Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Feb 29, 2016 Check-out: Mar 1, 2016

The Whitehall Hotel

4 stars
View map of 105 E. Delaware Place, Chicago, IL 60611

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.7
out of 5
121 reviews
Good for friends vacation

very quiet but near shopping area, and I can easy find the shopping malls and some restaurants. See full review

  • jiani l.
  • Mar 9, 2015
Excellent Hotel

Our experience was top notch from check in to check out. We have stayed at the Whitehall before and... See full review

  • SMNJED
  • Jul 1, 2013

Guests at the superb Whitehall Hotel in Chicago are welcomed to an outstanding array of amenities during their stay. With 222 newly renovated rooms adorning its 21 floors, the Whitehall Hotel offers untold luxury with plush silk duvet covers, Egyptian cotton sheets, down comforters and Hypnos mattresses.

Wi-Fi, cable TV and a minibar are included in each contemporary styled guest room, while the distinctive marble bathrooms ensure maximum style.  

Highlights

The hotel is in the Gold Coast district of Chicago, with choice shops like Prada and Saks just a short walk away. Situated 18 miles southeast of O’Hare International Airport (ORD) and 13 miles northeast of Midway International Airport (MDW), the hotel is in a prime location.

Service is conveniently provided by Chicago’s El train from both airports into the city center, with a train stop just three blocks away from the hotel. 

The Whitehall Hotel Chicago is only a four-minute walk from the Magnificent Mile and features two restaurants and a fitness center. It is a short distance away from the Water Tower Place and the Museum of Contemporary Art and less than two miles away from the majority of Chicago’s attractions including Lincoln Park Zoo, Millennium Park and Navy Pier. Guests can also enjoy exquisite Asian and Italian cuisine at the on-site Fornetto Mei. 

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Whitehall Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.7 out of 5

Hotel Map

41.899 -87.6257
Area served
Chicago.
Nearby airports
Chicago O'Hare International Airport, Chicago Midway Airport.
Area description
The Whitehall hotel has proximity to North Michigan Avenue shopping, John Hancock Center, Museum of Contemporary Art, Sears Tower and Skydeck, Lincoln Park Zoo and Wrigley Field.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for The Whitehall Hotel

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
22 out of 121
Amenities:
3.1
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3.6
Location:
4.8
Value:
3.4

73% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Whitehall Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Etwale
Family
Tioga, North Dakota
Apr 3, 2013

Great Location subpar Hotel

The Hotel needs a fridge and microwave in the rooms. There are no Ice machines or vending machines.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Family

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

It is not the greatest of ameneties, But the location is perfect. Walking distance to everything imaginable.

Review of The Whitehall Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
jcox40
Family
Montgomery, AL
Mar 22, 2012

Unexplained

So many little things wrong with this hotel. Has so much potential, and just not living up to it. Amenities: No one said a single thing about hotel services when we checked in. No 'fitness center is located at..', no discussion about room service. They wanted my ID and credit card and then my room keys were put on the counter and that was it. I had a Pinacle level room, which is supposed to have automatic turn down service, complimentary car within 2 miles radius to the hotel. I didn't see any of that. If there was a fitness center on site, they hid it well. Their business center on the 3rd floor consists of three cubicles and a powder room. Location: Terrific. A bit of construction going on next door (Fourth Presbyterian Church--a stunningly beautiful church), so walking around it is a small obstacle. Room Cleanliness and Comfort: Can't complain a bit about general cleanliness. Housekeeping was already cleaning the room when we returned from breakfast on our first morning. She was polite, efficient, and I just now realized I forgot to tip housekeeping. Sorry, ladies. I know how hard you work. I will say that if their executive housekeeper inspects the rooms, Maintenance is ignoring the reports. Or maybe they are just overwhelmed with the kind of work it takes to upkeep a historic building like this. Water damage on the ceiling above the desk. Variation in water pressure and a strange whistling noise accompanied it. The four poster bed, which was very comfortable, had only half of the lower two posts....like one side was damaged so they removed both to make it look uniform. No finial or cap to hide it. Cracks in the paint around the bay window (which was lovely). The front lobby seemed so worn and tired. Not the great first impression you want to portray. Staff: I only rated them a 3. If I could rate everyone except the front desk clerks, they would get a 5. Really warm and helpful. Eager. But the front desk... not at all welcoming. We ordered a famous chicago deep dish pizza to be delivered and the clerk called and when I answered, "Your food is here." Of course, tone is hard to nail down in this, but it sounded to me like the clerk was irritated. Value: For location alone, this hotel is a good value. A room in the hotel across the street is triple the cost. I don't know that I would stay here again. I would probably take a chance on one similar.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of The Whitehall Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Majedov
Family
Saginaw, MI
Dec 27, 2011

Amazing Hotel

Its locations is too close to the main street. It deserves more because of the location. Cleaned room. No swimming pool neither free parking which is really disappointed. Overall, I'm coming back to it soooooon.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of The Whitehall Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
New City traveler
Family
Nebraska
Jun 3, 2011

Very accomodating

This hotel has lots of character. It is an old hotel, but has a great location. All of the hotel staff that we encountered were extremely helpful and personable. The only downside was the hotel did not offer extras. We could have used a small refrigerator, but that was an extra charge.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Many things were within walking distance. Only 1/2 block off Magnificent Mile!

Review of The Whitehall Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Candy
Family
Phoenix AZ
Jun 1, 2011

Fabulous old hotel!! I loved it!!!

this is a great old building in the heart of the Magnificent Mile! We were able to walk everywhere. I do think they could have included the wi-fi in the room rate. Other than that, it was perfect!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of The Whitehall Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Laura X 2
Family
North Carolina
May 17, 2011

Graduation celebration!

The hotel is very charming and the location is fantastic. The staff is very responsive and courteous. The beds are very comfortable. We experienced some problems with the room's air conditioner during our stay that was handled promptly by the maintenance staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of The Whitehall Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Baseball Traveler
Family
Fresno, CA
May 17, 2011

Old but Nice

Our trip was geared toward 2 baseball games at Wrigley Field. The Hotel is located downtown and provided a great location for us to sightsee and go to our ball games. The down side was that they did not have a two queen bed room available and we had to figure out how to sleep 3. We loved our trip and I would probably not stay at the Whitehall again unless it was just my husband and I traveling.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Family

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Skip the Field Museum and go down to the Museum of Science on the south side of Chicago.

Review of The Whitehall Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Najars DTK Mom
Family
Richmond, VA
Apr 8, 2011

Good to business

The place is pretty good and the facilicity is good but self-parking is not avaiable. No breakfast for children makes difficult.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Shopping street or restraunts.

Review of The Whitehall Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
hkmom
Family
hong kong
Apr 4, 2011

GOOD

this is very old one, but we like it, because few customer, less noisy. basically is good, house keeping OK, only the toilet flash sound is very very loud. lift is small

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of The Whitehall Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
Ohio
Mar 28, 2011

OK, not sure if I would stay there again

This was our first trip to Chicago which I mentioned to the front desk as we checked in. Was asked if rm#302 would be OK, well I guess, seeing that this is our first time here and not filmier with the Hotel. That night we were kept awake 1/2 the night with the safe buzzing we tried everything and still kept buzzing, I called the front desk the lady who answered wasn't very pleasant she asked what it was doing as I told her my husband sat it outside of our room because it wouldn't stop she then says to me do you want me to send someone up? WELL, Yes I do because I'm sure the people next door wouldn't like it sitting out there either. She didn't offer a new room or any apologizes to me. So the next morning I called down and talked with Carlos, what a nice person he was, right away he asked us if we would like to move into a different room? This is after I explained to him that the TV wasn't working correctly and the safe kept us up half the night. The Hotel was OK but not what we were expecting according to the web site details.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Family

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

The shopping and dining were phenomenal and the site seeing was a lot of fun as well. Everywhere you would go people were extremely friendly. Fun town to visit for sure.

Back to menu Return to top