Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 18, 2014 Check-out: Apr 19, 2014

The Langham, Boston

5 stars
250 Franklin Street, Boston, MA 02110-2807
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.6
out of 5
98 reviews
Excellent staff, great hotel

The staff is extremely friendly and helpful, maid service was done very well. Turn-down service... See full review

  • ChunkyL
  • Jan 6, 2014
excellent!

This is an excellent hotel in the heart of the financial district. If you're in Boston on business,... See full review

  • berlin traveler
  • Dec 22, 2013
Elegant AAA four diamond hotel in former Federal Reserve Building

The Langham, one of Boston's finest hotel properties where all guest rooms exude elegance on par with the surroundings, resides in the former Federal Reserve Building and overlooks Post Office Square. This AAA four diamond-rated hotel sits among some of Boston's top attractions near Beacon Hill, Back Bay and Chinatown. Guests and locals dine at two of Boston's highly regarded restaurants, Bond and Café Fleuri, and indulge at the acclaimed Saturday chocolate bar. Relax at the on-site spa Chuan Body + Soul.

 

Highlights
  • Historic setting in former Federal Reserve Bank
  • AAA four diamond rating and EarthCheck Silver certified
  • Upscale contemporary dining at Café Fleuri for seafood and New England specialties
  • Blissful bed and Italian marble bathrooms, plus Chuan Body + Soul on-site spa
Rooms

Old world elegance marries modern amenities in each of the Langham's 318 guest rooms and suites. Rooms offer doubles, queen and king beds, all featuring the Blissful bed and luxurious linens. Exquisite furniture with ornate fabrics and rich colors adorn each room. Guest rooms feature an iHome docking station for iPods, dual-line telephones, high-speed wireless Internet, flat-panel LCD TV and laptop-compatible in-room safe. Many of the rooms overlook the city or Post Office Square. Bathrooms feature Italian marble vanities and upscale bath products.

Features

The historic setting of the former Federal Reserve Bank draws many guests to the Langham, but the high quality service and amenities command their return. Classic, old world décor permeates the lobby and public spaces with lush fabrics, regal carpeting, antique furniture and beautiful art. Guests can enjoy highly-rated cuisine at the hip and stylish Bond restaurant featuring small plates and cocktails. Café Fleuri serves seafood and New England specialties throughout the day. A state-of-the-art fitness center comprises modern equipment and an indoor pool, while Chuan Body + Soul spa invites guests to indulge.

Transportation
  • Hynes Convention Center (1.6 mi/2.5 km)
  • Logan International Airport (2.4 mi/4 km)
Attractions
  • Freedom Trail (2 blocks)
  • Boston Common (.5 mi/.9 km)
  • Boston University (1.6 mi/2.7 km)
  • Faneuil Hall/Quincy Market (2.1 mi/3.4 km)
Business
  • More than 14,000 square feet of flexible meeting space
  • 11 meeting rooms
  • High-speed Internet
  • Expert on-site conference consultants
Policies and fees
Starting 1 January 2013, the nightly rate for valet parking are as follows:

Sunday-Thursday: $44
Friday and Saturday: $30

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

The Langham, Boston Rooms

Classic Room
Classic rooms feature a queen bed, a working desk, 37 inch LCD flat panel HDTV, and all the top amenities that one can expect in a luxury hotel. Each room is approximately 270 square feet (All rooms vary in size due to the historic architecture of our building).
Superior Room
Superior rooms feature a king bed, are more spacious than a Classic guestroom, and provide all of the same luxury and amenities, including a working desk and 37 inch LCD flat panel HDTV. Each room is approximately 320 square feet (All rooms vary in size due to the historic architecture of our building).
Executive
Executive rooms are similar to a junior suite and feature a queen bed, a working desk, a seating area, 37 inch LCD flat panel HDTV and all the top luxuries and amenities. These spacious rooms are approximately 400 square feet (All rooms vary in size due to the historic architecture of our building).
Deluxe
Deluxe rooms, the largest before we move up into our suites, feature the choice of a king bed or two double beds. Many of these rooms overlook the city district or the park at Post Office Square with all the top amenities, including a working desk and 37 inch LCD flat panel HDTV . Each room is approximately 350 square feet (All rooms vary in size due to the historic architecture of our building).

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Indoor pool
  • Non Smoking
General
Non Smoking
Concierge
Pet friendly
Elevators
Activities
Indoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Services
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Langham, Boston also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5

Hotel Map

42.3565 -71.0545
Area served
Boston
Nearby airports
BOS-Boston Logan International Airport.
Area description
Overlooking the gardens of Post Office Square in the Financial District, this elegant hotel is steps from Boston's shops, restaurants and attractions, including Faneuil Hall, Newbury Street, the Freedom Trail, and the waterfront. Additionally, this hotel is minutes from the area's colleges and universities. Approximate driving time to The Langham, Boston from the airport is 15-20 minutes, or 2.5 miles.

Nearby points of interest

  • Site of the Boston Massacre: 0.2 mi
  • Boston National Historical Park: 0.3 mi
  • Faneuil Hall: 0.3 mi
  • New England Holocaust Memorial: 0.4 mi
  • Boston Children's Museum: 0.4 mi
  • The Paul Revere House: 0.5 mi
  • Boston Chinatown: 0.5 mi
  • Beacon Hill: 0.6 mi
  • African Meeting House: 0.6 mi
  • Boston Common: 0.6 mi
  • Old North Church: 0.7 mi
  • Louisburg Square: 0.7 mi
  • TD Garden: 0.7 mi
  • TD Banknorth Garden: 0.8 mi
  • Convention and Exhibition Center: 0.9 mi
  • Site of the Boston Massacre: 0.2 mi
  • Boston National Historical Park: 0.3 mi
  • Faneuil Hall: 0.3 mi
  • New England Holocaust Memorial: 0.4 mi
  • Boston Children's Museum: 0.4 mi
  • The Paul Revere House: 0.5 mi
  • Boston Chinatown: 0.5 mi
  • Beacon Hill: 0.6 mi
  • African Meeting House: 0.6 mi
  • Boston Common: 0.6 mi
  • Old North Church: 0.7 mi
  • Louisburg Square: 0.7 mi
  • TD Garden: 0.7 mi
  • TD Banknorth Garden: 0.8 mi
  • Convention and Exhibition Center: 0.9 mi
  • Copley Square: 1 mi
  • Trinity Church: 1.2 mi
  • USS Constitution Museum: 1.2 mi
  • Boston Public Library: 1.3 mi
  • Cruiseport Boston: 1.4 mi
  • Charlestown Navy Yard: 1.4 mi
  • Bunker Hill Monument: 1.4 mi
  • Skywalk Observatory: 1.6 mi
  • Matthews Arena: 1.9 mi
  • Symphony Hall: 1.9 mi
  • Berklee College of Music: 1.9 mi
  • Fenway Park: 2.3 mi
  • Museum of Fine Arts: 2.4 mi
  • Castle Island: 2.6 mi
  • John F. Kennedy Presidential Library and Museum: 3 mi
  • Agganis Arena: 3.3 mi
  • Arnold Arboretum: 5.4 mi

Dining

Cafe Fleuri
The Langham, Boston's Caf Fleuri offers a brasserie-style dining experience, featuring Mediterranean cuisine. Located beneath a magnificent six-story glass atrium, Caf Fleuri is the perfect setting to enjoy breakfast and lunch seven days a week. An open kitchen, complete with a brick oven, allows diners a glimpse of culinary creativity firsthand. Caf Fleuri has been awarded "Best Power Breakfast" honors and the restaurant also presents an internationally famous Saturday Chocolate Bar (seasonal), featuring scrumptious chocolate creations.
BOND restaurant/lounge
BOND restaurant and lounge features a modern twist in a classic building. Executive Chef Mark Sapienza, serves innovative and eclectic dishes throughout the day, showcasing small plates of global cuisine. Nightlife begins after 5:00 p.m. at BOND restaurant | lounge. Thursday through Saturday nights, sip on creative cocktails while enjoying a live DJ brings from 10:00 p.m. to 2:00 a.m. BOND offers a mix of dining tables and lounge seating with a casual, yet sophisticated atmosphere. For a more exclusive ambiance, the Dom Perignon Lounge offers a balcony with seating for private groups up to 18 people.
Saturday Chocolate Bar
Spend Saturday afternoons indulging your sweeter side at our unique Chocolate Bar. Voted "Best Indulgence" by Boston Magazine, our Chocolate Bar is guaranteed to astonish and delight chocolate lovers. Experience this all-you-can-enjoy buffet, which comprises a delicious assortment of scrumptious chocolate desserts, including chocolate mousses, specialty cakes, made-to-order chocolate crpes, homemade ice cream, fresh baked cookies, milk chocolate passion fruit tarts, miniature s'more cups, cotton candy, delicate truffles and more.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
From a grand affair for 600 to a discreet meeting of the Board, The Langham, Boston's elegant meeting and function salons. Each unique in dcor and ambiance, are the perfect home for your sophisticated program. Whether your event is intimate or extravagant, we are at your service. We invite you to experience our Langham brand attributes, such as professionally trained meeting and event specialists who will create an unforgettable program for you. All of our sophisticated meeting areas are equipped with modern technology such as high-speed Internet access, adjustable lighting and climate control. Many rooms also feature retractable presentation screens. Additionally, our professional in-house audio-visual department is ready to assist your needs.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (98)

Ratings and reviews for The Langham, Boston

Overall score

4.6 / 5
98 out of 98
Amenities:
4.4
Room cleanliness:
4.8
Hotel staff:
4.8
Room comfort:
4.7
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.3

97% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Langham, Boston

Reviewer score

4
ph646
New York City
Apr 30, 2012

Very hospitable, comfortable, tired decor

Had a wonderful time thanks to extraordinarily hospitable and friendly hotel staff, including room service. Amenities were very well thought out and of great quality. Modern, well equipped fitness center and short lap pool, with natural light. Less stellar experience with bar and restaurant.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Review of The Langham, Boston

Reviewer score

4
SSTTSSTTSS
Business
Ct
Mar 2, 2014

Langham financial

Lovely hotel in financial district not far from Faneuil hall. Enjoyed the folks and our stay. Would definitely recommend to all.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Umbria

Review of The Langham, Boston

Reviewer score

2
Revler1082
Brooklyn, NY
Feb 7, 2014

Mediocrity for more

Let me preface this review by stating that while I did not have a horrible experience, I won't be staying here again. There are much better hotels to be had for this price point. Check In ----------- There was only one person manning the desk when we arrived, and he was busy checking out a couple. They took forever to check out, so we took forever to check in. There were other hotel employees around, so I'm not sure why one of them couldn't just pick up the slack. The Room ------------- We had a superior king. The room was nice, but nothing special. I did like the size. There was a lot of space. The outlet situation is a nightmare. There was only one easily reachable/usable outlet, and that was the one that's a part of the desk lamp. Of course the connection was crazy loose, so the slightest movement could knock our your charger. The hot water situation was also poor. It would take a while to come in, and then the temperature would change if someone turned on the sink or flushed the toilet. I received none of the "special touches" that this place received such praise for. Maybe it's just for the more expensive rooms. I did love the anti-fog mirror in the bathroom. It would stay clear no matter what. I also liked the magnetic shower curtain that stuck to the tub. Housekeeping ------------------ Drinking glasses were never washed and replaced. Almost every place I've been to simply replaces the glasses. Ice buckets were never cleaned out and there was no plastic bag lining. Erratic schedule, sometimes they came more than once a day, sometimes not at all. Location ----------- I don't know what other people that reviewed this hotel were talking about, but the location isn't anything to write home about. Every time I stepped out of the hotel I took a taxi down to the hotel Commonwealth because there's simply not much to do around the Langham. There's also a lot of unsavory characters nearby. Breakfest ------------ There are no words to describe my utter disappointment with the breakfast I had. $65 for two people, and all I got was some unseasoned eggs and bad coffee. I mean honestly, at this level, you can't serve something that I would be disappointed to receive at a McDonalds. It's not even like the portions were large. I've had expensive breakfest at the Mandarin in Las Vegas, and it was tasty AND huge.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
2
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Oyster Creek Island Bar

Review of The Langham, Boston

Reviewer score

5
ChunkyL
Business
Boston, MA, USA
Jan 6, 2014

Excellent staff, great hotel

The staff is extremely friendly and helpful, maid service was done very well. Turn-down service with the robe and slippers out was a nice surprise. Room was well appointed, clean, and quiet on the 5th floor. I enjoyed my visit and would definitely stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Langham, Boston

Reviewer score

5
berlin traveler
Boston, MA, USA
Dec 22, 2013

excellent!

This is an excellent hotel in the heart of the financial district. If you're in Boston on business, that's ideal. If more of a getaway visit, the hotel is close access to lots of fun things. Staff are amazing and although this is upscale, it never feels stuffy.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of The Langham, Boston

Reviewer score

5
RDesigner
Business
Denver, CO
Dec 7, 2013

Reserved for my team members

They thought the hotel was great though they had accessible rooms due to the property being booked. They thought the bar was spectacular.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Langham, Boston

Reviewer score

4
Travelin Tripp
Everywhere, USA
Nov 24, 2013

One night. Awesome area

I used to live in the area and it was an awesome way to revisit it. Great location and close to a lot of awesome stuff. Classy hotel also.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
2
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Hit up Mr Dooleys for a fun Irish bar experience.

Review of The Langham, Boston

Reviewer score

5
berlin traveler
Boston, MA, USA
Nov 3, 2013

excellent,

The location is great in terms of access to many things. The financial district isn't so picturesque but walking distance to many great things. The pool, gym, and spa are all truly amazing--really worth the price if you want to splurge. Also the rooms were all very quiet. Definitely would stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of The Langham, Boston

Reviewer score

5
B2 USA
New Hampshire, US
Oct 6, 2013

Classy and cheerful

Langham is an excellent Boston hotel which is more than 150 years old. It is certainly modern in quality but classic in spirit. Langham’s décor and style are very unique – whimsical, Victorian, with elegant smile , I’d say. A small copy of classic edition of Alice in Wonderland you’ll find in your bedside drawer next to the Bible will probably illustrates this best. The hotel is located in the heart of the city, not quite in the middle of action but within a moderate walking distance to North End, waterfront, Quincy Market, Boston Common, theaters etc; it is a $20 taxi ride away from the airport. In our opinion, this resort is good for both romantic getaways and memorable family stays in Boston. It is not so good for you if you are looking for convenience budget lodging; however beware that such lodgings are not easy to come by in this part of the city.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of The Langham, Boston

Reviewer score

5
BadaBino
Business
New York, NY
Sep 19, 2013

Expensive but luxurious

I stayed here one night on business and thoroughly enjoyed it. it has the individual feel of an older hotel with lots of charm, but has great amenities including a high tech mirror in the bathroom that doesnt go all foggy! only gripes: hotels that still make you pay for internet in the room, i mean its 2013, and they were having a private party in the bar and i couldnt go anywhere relaxing but the lobby for a drink.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Langham, Boston

Reviewer score

5
ALS travel
Chicago
Sep 1, 2013

wonderful stay in Boston

great location, extremely clean, impeccable service

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Back to menu Return to top