Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 2, 2014 Check-out: Sep 3, 2014

The Whitehall Hotel

4 stars
105 E. Delaware Place, Chicago, IL 60611
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
1,219 reviews
birthday getaway

Stayed here for one night on a Wednesday. The room was really nice. The lounge and bar area was... See full review

  • Lebowski666
  • Jul 11, 2014
trip for granddaughter`s 16th birthday...perfect location for a teenagers shopping tyrip.

the staff was extremely friendly, the breakfast were delicious with an efficient staff, See full review

  • Mom North
  • Jun 7, 2014
The Whitehall Hotel remains a landmark destination in downtown Chicago, offering a very European sense of grace and grandeur. Thanks to meticulous restorations. In perfect harmony with the old world charm are modern conveniences such as a fitness center. In-room features include three multi-line telephones with voicemail, high speed internet (for fee). Step outside and you'll find that the hotel is ideally located in the heart of the Gold Coast, nestled amid the Magnificent Mile's shops, restaurants, theaters, entertainment, and the business district. The Whitehall Hotel, Downtown Chicago's True Independent Boutique Hotel, proudly and successfully endures the test of time. The hotel will exceed your expectations and invite you to explore The Whitehall Hotel today.

This property is 100% smoke free

The Whitehall Hotel Rooms

Run of House 2
This room offers two double queen bed with cable TV, air conditioning, in room safe, hair dryer, iron and ironing board.
Standard Room
This room offers one queen bed with cable TV, air conditioning, in room safe, hair dryer, iron and ironing board.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Non Smoking
General
Non Smoking
Pet friendly
Activities
Fitness Center
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Whitehall Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

Hotel Map

41.899 -87.6257
Area served
Chicago.
Nearby airports
Chicago O'Hare International Airport, Chicago Midway Airport.
Area description
The Whitehall hotel has proximity to North Michigan Avenue shopping, John Hancock Center, Museum of Contemporary Art, Sears Tower and Skydeck, Lincoln Park Zoo and Wrigley Field.

Nearby points of interest

  • Water Tower: 0.1 mi
  • John Hancock Center: 0.1 mi
  • Drury Lane Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Seneca Park: 0.2 mi
  • Holy Name Cathedral: 0.2 mi
  • Washington Square Park: 0.3 mi
  • Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.3 mi
  • Oak Street Beach: 0.3 mi
  • Terra Museum of American Art: 0.3 mi
  • Michigan Avenue: 0.3 mi
  • Lake Shore Park: 0.4 mi
  • Chicago Historical Society: 0.4 mi
  • Chicago - Mag Mile - Wacker Dr: 0.4 mi
  • North Michigan Avenue: 0.5 mi
  • Tribune Tower: 0.6 mi
  • Water Tower: 0.1 mi
  • John Hancock Center: 0.1 mi
  • Drury Lane Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Seneca Park: 0.2 mi
  • Holy Name Cathedral: 0.2 mi
  • Washington Square Park: 0.3 mi
  • Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.3 mi
  • Oak Street Beach: 0.3 mi
  • Terra Museum of American Art: 0.3 mi
  • Michigan Avenue: 0.3 mi
  • Lake Shore Park: 0.4 mi
  • Chicago Historical Society: 0.4 mi
  • Chicago - Mag Mile - Wacker Dr: 0.4 mi
  • North Michigan Avenue: 0.5 mi
  • Tribune Tower: 0.6 mi
  • Wrigley Building: 0.6 mi
  • Museum of Broadcast Communications: 0.7 mi
  • Marina City: 0.8 mi
  • Lake Point Tower: 0.9 mi
  • Merchandise Mart: 0.9 mi
  • Harold Washington College: 0.9 mi
  • History Museum: 0.9 mi
  • Prudential Plaza: 0.9 mi
  • Chicago Theater: 0.9 mi
  • Goodman Theatre: 1 mi
  • Oriental Theatre: 1 mi
  • Children Museum: 1 mi
  • Chicago Cultural Center: 1 mi
  • Harris Theater: 1 mi
  • Macys: 1.1 mi
  • City Hall: 1.1 mi
  • Cadillac Palace Theatre: 1.1 mi
  • Navy Pier: 1.1 mi
  • Pritzker Pavilion: 1.1 mi
  • Shubert Theatre: 1.1 mi
  • Cloud Gate: 1.1 mi
  • State Street: 1.2 mi
  • Kendall College: 1.2 mi
  • Crown Fountain: 1.2 mi
  • Bank of America Theatre: 1.3 mi
  • North Avenue Beach: 1.3 mi
  • Opera House: 1.3 mi
  • Yacht Club: 1.3 mi
  • Art Institute of Chicago: 1.3 mi
  • Chicago Mercantile Exchange: 1.4 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by CheapTickets

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (1219)

Ratings and reviews for The Whitehall Hotel

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
6 out of 1219
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
3.8
Room comfort:
3.7
Location:
4.7
Value:
3.7

67% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Whitehall Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
T is for Thom
CHicago, Illinois
Apr 1, 2013

Lovely location; not up to past stays

You cannot beat the location here! You are a hope away from The Hancock Building, Water Tower Place, and high-end shopping. In previous stays I found the hotel very friendly and efficient. This stay was noticeably diffrent from the start. At check in the desk staff was in the middle of a personal conversation which was not to be interrupted by my arrival. While they did check me in, the young man's attention was unfocused and while my room had a fully stocked mini-bar, I wasn't given a key or explanation as you how or if I could get into it. I could have called down to the desk and asked, but instead I bought stuff at a near by Walgreen's and they lost the sale. Saved me money and lost them some. The room was clean and appointed well, but it is time to retire those old televisions for wide-screens and the headboard was not affixed to anything and rattled most of the night. The hotel now only serves breakfast via room service so this should affect the star rating. As I checked out I asked for a late check out and the front desk was efficient, but terse. It would be great if they were polite at some point during my deals with them. As I was leaving, I had a question about check out. There were two desk clerks. One was busy with some pretty high maintenance guests. The other was doing book keeping and never gave eye contact nor acknowledge my long (15 minute) wait. She seemed to be the manager of the establishment. If you are not accessible to guest, then you should probably be doing work in an unseen location. The location was great for my needs, but will I stay there again? I will probably look into other, more accomodating accomodations.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of The Whitehall Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
July 4th
Suburban Chicago
Jul 17, 2012

Whitehall Chicago

This hotel is big bang for the buck, especially given its location. Everything you would want is nearby, which means you save on taxis too.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of The Whitehall Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Unenthused
Chicago
Jun 8, 2012

Disappointing

Like a behemoth held up by toothpicks, so too was my experience at this burgeoning tower in the heart of the city. I enjoyed the look of the place, but the crumbling ceiling stucco in my room and the nasty price of wi-fi (which didn't even end up working) kept me from liking this particular place. ...That and I paid for a king suite and was shuffled into a room with two regular sized beds, not a king to be found.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Review of The Whitehall Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
TShane
NYC
Aug 16, 2011

Nice hotel, great Location.

The staff was great and the hotel room was very clean and service was great. The hotel is a bit dated, and the exercise room is pretty small. But overall its a good value... a block from the Hancock Center and just three blocks from the Chicago stop on the Red Line of the "L".

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of The Whitehall Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Keith and Chuck
Las Vegas, NV
Jul 23, 2011

Whitehall Hotel, Chicago!

Staff was friendly and helpful and willing to give suggestions and directions.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

Use the public transprtation, the Bus or train, no need to rent a car. It is easy and cheap to get around town!

Review of The Whitehall Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Naperville, IL
Jun 28, 2011

Great for price and location!

The people at the front desk were friendly and personable. The hotel was booked a few days in advance and was priced very well. The king bed was a true king bed. The room was quite spacious and even included a small seating area. The bathroom had been remodeled nicely, while the room itself maintained a traditional and modern flair. I loved the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Back to menu Return to top