Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jun 22, 2015 Check-out: Jun 25, 2015

The Willows Hotel

3 stars
View map of 555 West Surf Street, Chicago, IL 60657

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Willows Hotel

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
84 out of 84
Amenities:
3.7
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.5
Comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.4
Value:
4

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Willows Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
g-baby
Business
Iowa
Aug 2, 2011

Great value for the money

We did visit family. The location was great. It was very hot outside and the air in the hotel was very good. The person behind the desk was very good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

close to the lake

Review of The Willows Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
A true Phillies Phan
Business
Woodstown, NJ
Jul 28, 2011

GREAT place!!

My boyfriend and I wanted to see Wrigley Field... We overall fell in LOVE with Chicago. I think our hotel had a big part in that!! The people were awesome, VERY willing to help and always friendly. They remembered us, BY NAME, each time we came through the lobby. I would recommend this hotel to any and everyone.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

All the food was fantastic! From the low end price to the high... It made me want to visit again, JUST for the food :)

Review of The Willows Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Elk River, MN
Apr 17, 2011

Great Service

We went to a concert at the aragon ballroom in chicago. it was nearby and the people at the front desk were very helpful in giving directions to places and everyone was very nice. the lobby had free coffee 24/7 and a great continental breakfast all for free! i loved it and if i go again i will choose the willows.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Willows Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Lakeland, FL
Mar 26, 2011

Great Find

Room was stocked with drinks and snacks and very reasonable. TV was wall mounted and a decent size. Soft rooms in closet for guests. Walking distance to plenty of food. Felt like it was a safe neighborhood.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Willows Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Repeat Charleston Traveller
Business
Indianapolis
Nov 22, 2010

Clean, price is right

Traveling for business and room was well located; nice neighborhood. Tried to open a window which came out of its tracks; nearly dropped the loose pane. Head of bed was right next to entry door, which was awkward. Well stocked fridge.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Willows Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Berkeley, CA
Jun 19, 2010

Fine small hotel

We liked the neighborhood location and the hotel. It's an old apartment building (1922) that was redone as a hotel around 2002. Staff was young, professional, very nice. Parking on the street is possible if you have a compact car but forget it if you have a mid or full-sized car. Good health club nearby is included. Internet was included but sometimes not working with my computer but worked well with iPhone and iPad. The worst aspect was trying to figure out how the television worked. Never figured out how to get pay movies. However, we found a great move theater nearby with top international films (Century Shopping Center on Clark St). The shopping center also has a good hair/beauty school with very low prices. All in all, a very good place to stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Try Erwin's Restaurant, 2925 North Halsted Street, for a good nearby meal; a bit of an upscale neighborhood restaurant but not too pricey.

Review of The Willows Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Washington, Pa
Apr 27, 2010

peaceful repose

We really enjoyed our stay at the willows. The staff was courteous, friendly, and helpful. Quiet location and during the night we didn't hear any plumbing noises or noisy, late night guests. Great location for dining, sightseeing, and visiting family. Local public transportation is awesome. Cookies in the lobby after a day of sightseeing.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The neighborhood abounds in a very diverse selection of restaurants. Everything from burghers and pizza to steaks, oriental, and middle eastern fare. We've eaten breakfast at the Grove, only a short walk to Diversey, and have liked it every time. All this with in walking distance of the Willows.

Review of The Willows Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Washington, Pa
Apr 27, 2010

peaceful repose

We really enjoyed our stay at the willows. The staff was courteous, friendly, and helpful. Quiet location and during the night we didn't hear any plumbing noises or noisy, late night guests. Great location for dining, sightseeing, and visiting family. Local public transportation is awesome. Cookies in the lobby after a day of sightseeing.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The neighborhood abounds in a very diverse selection of restaurants. Everything from burghers and pizza to steaks, oriental, and middle eastern fare. We've eaten breakfast at the Grove, only a short walk to Diversey, and have liked it every time. All this with in walking distance of the Willows.

Review of The Willows Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Female Exec
Business
New York
Apr 24, 2010

Excellent, but no business center

Well-located, friendly staff. Don't accept the 2 front rooms - too small and too noisy, but other rooms are great, and the desk staff will move you upon request. Beds are EXTREMELY comfortable and luxurious. No business center. Continental breakfast included only plain bagels for breakfast bread selection.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Willows Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
ArtsGrandma
Business
Denver, CO
Apr 19, 2010

"Pleasant atmosphere"

We picked this hotel for the location because it was close to my son's home, so it was convenient for family members to transport us when the distances to destinations were too far to walk. It's in the Lakeview/Lincoln Park area, so there are many restaurants and other amenities, typical of Chicago neighborhoods My daughters and I liked the European feel to the hotel, though others might have found that a minus: small "lift," friendly lobby atmosphere for the continental breakfast. The only downside for us had to do with linens; they changed the towels even though we had left them hanging for an additional use, and when they did that, they neglected to leave a third set for our party of three. Only two drinking glasses were in the room, also. The staff was courteous and helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Chicago is known for its neighborhoods, so take the time to stroll around this one a mile or so in any direction. You'll find a variety of restaurants and bars and interesting shops, as well as standard chains. Since it's right off Broadway, it's easy to get around. Walk, walk, walk; it's the best way to get a feel for Chicago.

Back to menu Return to top