Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Mar 30, 2015 Check-out: Apr 2, 2015

Travelodge Hotel Downtown Chicago

2 stars
View map of 65 East Harrison, Chicago, IL 60605

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Travelodge Hotel Downtown Chicago

Overall score

2.9 / 5
5.01.0
337 out of 337
Amenities:
2.6
Cleanliness:
3.3
Hotel staff:
3.6
Comfort:
3
Location:
4.3
Value:
3.4

65% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Travelodge Hotel Downtown Chicago

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Squeez
Business
Texas, USA
Mar 13, 2012

Daddy daughter getaway

First of all, we arrived LATE at night. I called ahead and that was no problem. The night staff was excellent. Said if we needed anything to just call and ask. Staff was extremely helpful in calling cabs, directions, etc. room was very clean. We were perfectly comfortable. Only bad thing was the water pressure was on the weak side, but if that's my biggest complaint, then oh well. Overall, everything was great. Would definitely stay there again for the money.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Travelodge Hotel Downtown Chicago

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Maudie Diamondeyes
Business
San Francisco, CA, USA
Feb 28, 2012

Don't bother

The room looked like it hadn't been cleaned since 1985. The bed didn't even have a fitted sheet, just a flat sheet on a ripped blanket with holes all over it! We ran out of hot water in the shower and there was construction happening in the hallway outside our door that woke us up very early. I wouldn't stay at the Travelodge again if it was free. Never again. Don't waste your money!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Travelodge Hotel Downtown Chicago

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
PerryC
Business
Sydney Australia
Feb 17, 2012

Dad's Funeral

I was going to spend 5 nights here as a holiday after going to New york from Australia. My Dad died suddenly and I had to cancel THREE MONTHS before I was coming. THEY KEPT MY 600 DOLLARS! is this even legal in America? Be ware before booking here!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Travelodge Hotel Downtown Chicago

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
adamb
Business
Flint, MI, USA
Feb 6, 2012

Amazing staff!

The hotel wasn't anything special, very little amenities, average hotel at best. But when you factor in the great, helpful, polite, and caring staff you have a very good experience. I don't remember his name other than I think it started with a P, lol, but thank you Mr. P at the front desk. You made our trip that much better, and brightened a hectic day. And your recommended restaurant was AMAZING. The pizza and staff at Lou Malnati's was excellent.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Travelodge Hotel Downtown Chicago

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Bklyn123456789
Business
Brooklyn NY
Jan 30, 2012

Ok hotel

If your looking for some value than this is your place but don't expect it to be the best. It was clean but not very new the bed was very uncomfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Try Lou's for some good deep dish pizza.

Review of Travelodge Hotel Downtown Chicago

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Some Guy From Cleveland
Business
Cleveland, Ohio
Jan 17, 2012

Very good deal for the money.

The location is super-convenient to the Loop, just a block from the Harrison station on the Red Line, and right on the #7 bus. The room was comfortable, but the shower didn't quite stop dripping and the water wasn't really hot enough. There were some random metal-clanging noises in the night that were probably from the elevator. And there was something about the bedding that made it not retain body heat very well. But aside from that: the room was clean, the staff was friendly and courteous, the location was amazing, and it was more than good enough for the price. Definitely recommended, but you might want to do something about the hot water issue.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

The Thai restaurant that is technically not in the hotel but RIGHT next to it is quite good, and fairly priced.

Review of Travelodge Hotel Downtown Chicago

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Harleigh Hardweigh
Business
Chicago
Dec 27, 2011

Guest got sick; no trip; no refund

I'll have to think twice before booking online again. I booked and prepaid for a room for a friend (an aged veteran) who was to visit relatives in Chicago at Thanksgiving. He became very ill the morning of his planned trip and could not leave home. I was unable to get a refund either through the online booking agency or the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Travelodge Hotel Downtown Chicago

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
JAKY
Business
Murray, KY, USA
Dec 20, 2011

Great Place

Great location to Chicago downtown, the nearest CTA station is Harrison on red line.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Travelodge Hotel Downtown Chicago

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
JAKY
Business
Murray, KY, USA
Dec 14, 2011

A good stay to go around in downtown

Very close to CTA station, also the Michigan Ave. A great location. The only problem is there are not many restaurants to choose, except the subway, KFC, and Pizza Hut.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

The nearest CTA station is Harrison in Red Line.

Review of Travelodge Hotel Downtown Chicago

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
ocphotog5675
Business
Orange, CA, USA
Dec 12, 2011

Not exactly the best, but get what you pay for.

Room was decently clean, warm enough, and thats about it. Plain room, heater worked, bathroom was clean. We were on the second floor, right across from elevators, super slow weekend and somehow hotel couldnt find ANY other room that could be quieter. Saw a FAT cockroach in the stairway (which we had to take since the first 1.5 days the elevator didnt work or you had to wait over 5 mins for it to come). Staff was not good, felt like anything asked about the city, trains, late checkout, was a huge incovenience for them to even open their mouth or check the computer. We got a late checkout and 30mins before the checkout a hotel personnel just opens the door to our room as we were packing our stuff, and asks if we are checking out, no knock, just comes right in. NOT COOL, for obvious reasons. Just overall not the best experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top