Xero
Charlottesville, VA, USA
Apr 5, 2012

Family getaway

This was a good choice for the location! Don't pay for the breakfast upgrade if you're traveling with teen, because they aren't included in meal price if they are over 12. All amenities are extra charge.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Very convenient location!

Back to menu Return to top