Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Oct 30, 2014 Check-out: Oct 31, 2014

The Whitehall Hotel

4 stars
105 E. Delaware Place, Chicago, IL 60611
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
1,207 reviews
Doesnt get any better, in the heart of Chicago, Great surrounding area

Staff is great, friendly, helpful. Location, great views, walkable, near shopping and dinning.... See full review

  • BrandonGallegos
  • Oct 2, 2014
Chicago Trip for Two

We really enjoyed our stay at this hotel. The room was beautiful and the bed was amazing. The... See full review

  • Missing Chicago 2014
  • Sep 16, 2014
The independently-owned Whitehall Hotel is Chicago's answer to the quirky boutique hotel, with a prestigious list of past guests that includes Katharine Hepburn and Mick Jagger. The Whitehall has been around since the 1920s, and maintains a combination of European-inspired charm and warm Midwestern hospitality, from the plush upholstered lounge-seating to the dark wood paneling and sparkling chandeliers. Feast on steamed dumplings and other Asian bites at Mei's Corner, or drink in the same seats that the Beatles once graced in the Whitehall Lounge. Free Wi-Fi throughout the hotel (fees may apply) brings you back into the 21st century, though personal services like the overnight shoeshine retain that vintage feel.
Key facts
  • 22 guestrooms
  • 3 restaurants: Whitehall Place Lounge, Mei's Corner, Fornetto Mei
  • Fitness center
  • Valet parking
  • Shoe-shine service
  • Business center
  • Event space for up to 100 guests
  • Pets allowed (under 20 pounds, and subject to possible fees)
  • Handicapped rooms available
  • Free Wi-Fi throughout
Neighborhood
Right on Chicago's Gold Coast and with handy access to nearby Michigan Avenue, or 'The Magnificent Mile', stay at the Whitehall Chicago and you'll find yourself within walking distance of first-class eateries, movie theaters, colorful clothing stores like Lulu's on the Avenue, and all the pulsing nightlife of Rush Street. Guests in the mood for a moonlit stroll can access Oak Street Beach, only steps away from the Whitehall's front door.
Hints and tips
Business groups might find the Delaware suite useful, because it features exclusive living and dining areas for up to six guests.

If you want to explore the local streets without wearing yourself out too early, take the no. 66 bus to Navy Pier for more theaters and stores, as well as access to the Lakeside trail alongside N. Lake Shore Drive.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

The Whitehall Hotel Rooms

Run of House 2
This room offers two double queen bed with cable TV, air conditioning, in room safe, hair dryer, iron and ironing board.
Standard Room
This room offers one queen bed with cable TV, air conditioning, in room safe, hair dryer, iron and ironing board.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Non Smoking
General
Non Smoking
Pet friendly
Activities
Fitness Center
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Whitehall Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

Hotel Map

41.899 -87.6257
Area served
Chicago.
Nearby airports
Chicago O'Hare International Airport, Chicago Midway Airport.
Area description
The Whitehall hotel has proximity to North Michigan Avenue shopping, John Hancock Center, Museum of Contemporary Art, Sears Tower and Skydeck, Lincoln Park Zoo and Wrigley Field.

Nearby points of interest

  • Water Tower: 0.1 mi
  • John Hancock Center: 0.1 mi
  • Drury Lane Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Seneca Park: 0.2 mi
  • Holy Name Cathedral: 0.2 mi
  • Washington Square Park: 0.3 mi
  • Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.3 mi
  • Oak Street Beach: 0.3 mi
  • Terra Museum of American Art: 0.3 mi
  • Michigan Avenue: 0.3 mi
  • Lake Shore Park: 0.4 mi
  • Chicago Historical Society: 0.4 mi
  • Chicago - Mag Mile - Wacker Dr: 0.4 mi
  • North Michigan Avenue: 0.5 mi
  • Tribune Tower: 0.6 mi
  • Water Tower: 0.1 mi
  • John Hancock Center: 0.1 mi
  • Drury Lane Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Seneca Park: 0.2 mi
  • Holy Name Cathedral: 0.2 mi
  • Washington Square Park: 0.3 mi
  • Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.3 mi
  • Oak Street Beach: 0.3 mi
  • Terra Museum of American Art: 0.3 mi
  • Michigan Avenue: 0.3 mi
  • Lake Shore Park: 0.4 mi
  • Chicago Historical Society: 0.4 mi
  • Chicago - Mag Mile - Wacker Dr: 0.4 mi
  • North Michigan Avenue: 0.5 mi
  • Tribune Tower: 0.6 mi
  • Wrigley Building: 0.6 mi
  • Museum of Broadcast Communications: 0.7 mi
  • Marina City: 0.8 mi
  • Lake Point Tower: 0.9 mi
  • Merchandise Mart: 0.9 mi
  • Harold Washington College: 0.9 mi
  • History Museum: 0.9 mi
  • Prudential Plaza: 0.9 mi
  • Chicago Theater: 0.9 mi
  • Goodman Theatre: 1 mi
  • Oriental Theatre: 1 mi
  • Children Museum: 1 mi
  • Chicago Cultural Center: 1 mi
  • Harris Theater: 1 mi
  • Macys: 1.1 mi
  • City Hall: 1.1 mi
  • Cadillac Palace Theatre: 1.1 mi
  • Navy Pier: 1.1 mi
  • Pritzker Pavilion: 1.1 mi
  • Shubert Theatre: 1.1 mi
  • Cloud Gate: 1.1 mi
  • State Street: 1.2 mi
  • Kendall College: 1.2 mi
  • Crown Fountain: 1.2 mi
  • Bank of America Theatre: 1.3 mi
  • North Avenue Beach: 1.3 mi
  • Opera House: 1.3 mi
  • Yacht Club: 1.3 mi
  • Art Institute of Chicago: 1.3 mi
  • Chicago Mercantile Exchange: 1.4 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (1207)

Ratings and reviews for The Whitehall Hotel

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
1207 out of 1207
Amenities:
3.5
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.1

86% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Whitehall Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
TRaveling with my mom
Business
Belo Horizonte, Brazil
Nov 10, 2010

Very good hotel!!

It was a great experience! The BEST location, couldn't be better. I would definitelly stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Brunch at Cafe des Arquitets very close from the hotel..

Review of The Whitehall Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Freeport, IL
Oct 28, 2010

Wonderful Experience!

We loved our stay at the Whitehall and will definitely return again. The room was good sized, clean and the bathrooms were elegant and well appointed. Staff seemed genuinely interested in knowing if we needed anything every single time we encountered a staff person from the desk clerk, the maid and the doormen. It was quiet and very comfortable and well located only 1 block from the WaterTower Mall on Michigan Ave.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Across the street is a self park garage that was very convenient and we could park ourselves and save some money on the valet! We were able to easily access our car often and stow away our packages as we shopped!

Review of The Whitehall Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Grateful Couple
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Sep 8, 2010

The Perfect Getaway

The Whitehall Hotel ended up being in the perfect location for us. It was close to Millenium Park, John Hancock building, Millenium Mile, etc. It was at the heart of Downtown. It was near many great restaurants and market places. Even the "L" Train entrance was close by. Overall, our experience was excellent.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Whitehall Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Nuri
Business
Seville, Spain
Sep 14, 2011

Very nice in every aspect

the hotel has a perfect location, rooms are very nice, and the staff is wonderful

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Japonays

Review of The Whitehall Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
RF
Business
Oklahoma City, OK
Jun 1, 2009

Awesome Hotel

My wife and I stayed here for 3 nights. Great location! Right on the Magnificent Mile. You take a right as you walk out the hotel, go past a church, and bam - you're on Michigan Ave. Tons of things to do around the hotel. At first, we were helped in by the bellhop and he was very nice. He took us to room 1403 - this is a hint - all 03 numbers are corner rooms with direct views of the Hancock Tower. Unfortunately, tub was leaking above us in 1503 and had to move to 1704. We went from huge room to adequate size room. The restaurant downstairs looked nice but never went there. Business Center under renovation. They are also redoing their Central Heat and Air but never had a problem with it. Will return there. Definitely 4 star hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Not Applicable

Lou Malnatto's is best Deep Dish pizza. Suggest the sausage. Margies Candies has best ice cream and candies. Both places are now top 5 all time ever for us.

Review of The Whitehall Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
theeli
Business
usa
May 30, 2009

Great experience

Great location, great staff, great overall experience. No problems at all. Hotel had a historic look and feel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Whitehall Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
HippopicklesSW
Business
Arnold, MO (a St. Louis suburb)
May 29, 2009

Very nice

The hotel was very, very nice, very upscale in my humble opinion. The parking was a bit expensive, but I realize that there was really no other alternative, and the parking lots were independent of the hotel, so not much could be done. I didn't think to ask if they validated parking, so that might have saved me some money. I guess I'll never know, but make sure you ask.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Try to find a place that validates parking, and if you're not staying downtown the entire time, try to park for less than ten hours.

Review of The Whitehall Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
former flight attendant
Business
dallas texas
May 9, 2009

terrific location, great hotel

Very helpful concierge, bell staff. Everything we needed within walking distance. No rent car needed with good CTA service and central location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Whitehall Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Maggie Q!.
Business
Mobile, AL.
Aug 14, 2010

Great!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

[...] & [...] were the greatest, along with [...], [...]. Very friendly & helpful.Coming back to you guys. See u soon.Maggie

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Whitehall Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Niagara Canada
Oct 5, 2010

Great Location

The Whitehall was excellent with a fantastic location just of the Magnificent Mile. The staff is very friendly and helpful. The rooms were spacious for a boutique hotel and appointed very well. Will definitely book again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top