Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 4, 2015 Check-out: May 6, 2015

Hotel St. Marie

3 stars
View map of 827 Toulouse Street, New Orleans, LA 70112

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Hotel St. Marie

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
294 out of 294
Amenities:
3.6
Cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
4
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.2

93% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel St. Marie

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Lostlogic
Business
Maumelle, AR
Mar 24, 2012

Pricey but nice

The staff are nice and the hotel is in a great location but it needs some serious work. The water runs hot and cold in the middle of showers, the carpets are very dirty, the beds creak, and the elevator has to be the slowest in the city. We had a balcony door which would only close if you locked it. They now have free WiFi which is great, but the high prices offset any benefit. The bar is nice and the food is ok but they need better choices for bar food. Be prepared to pay a steep price to park your car as well.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Stella! has some of the best food I have ever eaten, anywhere. Amazing!

Review of Hotel St. Marie

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Leap Year Baby
Business
Richmond, VA, USA
Mar 9, 2012

great trip

I recently visited New Orleans for my 40th birthday. It was my first time there. The location was great. It was convenient to just about everything. Our room was clean and the beds were comfy. My boyfriend asked to have a surprise bottle of champagne for me delivered to our room when we arrived back on the night of my birthday. But the staff member at the desk "spilled the beans" in front of me informing us that they were out of champagne and made no other efforts to show us that they valued our stay with them. We didn't get much rest in the room because the a/c unit seemed to be right over our room and made a LOUD noise pretty much the whole time. Also, they just happened to be redoing their swimming pool during our stay. There was constant jack hammering starting at about 9am every morning. No one ever informed us or even apologized for the inconvenience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

You must do a ghost tour!

Review of Hotel St. Marie

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
AT THE POOL
Feb 20, 2012

week of carnival

hotel was great,1/2 block from bourbon yet not noisy at bedtime. restaurant and bar next to lobby very convient. staff great with places to go. WILL STAY AGAIN.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

TROPIC ISLE AND OPERA HOUSE GREAT DRINKS. DEANNIS SEAFOOD ON DAUPHINE HAS GOOD GUMBO&PO-BOYS FOR THE$$. ANYONE OF EMERIL'S PLACES GREAT. NOLA AROUND CORNER.

Review of Hotel St. Marie

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Oso Grande
Business
Houston, TX, USA
Feb 17, 2012

Great Location not on Bourbon St

This is the second time we stayed at this hotel. It is in a great location if you want something near Bourbon but not on Bourbon. The only thing about the room is that the bathroom door is not a full door. It's like a blind with slats instead of a solid door. You can not look inside or outside the door but you can hear and smell everything going on in the bathroom. If you aren't comfortable with the person you are with, might not be the best idea to stay here. If you are, then you will love it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

The Old Opera House is half a block away and has great live local bands. We stayed there most of the weekend.

Review of Hotel St. Marie

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Robert and Becky
Business
Louisville, KY, USA
Feb 14, 2012

French Quarter weekend

Great location, one block from Bourbon St., short walk to Canal St. and Decatur St. The bar staff, Chris especially, and restaurant staff were very nice. Good food. Would stay here again on our next trip to New Orleans.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Nola restaurant, always a great choice.

Review of Hotel St. Marie

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Kleckel
Business
Wilmington, DE
Feb 2, 2012

Great Place to stay In NOLA

When we pulled up to the hotel, I was really excited to see the charm of Hotel St. Marie. It had oil lanterns and ferns that ran the length of the building. The entrance and lobby were beautiful as well. Absolutely great location!! It is close enough to walk anywhere in New Orleans, but still removed enough (one block over) from Bourbon Street to get some sleep and stay away from the chaos. Staff was knowledgable and friendly, greeted us every time they saw us and asked if we were enjoying our time. Rooms were fairly standard. We got the balcony which overlooked the beautiful patio and pool area. Showers were a bit tempermental with heat, but seemed to improve the longer we were there. Cleaning staff was prompt daily and helpful. Overall, we really enjoyed our stay here and would recommend Hotel St. Marie to friends/family.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel St. Marie

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Randomtraveler101
Business
New Orleans, La
Jan 27, 2012

Random Trip

I had a great experience. The hotel was so much more than what I expected. I went with a group of friends just for a day and it is perfectly located. Close to everything, but not that close, so its perfect!.... The room had a particular smell, but besides that everything else was great. The staff was friendly and helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel St. Marie

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Martu
Business
Iowa
Jan 24, 2012

Great location in French Quarter

A classic, charming older hotel in a great location one half block from Bourbon Street. Our room had a balcony over a courtyard with palm trees and a fountain--and very quiet at night, even with all the music so close. A nice restaurant with tables inside and in the courtyard made dining convenient.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Take the streetcar for a fun tour of Saint Charles Street. Ask for the all day pass for $3 and you can get off and on as often as you like.

Review of Hotel St. Marie

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Chris318
Business
Monroe, LA, USA
Jan 12, 2012

Work Trip

Puts you right in the middle of the quarter! You step right out and are less than a block from Bourbon. Staff was great!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel St. Marie

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
alabamafan
Business
Trussville, AL, USA
Jan 11, 2012

Perfect for what we needed

We stayed here while in town for the BCS National Championship, and the location was perfect. It wasn't the cleanest or plushest room I've been in, but it was quiet and suited our needs.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

All the famous night spots and restaurants in the French Quarter are within a short walk of Hotel St. Marie

Back to menu Return to top