Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jun 7, 2015 Check-out: Jun 8, 2015

The Whitehall Hotel

4 stars
View map of 105 E. Delaware Place, Chicago, IL 60611

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Whitehall Hotel

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
1333 out of 1333
Amenities:
3.5
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.1

86% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Whitehall Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Mom North
Business
Nashville, TN
Jun 7, 2014

trip for granddaughter`s 16th birthday...perfect location for a teenagers shopping tyrip.

the staff was extremely friendly, the breakfast were delicious with an efficient staff,

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Whitehall Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
5280
Business
Denver, CO
Jun 6, 2014

Bargain, old world charm

I've stayed here on business once a year for the last 5 or so years. The location is great- walk to the lakeshore, water tower place, etc. The rooms and ambiance are what I'd describe as slightly-past-its-prime elegance. Good quality materials, but if you look closely you might find a tear in the wallpaper or a chip in the sink. It's a great bargain compared to the 4 seasons across the street or the westin on the corner.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Whitehall Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Debra.s
Business
London, England
Jun 2, 2014

Good Hotel - but needs atmosphere !!

Great location, room was very nice but bathroom could do with a revamp. Came back one evening about 10.30pm and bar was closed. Close to restaurants and bars.. We went everywhere on bus and subway. Very nice hotel but when I return to Chicago will stay more down in the Loop.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Tempo Cafe on State St for breakfast... Lovely !!!

Review of The Whitehall Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Conner tReturning family
Business
St.louis
May 29, 2014

Handicapp greatness

This is my 2 visit to this hotel. First visit was a romantic visit with my husband. 2nd visit my children with one being handicapp. Both visits were great, comfortable like at home. The kids slept good, the room service was great and fast. Valet parking pricing understandable for the area, and worth it , because you don't have to walk in scary parking garages.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

Get on the trolley tour for a three day pass. It will take you to all the attractions.

Review of The Whitehall Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Bring it On
Business
International
May 28, 2014

Room Service with no phone

This hotel was not my first choice, but considering the location to mag mile it served its purpose. I was please with the customer service considering my phone connection in my room for the weekend was not accessible.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Whitehall Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Margi Loves Travel
Business
Denver, CO
May 26, 2014

Visiting the Past

Went for a wedding of a high school friend from 40 years ago. The hotel was great, the staff wonderful and the location perfect for visiting all the places I wanted to see from my past.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

You can get to both airports and all places to visit on public transportation. Great location for those who like to walk about.

Review of The Whitehall Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Ironic Pete
Business
Albuquerque, New Mexico
May 7, 2014

Great Staff, Good Location

This lovely old small hotel (compared to a Hyatt or something) is priced right if you get a discount. It's nice, it's clean, but the rooms are a bit thready around the edges. From desk clerk to door person, The Staff is very friendly and exceptionally helpful. We had noisy neighbors in room next door, and the staff handled the situation quickly and as well as they could. The restaurant's alright, not that pricey, but drinks are high. If you want to be downtown this is the perfect location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Across the street, the 900 building is a multi-floor indoor mall with a couple of food places...

Review of The Whitehall Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MJ19
Business
Minneapolis, MN
May 6, 2014

Great location - small room for the price

Normally we stay with family when we go to Chicago, but were going for a weekend getaway before our next child is born - so we wanted to make it special. All the hotels in downtown Chicago were very pricey and Whitehall had the best price - and good reviews, so I booked it. Overall - great experience -- the location is unbeatable. Complaints were: small room (if you book Queen/King standard -- you will receive the Queen and its tiny!! Upgrades to king are available for an additional $30/night), staff seemed slightly confused sometimes, neighboring room was smoking, street activity was loud (to be expected), no security in terms of using key to get to your room late at night. Praises: free coffee in the morning, location, comfortable bed. Would stay there again if price was right.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Mercadito (~1 mile fro hotel) was amazing Mexican food and busy, busy!! Highly recommend.

Review of The Whitehall Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Jim the Frequent Traveler
Business
Atlanta
Apr 27, 2014

Whitehall Review

I love the location, right next to Michigan Avenue. And the staff were very helpful, happy to recommend sites to see.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Whitehall Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Academichick
Business
Missouri
Apr 19, 2014

Nice Historic Hotel

This is a nice hotel for the price and its age. The room was clean and cozy, but it was difficult to find plug ins and get the lamps to turn on. My only real complaint is that the sink wouldn't drain properly and the toilet had problems flushing, but I blame that on the old building. My friend complained because there was no coffee maker in the room; they also didn't serve complimentary breakfast/coffee, it had to be purchased from the restaurant attached to the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top