Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 2, 2014 Check-out: Sep 3, 2014

The Talbott Hotel

4 stars
20 E. Delaware, Chicago, IL 60611
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.6
out of 5
1,202 reviews
long weekend

simply great. Great location, great staff, great room! See full review

  • well planned stay
  • Aug 25, 2014
Couple experience

Everything was great. This hotel is perfect one. Room very clean, staffs so nice, beautiful hotel. See full review

  • I3enz
  • Aug 22, 2014
Independently-owned and with a dedication to green practices, The Talbott Hotel has been a fixture in Chicago's Gold Coast neighborhood since 1927. The hotel mingles old-world sophistication with modern conveniences - the lobby has a cozy, open-fire warmth and the vintage-style boardrooms feature 1920s mahogany walls. Awarded the Best in Stay Award by Orbitz in 2012, the Talbott features exclusive touches like the creative Tippling Brothers cocktail menu at the Little Market Brasserie, and the knowledgeable 'Concierge Blog' on the hotel's site, setting the hotel far apart from other Chicago accommodations.
Key facts
  • 149 guestrooms
  • Pets allowed (up to 50 pounds, and fees may apply)
  • Conference and event spaces: 3 rooms, up to 200 guests
  • Fitness center
  • Laundry service
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Restaurant/bar: Little Market Brasserie
Neighborhood
With a prime location just a few blocks from Washington Square Park, Oak Street and the Magnificent Mile, The Talbott Hotel comes with easy access to shops like Bloomingdale's and Macy's, as well as the scenic Lakefront Trail on the shores of Lake Michigan. The Art Institute of Chicago is less than two miles from The Talbott's front entrance, boasting a staggering collection of over 250,000 works of art, including work by Vincent van Gogh, Claude Monet and Mary Cassatt.
Hints and tips
For privileged views of Chicago and a bit of distance from busy Delaware Street, ask for a room on the upper floors.
For a more personalized stay, the Talbott Hotel's packages offer everything from the princess treatment for young daughters - including milk and cupcakes at turndown - to a $50 gift certificate  for the 900 North Michigan Shops.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

The Talbott Hotel Rooms

Superior Double Queen
Luxuriously appointed, 403-square-foot Superior Double Queen guest room features two queen-size pillow-top beds with feather pillows, an armoire, working desk with a Mac Mini computer and two sitting chairs"perfect for families or guests who need ample space for sharing.
Superior King
Superior King rooms feature over 400 square-feet of living space a king size pillow top bed, a luxurious bathroom with Italian marble and granite, an armoire and a large work desk equipped with a Mac Mini and the latest in technology.
Deluxe Double Queen
Spacious Deluxe Double Queen rooms offer 364 square foot guest rooms featuring two queen size pillow top beds with feather pillows, armoire, working desk and two sitting chairs.
Standard King Room
Standard King Rooms offer 316 square-feet of luxurious living space as well as the king bed and the same luxurious bedding as all of our premium rooms.
One Bedroom Suite
Each expansive One Bedroom Suite, approximately 700 square feet, offers a separate bedroom and living area with a sofa and oversized working desk. The enormous, spa-like suite bathroom features a soaking tub and separate glass enclosed shower along with two separate vanity areas and a separate sitting area.
Deluxe King
Elegant Deluxe King Rooms feature over 360 square-feet of luxurious living space as well as the king bed and the same luxurious bedding as all of our premium rooms.
Executive King
Our Executive King rooms with an astounding 475-square-feet of living space share the same premium pillow top king bed with six down pillows and a down duvet as all of our king bedded rooms, along with dual vanity sinks and a separate tub and shower.
Deluxe Parlor King
Deluxe Parlor King rooms feature 435 square feet of space, an intimate sitting area and an oversized desk along with our famous king bed.

Amenities

  • Free internet
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Pet friendly
Elevators
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Internet
Free internet
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Service dogs allowed
Service animals allowed
Accessible parking
Public areas wheelchair accessible for disabled
Handicapped parking
Wheelchair accessible elevators
Visual emergency alarm for hearing impaired guest
Ramp access to buildings
Knock light (hearing impaired)
Brailled elevators

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Talbott Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5

Hotel Map

41.8994 -87.6275
Area served
Chicago, Illinois.
Nearby airports
O'Hare and Midway Airports.
Area description
The Talbott Hotel is located at 20 East Delaware Place, an elegant tree lined street in the heart of Chicago's prestigious Gold Coast. Just off Michigan Avenue, our guests have immediate access to some of the world's most sophisticated shopping, fine dining, and entertainment.

Nearby points of interest

  • Washington Square Park: 0.2 mi
  • Water Tower: 0.2 mi
  • Holy Name Cathedral: 0.2 mi
  • John Hancock Center: 0.2 mi
  • Drury Lane Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Michigan Avenue: 0.3 mi
  • Seneca Park: 0.3 mi
  • Chicago Historical Society: 0.3 mi
  • Oak Street Beach: 0.3 mi
  • Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.4 mi
  • Terra Museum of American Art: 0.4 mi
  • Chicago - Mag Mile - Wacker Dr: 0.4 mi
  • Lake Shore Park: 0.5 mi
  • North Michigan Avenue: 0.6 mi
  • Tribune Tower: 0.7 mi
  • Washington Square Park: 0.2 mi
  • Water Tower: 0.2 mi
  • Holy Name Cathedral: 0.2 mi
  • John Hancock Center: 0.2 mi
  • Drury Lane Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Michigan Avenue: 0.3 mi
  • Seneca Park: 0.3 mi
  • Chicago Historical Society: 0.3 mi
  • Oak Street Beach: 0.3 mi
  • Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.4 mi
  • Terra Museum of American Art: 0.4 mi
  • Chicago - Mag Mile - Wacker Dr: 0.4 mi
  • Lake Shore Park: 0.5 mi
  • North Michigan Avenue: 0.6 mi
  • Tribune Tower: 0.7 mi
  • Wrigley Building: 0.7 mi
  • Museum of Broadcast Communications: 0.7 mi
  • Marina City: 0.8 mi
  • History Museum: 0.9 mi
  • Merchandise Mart: 0.9 mi
  • Harold Washington College: 0.9 mi
  • Lake Point Tower: 1 mi
  • Chicago Theater: 1 mi
  • Prudential Plaza: 1 mi
  • Goodman Theatre: 1 mi
  • Oriental Theatre: 1 mi
  • Macys: 1.1 mi
  • Chicago Cultural Center: 1.1 mi
  • Harris Theater: 1.1 mi
  • Kendall College: 1.1 mi
  • Cadillac Palace Theatre: 1.1 mi
  • City Hall: 1.1 mi
  • Children Museum: 1.1 mi
  • Shubert Theatre: 1.2 mi
  • Pritzker Pavilion: 1.2 mi
  • Cloud Gate: 1.2 mi
  • State Street: 1.2 mi
  • Navy Pier: 1.2 mi
  • North Avenue Beach: 1.3 mi
  • Crown Fountain: 1.3 mi
  • Opera House: 1.3 mi
  • Bank of America Theatre: 1.3 mi
  • Chicago Mercantile Exchange: 1.4 mi
  • Art Institute of Chicago: 1.4 mi
  • Yacht Club: 1.4 mi

Dining

Little Market Brasserie
Little Market Brasserie is a comfortable alternative to the usual downtown dining scene and will offer a moderately priced menu. Little Market Brasserie offers Chicago a taste of different regions of the United States while using ingredients from around the world. Chef Ryan Poli and Managing Partner Alfredo Sandoval traveled around 12 different cities looking for ideas and inspiration. The menu at Little Market Brasserie features a diverse, yet approachable selection of dishes inspired by classic French Brasseries while using a variety of ingredients from different parts of the world. Menu items include short rib-cognac poutine and cheese curds - Little Market's version of French Fries.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
The Delaware Room and the Gallery are located on the first floor and The Victoria Room on the second floor. Each of these is completely adaptable to serve the needs of our guests. Our experienced catering staff takes the greatest pride in servicing each private function exactly as the guest requires. Capacities and dimensions are detailed below. The Delaware Room may be combined with the lobby of the hotel, allowing comfortable capacity for a 175 guest cocktail reception.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (1202)

Ratings and reviews for The Talbott Hotel

Overall score

4.6 / 5
5.01.0
1202 out of 1202
Amenities:
4.4
Room cleanliness:
4.8
Hotel staff:
4.8
Room comfort:
4.7
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.5

98% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Talbott Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Ikeeagle
Lawton, Oklahoma
Jul 25, 2014

Simply amazing

This hotel was amazing from the moment we drove up! The staff, the rooms and the location were unbeatable. We had seven adults traveling together for a family vacation and everyone loved this hotel!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of The Talbott Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
csax
Beverly Hills, CA
Jul 25, 2014

Perfect Hotel!

Our stay was extra nice because I somehow received a complimentary upgrade to a suite. The room would have been a good value at double the rate I paid. Comfortable bed, spacious sitting room, and a nice bathroom with two sinks across from each other. Other than dated decor, everything in the room was great. The service was better than some five star hotels. From housekeeping, to the door, to the front desk they really seemed to care about our stay. The location is great for shopping and restaurants. In nice weather you can walk just about anywhere you'd want to go. And walking is the best way to see a city! I will definitely stay at the Talbott again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of The Talbott Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Long N
San Diego, CA
Jul 24, 2014

Great hotel in a fun and lively area!!!

This hotel is located in a great location with plenty of restaurants, bars, shopping, and bus/train station stops. It doesn't get any better as this hotel has it all. I would definitely come back again. My only complaint (it's a small complaint) but the pillows in the rooms are too soft as I prefer more firm.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of The Talbott Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
CaExplorer
Business
California, USA
Jul 24, 2014

Choice Location for that Perfect Weekend

Converted from (probably) condos to a stately boutique hotel. Clean, comfortable and quiet. Close to Michigan Ave and the Water Tower shops. Can walk to the Lake if you enjoy walking. Did not eat at the attached seafood restaurant, but it appeared many locals did. Room was good-sized. Bed was extremely comfortable. Heard another guest say the same thing. Couldn't get TV to work the whole weekend but had I asked, they likely would have fixed it. Overall, good experience. I'd stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Try a relatively new spot called Eataly. All things Italian in a two story building. Has eight or so mini restaurants each w own specialty. Most of u will want to try either their gelato or their Nutella bars.

Review of The Talbott Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Super Hero
UK
Jul 24, 2014

Holiday in Chicago

Excellent value, staff and location. Good advice from the concierge. Highly recommended.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of The Talbott Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Cap'm Don Juan
Santa Fe, NM
Jul 24, 2014

It's comfort and service

My wife and I stay here probably a couple times a year. The service is always excellent (late checkouts graciously offered). The rooms are clean. Sometimes we are offered upgrades. The bar and restaurant staff are friendly and qualified. Hard to beat. We'll be back soon.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Hugo's Frog and Gibson's Steakhouse a couple blocks away. Great dining.

Review of The Talbott Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
DebKay
New Paris, IN
Jul 24, 2014

Fantastic Stay at the Talbott

From the time we arrived to our departure the staff went out of their to make sure we had everything to make our stay comfortable. The doorman gave us some great tips for breakfast and a place to get snacks and other food items to munch on. We had a fantastic one bedroom corner suite on the fourth floor. The nightly turn down service was great. The staff were all great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Try Tempi Cafe for breakfast. Fast service, use fresh ingredients, large portions, well prepared and inexpensive.

Review of The Talbott Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
StillExploring
UK
Jul 23, 2014

Excellent base for some serious exploring.

I stayed nine nights at The Talbott as a base for touring the city of Chicago, the river, the lake, some of the suburbs and most of the museums and galleries. It is so well-positioned in downtown Chicago that I managed to walk almost everywhere. The concierge service was imaginative and detailed - I got to places I may never have found by myself, including a local blues club where the music was great and the crowd friendly. I never once felt threatened travelling alone in the city. My room on 11th floor was quiet, spacious and comfortable. The housekeeping service was thorough. The adjoining fish restaurant was operating at a high standard and seemed to be popular. There was a vegan restaurant within walking distance, providing meals more to my taste. If I ever return to Chicago, I shall stay at The Talbott.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Karyn's Cooked - vegan restaurant.

Review of The Talbott Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Sherry from California
Anaheim, California
Jul 21, 2014

We loved the Talbott

I reserved our room for a week at the Talbott based on other reviews I read. They were right, it is a gem within a 5 minute walk of Rush and State Streets. The room was not a suite but was large with a good sized closet and big bathroom with both shower and bath. We were within walking distance of all busses, subways, etc. and 5 minutes from the Magnificent Mile. The staff was friendly, attentive and so helpful. I especially appreciated Curtis at the front desk who was wonderful with directions, printing our boarding passes when the concierge had other guests, etc., and Dwayne who helped with our bags and gave us tips on where to buy a few snack items and get a great meal without breaking the bank. We spent a week at the Talbott and while it wasn't cheap it was very reasonable for the quality and location. I will go back there in a heart beat if we ever go to Chicago again. BTW, Chicago was amazing! The only negative was the restaurant associated with the hotel had very average food, was over priced and got at least three orders wrong (including ours) in the short time we were there for dinner. Ate there the first night and never again but this shouldn't detract from the hotel because there are literally dozens of other restaurants within a very short walking distance.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Do not get a car for Chicago. The valet is $58 per night and you can't find parking anywhere. Everything is within an easy bus, train or subway ride. The Ventra card is sold at Walgreen's which is one short block away and is $33 for a week of unlimited use on all public transportation. You can also get it daily and for 3 days but we were there for a week. We took our rental car back to the airport after one night and it was the smartest thing we did.

Review of The Talbott Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Markaty
Littleton, Colorado
Jul 20, 2014

We'll be back

Everything was outstanding. Staff very friendly, accommodations great, and good location. Me and my wife plan on returning to Chicago next year and will definitely re-book our stay @ The Talbott.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Back to menu Return to top