Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 24, 2014 Check-out: Aug 26, 2014

Travelodge Hotel Downtown Chicago

2 stars
65 East Harrison, Chicago, IL 60605
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.9
out of 5
351 reviews
Great Hotel

The hotel design is gorgeous, the room was exceedingly comfortable, and the staff was friendly as... See full review

  • TravelforPleasure
  • Jun 11, 2014
Perfect Location

I chose this hotel for it's location and had a really good deal. Hotel was better than I expected.... See full review

  • dddd79
  • Apr 18, 2014
Standard hotel near major downtown attractions

Built in 1928 as the Harrison Hotel, this South Loop hotel, now a Travelodge property caters to budget travelers looking for convenient access to Grant Park, Millennium Park and the Loop. Just off the Magnificent Mile, the non-smoking Travelodge Hotel features a business center, two onsite restaurants, double, king and king-suite rooms. Standard amenities include free high-speed Internet, 24-hour guest services and an in-room coffee maker with complimentary coffee.

Highlights
  • Convenient South Loop location just off the Magnificent Mile
  • Budget and kid-friendly lodging--children 16 and under stay free
  • Free high-speed Internet
  • Shuttle service via GO Airport Express (fees apply)
  • Indoor and outdoor parking (fees apply)
Rooms
Carpeted rooms at the Travelodge Hotel sport city views and come in king, king-suite or double layouts. Patterned bedspreads coordinate with drapes, framed prints, wood nightstands and drawers. Free high-speed Internet is available in all rooms.
Features

Travelers can make reservations online at GO Airport Express for limousine or sedan services to and from O'Hare International and Midway Airports. Shuttles and private car transfers are available seven days a week, 365 a year.  For travelers' convenience, gratuity and fuel surcharges are built into the price.

All guests enjoy free high-speed Internet access and a South Loop location just off the Magnificent Mile. Families enjoy value as children 16 and under stay free. The Travelodge also has a business center.

Transportation
  • O'Hare International Airport (18 miles)
  • Midway Airport (11 miles)
  • Closest train stops: Blue Line (LaSalle to O'Hare) and Orange Line (Roosevelt to Midway)
  •  McCormick Place Convention Center (6 minutes)
Attractions
  • Grant Park
  • Millennium Park
  • Art Institute
  • Soldier Field
  • Magnificent Mile
  • Jewelers Row
  • Financial District
  • Loop
Business
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Business center
Policies and fees
  • Guests must be 21 years of age or older to check in
  • Indoor and outdoor parking fees apply

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Non Smoking
General
Air conditioned
Non Smoking
Elevators
Ice machine
Dining
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Vending machines
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Guest laundromat
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Wake-up service
FAX
Conference facilities
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Valet parking
Room
Safe
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Microwave
Over sized rooms
TV remote control
Cribs available
Ironing board

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Travelodge Hotel Downtown Chicago also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

Hotel Map

41.8744 -87.6255
Area description
Business district

Nearby points of interest

  • Auditorium Building: 0.1 mi
  • Harold Washington Library: 0.2 mi
  • Printers Square: 0.2 mi
  • Grant Park: 0.2 mi
  • Chicago Architecture Foundation: 0.3 mi
  • Symphony Center: 0.3 mi
  • Buckingham Fountain: 0.4 mi
  • Art Institute of Chicago: 0.4 mi
  • Chicago Board of Trade: 0.4 mi
  • Bank of America Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Crown Fountain: 0.5 mi
  • Willis Tower (Sears Tower): 0.5 mi
  • State Street: 0.5 mi
  • Shubert Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Cloud Gate: 0.6 mi
  • Auditorium Building: 0.1 mi
  • Harold Washington Library: 0.2 mi
  • Printers Square: 0.2 mi
  • Grant Park: 0.2 mi
  • Chicago Architecture Foundation: 0.3 mi
  • Symphony Center: 0.3 mi
  • Buckingham Fountain: 0.4 mi
  • Art Institute of Chicago: 0.4 mi
  • Chicago Board of Trade: 0.4 mi
  • Bank of America Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Crown Fountain: 0.5 mi
  • Willis Tower (Sears Tower): 0.5 mi
  • State Street: 0.5 mi
  • Shubert Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Cloud Gate: 0.6 mi
  • Pritzker Pavilion: 0.6 mi
  • Macys: 0.7 mi
  • Chicago Cultural Center: 0.7 mi
  • Yacht Club: 0.7 mi
  • Harris Theater: 0.7 mi
  • City Hall: 0.7 mi
  • Field Museum of Natural History: 0.7 mi
  • Oriental Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Cadillac Palace Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Goodman Theatre: 0.8 mi
  • Chicago Theater: 0.8 mi
  • Shedd Aquarium: 0.8 mi
  • Chicago Mercantile Exchange: 0.8 mi
  • Prudential Plaza: 0.8 mi
  • Harold Washington College: 0.8 mi
  • Union Station: 0.8 mi
  • Opera House: 0.8 mi
  • Soldier Field: 0.9 mi
  • Marina City: 1 mi
  • Museum of Broadcast Communications: 1 mi
  • Merchandise Mart: 1.1 mi
  • Wrigley Building: 1.1 mi
  • Adler Planetarium: 1.1 mi
  • Tribune Tower: 1.1 mi
  • Hull House Museum: 1.1 mi
  • North Michigan Avenue: 1.2 mi
  • Michigan Avenue South: 1.3 mi
  • Chicago - Mag Mile - Wacker Dr: 1.3 mi
  • Lake Point Tower: 1.4 mi
  • Terra Museum of American Art: 1.4 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (351)

Ratings and reviews for Travelodge Hotel Downtown Chicago

Overall score

2.9 / 5
5.01.0
351 out of 351
Amenities:
2.6
Room cleanliness:
3.3
Hotel staff:
3.6
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4.3
Value:
3.5

66% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Travelodge Hotel Downtown Chicago

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Harleigh Hardweigh
Chicago
Dec 27, 2011

Guest got sick; no trip; no refund

I'll have to think twice before booking online again. I booked and prepaid for a room for a friend (an aged veteran) who was to visit relatives in Chicago at Thanksgiving. He became very ill the morning of his planned trip and could not leave home. I was unable to get a refund either through the online booking agency or the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
2
Review of Travelodge Hotel Downtown Chicago

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
JAKY
Murray, KY, USA
Dec 20, 2011

Great Place

Great location to Chicago downtown, the nearest CTA station is Harrison on red line.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Travelodge Hotel Downtown Chicago

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
JAKY
Murray, KY, USA
Dec 14, 2011

A good stay to go around in downtown

Very close to CTA station, also the Michigan Ave. A great location. The only problem is there are not many restaurants to choose, except the subway, KFC, and Pizza Hut.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

The nearest CTA station is Harrison in Red Line.

Review of Travelodge Hotel Downtown Chicago

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
ocphotog5675
Orange, CA, USA
Dec 12, 2011

Not exactly the best, but get what you pay for.

Room was decently clean, warm enough, and thats about it. Plain room, heater worked, bathroom was clean. We were on the second floor, right across from elevators, super slow weekend and somehow hotel couldnt find ANY other room that could be quieter. Saw a FAT cockroach in the stairway (which we had to take since the first 1.5 days the elevator didnt work or you had to wait over 5 mins for it to come). Staff was not good, felt like anything asked about the city, trains, late checkout, was a huge incovenience for them to even open their mouth or check the computer. We got a late checkout and 30mins before the checkout a hotel personnel just opens the door to our room as we were packing our stuff, and asks if we are checking out, no knock, just comes right in. NOT COOL, for obvious reasons. Just overall not the best experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Travelodge Hotel Downtown Chicago

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Domin
Manhattan, New York, NY, USA
Dec 12, 2011

Little vacation.

We had a good stay, it's a nice hotel. Close the subway and some good restaraunts.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Review of Travelodge Hotel Downtown Chicago

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
dalai
Business
Washington Metro, USA
Dec 8, 2011

Stayed in better..

There was no hot water, I had to get ready real fast and frankly had no time to call their attention to it. The room was pretty small and that was their king size. It was clean though. The staff was very helpful and nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Travelodge Hotel Downtown Chicago

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Ontheroad...again
Business
Boston, MA, USA
Dec 1, 2011

Tired

I needed this hotel in a pinch when my normal hotel in Chicago was full. I can't say I recommend it. The staff was very helpful finding me an early check-in (9:00 AM) but the hotel is in need of a facelift in a big way. Small rooms....very tight hallways...corners and dimly lit halls (I would not want to stay here as an unaccompanied woman)...tired furniture...all in all not a great place. I do however recommend the Thai restaurant tied to the hotel. The food was very good!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Travelodge Hotel Downtown Chicago

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Chi Town again
Business
Chicago Ill
Nov 18, 2011

Good value

I booked thruogh Orbitiz and had to pay ahead of time with no refund if I was unable to fulfill the reservation however I did get a very nice roomy suite for less than the price of a single room. Nice BR, LV with couch and business desk with comp. WIFI, Small kit w/ sink ,refig, and microwave. Redone bath, comfortable King bed, good cable table top TV with showtime and HBO . Only negative was this was a smoke free hotel and we consistantly got cigarette smell from our bath vent and even with six to nine complaints to the front desk did not resolve the problem so we just had to let the bath fan run all the time which was a sleep concern. Bring a vaporizer for the moisture will make your stay better in the heating season. Great bellman--Les

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Jim Miller's on Waubash

Review of Travelodge Hotel Downtown Chicago

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
clmx
mexico
Nov 16, 2011

horrible experience

We had to change our room twice, so we got to see 3 rooms in the hotel. Rooms are not clean, furniture is old, and carpet is stained. First room, horrible mattress and dirty. Second room, no hot water. Third room, noisy, but managed to stay there. I'd rather pay USD30 more for a better room in another hotel. This hotel is not worth the price. Staff VERY rude. Elevators, VERY slow.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Review of Travelodge Hotel Downtown Chicago

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
mammapam
Springboro, OH, USA
Nov 14, 2011

weekend getaway

Room was VERY clean but hot, due to old radiators you could not control. Used AC in Nov.!!!Location was adequate for our needs. Staff was great! We would stay there again if we were there .for short stay. No ammenities really other than coffee pot:)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Exchequers great food and very reasonable

Back to menu Return to top