Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Oct 2, 2014 Check-out: Oct 3, 2014

Howard Johnson Inn Cape Cod Area

2 stars
149 Main Street -Rt 28, West Yarmouth, MA 02673
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.5
out of 5
62 reviews
Fantastic Cheap Getway

We decided to go to the cape last minute . and we didn't want to pay a lot . We didn't plan on... See full review

  • Logan's Super Mommie
  • Jun 21, 2014
One Night

I needed a rest after dropping a family member off at the ferry. I needed to continue driving... See full review

  • 1 Tired Grand Nonni
  • Jun 28, 2013
Budget Cape Cod hotel just a mile from Hyannis
The Howard Johnson Inn Cape Cod Area offers travelers a budget-friendly place to stay within a mile of Hyannis. Guests have easy access to ferries to Martha's Vineyard and Nantucket, beaches, whale watching, golf, tennis, shopping, fishing and restaurants. Families love that the establishment has a game room for the kids, complete with arcade games and a ping-pong table. The outdoor pool has plenty of space for lounging, but if the weather is not cooperating, just head to the heated indoor pool at Howard Johnson Inn Cape Cod Area.
Highlights

  • Indoor heated pool
  • Spacious outdoor pool
  • Free continental breakfast
  • Game room 

Location
The Howard Johnson Inn Cape Cod Area is located in West Yarmouth, Mass., just a mile from Hyannis.
Rooms
The 68 rooms at the Howard Johnson Inn Cape Cod Area are clean and quaint, with one or two beds, a television with cable, a refrigerator, a coffee-maker, a hair-dryer and individually controlled temperature settings. Most rooms have a sitting area with a table and chairs.
Features
The Howard Johnson Inn Cape Cod Area features an enormous outdoor pool where guests can go for a refreshing swim or relax on a lounge chair on the sundeck. Guests also have access to the on-site indoor climate controlled pool complex with a heated indoor pool, a Roman whirlpool and a sauna. Children love mingling in the on-site game room, complete with arcade games and a ping-pong table. The hotel has a picnic area complete with a table, a grill and a play area for kids as well. Guests can wake up and wander down to the lobby lounge, a sun-lit area where free continental breakfast is served daily.
Transportation

  • Cape Cod Central Railroad (1 mi/1.6 km)
  • Barnstable Municipal Airport (1.4 mi/2.2 km)
  • Boston Logan International Airport (62 mi/100 km)

Attractions

  • Putter's Paradise (0.1 mi/0.2 km)
  • Hyannis Harbor (0.9 mi/1.5 km)
  • Cape Cod Maritime Museum (1 mi/1.7 km)
  • JFK Museum (1.2 mi/2 km)
  • JFK Memorial (1.5 mi/2.5 km)
  • Cape Cod National Seashore (24.6 mi/39.7 km)
  • Plymouth Rock (29.8 mi/48.1 km)

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Heated pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Ice machine
Activities
Heated pool
Jacuzzi
Sauna
Game room
Dining
Coffee maker in room
Vending machines
Services
24 hour front desk
Security
Wake-up service
FAX
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Outdoor parking
RV or truck parking
Bus parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Accessible parking
Room
Safe
AM/FM alarm clock
Microwave
Cribs available
Ironing board

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Howard Johnson Inn Cape Cod Area also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.4 out of 5

Hotel Map

41.6571 -70.2591
Area description
Business district

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
02:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (62)

Ratings and reviews for Howard Johnson Inn Cape Cod Area

Overall score

2.5 / 5
5.01.0
62 out of 62
Amenities:
2.6
Room cleanliness:
2.8
Hotel staff:
3.3
Room comfort:
2.6
Location:
3.7
Value:
3

47% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Howard Johnson Inn Cape Cod Area

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Cirving
Vermont, USA
Sep 22, 2011

Moldy...would not recommend

The room smelled like mold so bad..even aired out the room and it was overwelhming. Staff was ok, good location, but the room was so disappointing, that I canceled my next two nights and stayed somewhere down the road, which was cheaper and way better!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Review of Howard Johnson Inn Cape Cod Area

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Cool
New Hampshire, USA
Aug 23, 2011

getaway

Hotel was resonably priced for the area. The complimentary breakfast had limited choices but did the job. Plenty to do close by.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Spanky's Clam Shack on Hyannis Harbour was great!

Review of Howard Johnson Inn Cape Cod Area

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Hurricane159
Pittsfield, MA, USA
Aug 23, 2011

First time Vacation!

I have to say, For the first vacation for me and my girlfriend, this hotel had to be the perfect one! The staff was very friendly, the room was very neat and well made, and the location was perfect! Loved how it had a indoor pool too! the only down fall was the hot tube was cold but it didn't really affect us. For all those who want a simple place to stay, that does not cost to much;,this is the perfect place!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Howard Johnson Inn Cape Cod Area

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Pittsburgh Xie
Pittsburgh, PA
Aug 1, 2011

Do yourself a favor DONT stay here!

Where to start with this hotel! Ah The only nice thing i can say is the staff is very friendly at the front desk. Our first room was on the lower level. The motel is VERY outdated. There were a few paintings in the room, one had stab holes in it. The wall had a hole in it like someone had punched it in. The toilet seat had scratches all over it, why not just spend the $10 to get a new toilet seat and make it look decent i dont understand. There were cobwebs in the corners everywhere. They put a family with 4 children above us. Incidentally these people never left the room except for the children to run up and down the walkway which was wooden like a boardwalk so it made a ton of noise. These people stomped 24 hours a day. We got our room changed after calling the 2nd time to complain. The 2nd room was even worse than the first! As far as stomping went, that stopped. But the ac unit in this new room whistled, and squeeled so loud i couldnt even believe it! There were a lot of bed bugs in the bed. I got bit multiple times on my legs as did my friend. Another thing this motel is right on the main road, i never heard so many ambulances drive by in my life! At least 20 a day sirens blaring. The vending machines werent stocked and the ice machine was always out. Just dont stay here! PLEASE PLEASE Yikes

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

The Keltic Kitchen has some of the best breakfast i've ever had in my life. Its right on Rt 28, try the Lemon, blueberry, ricotta pancakes, the creme brulee french toast, the bacon, cheddar, apple potato pancakes, etc! There sandwiches are also excellent, Monte Cristo was awesome.

Review of Howard Johnson Inn Cape Cod Area

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
New York, NY
Jul 25, 2011

HoJo with no MoJo

Stayed one night before camp visiting day. Was only looking for a clean room. Room had an unpleasant odor and seemed much worse for the wear. Carpet dingy, safe did not work, in serious need of a refresher. Outdoor pool was okay but indoor hot tub broken.Free WiFi was a plus Staff seemed nice, which was a small satisfaction

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

Close to mall and theaters

Review of Howard Johnson Inn Cape Cod Area

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
NH
Jun 28, 2011

So So Stay

Upon arriving we noticed the hotel was actually previously a motel and checking in the general manager checked us in and let us know the non-smoking 2 double bed room we reserved would not be available. Apparently if you request a non-smoking room you have to follow up and call the actual hotel to make sure they have it available. We ended up having to pay an additional $15 a night ( a $45 added cost to the trip) for an upgrade to 2 queens non-smoking, (the regular fee is $20, however the GM bumped it down to $15 because we complained). When we got to our room and checked it out we found the screen to the bathroom window on the floor and the window was cracked and wide open, the mattresses were hard as rocks and I never took my shoes off as the floors felt completely filthy. There were hardly any upgrades from the motel status and the people above us were stomping until 2:30 am and started up again at 6 am. If you want to stay at this hotel make sure you lock all windows and doors and don't leave anything worth money in your room. Sometimes cheaper isn't always better.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
2
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

If traveling with kids or just enjoy zoo's/aquariums, please don't waste your money on the zooquarium in West Yarmouth. All of the animals were very very old and miserable. The animals included common fish in lakes, swans, ducks, deer, raccoons, peacocks, goats, owls, a donkey, etc. It was very small and not worth the money at all!!

Review of Howard Johnson Inn Cape Cod Area

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
NY
Jun 26, 2011

Ok

hotel was ok you get what you pay for it's a little outdated also room service needs to be better we found condom box under the bed with a open condom wrapper

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Review of Howard Johnson Inn Cape Cod Area

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Wellsburg,NY
Jun 7, 2011

Howard Johnson's West Yarmouth

Nice hotel for the price. Don't look for a 5 star experience but for the money well worth it. Good location. Staff very receptive to requests and friendly. Would stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Provincetown had some good prices on sweatshirts.

Review of Howard Johnson Inn Cape Cod Area

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Newtown, CT
Jun 7, 2011

Great for the price!

HOtel was clean and perfectly adequate for the price. The only downside was that the outside pool & hot tub weren't working. Totally adequate for $52 a night. Staff was VERY accommodating and helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Howard Johnson Inn Cape Cod Area

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
CT
Jun 3, 2011

Great price and location

First of all, the location of the hotel was very good. Minutes from the beach, close to attraction like whale watching and kayaking, near great restaurants and shopping mall. The actual hotel room was typical, 2 beds, TV, fridge, bathroom, etc. We wished the room had a microwave, but it wasn't that big of a deal. The room was clean when we walked in which was a plus. The outdoor pool wasn't filled with water because it wasn't hot outside yet, but the indoor pool was good. The hot tub was broke however, which was disappointing. Overall the hotel was a good experience, and the low price made it even better. Staff was very nice and we would stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Back to menu Return to top