Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jun 27, 2015 Check-out: Jun 30, 2015

The Drake Hotel

4 stars
View map of 140 East Walton Place, Chicago, IL 60611-1501

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Drake Hotel

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
209 out of 209
Amenities:
4.1
Cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.5
Comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.7
Value:
4

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Drake Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
AcuNutritionistAlexTuggle
Business
Los Angeles
May 24, 2014

Perfect business trip accommodation

Awesome room cleaning service! Enjoyed the cafe which was a great place to get some business done. Very nice accommodations I would visit again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Local

Review of The Drake Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Cdn2014
Business
Ontario
Apr 21, 2014

Long Weekend Getaway

Love this hotel - classic, classy. New, modern hotels are nice but there's nothing like the elegance of a 100 year old hotel that still has the luxury it had when it was built.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Don't t recommend Shaw's Seafood, but the Chicago Chophouse is great!

Review of The Drake Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Trishalish79
Business
Denver, Colorado
Apr 20, 2014

beautiful hotel...paper thin walls

The Drake Hotel is beautiful, great architecture and style. Part of our stay was intended for relaxation However, we got hotel security called on us for talking (no yelling or loud talking), we heard someone in the next room throwing up, and could hear conversations clear as day. If you are looking to stay somewhere where you plan on being quiet, this is the spot for you.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Breakfast at the Original Pancake House down the street and skip the over priced breakfast at the hotel. Go as early as possible, it gets crowded. Great food!

Review of The Drake Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
bandl2
Business
chicago
Feb 18, 2014

weekend get away

Lovely weekend getaway. Great location, great hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Drake Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Graduation Trip
Business
Carlye Hotel in New York
Dec 30, 2013

Old World Charm

We have stayed at this hotel in July. Excellent customer service. Wonderful Old World Charm!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Drake Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Traveling for Christmas
Business
illinois
Dec 28, 2013

A Mere Shadow of What It Used to Be

Upon check in, valet lost our heirloom Christmas tree and we found it kicked into a corner outside after numerous calls and 8 hours later. Bras and other feminine hygiene products laying in the halls for days. The food and service was less than average. Had to call housekeeping to get our room cleaned - amenities were minimal. Only thing going for it now is getting a room with a view of the lake. Won't be back. What a shame.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Grill next to the Westin is an excellent restaurant. If you make reservations at the Signature Room at the Hancock make sure you request the main room - otherwise you get the small room on the side.

Review of The Drake Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Happy Chicagoland Guest
Business
Peoria, Illinois
Dec 11, 2013

Girlfriends' Shopping Trip

We arrived at 11 am, and hoped to leave our luggage so we could shop. We were offered an upgraded room for a nominal fee which would also allow us early check in. We were delighted with the size, arrangement, and comfort of our room. And the view was so lovely that we almost didn't want to leave to shop. We had planned to go to several different restaurants for our meals, but since it was so very cold outside we dined in the hotel. Our supper in the cozy, paneled bar was very good, as was our breakfast, though a little pricey. The Christmas decorations were gorgeous!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Long walk from hotel

Shopping along Michigan Avenue is fun. And if you get as far south as the Chicago River and are tired, a cab ride is less than $5.00 back!

Review of The Drake Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
RSNAer
Business
East coast
Dec 7, 2013

Short stay for business

Hotel came highly recommended, so disappointed. Spacious room, but outdated and there was significant street noise. Would suggest visit to lobby, though - beautifully decorated Christmas tree.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Purple Pig

Review of The Drake Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
kywildcatfan
Business
Corbin, KY
Nov 14, 2013

Top shelf hotel

The only place to stay in Chicago! Excellent food and wine right on the premises. Convenient to everything downtown.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Drake Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Tchr Scott
Business
Portage, Michigan
Nov 4, 2013

First time stay

The location really makes this a great place to stay. You are really within 10 minutes walking to all the shopping and dinning you could ask for.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top