Chateau Dupre

3 stars
View map of 131 Rue Decatur, New Orleans, LA 70130

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Chateau Dupre

Overall score

2.3 / 5
5.01.0
158 out of 158
Amenities:
2.2
Cleanliness:
2.7
Hotel staff:
3.4
Comfort:
2.7
Location:
4.1
Value:
2.9

42% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Chateau Dupre

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
H Bomb
Business
Columbus Ohio
Apr 30, 2012

Great location, dingy rooms.

I was very excited to stay at Chateau Dupre because I wanted to experience an authentic New Orleans hotel. However, we were disappointed. Although the location was great, the rooms were not very clean or updated. We actually requested to be moved to a different room because the first was so dirty (crumbs on the floor, dusty curtains and mold on the bed pillow). Also, the door lock did not seem secure. The second room was a little cleaner, yet there still was dust on the curtains & bathroom light fixtures. We used a can of Lysol to freshen things up. On a positve note, the staff was very nice & helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Chateau Dupre

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Zydeco Junkie
Business
Fort Wayne, IN, USA
Apr 17, 2012

Great Festival location!

The Chateau Dupre is an old boutique hotel with a great location (just 1 block from the House of Blues), and wonderful staff! Also, it's connected to Huck Finn's restaurant (great food!). Room was clean, staff is very helpful, and I would definitely go back there again! The biggest problem was no parking facility. We had to park in a public lot several blocks away which was inconvenient, but not a deal breaker!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Long walk from hotel

It's a long walk to the French Market, but other shopping is close by.

Review of Chateau Dupre

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Dallas, TX
Apr 16, 2012

Noisy and needs work

The hotel is worn down and shows it. The elevator has issues and gets stuck open until someone comes and gives the door a hard shove and there are no stairs you can use to go upstairs (only down), so you often spend quite a bit of time waiting for the elevator to show up. Our room was right across from a neighboring hotel's parking garage and we heard the honking of the valet parkers twenty four hours a day. Also, the drain line for the air conditioning in the room was plugged and we had to keep the ice bucket under it to prevent everything in the bathroom from getting soaked.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

The attached bar has $1 drafts of good beer at happy hour - that's really nice!

Review of Chateau Dupre

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Orangeslices
Business
Wisconsin, USA
Mar 20, 2012

Safe, convenient & comfortable ... but noisy!

Big room! Nice bathroom and the bed was comfortable. The lobby bathrooms were gross so I would avoid that. The elevator kept getting stuck on floors because the door had problems getting stuck open. This was easily fixed by pressing the door or the desk attendant would fix. I would request a room that faces Decatur because we stayed on the opposite side and could hear the traffic from the Marriott all night/morning. I felt safe and the bed was comfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Bistreaux on Toulouse (truffle mac & cheese), Felipes Taqueria on N. Peters

Review of Chateau Dupre

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Grandma Red
Business
Needville, TX 77461, USA
Mar 19, 2012

Not a happy camper

Checking in staff was very helpful had to put luggage in storage which was ok. But the room not happy. I know the hotel is old but really No coffee in my room to wake up to,the tile in the bathroom all broken I scared it would pinch my feet because it moved.Then the toilet would not flush the phone did not work cable TV had a very bad reception. My first trip to New Orleans not good at all. I do not know if the other rooms were in the same shape.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

The food at the Huck Finns was pretty good. Did like the breakfast.

Review of Chateau Dupre

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Sightseer and conference
Business
Houston, TX
Mar 19, 2012

Great value for budget traveler

This place is great for the price. If you're the kind of person that doesn't require a coddling, spa-like environment, then you'll be glad to save your money for the fun stuff in the city. The location is brilliant - While on the edge of the French Quarter, it was a short walk from everything I wanted to see. There's plenty of cool stuff outside of the French Quarter, you know. The staff was always friendly-- most interactions were pleasant with occasional friendly sass. The room was pretty clean - only some minor staining on the curtains, but beyond that the whole room appeared recently refurbished. Minor issues: - Elevator door has issues closing, but operates safely. - Outside noise: Our room was only a story up, and the noise of the French Quarter could be heard - car horns, drunk tourists, etc. In short, if you're traveling to New Orleans to see the city and not the hotel, this place will do the job and save you money. If you require golden bidets and impersonal staff, go to a bigger name place. I'm glad I could pocket that extra cash for the awesome food, music and local flavor that make the city great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Chateau Dupre

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Soozi
Business
St Louis, MO, USA
Jan 30, 2012

It doesn't get any better!

We were on our way to a cruise and we had booked the hotel for one night. It was right in thhe middle of the Frenchquarter! So many things to do and to see! And the people! The staff was excellent and tried in every way to make our stay there enjoyable. Kudos!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Chateau Dupre

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Mari81
Business
Galveston, TX
Jan 27, 2012

Location was awesome but that was it!

The front desk guy was rude because he said he couldnt find my reservation. He was like thats what happens when you book on the same day. I told him excuse me but I booked this 2 weeks ago. Then my room a/c didnt work. So I had to get another room. The lighting in this placed sucked. I understand that the building is very old but they can still do some updates. The remote to the tv had tape on the back of it. The only good thing about this hotel is that the location is awesome close to everything.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

The attractions are not far from this hotel at all. Everything is in walking distance.

Review of Chateau Dupre

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Stephg
Business
Brooklyn, NY, USA
Jan 23, 2012

Chateau Dupre

Wanted to find a really cheap place to stay for one night since we had to change the dates of our trip (due to a death in the family). This was really nice, the staff was great. The room wasn't big which was the point of saving money. Not many outlets for charging things (computer and phone) and the fan was hard to keep at a good temperature of not too hot/ not too cold. Wishing it was maybe a few dollars less on my wallet for one night visit but still a nice place.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Coop's for a good not too expensive meal. Bar environment but awesome food and fun. Or if you want to spend a little more, The Court of Two Sisters for Jazz Brunch was amazing! Great food, great staff, and great music!

Review of Chateau Dupre

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Surfer Bob
Business
Fort Wayne, IN
Jan 17, 2012

Good Value For The Money

I was pretty apprehensive about this place after reading reviews...but the price was right. Actually was fairly impressed with all, again for the money. Elevator worked, room was clean, had heat, hot water & towels. Drapes were falling off but taped them up & had a view of Decatur St. Location was excellent in french quarter & attached restaurant, Huck Finns, wasn't bad for beer & food in pinch. The worst part was that parking was 4-5 blocks away & was a surface lot for an additional $22.00/Day. Also loud noise from within & st level went on until 4-5 AM.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Try BBQ Poor Boy at Huck Finns, Gumbo also not bad.

Back to menu Return to top