Rate based on Check-in: Dec 31, 2014 Check-out: Jan 2, 2015

Chateau Dupre

3 stars
131 Rue Decatur, New Orleans, LA 70130
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.3
out of 5
156 reviews
Great Location

Everything was great. We needed batteries in our remote. See full review

  • Mr. Juris Doctor
  • Nov 30, 2013
Great Location

Everything was great the only thing I could find to gripe about was that the batteries in the TV... See full review

  • Mr. Juris Doctor
  • Nov 4, 2013
Cozy French Quarter hotel in a building that pre-dates the Civil War

The intimate and 100% smoke-free hotel was opened in 1845 and was once home to New Orleans business magnates, matriarchs and statesmen. The Chateau Hotel Dupre offers guests a cozy nest with 62 rooms in the heart of the bustling French Quarter. A caring and attentive staff treats the hotel and its guests with warmth and hospitality.

Highlights
  • French Quarter location
  • Intimate setting
  • Personalized service
  • 100% smoke-free
Rooms

Each of the 62 rooms and suites is warmly decorated in a traditional style and offers amenities including an iron and ironing board, coffee maker, hair dryer, TV with cable, in-room safe (fees apply), phone (fees apply). Some rooms have in-room faxes, data ports and ceiling fans.

Features

The hotel has no food or beverage service, so the in-room coffee maker is particularly useful. Huck Finn's restaurant next door serves breakfast, lunch and dinner.

Transportation
  • Louis Armstrong International Airport (12 mi/ 19.3 km)
Attractions
  • French Quarter
  • Bourbon Street
  • Preservation Hall
  • House of Blues
  • French Market
  • Cafe Du Monde
Business
  • Some rooms equipped with fax machines and data ports

 

Policies and fees

Must be 21 years of age to purchase a room. Children under 12 stay free with adult. The hotel requires a valid I.D. and credit card at time of check in. A hold may be placed on the credit card to cover the security deposit and incidental charges. There is a $4.95 per day fee for unlimited local and long distance calls and wireless Internet.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Chateau Dupre Rooms

Standard
Bed type is not guaranteed and is determined at time of check in Maximum 2 guests recommended per room. This hotel is 100% non smoking.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Dining
Restaurant
Services
In-Room Safe
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Chateau Dupre also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

Hotel Map

29.9522 -90.0669
Area served
New Orleans; Riverwalk
Nearby airports
Louis Armstrong International Airport 12mi; Lakefront Airport 12mi
Area description
131 Rue Decatur, New Orleans, LA 70130 Located in the heart of the French Quarter.

Nearby points of interest

  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.2 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.3 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.3 mi
  • Outlet Collection at the Riverwalk: 0.3 mi
  • Jackson Square: 0.4 mi
  • Preservation Hall: 0.4 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 0.5 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 0.5 mi
  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 0.6 mi
  • Mercedes Benz Superdome: 0.9 mi
  • Mercedes-Benz Superdome: 0.9 mi
  • New Orleans Arena: 0.9 mi
  • Algiers Point: 1 mi
  • American Aquatic Gardens: 1 mi
  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.2 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.3 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.3 mi
  • Outlet Collection at the Riverwalk: 0.3 mi
  • Jackson Square: 0.4 mi
  • Preservation Hall: 0.4 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 0.5 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 0.5 mi
  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 0.6 mi
  • Mercedes Benz Superdome: 0.9 mi
  • Mercedes-Benz Superdome: 0.9 mi
  • New Orleans Arena: 0.9 mi
  • Algiers Point: 1 mi
  • American Aquatic Gardens: 1 mi
  • Port of New Orleans: 1.2 mi
  • Bywater Historic District: 2.2 mi
  • Sydney & Walda Besthoff Sculpture Garden: 2.8 mi
  • New Orleans Museum of Art: 2.9 mi
  • Carousel Gardens: 3.4 mi
  • Riverbend: 3.7 mi
  • City Park New Orleans: 3.8 mi
  • Audubon Zoo: 4.4 mi
  • Lakefront Arena: 5.5 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (156)

Ratings and reviews for Chateau Dupre

Overall score

2.3 / 5
5.01.0
156 out of 156
Amenities:
2.2
Room cleanliness:
2.6
Hotel staff:
3.4
Room comfort:
2.6
Location:
4.1
Value:
2.9

42% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Chateau Dupre

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Dallas, TX
Apr 16, 2012

Noisy and needs work

The hotel is worn down and shows it. The elevator has issues and gets stuck open until someone comes and gives the door a hard shove and there are no stairs you can use to go upstairs (only down), so you often spend quite a bit of time waiting for the elevator to show up. Our room was right across from a neighboring hotel's parking garage and we heard the honking of the valet parkers twenty four hours a day. Also, the drain line for the air conditioning in the room was plugged and we had to keep the ice bucket under it to prevent everything in the bathroom from getting soaked.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

The attached bar has $1 drafts of good beer at happy hour - that's really nice!

Review of Chateau Dupre

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Orangeslices
Business
Wisconsin, USA
Mar 20, 2012

Safe, convenient & comfortable ... but noisy!

Big room! Nice bathroom and the bed was comfortable. The lobby bathrooms were gross so I would avoid that. The elevator kept getting stuck on floors because the door had problems getting stuck open. This was easily fixed by pressing the door or the desk attendant would fix. I would request a room that faces Decatur because we stayed on the opposite side and could hear the traffic from the Marriott all night/morning. I felt safe and the bed was comfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Bistreaux on Toulouse (truffle mac & cheese), Felipes Taqueria on N. Peters

Review of Chateau Dupre

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Grandma Red
Business
Needville, TX 77461, USA
Mar 19, 2012

Not a happy camper

Checking in staff was very helpful had to put luggage in storage which was ok. But the room not happy. I know the hotel is old but really No coffee in my room to wake up to,the tile in the bathroom all broken I scared it would pinch my feet because it moved.Then the toilet would not flush the phone did not work cable TV had a very bad reception. My first trip to New Orleans not good at all. I do not know if the other rooms were in the same shape.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

The food at the Huck Finns was pretty good. Did like the breakfast.

Review of Chateau Dupre

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Sightseer and conference
Business
Houston, TX
Mar 19, 2012

Great value for budget traveler

This place is great for the price. If you're the kind of person that doesn't require a coddling, spa-like environment, then you'll be glad to save your money for the fun stuff in the city. The location is brilliant - While on the edge of the French Quarter, it was a short walk from everything I wanted to see. There's plenty of cool stuff outside of the French Quarter, you know. The staff was always friendly-- most interactions were pleasant with occasional friendly sass. The room was pretty clean - only some minor staining on the curtains, but beyond that the whole room appeared recently refurbished. Minor issues: - Elevator door has issues closing, but operates safely. - Outside noise: Our room was only a story up, and the noise of the French Quarter could be heard - car horns, drunk tourists, etc. In short, if you're traveling to New Orleans to see the city and not the hotel, this place will do the job and save you money. If you require golden bidets and impersonal staff, go to a bigger name place. I'm glad I could pocket that extra cash for the awesome food, music and local flavor that make the city great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Chateau Dupre

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Soozi
Business
St Louis, MO, USA
Jan 30, 2012

It doesn't get any better!

We were on our way to a cruise and we had booked the hotel for one night. It was right in thhe middle of the Frenchquarter! So many things to do and to see! And the people! The staff was excellent and tried in every way to make our stay there enjoyable. Kudos!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Chateau Dupre

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Mari81
Business
Galveston, TX
Jan 27, 2012

Location was awesome but that was it!

The front desk guy was rude because he said he couldnt find my reservation. He was like thats what happens when you book on the same day. I told him excuse me but I booked this 2 weeks ago. Then my room a/c didnt work. So I had to get another room. The lighting in this placed sucked. I understand that the building is very old but they can still do some updates. The remote to the tv had tape on the back of it. The only good thing about this hotel is that the location is awesome close to everything.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

The attractions are not far from this hotel at all. Everything is in walking distance.

Review of Chateau Dupre

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Stephg
Business
Brooklyn, NY, USA
Jan 23, 2012

Chateau Dupre

Wanted to find a really cheap place to stay for one night since we had to change the dates of our trip (due to a death in the family). This was really nice, the staff was great. The room wasn't big which was the point of saving money. Not many outlets for charging things (computer and phone) and the fan was hard to keep at a good temperature of not too hot/ not too cold. Wishing it was maybe a few dollars less on my wallet for one night visit but still a nice place.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Coop's for a good not too expensive meal. Bar environment but awesome food and fun. Or if you want to spend a little more, The Court of Two Sisters for Jazz Brunch was amazing! Great food, great staff, and great music!

Review of Chateau Dupre

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Surfer Bob
Business
Fort Wayne, IN
Jan 17, 2012

Good Value For The Money

I was pretty apprehensive about this place after reading reviews...but the price was right. Actually was fairly impressed with all, again for the money. Elevator worked, room was clean, had heat, hot water & towels. Drapes were falling off but taped them up & had a view of Decatur St. Location was excellent in french quarter & attached restaurant, Huck Finns, wasn't bad for beer & food in pinch. The worst part was that parking was 4-5 blocks away & was a surface lot for an additional $22.00/Day. Also loud noise from within & st level went on until 4-5 AM.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Try BBQ Poor Boy at Huck Finns, Gumbo also not bad.

Review of Chateau Dupre

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Bdub1988
Business
Huntsville, AL, USA
Jan 12, 2012

Location

Great location. Old room mastery shower old beds. Had to slap the tube tv. Nice staff and again great location. But for price I paid not again

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Chateau Dupre

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Full o Tiger
Business
Tennesee
Jan 12, 2012

Stay somewhere else to do not go.

Our room - 207 - was located right over the sports bar below and right above the band, which played until 2:30 am. The room was very dirty and stunk. I would recommend if you can not stay somewhere else pass on the trip to New Orleans.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top