Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Oct 5, 2014 Check-out: Oct 8, 2014

The Whitehall Hotel

4 stars
105 E. Delaware Place, Chicago, IL 60611
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
1,200 reviews
Chicago Trip for Two

We really enjoyed our stay at this hotel. The room was beautiful and the bed was amazing. The... See full review

  • Missing Chicago 2014
  • Sep 16, 2014
Chicago getaway

Best front desk and doorman I have experienced there. Great location-easy access to "L", bars and... See full review

  • Westparkman
  • Sep 5, 2014
The independently-owned Whitehall Hotel is Chicago's answer to the quirky boutique hotel, with a prestigious list of past guests that includes Katharine Hepburn and Mick Jagger. The Whitehall has been around since the 1920s, and maintains a combination of European-inspired charm and warm Midwestern hospitality, from the plush upholstered lounge-seating to the dark wood paneling and sparkling chandeliers. Feast on steamed dumplings and other Asian bites at Mei's Corner, or drink in the same seats that the Beatles once graced in the Whitehall Lounge. Free Wi-Fi throughout the hotel (fees may apply) brings you back into the 21st century, though personal services like the overnight shoeshine retain that vintage feel.
Key facts
  • 22 guestrooms
  • 3 restaurants: Whitehall Place Lounge, Mei's Corner, Fornetto Mei
  • Fitness center
  • Valet parking
  • Shoe-shine service
  • Business center
  • Event space for up to 100 guests
  • Pets allowed (under 20 pounds, and subject to possible fees)
  • Handicapped rooms available
  • Free Wi-Fi throughout
Neighborhood
Right on Chicago's Gold Coast and with handy access to nearby Michigan Avenue, or 'The Magnificent Mile', stay at the Whitehall Chicago and you'll find yourself within walking distance of first-class eateries, movie theaters, colorful clothing stores like Lulu's on the Avenue, and all the pulsing nightlife of Rush Street. Guests in the mood for a moonlit stroll can access Oak Street Beach, only steps away from the Whitehall's front door.
Hints and tips
Business groups might find the Delaware suite useful, because it features exclusive living and dining areas for up to six guests.

If you want to explore the local streets without wearing yourself out too early, take the no. 66 bus to Navy Pier for more theaters and stores, as well as access to the Lakeside trail alongside N. Lake Shore Drive.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

The Whitehall Hotel Rooms

Run of House 2
This room offers two double queen bed with cable TV, air conditioning, in room safe, hair dryer, iron and ironing board.
Standard Room
This room offers one queen bed with cable TV, air conditioning, in room safe, hair dryer, iron and ironing board.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Non Smoking
General
Non Smoking
Pet friendly
Activities
Fitness Center
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Whitehall Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

Hotel Map

41.899 -87.6257
Area served
Chicago.
Nearby airports
Chicago O'Hare International Airport, Chicago Midway Airport.
Area description
The Whitehall hotel has proximity to North Michigan Avenue shopping, John Hancock Center, Museum of Contemporary Art, Sears Tower and Skydeck, Lincoln Park Zoo and Wrigley Field.

Nearby points of interest

  • Water Tower: 0.1 mi
  • John Hancock Center: 0.1 mi
  • Drury Lane Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Seneca Park: 0.2 mi
  • Holy Name Cathedral: 0.2 mi
  • Washington Square Park: 0.3 mi
  • Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.3 mi
  • Oak Street Beach: 0.3 mi
  • Terra Museum of American Art: 0.3 mi
  • Michigan Avenue: 0.3 mi
  • Lake Shore Park: 0.4 mi
  • Chicago Historical Society: 0.4 mi
  • Chicago - Mag Mile - Wacker Dr: 0.4 mi
  • North Michigan Avenue: 0.5 mi
  • Tribune Tower: 0.6 mi
  • Water Tower: 0.1 mi
  • John Hancock Center: 0.1 mi
  • Drury Lane Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Seneca Park: 0.2 mi
  • Holy Name Cathedral: 0.2 mi
  • Washington Square Park: 0.3 mi
  • Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.3 mi
  • Oak Street Beach: 0.3 mi
  • Terra Museum of American Art: 0.3 mi
  • Michigan Avenue: 0.3 mi
  • Lake Shore Park: 0.4 mi
  • Chicago Historical Society: 0.4 mi
  • Chicago - Mag Mile - Wacker Dr: 0.4 mi
  • North Michigan Avenue: 0.5 mi
  • Tribune Tower: 0.6 mi
  • Wrigley Building: 0.6 mi
  • Museum of Broadcast Communications: 0.7 mi
  • Marina City: 0.8 mi
  • Lake Point Tower: 0.9 mi
  • Merchandise Mart: 0.9 mi
  • Harold Washington College: 0.9 mi
  • History Museum: 0.9 mi
  • Prudential Plaza: 0.9 mi
  • Chicago Theater: 0.9 mi
  • Goodman Theatre: 1 mi
  • Oriental Theatre: 1 mi
  • Children Museum: 1 mi
  • Chicago Cultural Center: 1 mi
  • Harris Theater: 1 mi
  • Macys: 1.1 mi
  • City Hall: 1.1 mi
  • Cadillac Palace Theatre: 1.1 mi
  • Navy Pier: 1.1 mi
  • Pritzker Pavilion: 1.1 mi
  • Shubert Theatre: 1.1 mi
  • Cloud Gate: 1.1 mi
  • State Street: 1.2 mi
  • Kendall College: 1.2 mi
  • Crown Fountain: 1.2 mi
  • Bank of America Theatre: 1.3 mi
  • North Avenue Beach: 1.3 mi
  • Opera House: 1.3 mi
  • Yacht Club: 1.3 mi
  • Art Institute of Chicago: 1.3 mi
  • Chicago Mercantile Exchange: 1.4 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (1200)

Ratings and reviews for The Whitehall Hotel

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
191 out of 1200
Amenities:
3.5
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.8
Value:
4

86% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Whitehall Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
AbMn
California
Sep 16, 2014

Great Location

Great location, half a block away from the John Hancock Towers. Good value for money.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of The Whitehall Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
BConnor
New Mexico
Sep 16, 2014

Day in town with my son

I brought my eight year old son into Chicago for a day and a night. We stayed at the Whitehall and had a great experience. It is practically next door to the John Hancock Center and the 360 degree attraction there. Michigan Avenue its various attractions are right there too. We even walked to Navy Pier and back to see the sights there. Our day in town took us as far as the aquarium, a walk-able distance, but a little far for my boy, so we took a cab home. The Whitehall is a great historic hotel that features great amenities, and a great location without breaking the bank.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of The Whitehall Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
renrel
Maplewood, New Jersey
Aug 30, 2014

great location

boutique feel - nice staff and sold room - location is great for food/shopping and easy access to public transportation

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of The Whitehall Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Alli B.
St. Louis
Jul 21, 2014

Great weekend getaway spot

We stayed just for a weekend of shopping and dining and the location of the hotel was perfect for both. We could walk anywhere we wanted and did not have to walk far at all to get to great restaurants and Michigan Ave. The hotel was really cute, but a bit cramped and the elevators took forever. Also there was a 5 person limit per elevator b/c they are the original ones so they couldn't handle too much weight. That caused it to take a while to get to your room and back, but otherwise everything was great. The room was a bit on the small side, but really comfortable and clean. The HVAC system I think needed to be checked though as it was somewhat weird with the temp setting. Overall, for the price and location it was a great choice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of The Whitehall Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Spicy1
San Diego
Jul 7, 2014

Great location, good service!

The Whitehall Hotel is a gem! It has old world charm and a lot going for it! The rooms are well equipped and a nice size. The staff was always friendly and helpful. Location, location, location - being right off Michigan Avenue it really is a quiet great haven! Will be back and will recommend.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

All of the restaurants are off Michigan Avenue, just go off the main drag for super eats!

Review of The Whitehall Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Jojo Brensum
Minneapolis
Jun 26, 2014

Very nice for the price

Check-in was a hassle. We we were told, at one point, that we'd be able to check in an hour early. The room wasn't cleaned/ready until 40 min after check-in time. We were compensated with a free breakfast, which was nice (but normally overpriced at $20). I was disappointed that a few maintenance issues hadn't been tended to... Bathroom exhaust and light didn't work, a bathroom spotlight, and a lamp switch. Upon request they fixed some, but not the exhaust. Staff was very courteous. Parking was $57 a day, which is typical for that area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Gibson's Steak house for lunch. The crab cake Benedict was AMAZING!

Review of The Whitehall Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Mom North
Nashville, TN
Jun 7, 2014

trip for granddaughter`s 16th birthday...perfect location for a teenagers shopping tyrip.

the staff was extremely friendly, the breakfast were delicious with an efficient staff,

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of The Whitehall Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Conner tReturning family
St.louis
May 29, 2014

Handicapp greatness

This is my 2 visit to this hotel. First visit was a romantic visit with my husband. 2nd visit my children with one being handicapp. Both visits were great, comfortable like at home. The kids slept good, the room service was great and fast. Valet parking pricing understandable for the area, and worth it , because you don't have to walk in scary parking garages.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

Get on the trolley tour for a three day pass. It will take you to all the attractions.

Review of The Whitehall Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Bring it On
International
May 28, 2014

Room Service with no phone

This hotel was not my first choice, but considering the location to mag mile it served its purpose. I was please with the customer service considering my phone connection in my room for the weekend was not accessible.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Review of The Whitehall Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Jim the Frequent Traveler
Atlanta
Apr 27, 2014

Whitehall Review

I love the location, right next to Michigan Avenue. And the staff were very helpful, happy to recommend sites to see.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Back to menu Return to top