Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 22, 2014 Check-out: Apr 23, 2014

Howard Johnson Inn Cape Cod Area

2 stars
149 Main Street -Rt 28, West Yarmouth, MA 02673
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.6
out of 5
54 reviews
One Night

I needed a rest after dropping a family member off at the ferry. I needed to continue driving... See full review

  • 1 Tired Grand Nonni
  • Jun 28, 2013
Good location and family friendly

Staff was helpful and room was clean. Could not hear traffic. Pool clean and not crowded. Just... See full review

  • Dunn family
  • Jul 15, 2012
Budget Cape Cod hotel just a mile from Hyannis
The Howard Johnson Inn Cape Cod Area offers travelers a budget-friendly place to stay within a mile of Hyannis. Guests have easy access to ferries to Martha's Vineyard and Nantucket, beaches, whale watching, golf, tennis, shopping, fishing and restaurants. Families love that the establishment has a game room for the kids, complete with arcade games and a ping-pong table. The outdoor pool has plenty of space for lounging, but if the weather is not cooperating, just head to the heated indoor pool at Howard Johnson Inn Cape Cod Area.
Highlights

  • Indoor heated pool
  • Spacious outdoor pool
  • Free continental breakfast
  • Game room 

Location
The Howard Johnson Inn Cape Cod Area is located in West Yarmouth, Mass., just a mile from Hyannis.
Rooms
The 68 rooms at the Howard Johnson Inn Cape Cod Area are clean and quaint, with one or two beds, a television with cable, a refrigerator, a coffee-maker, a hair-dryer and individually controlled temperature settings. Most rooms have a sitting area with a table and chairs.
Features
The Howard Johnson Inn Cape Cod Area features an enormous outdoor pool where guests can go for a refreshing swim or relax on a lounge chair on the sundeck. Guests also have access to the on-site indoor climate controlled pool complex with a heated indoor pool, a Roman whirlpool and a sauna. Children love mingling in the on-site game room, complete with arcade games and a ping-pong table. The hotel has a picnic area complete with a table, a grill and a play area for kids as well. Guests can wake up and wander down to the lobby lounge, a sun-lit area where free continental breakfast is served daily.
Transportation

  • Cape Cod Central Railroad (1 mi/1.6 km)
  • Barnstable Municipal Airport (1.4 mi/2.2 km)
  • Boston Logan International Airport (62 mi/100 km)

Attractions

  • Putter's Paradise (0.1 mi/0.2 km)
  • Hyannis Harbor (0.9 mi/1.5 km)
  • Cape Cod Maritime Museum (1 mi/1.7 km)
  • JFK Museum (1.2 mi/2 km)
  • JFK Memorial (1.5 mi/2.5 km)
  • Cape Cod National Seashore (24.6 mi/39.7 km)
  • Plymouth Rock (29.8 mi/48.1 km)

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Heated pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Ice machine
Activities
Heated pool
Jacuzzi
Sauna
Game room
Dining
Coffee maker in room
Vending machines
Services
24 hour front desk
Security
Wake-up service
FAX
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Outdoor parking
RV or truck parking
Bus parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Accessible parking
Room
Safe
AM/FM alarm clock
Microwave
Cribs available
Ironing board

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Howard Johnson Inn Cape Cod Area also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.3 out of 5

Hotel Map

41.6571 -70.2591
Area description
Business district

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
02:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (54)

Ratings and reviews for Howard Johnson Inn Cape Cod Area

Overall score

2.6 / 5
54 out of 54
Amenities:
2.7
Room cleanliness:
2.9
Hotel staff:
3.3
Room comfort:
2.7
Location:
3.8
Value:
3.1

48% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Howard Johnson Inn Cape Cod Area

Reviewer score

3
Anonymous
Newtown, CT
Jun 7, 2011

Great for the price!

HOtel was clean and perfectly adequate for the price. The only downside was that the outside pool & hot tub weren't working. Totally adequate for $52 a night. Staff was VERY accommodating and helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Howard Johnson Inn Cape Cod Area

Reviewer score

4
Anonymous
CT
Jun 3, 2011

Great price and location

First of all, the location of the hotel was very good. Minutes from the beach, close to attraction like whale watching and kayaking, near great restaurants and shopping mall. The actual hotel room was typical, 2 beds, TV, fridge, bathroom, etc. We wished the room had a microwave, but it wasn't that big of a deal. The room was clean when we walked in which was a plus. The outdoor pool wasn't filled with water because it wasn't hot outside yet, but the indoor pool was good. The hot tub was broke however, which was disappointing. Overall the hotel was a good experience, and the low price made it even better. Staff was very nice and we would stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Howard Johnson Inn Cape Cod Area

Reviewer score

3
Cape Fan
Quiet Corner, Ct
Jun 1, 2011

Ok place to stay on a budget

The hotel room was ok...it said it was a non-smoking room but you could tell it used to be a smoking room by the stale cigarette smell. The continental breakfast was simply toast, juice, cofee, and cereal. Would have been nice to get some fruit or yogurt. Decent price considering we went memorial day weekend, but could use some updates.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Howard Johnson Inn Cape Cod Area

Reviewer score

3
Anonymous
maine
Apr 23, 2011

nice experience, nice price

rooms were large, service was great, only small complaint, fitted sheet wasn't tight, kept coming off corner. and TV cable was a little tricky at first, but totally adequate. overall a nice time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of Howard Johnson Inn Cape Cod Area

Reviewer score

3
Anonymous
Johnston Rhode Island
Aug 24, 2010

ok family getaway

a resturant and a fitness room

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Howard Johnson Inn Cape Cod Area

Reviewer score

2
average budgeting, weekend vacationer
Terryville, CT
Aug 24, 2010

not worth it

The location of the hotel is pretty good, but then again, any location ends up good in Cape Cod. I understand we went in mid-August, which is pretty much peak season, but the stay at this hotel was not at all worth what I paid. At around $100 a night, I walked into our room expecting something at least a bit nicer. I always hate and will never understand when some hotel bathrooms contain nothing more than a tub and toilet, with the sink and mirror in the main part of the room outside. Maybe it's me being a woman that would have appreciated at least a mirror in the bathroom. The shower pressure was ridiculously low. The lighting in the main part of the room was strangely spaced out and dim. There were a whopping 2 paintings that failed in brightening up the place. Some of the connected clothes hangers were broken, and it seemed it'd be a small enough investment for them just to replace them. I didn't use them anyway, I just think it added to the feeling that the owners didn't really care about the place. It didn't seem dirty, but just had a generally sort of dingy and run down feel. All in all, it's an alright place, if the price were significantly lower, to about $70 a night or so.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Salty's Restaurant, down the street, was excellent and had good prices.

Review of Howard Johnson Inn Cape Cod Area

Reviewer score

4
Anonymous
NorthEast PA
Aug 19, 2010

Entirely adequate. Good price & product

We found this hotel to be just fine for a weekend stay on the Cape. Reasonable rate and a clean room. Check in was easy, and the manager switched us to a ground floor room with no hesistation. The water pressure in the shower was good, but the towels were a little rough. The AC worked well, but was a bit loud. The pools both looked just fine, but we just didn't have time to utilize them. It was easy to get to & right on the highway that is Main St. in Hyannis so we did a little more shopping and dining there this trip. It wasn't a Hilton, but we're blue collar working folk and can't afford a Hilton. For a regular family stay this hotel is great. We will stay here again and would recommend it to family and friends.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Howard Johnson Inn Cape Cod Area

Reviewer score

1
Anonymous
Wilmington, MA
Aug 15, 2010

worst hotel I ever stayed at

The room was dirty. There were fleas everywhere. After complaining and showing the manager a couple of the fleas that I killed, he wiped them up and told me they were probably mosquitos. He then told me he didn't see anything and there was "no evidence" of fleas!!!! Very rude.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Review of Howard Johnson Inn Cape Cod Area

Reviewer score

1
Anonymous
Rhode Island
Aug 13, 2010

Awful!!!

This place was awful. We were supposed to have a view and ended up looking at concrete. We were supposed to have one queen sized bed and had two double beds. Both of them were hard as rocks. The curtains were ripped and the bedspread was stained with something that looked like blood. Blankets had holes and the bathroom had no curtains at all. Don't waste your money!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Review of Howard Johnson Inn Cape Cod Area

Reviewer score

4
Anonymous
Milton, MA
Aug 8, 2010

Good value

Good value for the money. Hotel staff is friendly and helpful. Outdoor and indoor pools were wonderful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Italian restaurant DiPalma is within walking distance and it was wonderful.

Back to menu Return to top