Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 12, 2014 Check-out: May 15, 2014

Doubletree' Hotel New Orleans

3 stars
300 Canal Street, New Orleans, LA 70130
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.5
out of 5
74 reviews
Joy Trip

Right in the heart of the action and close to everything. No need for car and across from trolley... See full review

  • 1Pierre
  • Mar 3, 2014
Great time in New Orleans

The staff was very friendly and helpful from the start. The room was great and we loved the... See full review

  • Voxvixen
  • Jan 17, 2014
A full service hotel at the heart of the entertainment district

The Doubletree Hotel New Orleans is an ideal place to stay for a lively visit to New Orleans. Guests begin enjoying Southern hospitality from the minute they receive their famous warm Doubletree chocolate chip cookies at check-in. Right in the heart of the entertainment district and within walking distance of the most famous attractions of this great city, guests never run out of things to do. Feeling lucky? Harrah's Casino is opposite the Doubletree Hotel New Orleans and Bourbon Street is only a short walk away.

3 Reasons To Stay:
  • Premier downtown location at the heart of the famous French Quarter
  • Full service Creole Restaurant for delicious Southern dining
  • A 24-hour business center, conference and banqueting facilities
Doubletree Hotel New Orleans Rooms

There are 364 guest rooms, suites and accessible rooms available at the Doubletree Hotel New Orleans. Tastefully decorated rooms, in muted shades, create a relaxing ambiance away from the bright city lights. Accommodations with river views are available. Coffee-makers, irons, ironing boards and hair-dryers come standard in all rooms. For additional comfort, Neutrogena bathroom products accompany Sweetdreams by Doubletree bedding. Room service is on-hand and in-room dining is available at the Doubletree Hotel New Orleans.

Things To Do:
  • Harrah's Casino (0.1 mi/0.1 km)
  • Aquarium of the Americas (0.1 mi/0.2 km)
  • Bourbon Street (0.4 mi/0.7 km)
  • Jackson Square (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • Saint Louis Cathedral (0.4 mi/0.8 km)
  • National World War II Museum (0.5 mi/0.9 km)
  • Louisiana Superdome (0.9 mi/1.5 km)
  • New Orleans Arena (0.9 mi/1.6 km)
  • Preservation Hall (0.9 mi/1.6 km)
  • Louis Armstrong Airport (11.7 mi/18.9 km)

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Pool
Activities
Pool
Exercise gym
Dining
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Wheel chair access

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Doubletree' Hotel New Orleans also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

Hotel Map

29.9506 -90.0656
Nearby airports
Louis Armstrong New Orleans Intl. Airport, (MSY), 13.00, MI, E; Lakefront Airport, (NEW), 10.00, MI, SW;

Nearby points of interest

  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.1 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.1 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.2 mi
  • Riverwalk Marketplace: 0.2 mi
  • Crescent City Brewhouse: 0.3 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Musee Conti Wax Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Jackson Square: 0.5 mi
  • Preservation Hall: 0.5 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 0.6 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 0.6 mi
  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Folklife and Visitor Center: 0.7 mi
  • Storyville: 0.8 mi
  • Algiers Point: 0.9 mi
  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.1 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.1 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.2 mi
  • Riverwalk Marketplace: 0.2 mi
  • Crescent City Brewhouse: 0.3 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Musee Conti Wax Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Jackson Square: 0.5 mi
  • Preservation Hall: 0.5 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 0.6 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 0.6 mi
  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Folklife and Visitor Center: 0.7 mi
  • Storyville: 0.8 mi
  • Algiers Point: 0.9 mi
  • Louisiana Superdome: 0.9 mi
  • Mercedes-Benz Superdome: 0.9 mi
  • New Orleans Arena: 1 mi
  • American Aquatic Gardens: 1.1 mi
  • Port of New Orleans: 1.1 mi
  • East Tennessee Historical Center: 1.3 mi
  • Bywater Historic District: 2.2 mi
  • Sydney & Walda Besthoff Sculpture Garden: 3 mi
  • New Orleans Museum of Art: 3 mi
  • Amistad Research Center: 3.3 mi
  • Carousel Gardens: 3.5 mi
  • Riverbend: 3.8 mi
  • City Park New Orleans: 3.9 mi
  • State Capital Publishing Museum: 4.2 mi
  • Audubon Zoo: 4.4 mi
  • Lakefront Arena: 5.6 mi
  • Six Flags New Orleans: 10.4 mi

Dining

Restaurant
onsite

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (74)

Ratings and reviews for Doubletree' Hotel New Orleans

Overall score

3.5 / 5
74 out of 74
Amenities:
3.6
Room cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.6

78% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Doubletree' Hotel New Orleans

Reviewer score

4
MustafahAbdullah[@]
Business
Dover, DE
Jan 18, 2010

Great Price and Location...

Great!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Doubletree' Hotel New Orleans

Reviewer score

3
Birthday Girl Tiffany
Mississippi
Nov 24, 2009

My Birthday weekend

It was an excellent location. Right across from the Harrahs Casino. Great walking distance from the RiverWalk Marketplace. I loved the cookies and milk that the DoubleTree Hotel offered.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Youre right down the street and near everything.

Review of Doubletree' Hotel New Orleans

Reviewer score

4
Donna and Vic
Brentwood, TN
Nov 19, 2009

Nice hotel, great location

Bus tour available through hotel that included Garden District, 9th Ward, New Orleans Cemetary, City Park, French Quarter and Lake Ponchartrain area. Great tour. Very close to French quarter, Harrahs right at your front door and RiverWalk just a few feet away.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Doubletree' Hotel New Orleans

Reviewer score

3
Anonymous
Columbia Station, OH
Oct 26, 2009

New Orleans

We were in New Orleans for my husband's, daughter's wedding. The staff at the hotel was very nice. Prices were way too high for what you got at the breakfast buffet. The coffee in the rooms was good but the coffe in the restaurant was terrible. Although, the staff was very nice and polite, I had a lot of trouble with my room key. I went through SEVEN magnetic keys,(and only there for 3 nights!) a whole lot of complaining and got a gift certificate that did not even cover my husband's and my breakfasts! The rooms and restaurant were both way over priced! I would not recommend this hotel to anybody. Thankfully, we did not spend much time in our room. We enjoyed our self taken walking tours of different areas, such as the cemetaries, Super Dome, of course, Bourbon Street and the rest of the French Quarters. We also went to the River Walk. We took a trolley (part of the Wedding) through the Garden District and Audobon Park. Beautiful!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Take the trolley or walk to places.

Review of Doubletree' Hotel New Orleans

Reviewer score

1
Looted
Lexington, KY
Oct 26, 2009

"Ripped off, literally!"

Upon check in - the clerk - was exceptional. Tried in every way to make us comfortable upon arrival. Our room had a funny smell but was tolerable when entered. Things kinda went downhill from there. After returning from dinner the key cards would not work. A maintenance person had to come and check the card reader. Had problems from that time on with the door - numerous trips up and down the elevator getting new key cards. The first night was terribly noisy with a screaming child through the connecting doors between the rooms! Much of the night and the next morning were spent listening to that. Night 2 was more quite. Day 3 - no room cleaning till late afternoon - jewelry left inside of suitcase in 2 other packages - missing after returning from dinner. At midnight a report had to be given to the security guard on duty. He states that we may have accidentally left the door unlocked. I explained our problems were getting in this room not out! He states this never had happened in the year he had been there. This morning upon checking out we asked to speak to the manager. He knew nothing of the incident - although the night guard was going to "leave him information" regarding the theft so he could talk to us!!! Needless to say - will never stay there again. Usually stay at the Sheraton and will make sure we do that again the next trip!!!!!!! NOT HAPPY!!!! Other things such as bar service was terribly slow - nearly non existant at times! It seemed there were some staff who enjoyed their jobs and doing them well - a few of the clerks, the bell staff - but that was about it for the entire staff!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Doubletree' Hotel New Orleans

Reviewer score

4
supertech gates
west monroe, la
Oct 12, 2009

Enjoyable and easy weekend away

The trip was great. It was very easy to check in and out of the hotel and they had great customer service. The hotel was in a terrific spot.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Doubletree' Hotel New Orleans

Reviewer score

1
Anonymous
New Orleans ,La.
Oct 1, 2009

I have stayed in better

Hotel room was very nice BUT the Bathroom was VERY SMALL and the Parking Manager said we COULD NOT leave our car in the garage @($35.84 a day) till our convention was over at 4pm, check out was at 12 noon had to pay for parking across the street.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Review of Doubletree' Hotel New Orleans

Reviewer score

4
Vanzant
Jackson, MS
Sep 16, 2009

New Orleans Trip

I enjoyed the stay at the motel. The staff were friendly, helpful, and hospitable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Doubletree' Hotel New Orleans

Reviewer score

3
Anonymous
Monroe, LA
Sep 14, 2009

Bad Valet experience

As always you can't beat the location of the Double Tree. It is close to everything! We had a problem with Valet Parking this time. When we arrived we couldn't even get up to the door because of all the empty cars that had not been parked yet and when we left we called ahead 30 min before and we had to wait an additional 15 min outside for them to go find the car. The bathroom was smaller than normal.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There are some great restaurants a few short blocks away.

Review of Doubletree' Hotel New Orleans

Reviewer score

4
Anonymous
Atlanta GA
Sep 8, 2009

Good But Wanting Great

Went for labor day weekend. Great location if you like to gamble, right next to Harrah's. About 5 blocks down Canal St. to Bourbon St.. Hotel parking is expensive. If you are going to gamble anyhow there is free parking at Harrah's if you play for 30 minutes. We left the car there parked for the whole weekend and it was free, so great value. Get it validated at casino. We also recieved a free buffet breakfast with 30 minute play and 20 credits. Sunday brunch is normally $30 per person. Good value. Hotel beds are great, main problem is hallway and maid noise. Get a room as far away from the elevators if possible. Bathroom is small and hard to move around sink because toilet is so close but actual room is nice in size. Beds very comfortable and room is clean. Nice gym with the basics, pool not recommended because it doesn't face the sun and everyone was cold all the time. Get the complimentary breakfast coupons which was very good and service was friendly. I'd recommend overall, for value and location. Bad if you like to sleep past 7-8AM after going out to Bourbon St.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Parking in Harrah's garage is just as close if not closer than the hotel's self parking. Drop your bags off at the Hotel entrance then drive to the Harrah's lot and get your parking ticket validated in the casino for free parking. If you don't move your car, the entire stay will be free for that one validation. Ours was free with arrival Friday, depart Monday with 30 Minute slot play. (Penny Slots work!)

Back to menu Return to top