Rate based on Check-in: Aug 24, 2014 Check-out: Aug 26, 2014

The Drake Hotel

4 stars
140 East Walton Place, Chicago, IL 60611-1501
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.3
out of 5
286 reviews
A Great Chicago Weekend

The Drake provided a perfect home for a weekend of Chicago experiences. Its location is perfect for... See full review

  • Sparkster
  • Jul 21, 2014
Family Trip

The Family guest room was amazing. Very comfortable and large. Walking distance to amazing shopping... See full review

  • FL family visits Chi Town
  • Jul 14, 2014
From its beginning on New Year's Eve 1920 to today, The Drake Hotel has defined elegance and hospitality. Set in the prestigious Gold Coast neighborhood at the start of the Magnificent Mile, this iconic Chicago hotel is footsteps from Oak Street Beach and Lake Michigan.Relax at The Drake Hotel in one of 535 elegantly decorated guest rooms and 74 suites, including the Princess Diana Suite, which was graced by the Princess of Wales herself. Appreciate the amenities that include classic decor, plush bedding, marble bathrooms, and views of Lake Michigan and the city. The Executive Lounge on the top floor features amazing views, and Executive Level Guests will enjoy a complimentary continental breakfast, hot and cold beverages, and an honor bar with evening appetizers.Become a part of Chicago history. Relax with a cocktail in Coq D’Or, one of the first establishments in Chicago to serve alcohol after the repeal of Prohibition. Enjoy a memorable dinner at Cape Cod, where Joe DiMaggio and Marilyn Monroe hand-carved their initials in the bar, or take afternoon tea at Palm Court, just as Queen Elizabeth II did in 1958.The Drake Hotel provides the perfect spaces for meetings and gatherings. Hold a meeting in the heart of Chicago in the sophisticated boardrooms, or host an elegant Windy City celebration in the Gold Coast and Grand Ballrooms. Write your own chapter of Chicago history at The Drake — one real Chicago moment at a t

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Non Smoking
General
Non Smoking
Pet friendly
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Wheel chair access

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Drake Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5

Hotel Map

41.9004 -87.6232
Nearby airports
O`Hare Intl Airport, (ORD), 14.00, MI, NW; Chicago Midway Airport, (MDW), 17.00, MI, SW;

Nearby points of interest

  • Water Tower: 0.1 mi
  • John Hancock Center: 0.1 mi
  • Drury Lane Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Oak Street Beach: 0.2 mi
  • Seneca Park: 0.2 mi
  • Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.2 mi
  • Lake Shore Park: 0.3 mi
  • Michigan Avenue: 0.3 mi
  • Holy Name Cathedral: 0.4 mi
  • Washington Square Park: 0.4 mi
  • Chicago Historical Society: 0.4 mi
  • Terra Museum of American Art: 0.4 mi
  • Chicago - Mag Mile - Wacker Dr: 0.5 mi
  • North Michigan Avenue: 0.6 mi
  • Tribune Tower: 0.7 mi
  • Water Tower: 0.1 mi
  • John Hancock Center: 0.1 mi
  • Drury Lane Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Oak Street Beach: 0.2 mi
  • Seneca Park: 0.2 mi
  • Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.2 mi
  • Lake Shore Park: 0.3 mi
  • Michigan Avenue: 0.3 mi
  • Holy Name Cathedral: 0.4 mi
  • Washington Square Park: 0.4 mi
  • Chicago Historical Society: 0.4 mi
  • Terra Museum of American Art: 0.4 mi
  • Chicago - Mag Mile - Wacker Dr: 0.5 mi
  • North Michigan Avenue: 0.6 mi
  • Tribune Tower: 0.7 mi
  • Wrigley Building: 0.7 mi
  • Museum of Broadcast Communications: 0.8 mi
  • Lake Point Tower: 0.8 mi
  • History Museum: 0.9 mi
  • Marina City: 0.9 mi
  • Children Museum: 1 mi
  • Harold Washington College: 1 mi
  • Prudential Plaza: 1 mi
  • Merchandise Mart: 1.1 mi
  • Navy Pier: 1.1 mi
  • Chicago Theater: 1.1 mi
  • Goodman Theatre: 1.1 mi
  • Harris Theater: 1.1 mi
  • Oriental Theatre: 1.1 mi
  • Chicago Cultural Center: 1.1 mi
  • Macys: 1.2 mi
  • North Avenue Beach: 1.2 mi
  • Pritzker Pavilion: 1.2 mi
  • Cloud Gate: 1.2 mi
  • City Hall: 1.2 mi
  • Cadillac Palace Theatre: 1.2 mi
  • Shubert Theatre: 1.2 mi
  • State Street: 1.3 mi
  • Crown Fountain: 1.3 mi
  • Kendall College: 1.3 mi
  • Bank of America Theatre: 1.4 mi
  • Yacht Club: 1.4 mi
  • Art Institute of Chicago: 1.4 mi
  • Opera House: 1.4 mi
  • Symphony Center: 1.5 mi

Dining

Restaurant
onsite

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by CheapTickets

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (286)

Ratings and reviews for The Drake Hotel

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
286 out of 286
Amenities:
4.1
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.5
Room comfort:
4.5
Location:
4.8
Value:
4

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Drake Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
CG30
Iowa
Mar 25, 2013

Beautiful, Classic hotel!

I had a great experience staying at The Drake Hotel! My husband and I were in town for my birthday and when in small talk, I told the check in people why we were in town and I found a mini chocolate cake had been put in our room for my bday! The hotel is older, but beautiful. The staff is nothing but friendly and they are able to help you with whatever is needed. I would stay here again for sure.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of The Drake Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Arsenalmelier
Chicago, IL
Mar 20, 2013

Historical

Needed a room last minute and The Drake filled the bill. Room had a great view of Lake Michigan. Bed was very comfortable. The room is quite spacious.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of The Drake Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
T from ohio
Business
ohio
Feb 26, 2013

Enjoyed my stay

The Drake is a great place to stay because of the location, the friendly staff, the "classic hotel" ambiance. I also love the lounge. It's always a great place to stop for drinks after meetings or shopping.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Drake Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
causal traveler
wyoming
Feb 25, 2013

Very nice!

My boyfriend and I stayed here this past weekend and really enjoyed the hotel. Very good location, very clean & the gym was a total bonus amenity! The only downside is having to pay for internet, but the cafe on the ground level has free WIFI so we just used that in the morning while getting some coffee. We had the 'smaller than usual, limited view room' which worked fine - I was worried it would be nosy or really really small but neither was true! Very spacious room, not the greatest view, but that didn't bother us. I would recommend this hotel!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of The Drake Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Poot 2 and hubby
Naperville, IL
Feb 23, 2013

Great weekend!

First time at the Drake. Very nice. Chose it because of it's location to our dinner and jazz choice. We were able to walk there and back which saved some cab money. Had the breakfast buffet. It was a little pricey but food was good. There goes our cab savings! But that's how it goes in the city. All considered, we enjoyed a smooth and relaxing weekend.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Right by the magnificent mile! Shopping doesn't get any better if that's you passion.

Review of The Drake Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
LDavis
Fort Wayne, IN
Feb 11, 2013

Great location

We have a wonderful experience at The Drake. Great location, clean and the staff was very helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Hast House To Go is a great breakfast spot for a truly unique breakfast. The chicken and waffles are a true site to behold.

Review of The Drake Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
LG7117
Business
Chicago
Feb 5, 2013

The Drake

The Drake needs that something special - staff needs to be more sincere and less forced with their hospitality. Room needs to be updated and tub needs to be cleaned so there is not residual dirt in the groves. Food is average and needs updating - overal experience is fair.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Drake Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
roadrunnerfromga
augusta, georgia
Oct 9, 2012

elegant hotel

The Drake was wonderful for our weekend stay for the marathon! I enjoyed the history and elegance of this hotel. It was refreshing to relax there after the race. The staff made every effort to make our stay as comfortable as possible. I would choose to stay there again. The only drawbacks was the small bathroom. The toilet was very close to the tub and there was minimal counter space in the bathroom.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of The Drake Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Kenny K The coach
NYC
Aug 16, 2012

What great hotel the staff treated you like a king

I loved the location you had everything at your finger tips shopping, food and the greatest lake front I ever seen and only minutes from the Drake, I also love the Cape Cod Room they had some of the best seafood i ever had ,and im not putting down better than some of the places on the east coast and I really like history of The Drake I would tell all my friends that when there in Chicago that they have to Stay there also the public transportation was fantastic and easy to, to me the hotel gave me first class treatment.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: In Hotel

Try it for your self you will not be disappointed with The Drake

Review of The Drake Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Letty B
Fairfax, VA
Jul 21, 2012

Classic Chicago Stay

Great location that is close to the beach, shopping and other Chicago landmarks. Nice room and helpful staff. The room was spacious for two twins and had several useful amenities.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Back to menu Return to top