Rate based on Check-in: Nov 10, 2014 Check-out: Nov 11, 2014

La Quinta Inn & Suites New Orleans Downtown

3 stars
301 Camp St, 301 Camp St, New Orleans, LA 70130
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.6
out of 5
74 reviews
Excellent hotel in downtown New Orleans

Everything about this hotel was fantastic; the service was excellent, it was extremely clean, and... See full review

  • Jeff414
  • Oct 6, 2014
just perfect!

This hotel was perfect for us! Perfect location with a perfect price. The beds are soooo comfy and... See full review

  • NoDoubtStout
  • Sep 14, 2014
The La Quinta Inn & Suites New Orleans Downtown was recently named a 2014 TripAdvisor Certificate of Excellence award winner! NEW! Flat screen TVs with 30 channels of HD programming. Easy-access Plug-and-Play feature makes it simple to connect electronics for work or play. Come and experience for yourself the La Quinta Inn & Suites New Orleans Downtown, awarded the 2010 La Quinta Inn of the Year for brand excellence in service, cleanliness, and sales. Our beautifully appointed high-rise hotel is perfectly located in the heart of the metropolitan Central Business District just steps from the French Quarter and minutes from the Mercedes Benz Superdome, home of the 2013 Superbowl, the Ernest N. Morial Convention Center, Port of New Orleans, Bourbon Street, and Jackson Square. Mardi Gras, Jazz Fest, French Quarter Fest and Essence Fest are just some of the events to experience in this magical city. Any time of year is great to enjoy the authentic restaurants, nightlife and history that make New Orleans so unique then retire to your clean, quiet and comfortable room for a good nights rest. All rooms include 32" flat screen TVs, Simmons Beautyrest pillow-top bedding, free high-speed wireless Internet access, Free Bright Side Breakfast, and much more. Whether you are in town for business or pleasure the La Quinta Inn & Suites New Orleans Downtown is the place to stay with recently improved decor, 24-hour fitness center, 5th floor rooftop swimming pool, and onsite business center. Stay at the La Quinta Inn & Suites Downtown where you will experience all New Orleans has to offer.

La Quinta Inn & Suites New Orleans Downtown Rooms

Deluxe
Deluxe King Room Non-Smoking Relaxing and comfortable room with pillow top king bed, oversized work area and two dataport phones with voice mail and free local calls, and 25-inch TV with expanded cable. Fridge, microwave, coffee pot in room.
Deluxe
King Room Relaxing and comfortable room with king bed, recliner, oversized work area and dataport phone with voice mail and free local calls, and 25-inch TV with expanded cable
Standard
Two Full or Queen Beds Relaxing and comfortable room with two full or queen beds, oversized desk and dataport phone with voice mail and free local calls
Standard
Two Full Non Smoking Relaxing and comfortable room with two full beds, oversized desk and two dataport phones with voice mail and free local calls, 25-inch TV with expanded cable, movies and Nintendo

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Free local telephone calls
Elevators
FEMA approved
Activities
Outdoor pool
Exercise gym
Boating
Fishing
Dining
Continental breakfast
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Meal plan - continental
Family plan
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Laundry service
Guest laundromat
Express checkout
Concierge desk
Laundry/Valet services
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Porters
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Indoor parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Accessible rooms
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Phone with speaker
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Heated guest rooms
Hairdryer in room
Outlet adapters
Fire alarm with light
In room movies
Sofa bed
Temperature control
Electronic door locks
Iron
Ironing board
Smoke detectors
Sprinklers in rooms
Bath tub

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed La Quinta Inn & Suites New Orleans Downtown also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.1 out of 5

Hotel Map

29.951 -90.0689
Nearby airports
Lakefront Airport, (NEW), 10.00, MI, E; Louis Armstrong New Orleans Intl. Airport, (MSY), 15.00, MI, E;
Area description
City Center

Nearby points of interest

  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.2 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.3 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.4 mi
  • Outlet Collection at the Riverwalk: 0.4 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 0.5 mi
  • Preservation Hall: 0.5 mi
  • Jackson Square: 0.6 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 0.6 mi
  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Mercedes Benz Superdome: 0.7 mi
  • Mercedes-Benz Superdome: 0.7 mi
  • New Orleans Arena: 0.8 mi
  • Algiers Point: 1.1 mi
  • American Aquatic Gardens: 1.2 mi
  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.2 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.3 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.4 mi
  • Outlet Collection at the Riverwalk: 0.4 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 0.5 mi
  • Preservation Hall: 0.5 mi
  • Jackson Square: 0.6 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 0.6 mi
  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Mercedes Benz Superdome: 0.7 mi
  • Mercedes-Benz Superdome: 0.7 mi
  • New Orleans Arena: 0.8 mi
  • Algiers Point: 1.1 mi
  • American Aquatic Gardens: 1.2 mi
  • Port of New Orleans: 1.2 mi
  • Bywater Historic District: 2.3 mi
  • Sydney & Walda Besthoff Sculpture Garden: 2.8 mi
  • New Orleans Museum of Art: 2.9 mi
  • Carousel Gardens: 3.4 mi
  • Riverbend: 3.6 mi
  • City Park New Orleans: 3.8 mi
  • Audubon Zoo: 4.3 mi
  • Lakefront Arena: 5.6 mi

Dining

Galatoire s Restaurant
If you want to see the elite of new orleans this must be one of the spots to dine.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by CheapTickets

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (74)

Ratings and reviews for La Quinta Inn & Suites New Orleans Downtown

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
74 out of 74
Amenities:
3.6
Room cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.7

85% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of La Quinta Inn & Suites New Orleans Downtown

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Southbound Travelin Man
Business
Hattiesburg, Mississippi
Feb 25, 2014

Bummer In The Big Easy

Let me start with the only positive about this hotel, the location. If you want to be close to everything and not in the middle of the hustle and bustle of the French Quarter then this might be the hotel for you. Where to start with the rest, well lets begin with the room itself. The room had a sour smell and was very dusty. There were numerous hairs in the shower and bathroom area. The housekeeping department had failed to leave soap and towels. When we asked for soap and towels they brought us towels but no soap. Luckily I travel with a spare bar of soap. The next morning as we were leaving for breakfast, we asked the housekeeper for more towels and soap. She asked if that was all we needed and if she needed to clean our room or not. If your job is to clean our room then yes clean it, was the response. Observed same housekeeper chatting on her cell phone while cleaning rooms, makes me wonder why the attention to details are being missed. I know this isn't the Ritz but one should still expect a clean room. There are much better values out there in the New Orleans area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Red Gravy on Camp St, is a great little spot for breakfast. You will find some unique dishes that will tantalize your palate.

Review of La Quinta Inn & Suites New Orleans Downtown

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
scorpy dog groomer
Business
Kansas City, KS
Nov 7, 2012

Seasick in the shower

The room looked clean enough but... -The thermostat and climate control units weren't effective. I set the thermostat for 72 degrees overnight, and I woke up freezing, just in time to hear the heater kick on, and then I was sweating profusely by the time it shut off. -The tub floor was slanted away from the wall. I never felt safe in the shower, as if I would pitch over with the slant of the tub, or it may just fall through the floor at any moment. -The shower curtain rod was not firmly affixed to the wall on either side, causing the curtain to gap away from the wall on BOTH sides, leaving standing water on the floor. -They serve breakfast each morning, but they ran out of coffee before breakfast hours were over each of the 3 mornings I was there. -The outside employees (the valet service) acted like pedestrians were an inconvenience to them. The lady who came to clean the room was the only employee I felt was happy to have me there. -In search of a bottle of water from the vending/ice area, we had to go from the 11th floor to the 5th, where we finally found water in the vending machine. +On the plus side, there were 5 pillows on the bed of varying degrees of firmness, so I was able to find one that fit my preferences.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Mulate's at 201 Julia Street, has a wonderful atmosphere, good food, and a dance floor. Take the street car. The best dining experience I had was at the French Market Cafe. Look for the On Time Band for good music and a fun band.

Review of La Quinta Inn & Suites New Orleans Downtown

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Ms. Lovelylady1069
Business
Irving, TX
Mar 7, 2013

no bellhop service

The young Africa American female at front desk were rude and inattentive. The staff and bellhop watched as me and my two kids struggled to get our luggage out of the car and into the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of La Quinta Inn & Suites New Orleans Downtown

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
GraveofSW 117
Business
Jennings, LA
Jul 19, 2010

Will never go back to this hotel!!!

I was a good location and the walk to things was short. The hotel though was horrible. The staff didn't want to change the sheets, pillow cases, or vacuum the room. I had my two year old son with me and the bathroom doors didn't have any lock on them. So i had to block the doors with suitcase so he couldn't get into the bathroom. The door out of the room was easy for him to open too. The top lock did not do much to stop him from opening the door. If he pulled on the door two or three times the top lock would come undone. The door key wouldn't work either. It was just a bad experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of La Quinta Inn & Suites New Orleans Downtown

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Oronde3000
Business
New York
Mar 5, 2014

No water / unable to take a shower or wash my hands or flush the toilet

When came back from a night of partying , we we're unable to use the bathroom . There was a note on the door saying that they was a waters problem in the hotel. Fours later the water came back on for 2 hours then shut back off . They never gave off any updates on the water problem . The staff was very rude and said that New Orleans is a 3rd world country and theses thing happen . Do not give this company your money .

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Go to acme /mothers to eat

Review of La Quinta Inn & Suites New Orleans Downtown

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Everywhere123
Business
Calgary Alberta Canada
Apr 17, 2014

Not Good

We went for the FQ Music Fest - big busy wknd in New Orleans so the room was 3X regular price.....problem was, along with many others, our room's water didn't work - no water pressure and scalding when it did come on, bedding was not clean and the room was not really clean. Only one elevator working. We did complain and they changed the bedding, said they were working on the water...5 days...no improvement......staff was really nice and the location was great. This Hotel, on this week, was not up to La Quinta standard or expectations: water and cleanliness should not be an issue.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of La Quinta Inn & Suites New Orleans Downtown

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Vacaville, CA
May 12, 2010

No More La Quinta

Was given a smoking room when we requested a non-smoking room. We were then moved to a "Handicap" room next to a staff room where the noise was totally unacceptable. We were then finally moved to a non-smoking room....Too much hassle after a long day/flight. Also, Breakfast stopped at 9:00 a.m. and there is no other food available at the hotel. 9:00a.m. is a bit early for tired travelers who could make it by 10:00 a.m. Additionally, the view from ALL the room we were given SUCKED Big Time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Improve and Extend on-site dinning. Upgrade rooms away from staff maintenance areas.

Review of La Quinta Inn & Suites New Orleans Downtown

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
999999999
Business
new york
Jan 22, 2014

Housekeeping issues

Housekeeping needs to be better, sink wans't cleaned and one day no housekeeping service

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of La Quinta Inn & Suites New Orleans Downtown

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
travellady
Business
norwich,ct
Mar 16, 2011

dusty hotel

Hotel location very , good right off of the main strip. I found the room very dusty and spent two nights coughing a lot.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

nightlife only a short walk away

Review of La Quinta Inn & Suites New Orleans Downtown

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
puppywucky
Business
new york
Mar 1, 2012

its was ok

when we first arrived, they had some problems with our reservation. I thought I had booked a suite which meant a room with a living room that had a sofa bed. but instead we just got a regular room with a futon. It seemed as though someone had checked into our room already and they had to give us this other room. the room was ok and comfortable but not exactly what we paid for. but because it was mardi gras, we really didnt have much of a choice. the room wasnt really cleaned well. we found dirty socks underneath the heater and chairs. one good thing was that the location was perfect for mardi gras and french quarters. However, for this average hotel, i dont think its worth the amount we paid which was 4 nites for $1027 during mardi gras.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top