Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 17, 2014 Check-out: Apr 18, 2014

The Whitehall Hotel

4 stars
105 E. Delaware Place, Chicago, IL 60611
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
1,162 reviews
Great location, lovely amenities

My experience at The Whitehall was outstanding from the moment I walked in the door. The staff was... See full review

  • Chicago Shar
  • Apr 14, 2014
Great Birthday Experince

I wanted to give my boyfriend a great birthday in the city and chose the Whitehall Hotel. Debbie... See full review

  • Ollie51
  • Apr 2, 2014
Gold Coast boutique meets 1920s charm

The Whitehall Hotel manages that rare combination of location and ambiance. The hotel is situated one block from the Magnificent Mile and Rush Street nightlife district, but tucked away from the tourist fray on a residential street. One of Chicago's oldest luxury hotels but certainly no slouch, the Whitehall brims with 19th century elegance -- imagine chandeliers, wood paneling and tufted leather chairs, all restored to match the original European grace and grandeur of this Gold Coast gem.

Highlights
  • One block from the Magnificent Mile and Rush Street nightlife
  • Walk to John Hancock Center, Water Tower Place, Lake Michigan and Oak Street Beach
  • Dining at Fornetto Mei, a Pan-Italian restaurant
  • Fitness center
Rooms

Chicago's independent boutique Whitehall Hotel, which has hosted guest celebrities like Katharine Hepburn, Richard Burton, Sophia Loren, Paul Newman, The Beatles and Mick Jagger over the years, provides intimate guest rooms and suites decorated with antique mahogany tables and nightstands, wood headboards, down duvets and marble bathrooms. High-speed Internet and wireless access are available in rooms (fees apply).

Features
Guests at The Whitehall Hotel won't have to worry about leaving their dog or cat at home. The hotel welcomes pets less than 20 pounds for a non-refundable deposit. For an upscale casual dining option, dine at Fornetto Mei, which traverses Asia and Italy with its menu of oven-fired, thin crust pizza and house-made pot stickers or sample dumplings at Mei's Corner. A cozy atrium bar welcomes guests and invites sampling of the restaurant's 200 plus global and California boutique wines.
Transportation
  • O'Hare International Airport (15.3 mi/24.7 km)
  • Chicago Midway Airport (9.7 mi/15.7 km)
  • Blue Line (Washington/Dearborn) (1.1 mi/1.8 km)
  • Orange Line (State/Lake) (0.9 mi/1.5 km)
  • McCormick Place Convention Center (3.3 mi/5.3 km)
Attractions
  • The Magnificent Mile (0.1 mi/0.1 km)
  • The Gold Coast (0.1 mi/0.2 km)
  • Oak Street Beach (0.3 mi/0.4 km)
  • Rush Street (1 block)
  • Navy Pier (0.8 mi/1.3 km)


Business
  • Event space for six to 100 guests
  • Business center with computers
  • High-speed Internet access (fees apply)
Policies and fees
  • Guests must be at least 21 years old to check in.
  • Parking fee is $57 per night.
  • The Whitehall Hotel is a 100% smoke free property
Internet Access:
  • Option 1: Includes Complimentary Internet Access 1.0 MBPS speed unlimited devices 24 hours per day.
  • Option 2: Includes 2.5 MBPS speed of $9.95 per 24-hour period.
  • Option 3: Includes 5.0 MBPS speed of $15.95 per 24-hour period.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

The Whitehall Hotel Rooms

Run of House 2
This room offers two double queen bed with cable TV, air conditioning, in room safe, hair dryer, iron and ironing board.
Standard Room
This room offers one queen bed with cable TV, air conditioning, in room safe, hair dryer, iron and ironing board.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Non Smoking
General
Non Smoking
Pet friendly
Activities
Fitness Center
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Whitehall Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

Hotel Map

41.899 -87.6257
Area served
Chicago.
Nearby airports
Chicago O'Hare International Airport, Chicago Midway Airport.
Area description
The Whitehall hotel has proximity to North Michigan Avenue shopping, John Hancock Center, Museum of Contemporary Art, Sears Tower and Skydeck, Lincoln Park Zoo and Wrigley Field.

Nearby points of interest

  • Water Tower: 0.1 mi
  • John Hancock Center: 0.1 mi
  • Drury Lane Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Seneca Park: 0.2 mi
  • Holy Name Cathedral: 0.2 mi
  • Washington Square Park: 0.3 mi
  • Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.3 mi
  • Oak Street Beach: 0.3 mi
  • Terra Museum of American Art: 0.3 mi
  • Michigan Avenue: 0.3 mi
  • Lake Shore Park: 0.4 mi
  • Chicago Historical Society: 0.4 mi
  • Chicago - Mag Mile - Wacker Dr: 0.4 mi
  • North Michigan Avenue: 0.5 mi
  • Tribune Tower: 0.6 mi
  • Water Tower: 0.1 mi
  • John Hancock Center: 0.1 mi
  • Drury Lane Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Seneca Park: 0.2 mi
  • Holy Name Cathedral: 0.2 mi
  • Washington Square Park: 0.3 mi
  • Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.3 mi
  • Oak Street Beach: 0.3 mi
  • Terra Museum of American Art: 0.3 mi
  • Michigan Avenue: 0.3 mi
  • Lake Shore Park: 0.4 mi
  • Chicago Historical Society: 0.4 mi
  • Chicago - Mag Mile - Wacker Dr: 0.4 mi
  • North Michigan Avenue: 0.5 mi
  • Tribune Tower: 0.6 mi
  • Wrigley Building: 0.6 mi
  • Museum of Broadcast Communications: 0.7 mi
  • Marina City: 0.8 mi
  • Lake Point Tower: 0.9 mi
  • Merchandise Mart: 0.9 mi
  • Harold Washington College: 0.9 mi
  • History Museum: 0.9 mi
  • Prudential Plaza: 0.9 mi
  • Chicago Theater: 0.9 mi
  • Goodman Theatre: 1 mi
  • Oriental Theatre: 1 mi
  • Children Museum: 1 mi
  • Chicago Cultural Center: 1 mi
  • Harris Theater: 1 mi
  • Macys: 1.1 mi
  • City Hall: 1.1 mi
  • Cadillac Palace Theatre: 1.1 mi
  • Navy Pier: 1.1 mi
  • Pritzker Pavilion: 1.1 mi
  • Shubert Theatre: 1.1 mi
  • Cloud Gate: 1.1 mi
  • State Street: 1.2 mi
  • Kendall College: 1.2 mi
  • Crown Fountain: 1.2 mi
  • Bank of America Theatre: 1.3 mi
  • North Avenue Beach: 1.3 mi
  • Opera House: 1.3 mi
  • Yacht Club: 1.3 mi
  • Art Institute of Chicago: 1.3 mi
  • Chicago Mercantile Exchange: 1.4 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (1162)

Ratings and reviews for The Whitehall Hotel

Overall score

3.8 / 5
1162 out of 1162
Amenities:
3.5
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.1

86% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Whitehall Hotel

Reviewer score

4
DLRWEASEL
Pittsburgh PA
Aug 13, 2013

Great Chicago Visit

Nice staff, Small rooms but updated, clean and comfortable Fantastic location--great value!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of The Whitehall Hotel

Reviewer score

4
Karen The ONLY Mom
New York New York
Aug 11, 2013

Business

The stay was lovely, great location and very quiet!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of The Whitehall Hotel

Reviewer score

4
DerekL
Jackson Hole, WY
Aug 10, 2013

Trip to Chicago

I have now stayed at the Whitehall Hotel twice in the past few months. It is a older hotel but for the cost of the rooms it seems to be a excellent value. While the rooms are nice but not great the staff on both stays has really been very professional and helpful. So I have to give the hotel a 3.5 or higher with the location, value of the rooms and helpful friendly staff mixed into the equation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of The Whitehall Hotel

Reviewer score

4
Bossy Barb
Philadelphia
Aug 8, 2013

Whitehall Hotel

Took my older in laws here to revisit their childhood. The hotel was clean, the staff couteous and helpful. Barbara, the concierge helped arrange a river boat tour that we all enjoyed so much. We enjoyed drinks at the bar and dinner at the Chinese restuarant. The only shock was the $57/day parking fee.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of The Whitehall Hotel

Reviewer score

3
Jack Manhattan
Business
Los Angeles, California
Aug 5, 2013

Great Location

Great location, a bit dated and in need of more outlets in the room. Friendly staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Whitehall Hotel

Reviewer score

3
SNJJ
Business
NYC
Aug 3, 2013

Well situated, clean

Clean and well situated. No views and no coffee till 7.00 a.m. for you early birds:)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Whitehall Hotel

Reviewer score

4
2w2w
New york
Jul 28, 2013

Location is good nice clean hotel

Please to stay in it footing short vacation. Recommend to my friends

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of The Whitehall Hotel

Reviewer score

1
Ready to vacate
Chicago
Jul 17, 2013

Time to Vacate this property

I traveled to Chicago for one day, for my niece's Birthday celebration (American G Store). The check-in went well, however, once we arrived into the room, it was very muggy. Soon after we checked-in we got a knock at the door, however, we unable to respond right away. Low and behold, one of the housekeepers used her key-card to enter into my room, with no real valid explanation (she was very startled I should add). She was accompanied by another housekeeper, however, she ended up walking off after they discovered there was someone in the room. I asked the last standing housekeeper the reasoning behind this, she stated that she wanted to make sure that we had towels. Mind you, she did not have a towel in her hand, nor a stocked cart to provide towels, in the event that we did not have towels. She did have an empty bin like cart, most likely to drop our goods into once they helped themselves to our belongings. Just to add, she knocked on the door around 6pm, which check in is at 3pm. By 6 o'clock, the rooms are well complete for the 3 o'clock check in. We just happened to be in the room, because we checked in late. I would not want to believe that her motive was to "steal from us" however, I can't make any sense out of this otherwise. There would have been no way to prove that someone came into our room while we were away, and stole from us. They do have a disclaimer in the rooms that states they are not responsible for lost or stolen items, so perhaps, they have had issues in the past. Back to the first issue. The air conditioner did not work properly, so as a result, it was hot, muggy, and I could not breath all night. I ended up getting sick days after, as a result of the dirty air. Although we did not spend alot of time in the room, I was ready to go. I had not had such a bad experience in a long time. The next day we checked our bags in with the baggage attendants, and made a few runs while we were awaiting our departure from Chicago. When it was time to leave, we requested our bags. It took the attendants at least 30 minutes to find our bags, which as a result caused us to barely make it to Union Station. The taxi-cab driver, bless his heart, made miracles for us to make it. On our way to the cab (at the hotel), my daughter noticed that her American G doll back-pack bag strap was torn/broken, so she was devastated. We had concluded that they must have known they damaged the bag, which is why it took them so long to bring our items out. At this point, we had to go, because we were running late. So, I contacted the hotel immediately via cell phone to determine how they deal with replacements. Obviously, if we had the time to deal with it then, we would have, but they had already thrown us completely off of schedule.I got the run around for days about this bag, and yet, I do not have a replacement (it's been weeks now). I spent 200 for the night roughly, my other family spent 99 for the night. They had a much better experience than us. No matter how much you spend, great customer service should always be most important in any establishment. I reported each event to Management every step of the way. Not one time did a Manager state that they apologized at all for anything that we experienced that day. So, to say the least, we will never lodge at WhiteHall again. I am sure that some people have had great experiences, but in this case, it was horrible. I fogot to add that once it was time to lie down for the night, we discovered puberty hairs on the bedding (gross). We ended up taking that layer off, and just laying on one sheet. I did not know so much could go wrong in just a days time. It has really left me scarred. I used to love Chicago, however, I have no intentions of coming back there anytime soon. They now have opened an American Girl Doll store in Ohio, so my next trip will be there. Hopefully, we will have much better customer service in that City.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There are plenty of dinning and shopping options in the area. You are within walking distance to a ton of places.

Review of The Whitehall Hotel

Reviewer score

4
Eric Businessman
Business
Toronto, Canada
Jul 17, 2013

One of the best business traveller values in downtown Chicago

Very good value in the heart of Chicago. Close to all the stores and Rush Street and is on a quieter side street. The room impressed me with the level of d├ęcor and quality of furnishings. Entry and Lobby may not be for some travellers as it mixes the classic and modern, but for me was very much a classic boutique hotel. Very pleasant stay, but hotel may not be for everyone as there was no in-room wi fi internet available. You need to go down to first floor to access. With the addition of in room internet access, the hotel would be one of the best business traveller values in downtown Chicago.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Whitehall Hotel

Reviewer score

4
Cris best friend
Chicago, Illinois
Jul 17, 2013

almost perfect

I had a wonderful experience at this hotel. the personnel is very courteous and friendly. I was at this facility just on vacation to visit the city of Chicago which is beautiful. I will recomend this hotel to my relatives and friends. The only service I did not obtain was parking for a rented vehicle. other than that, the experience can be described as awsome.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

the hotel is situated near a first class shopping area which made my trip easy and relaxing. I had access to pharmacy, supermarket and,restaurants

Back to menu Return to top