Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Nov 23, 2014 Check-out: Nov 26, 2014

The Whitehall Hotel

4 stars
105 E. Delaware Place, Chicago, IL 60611
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
1,209 reviews
This is a jewel in the city

We got this hotel for a steal of a price, was a bit worried what we would end up with but this... See full review

  • tcdlm
  • Oct 21, 2014
Doesnt get any better, in the heart of Chicago, Great surrounding area

Staff is great, friendly, helpful. Location, great views, walkable, near shopping and dinning.... See full review

  • BrandonGallegos
  • Oct 2, 2014
The Whitehall Hotel remains a landmark destination in downtown Chicago, offering a very European sense of grace and grandeur. Thanks to meticulous restorations. In perfect harmony with the old world charm are modern conveniences such as a fitness center. In-room features include three multi-line telephones with voicemail, high speed internet (for fee). Step outside and you'll find that the hotel is ideally located in the heart of the Gold Coast, nestled amid the Magnificent Mile's shops, restaurants, theaters, entertainment, and the business district. The Whitehall Hotel, Downtown Chicago's True Independent Boutique Hotel, proudly and successfully endures the test of time. The hotel will exceed your expectations and invite you to explore The Whitehall Hotel today.

This property is 100% smoke free

The Whitehall Hotel Rooms

Run of House 2
This room offers two double queen bed with cable TV, air conditioning, in room safe, hair dryer, iron and ironing board.
Standard Room
This room offers one queen bed with cable TV, air conditioning, in room safe, hair dryer, iron and ironing board.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Non Smoking
General
Non Smoking
Pet friendly
Activities
Fitness Center
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Whitehall Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

Hotel Map

41.899 -87.6257
Area served
Chicago.
Nearby airports
Chicago O'Hare International Airport, Chicago Midway Airport.
Area description
The Whitehall hotel has proximity to North Michigan Avenue shopping, John Hancock Center, Museum of Contemporary Art, Sears Tower and Skydeck, Lincoln Park Zoo and Wrigley Field.

Nearby points of interest

  • Water Tower: 0.1 mi
  • John Hancock Center: 0.1 mi
  • Drury Lane Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Seneca Park: 0.2 mi
  • Holy Name Cathedral: 0.2 mi
  • Washington Square Park: 0.3 mi
  • Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.3 mi
  • Oak Street Beach: 0.3 mi
  • Terra Museum of American Art: 0.3 mi
  • Michigan Avenue: 0.3 mi
  • Lake Shore Park: 0.4 mi
  • Chicago Historical Society: 0.4 mi
  • Chicago - Mag Mile - Wacker Dr: 0.4 mi
  • North Michigan Avenue: 0.5 mi
  • Tribune Tower: 0.6 mi
  • Water Tower: 0.1 mi
  • John Hancock Center: 0.1 mi
  • Drury Lane Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Seneca Park: 0.2 mi
  • Holy Name Cathedral: 0.2 mi
  • Washington Square Park: 0.3 mi
  • Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.3 mi
  • Oak Street Beach: 0.3 mi
  • Terra Museum of American Art: 0.3 mi
  • Michigan Avenue: 0.3 mi
  • Lake Shore Park: 0.4 mi
  • Chicago Historical Society: 0.4 mi
  • Chicago - Mag Mile - Wacker Dr: 0.4 mi
  • North Michigan Avenue: 0.5 mi
  • Tribune Tower: 0.6 mi
  • Wrigley Building: 0.6 mi
  • Museum of Broadcast Communications: 0.7 mi
  • Marina City: 0.8 mi
  • Lake Point Tower: 0.9 mi
  • Merchandise Mart: 0.9 mi
  • Harold Washington College: 0.9 mi
  • History Museum: 0.9 mi
  • Prudential Plaza: 0.9 mi
  • Chicago Theater: 0.9 mi
  • Goodman Theatre: 1 mi
  • Oriental Theatre: 1 mi
  • Children Museum: 1 mi
  • Chicago Cultural Center: 1 mi
  • Harris Theater: 1 mi
  • Macys: 1.1 mi
  • City Hall: 1.1 mi
  • Cadillac Palace Theatre: 1.1 mi
  • Navy Pier: 1.1 mi
  • Pritzker Pavilion: 1.1 mi
  • Shubert Theatre: 1.1 mi
  • Cloud Gate: 1.1 mi
  • State Street: 1.2 mi
  • Kendall College: 1.2 mi
  • Crown Fountain: 1.2 mi
  • Bank of America Theatre: 1.3 mi
  • North Avenue Beach: 1.3 mi
  • Opera House: 1.3 mi
  • Yacht Club: 1.3 mi
  • Art Institute of Chicago: 1.3 mi
  • Chicago Mercantile Exchange: 1.4 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by CheapTickets

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (1209)

Ratings and reviews for The Whitehall Hotel

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
1209 out of 1209
Amenities:
3.5
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.1

86% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Whitehall Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
K. Renee
Business
Albuquerque, NM
Jul 2, 2014

Not what we expected

We visit Chicago quite a bit and strayed from our favorite hotel to stay at the Whitehall due to its rating and location. It was a regrettable decision. Our first negative was the parking. For valet we were being charged $57.00 but to self-park across the street was $45.00 (and they don't validate). Our next encounter was with the staff. I wouldn't say they were unfriendly, but they certainly were not pleasant. The room was very small. Our view was directly into another building and the noise from the hallway was as if the door was wide open. The location is excellent and the hotel itself is quaint, but we would not stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Most everything is within walking distance

Review of The Whitehall Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Runman40
Business
Davenport Iowa
Jun 28, 2014

Very Pleased

Great hotel experience and location. Had a couple special requests that were filled quickly. Only negative - the bar closes at 10:00.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

Go see Motown the Musical. Great fun!

Review of The Whitehall Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Jojo Brensum
Business
Minneapolis
Jun 26, 2014

Very nice for the price

Check-in was a hassle. We we were told, at one point, that we'd be able to check in an hour early. The room wasn't cleaned/ready until 40 min after check-in time. We were compensated with a free breakfast, which was nice (but normally overpriced at $20). I was disappointed that a few maintenance issues hadn't been tended to... Bathroom exhaust and light didn't work, a bathroom spotlight, and a lamp switch. Upon request they fixed some, but not the exhaust. Staff was very courteous. Parking was $57 a day, which is typical for that area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Gibson's Steak house for lunch. The crab cake Benedict was AMAZING!

Review of The Whitehall Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
James Bond 007 MI6
Business
Minneapolis, MN
Jun 24, 2014

Great downtown stay

This hotel is in great location, just a block away from the Hancock building. Be prepared to look for alternative parking, since hotel parking is very expensive. I use Spot Hero app and it works great. Room was very clean and was kept that way for the duration of my stay. This is a great little hotel and I would gladly stay there again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Great little breakfast and coffee place by the Hancock building.

Review of The Whitehall Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
SMNJED
Business
Duluth, MN
Jun 16, 2014

Love the Whitehall

We have stayed at the Whitehall several times and we always enjoy our stay. The staff is professional and very helpful, the location could not be better.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Whitehall Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
lostboyinlove
Business
Chicago, IL
Jun 12, 2014

Awesome stay while in the Windy City

This is a lovely place to stay. The rooms are AMAZING. The staff was so friendly and truly made the stay a pleasure. I actually live in Chicago and the location of this place is perfect.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Whitehall Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Happy Camper Martha
Business
Peoria, IL
Jun 9, 2014

Great Place to Stay in the Middle of Everything

The Whitehall Hotel is a perfect place to stay if you want to be close to anywhere along the Magnificent Mile in Chicago. It is close to great shopping and restaurants. The staff is extremely helpful and kind. We will definitely stay there again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Whitehall Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Mom North
Business
Nashville, TN
Jun 7, 2014

trip for granddaughter`s 16th birthday...perfect location for a teenagers shopping tyrip.

the staff was extremely friendly, the breakfast were delicious with an efficient staff,

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Whitehall Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
5280
Business
Denver, CO
Jun 6, 2014

Bargain, old world charm

I've stayed here on business once a year for the last 5 or so years. The location is great- walk to the lakeshore, water tower place, etc. The rooms and ambiance are what I'd describe as slightly-past-its-prime elegance. Good quality materials, but if you look closely you might find a tear in the wallpaper or a chip in the sink. It's a great bargain compared to the 4 seasons across the street or the westin on the corner.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Whitehall Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Debra.s
Business
London, England
Jun 2, 2014

Good Hotel - but needs atmosphere !!

Great location, room was very nice but bathroom could do with a revamp. Came back one evening about 10.30pm and bar was closed. Close to restaurants and bars.. We went everywhere on bus and subway. Very nice hotel but when I return to Chicago will stay more down in the Loop.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Tempo Cafe on State St for breakfast... Lovely !!!

Back to menu Return to top