Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 28, 2015 Check-out: Apr 30, 2015

The Whitehall Hotel

4 stars
View map of 105 E. Delaware Place, Chicago, IL 60611

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Whitehall Hotel

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
1237 out of 1237
Amenities:
3.5
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.1

86% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Whitehall Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Ironic Pete
Business
Albuquerque, New Mexico
May 7, 2014

Great Staff, Good Location

This lovely old small hotel (compared to a Hyatt or something) is priced right if you get a discount. It's nice, it's clean, but the rooms are a bit thready around the edges. From desk clerk to door person, The Staff is very friendly and exceptionally helpful. We had noisy neighbors in room next door, and the staff handled the situation quickly and as well as they could. The restaurant's alright, not that pricey, but drinks are high. If you want to be downtown this is the perfect location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Across the street, the 900 building is a multi-floor indoor mall with a couple of food places...

Review of The Whitehall Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MJ19
Business
Minneapolis, MN
May 6, 2014

Great location - small room for the price

Normally we stay with family when we go to Chicago, but were going for a weekend getaway before our next child is born - so we wanted to make it special. All the hotels in downtown Chicago were very pricey and Whitehall had the best price - and good reviews, so I booked it. Overall - great experience -- the location is unbeatable. Complaints were: small room (if you book Queen/King standard -- you will receive the Queen and its tiny!! Upgrades to king are available for an additional $30/night), staff seemed slightly confused sometimes, neighboring room was smoking, street activity was loud (to be expected), no security in terms of using key to get to your room late at night. Praises: free coffee in the morning, location, comfortable bed. Would stay there again if price was right.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Mercadito (~1 mile fro hotel) was amazing Mexican food and busy, busy!! Highly recommend.

Review of The Whitehall Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Jim the Frequent Traveler
Business
Atlanta
Apr 27, 2014

Whitehall Review

I love the location, right next to Michigan Avenue. And the staff were very helpful, happy to recommend sites to see.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Whitehall Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Academichick
Business
Missouri
Apr 19, 2014

Nice Historic Hotel

This is a nice hotel for the price and its age. The room was clean and cozy, but it was difficult to find plug ins and get the lamps to turn on. My only real complaint is that the sink wouldn't drain properly and the toilet had problems flushing, but I blame that on the old building. My friend complained because there was no coffee maker in the room; they also didn't serve complimentary breakfast/coffee, it had to be purchased from the restaurant attached to the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Whitehall Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Chicago Shar
Business
Bonita Springs, Florida
Apr 14, 2014

Great location, lovely amenities

My experience at The Whitehall was outstanding from the moment I walked in the door. The staff was very helpful, extremely thoughtful, and I loved the comfort of my room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Please treat yourself to a delicious meal at Mei's. Food was fresh, made to order, and served beautifully. What a little jewel!

Review of The Whitehall Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Savvyshopper1
Business
Boulder, Colorado
Apr 9, 2014

Miracle Mile and Miraculously Perfect!

From the smiling doormen, to front desk, to maid staff to bellmen - the Staff at Whitehall is top drawer. The rooms are extremely clean and well furnished. The beds are sink-into perfection with a good selection of pillows and bed covers. The in-room air conditioning responded quickly to comfort corrections. There is complimentary USA today papers, freshly brewed coffee and good restaurants very handy. The doormen summon taxis within 30 seconds of a request. The entire staff and amenities at Whitehall are set up to anticipate needs and make your stay extremely enjoyable. We will stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There are MANY places within walking distance at which to eat and shop. I walked to Art Institute, Wildberry's Restaurant, Frankies, Potash grocery store, Oak Street beach, Lakeshore Drive, walked the Miracle Mile.

Review of The Whitehall Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Troutmoon
Business
Eureka Springs, Arkansas
Apr 5, 2014

Comfortable, clean & beautiful

Great value for the area. Upscale, grand old hotel. Watch for extra charges though. $75 security deposit to your card to be released later. Mini frig stocked with items you can be charged for. Free coffee downstairs was excellent, but no coffee maker in your room. You have to get dressed for coffee. Our reservation was for 2 queen beds, but they had us down for 1 king. Not sure if the glitch was with the booking agent, or the hotel, but they fixed us up with what we requested. The paper was delivered to my door, just like in a grand old hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Take the city transit system to see the Field Museum Campus.

Review of The Whitehall Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Ollie51
Business
Plainfield, IL
Apr 2, 2014

Great Birthday Experince

I wanted to give my boyfriend a great birthday in the city and chose the Whitehall Hotel. Debbie was so friendly and checked us in and when we got to the room it was smaller than I thought it would be. We called down to the front desk and Debbie was so gracious. We just wanted a king bed and instead Debbie put is in a suite. It was so beautiful!!! It made our night even more amazing. Room service the next morning was a perfect end to our city stay. Thanks Debbie!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Try Carmins and then go to the backroom for great jazz!

Review of The Whitehall Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
CDEW
Business
St. Charles, IL
Apr 1, 2014

Great romantic weekend

Took a weekend to enjoy some of Chicago's entertainment and nightlife. Had a wonderful time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Whitehall Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Danny2846
Business
Urbana,IL
Mar 30, 2014

Awesome place

Nice location...I did not expected to stay that is so close to many tourist attraction.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top