Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 22, 2014 Check-out: Dec 25, 2014

Inn on St. Peter

3 stars
1005 St. Peter Street, New Orleans, LA 70116
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.1
out of 5
209 reviews
Killer deal!

Pleasantly surprised! Stayed 4 days, 3 nights. Our first floor deluxe queen room was fantastic and... See full review

  • mojolineup
  • Oct 3, 2014
Inn

Totally unexpected haven on the quarter living like a queen but casual enough to ale u feel at home... See full review

  • Jordenrosemat
  • Sep 6, 2014
The Inn on St. Peter is the leisure traveler's perfect retreat to the Crescent City. Carefully restored with traditional finishes, this New Orleans Inn marries the desires for modern convenience and comfort with an historic French Quarter setting. Listed on the National Register of Historic Places, the Inn on St. Peter was originally constructed in 1805 with its design influenced by the Spanish style of architecture during that period. Gorgeous private courtyards are nestled throughout the property and provide an ambiance and charm that brings every guest back to the peaceful days of the 19th century French Quarter. Throughout the guestrooms and courtyards guests will find the character of the natural wear of time preserved perfectly for their awe and enjoyment. Each of the 29 guest rooms and suites are unique and tell a different story about the spirit of the French Quarter. Balconies preserved over time offer visitors a distinct experience and a glimpse into simpler times. Immerse yourself in the culture and history of the French Quarter at the Inn on St. Peter.

Inn on St. Peter Rooms

King Suite
A spacious suite featuring one King sized bed in a private bedroom. The living area is furnished with one Full sized sofa sleeper, a 42" television, a dining table and chairs, and a mini refrigerator. Tastefully restored to its traditional design, the Inn on St. Peter is an early 1800's Spanish architecture building showcasing wrap around balconies and beautiful private courtyards. Guests will find antique heart of pine floors, white Carrera marble bathrooms, and all the modern conveniences and technology the seasoned traveler expects including complimentary wireless internet, LED TVs with HD programming, alarm clock with MP3, and Keurig Coffee Makers.
Deluxe 2 Queens
Our Deluxe 2 Queen Guest Room is furnished with 2 Queen sized beds. Tastefully restored to its traditional design, the Inn on St. Peter is an early 1800's Spanish architecture building showcasing wrap around balconies and beautiful private courtyards. Guests will find antique heart of pine floors, white Carrera marble bathrooms, and all the modern conveniences and technology the seasoned traveler expects including complimentary wireless internet, LED TVs with HD programming, alarm clock with MP3, and Keurig Coffee Makers.
Deluxe King
Our Deluxe One King Guest Room is furnished with one King sized bed. Tastefully restored to its traditional design, the Inn on St. Peter is an early 1800's Spanish architecture building showcasing wrap around balconies and beautiful private courtyards. Guests will find antique heart of pine floors, white Carrera marble bathrooms, and all the modern conveniences and technology the seasoned traveler expects including complimentary wireless internet, LED TVs with HD programming, alarm clock with MP3, and Keurig Coffee Makers.
Deluxe Double
Our Deluxe Double Guest Room is furnished with one Double sized bed. Tastefully restored to its traditional design, the Inn on St. Peter is an early 1800's Spanish architecture building showcasing wrap around balconies and beautiful private courtyards. Guests will find antique heart of pine floors, white Carrera marble bathrooms, and all the modern conveniences and technology the seasoned traveler expects including complimentary wireless internet, LED TVs with HD programming, alarm clock with MP3, and Keurig Coffee Makers.
Deluxe Queen
Our Deluxe Queen Guest Room is furnished with one Queen sized bed. Tastefully restored to its traditional design, the Inn on St. Peter is an early 1800's Spanish architecture building showcasing wrap around balconies and beautiful private courtyards. Guests will find antique heart of pine floors, white Carrera marble bathrooms, and all the modern conveniences and technology the seasoned traveler expects including complimentary wireless internet, LED TVs with HD programming, alarm clock with MP3, and Keurig Coffee Makers.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Services
Tour desk
Internet
WiFi

Hotel Map

29.9599 -90.0675
Area served
2 blocks from Bourbon Street, located in a quiet area of the French Quarter
Nearby airports
MSY
Area description
The Inn on St. Peter is situated in a quiet, residential section of the French Quarter, located at the corner of St. Peter and Burgundy St.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by CheapTickets

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (209)

Ratings and reviews for Inn on St. Peter

Overall score

3.1 / 5
5.01.0
209 out of 209
Amenities:
2.5
Room cleanliness:
3.4
Hotel staff:
3.9
Room comfort:
3.3
Location:
4.3
Value:
3.6

72% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Inn on St. Peter

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Baltimore, MD
Jul 29, 2007

Not very good

My stay at the St. Peter House Hotel, NEW ORLEANS, LA was not very comfortable. The shower had hair in it, on the wall and bottom of the tub, from the last guest. There was no remote control for the television. The window was covered by a shutter that I could not open and several slats in the shutter were either cracked or broken, so there was no view. The door to my room was not very secure, it felt loose and I believe a moderate shove could have easily forced it open. When there were no available parking spots on the street, the closest parking lot was four blocks away. The closet was tiny, less than three feet wide. There was no desk in the room, only an antique looking dresser and a small night stand on one side of the bed. The floor on the side with the night stand was uneven. I would definitely NOT stay at that hotel again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

The hotel is in the middle of the historic French Quarter.

Review of Inn on St. Peter

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Houston, Texas
Apr 22, 2010

Bad Hotel....even for a short visit

Booked this hotel because it was close to the French Quarter and it was relatively cheap. Well, you get what you pay for. The maid service was basically non exsistent. I had to request clean towels, washcloths and toilet paper. When I did get them, the maid just put them on the bed. She never once came in to clean, make the bed or anything. The floor was so dirty that if you walked from one side of the room to the other, your feet were nasty. We ended up wearing our flip flops anytime we had to walk in the room. The room only had a window unit air conditioner which is ok, but the thing was very loud and spit out rust. We used one of the "white" blankets one night and by morning the thing was covered in rust particles. I can just imagine how much of that was inhaled during sleep....They offer a continental breakfast which is served in the front office. There is no place to sit down and they have a "company" cat who decided that the best place to lay down was next to the container that housed the pastries and such. Now, I like animals, but not near my food!! Basically, there were no amenities. They did have a coke cola machine near our room but it was broke. Not even an ice machine near by....my family and I will never stay at this hotel again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There are several really good restaurants but there are several bad ones also. You will pay handsomely at both.

Review of Inn on St. Peter

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
black barbie
Business
New York
Jul 5, 2011

NASTY, DISGUSTING,

At first site the hotel was better than expected because I did read the reviews and figured that I would give it a chance because I'm an easy going person. When we got out room, I was like ok, just go to the store get some disinfecting spray clean & it's all good. After cleaning cause lets face it that's to be expected in hotels these days we sat on the couch...literally a cloud of dirt came off the couch..we went to sit in a chair the leg fell off. Ok, we are here to party all we have to do is sleep...time to go to sleep the beds are not connected to the headboard so it falls down on us cause the headboard is to big for the bed and all we were doing was sleeping...we call downstairs about the bed & chair. Day 2, they replace the old broke chair with an even older unsteady chair, oh & the bed frame fell on us because we were not to move it from the wall, sorry I didn't know I couldn't use the plug behind the bed because it turns out that was one of the few plugs that actually worked. Whatever we put a sheet on the couch & the party continued cause all we had to was sleep & we were in town for the Essence Music Festival so we were hardly in our room. Ok, day 3 no problems. Day 4 the balcony starts to fall..literally slacks were falling in the street then it happened..mice started running across the floor...yes, MICE!!! We call the front desk and inform them the manager tells us that they have more important issues seeing that the balcony is falling & they can lend us their nasty, dirty, flea infested cat & walks away. We leave, the next day we go back & talk to the manager who was like it was a minor incident and was like whatever. Translation for me was yes, we know we have mice, yes, we took your money & so what. No offer of sorry, didn't call to see if everything was ok, no apologies, no anything. So, I'm from the Empire State & they got a taste of how we handle things up north..always a lady but I did get a refund!!! I forgot we were in a suite, so we were in supposedly the best room they had to offer! DON'T EVEN CONSIDER THIS PLACE!!! IT IS DISGUSTING AND THEY DONT CARE!! THAT NASTY, FAT, FLEA INFESTED CAT IS THERE FOR A REASON!!!! P.S. The neighborhood is pretty, a short walk to the cemetary where we latched on to a tour, the Park is close where we were able to enjoy a morning festival. So I would recommend the neighborhood but NOT THE HOTEL!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Across the street is a little bar that has the best food!

Review of Inn on St. Peter

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Weekend Girls trip
Business
Georgia, USA
Oct 17, 2011

better off sleeping in your car!

I was planing a girls trip and purchased this hotel based on it being close to Bourbon street and the price. Mistake #1. Never go cheap on a hotel! There is a creepy courtyard that you have to go through to get to your room, and ours was located up a steep staircase that we had to walk up. Once in the room, there was only a twin size bed and NO additional room to walk around in! There was an old school AC unit located ABOVE the high window and a rotary dial phone! No shampoo in the small bathroom and the comforter was dirty! We ended up forfeiting the money we spent on 2 nights and re-booked at a different hotel a few blocks away.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

Metropolitan Night Club - more classy city feel club. Total opposite from Bourbon Street.

Review of Inn on St. Peter

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New York City
Oct 9, 2010

Filthy and worn down.

This hotel was a dump. The mattress was stained, the room was dirty. There was no internet, parking or amenities. The area was close to the quarter, but it was all but deserted around the hotel. Our biggest complaint was the sheer dirtiness of the place. Dirt on floorboards, weird smells and a manager who yelled at us when we asked to get out of our reservation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Inn on St. Peter

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Columbus GA
Jul 5, 2009

Absolutely deplorable conditions.

This is a trip that will never be forgotten. As we arrived we were greeted by the Manager [...]. Very perky to say the least. When given our keys (real keys) one for the alley and room, we departed to check the room out. It was absolutely deplorable. After frantically searching for other accommodations we resolved to stay one night. We were in New Orleans to experience the Essence Festival 2009 and all that the city had to offer (thus the reason for nothing being available). The room was very tiny and not clean at all. There was mold and mildew spewing in the air. The linens and spreads were soiled, the AC did not work, the tub filled with water before you could finish showering. I would not recommend that anyone stay here. As a matter of fact I will be reporting this facility to the BB and the NO health department. We were refunded our money and given the excuse that they were a old hotel at the price we paid they should be ashamed of their establishment. The maintenance man on the facility showed us a room that he was working on and wow it seemed to be immaculate, which perturbed us just a little more. Do not stay at this facility and my recommendations would be that the hotel be removed from every web site.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Inn on St. Peter

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
The truthful traveler
Business
Huntsville, Alabama
Apr 21, 2010

This place was really a dump

I love New Orleans. Overall the place is very visitor friendly. But, this hotel was very second rate and the staff were unfriendly and had an attitude that I had used [...] to book the room. I asked for an upgrade that I was willing to pay for and was denied because I booked with [...]. The room was the size of a jail cell with the same charm to match.I try to watch my costs when I travel and thought this hotel offered a deal to stay in the french quarter. I have no complaints about the noise or activities of fellow guests or other vacationers in New Orleans. It is just that this hotel is such a dump. It really shows its age and has a total lack of charm. You stand in the lobby/breakfast closet in front of the front desk for the coffee day old baked goods. You absolutely have to turn sideways to allow people walking into and out of this common area. It is the size of a walk in closet.I travel a lot and have a high tolerance for comfort and try to find a positive regardless of the situation. And, believe me I am not by nature a complainer but I warn you DO NOT STAY AT THIS HOTEL. But, go to New Orleans and enjoy the French Quarter and all the activites. I enjoyed myself, AFTER I BOOKED ANOTHER HOTEL. I kept my room at this hotel because I wasn't able to cancel after arrival and I didn't want the hotel to profit from re-renting the room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The French Quarter has dozens and dozens of little restaurants that offer really good food. I enjoyed the smaller restaurants and had great blackened Tuna and omelettes with bleu cheese and coffee shops with fresh baked goods.I can't tell you how friendly the folks were who lived in New Orleans. Very visitor friendly.

Review of Inn on St. Peter

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Hauntedhousefreaks
Business
Lakeland, FLA
Oct 8, 2010

NIGHTMARE IN THE QUARTER!!!!!

This hotel is a fraud. Every photo you see is a facade to get your money. Me and my husband wanted to have romantic vacation here and when we came to check in first we noticed lack of parking and the smell of puke and beer wafting. So, we go to get our room and we paid for a balcony upgrade, well they give us a room up the fire escape, as we go up the faulty staircase my husband notices a dead cat in the courtyard. So we proceed to our room, the shower was unfinished and had jagged concrete on the floor, the toilet was dirty, and the headboard had a ton of mysterious stains, ewww! I beleive it couldn't get worse, well when we notify the [*] front desk girl,who by the way was on a personal call and eating,she pauses and rudely takes us upstairs to another room still dirty . I asked where is the room we were shown online, she claims that they are all booked, even though our reservation was held since jan 2010 and we arrived paid in full on oct 2010, but we didnt deserve one of the three actual comfotable room. BUYER BEWARE!! This place is a dump with a great location and no amneties, and if you stay bring your lysol and own sheets, there were little black things all over the pillow and sheets!!! [...]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Inn on St. Peter

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Pensacola, FL
Jul 5, 2009

Not-so charming in the French Quarter

The rooms are very small. The power went out in our rooms and adjacent guest rooms anytime something other than the overhead light and the TV were turned on. The bed was also broken. The hotel prides itself on being over 200 years old, when it actually turned out to be a bunch of random junk furniture on the verge of falling apart and all thrown into a tiny room. Allowing a building to fall down around you and doing minimal maintenance does not provide "old world charm". Overall, it was the type of place where I was afraid to walk around in the room without shoes on.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Inn on St. Peter

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Louisiana
Aug 23, 2009

The Ugly

Shocked that this hotel was even on Orbitz. Would have gladly paid a few more dollars to be in a clean room with a closet. No closet, an old armoire with 1 hanger and full of dust inside and out.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top