Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Feb 11, 2016 Check-out: Feb 12, 2016

The Whitehall Hotel

4 stars
View map of 105 E. Delaware Place, Chicago, IL 60611

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Whitehall Hotel

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
121 out of 121
Amenities:
3.5
Cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.1
Comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.8
Value:
3.9

84% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Whitehall Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
black barbie
Friends
Salem, MA
Jul 11, 2011

good

good location!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of The Whitehall Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Gela
Couples
Minnesota
Aug 26, 2009

Awesome hotel!

Awesome!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of The Whitehall Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
handicapped
Couples
Texas, USA
Aug 28, 2011

relaxing

the whitehall is very relaxing in decor and amenities...especially for that nap between tourist attractions. everyone was very helpful and courteous. ..check with everyone to find great things to do and places to eat. the location is by far the best...just steps from everywhere. ..shopping, eating, bus lines, the train and one of the best options is they're on the go line.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

the GO vans. anywhere, anytime. just a phone call away. saves a bundle from and to the airport.

Review of The Whitehall Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Pat L.
Couples
Arlington Heights, IL, USA
Aug 12, 2011

Wonderful location

Always a nice place to stay. Not glitzy but classy. Such a great neighborhood; near everything we wanted to go to. Many great restaurants just a few steps away. We will go back. I especially appreciated being allowed to check in before 3:00. They were very accommodating.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

I booked this through Cheap tickets obviously and saved so much money. I was treated just as any other guest would have been.

Review of The Whitehall Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
bunnytingting
Friends
SD
Oct 12, 2011

Not good as my imagination

There is no electrickettle in the room. But the location is very good, near to the bus station and railway.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of The Whitehall Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
GMKN
Couples
Illinois
Dec 15, 2011

A very nice hotel

The things that needed to be fixed in the room were done quickly. The staff was very attentive to our requests and needs.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of The Whitehall Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Troy. J
Friends
West Lafayette, IN, USA
Dec 24, 2011

it's alright

I think the overall quality is okay. I don't like the bed very much.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of The Whitehall Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
honda516
Single
Manhattan, New York, NY, USA
Feb 7, 2012

chicago trip

staff very nice. comfy bed but room was falling apart. Lamps loose and falling over, brakets + faucet covers loose, holes in walls in bathroom, no "welcome book", no room service menu, missing ice bucket top, tv old and poor reception, limited cable channels and many unused channels showing up as you surf around. needs a little attention to detail to measure up. Crazy phones

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Single

Review of The Whitehall Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Bente
Business
Washington DC
Mar 8, 2012

Fine hotel

This is an average hotel in a very nice part of the city and with a very nice staff. I got a very dark room to begin with but they agreed to change it. The wireless internet connection didn't work though and nobody seemed to care much.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Whitehall Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
jcox40
Family
Montgomery, AL
Mar 22, 2012

Unexplained

So many little things wrong with this hotel. Has so much potential, and just not living up to it. Amenities: No one said a single thing about hotel services when we checked in. No 'fitness center is located at..', no discussion about room service. They wanted my ID and credit card and then my room keys were put on the counter and that was it. I had a Pinacle level room, which is supposed to have automatic turn down service, complimentary car within 2 miles radius to the hotel. I didn't see any of that. If there was a fitness center on site, they hid it well. Their business center on the 3rd floor consists of three cubicles and a powder room. Location: Terrific. A bit of construction going on next door (Fourth Presbyterian Church--a stunningly beautiful church), so walking around it is a small obstacle. Room Cleanliness and Comfort: Can't complain a bit about general cleanliness. Housekeeping was already cleaning the room when we returned from breakfast on our first morning. She was polite, efficient, and I just now realized I forgot to tip housekeeping. Sorry, ladies. I know how hard you work. I will say that if their executive housekeeper inspects the rooms, Maintenance is ignoring the reports. Or maybe they are just overwhelmed with the kind of work it takes to upkeep a historic building like this. Water damage on the ceiling above the desk. Variation in water pressure and a strange whistling noise accompanied it. The four poster bed, which was very comfortable, had only half of the lower two posts....like one side was damaged so they removed both to make it look uniform. No finial or cap to hide it. Cracks in the paint around the bay window (which was lovely). The front lobby seemed so worn and tired. Not the great first impression you want to portray. Staff: I only rated them a 3. If I could rate everyone except the front desk clerks, they would get a 5. Really warm and helpful. Eager. But the front desk... not at all welcoming. We ordered a famous chicago deep dish pizza to be delivered and the clerk called and when I answered, "Your food is here." Of course, tone is hard to nail down in this, but it sounded to me like the clerk was irritated. Value: For location alone, this hotel is a good value. A room in the hotel across the street is triple the cost. I don't know that I would stay here again. I would probably take a chance on one similar.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Back to menu Return to top