Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Nov 24, 2014 Check-out: Nov 26, 2014

The Drake Hotel

4 stars
140 East Walton Place, Chicago, IL 60611-1501
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.3
out of 5
190 reviews
Perfect place to stay

Never write reviews but The Drake deserved it. All staff friendly and efficient. Always smiling and... See full review

  • DustinW
  • Oct 14, 2014
Quick getaway.

Very nice. Great historic hotel. The Concierge was outstanding!!! See full review

  • J Leiff
  • Sep 22, 2014
From its beginning on New Year's Eve 1920 to today, The Drake Hotel has defined elegance and hospitality. Set in the prestigious Gold Coast neighborhood at the start of the Magnificent Mile, this iconic Chicago hotel is footsteps from Oak Street Beach and Lake Michigan.Relax at The Drake Hotel in one of 535 elegantly decorated guest rooms and 74 suites, including the Princess Diana Suite, which was graced by the Princess of Wales herself. Appreciate the amenities that include classic decor, plush bedding, marble bathrooms, and views of Lake Michigan and the city. The Executive Lounge on the top floor features amazing views, and Executive Level Guests will enjoy a complimentary continental breakfast, hot and cold beverages, and an honor bar with evening appetizers.Become a part of Chicago history. Relax with a cocktail in Coq D’Or, one of the first establishments in Chicago to serve alcohol after the repeal of Prohibition. Enjoy a memorable dinner at Cape Cod, where Joe DiMaggio and Marilyn Monroe hand-carved their initials in the bar, or take afternoon tea at Palm Court, just as Queen Elizabeth II did in 1958.The Drake Hotel provides the perfect spaces for meetings and gatherings. Hold a meeting in the heart of Chicago in the sophisticated boardrooms, or host an elegant Windy City celebration in the Gold Coast and Grand Ballrooms. Write your own chapter of Chicago history at The Drake — one real Chicago moment at a t

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Non Smoking
General
Non Smoking
Pet friendly
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Wheel chair access

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Drake Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5

Hotel Map

41.9004 -87.6232
Nearby airports
O`Hare Intl Airport, (ORD), 14.00, MI, NW; Chicago Midway Airport, (MDW), 17.00, MI, SW;

Nearby points of interest

  • Water Tower: 0.1 mi
  • John Hancock Center: 0.1 mi
  • Drury Lane Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Oak Street Beach: 0.2 mi
  • Seneca Park: 0.2 mi
  • Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.2 mi
  • Lake Shore Park: 0.3 mi
  • Michigan Avenue: 0.3 mi
  • Holy Name Cathedral: 0.4 mi
  • Washington Square Park: 0.4 mi
  • Chicago Historical Society: 0.4 mi
  • Terra Museum of American Art: 0.4 mi
  • Chicago - Mag Mile - Wacker Dr: 0.5 mi
  • North Michigan Avenue: 0.6 mi
  • Tribune Tower: 0.7 mi
  • Water Tower: 0.1 mi
  • John Hancock Center: 0.1 mi
  • Drury Lane Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Oak Street Beach: 0.2 mi
  • Seneca Park: 0.2 mi
  • Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.2 mi
  • Lake Shore Park: 0.3 mi
  • Michigan Avenue: 0.3 mi
  • Holy Name Cathedral: 0.4 mi
  • Washington Square Park: 0.4 mi
  • Chicago Historical Society: 0.4 mi
  • Terra Museum of American Art: 0.4 mi
  • Chicago - Mag Mile - Wacker Dr: 0.5 mi
  • North Michigan Avenue: 0.6 mi
  • Tribune Tower: 0.7 mi
  • Wrigley Building: 0.7 mi
  • Museum of Broadcast Communications: 0.8 mi
  • Lake Point Tower: 0.8 mi
  • History Museum: 0.9 mi
  • Marina City: 0.9 mi
  • Children Museum: 1 mi
  • Harold Washington College: 1 mi
  • Prudential Plaza: 1 mi
  • Merchandise Mart: 1.1 mi
  • Navy Pier: 1.1 mi
  • Chicago Theater: 1.1 mi
  • Goodman Theatre: 1.1 mi
  • Harris Theater: 1.1 mi
  • Oriental Theatre: 1.1 mi
  • Chicago Cultural Center: 1.1 mi
  • Macys: 1.2 mi
  • North Avenue Beach: 1.2 mi
  • Pritzker Pavilion: 1.2 mi
  • Cloud Gate: 1.2 mi
  • City Hall: 1.2 mi
  • Cadillac Palace Theatre: 1.2 mi
  • Shubert Theatre: 1.2 mi
  • State Street: 1.3 mi
  • Crown Fountain: 1.3 mi
  • Kendall College: 1.3 mi
  • Bank of America Theatre: 1.4 mi
  • Yacht Club: 1.4 mi
  • Art Institute of Chicago: 1.4 mi
  • Opera House: 1.4 mi
  • Symphony Center: 1.5 mi

Dining

Restaurant
onsite

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by CheapTickets

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (190)

Ratings and reviews for The Drake Hotel

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
190 out of 190
Amenities:
4.1
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.5
Room comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.7
Value:
4

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Drake Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
PeJu
Business
Madison, Wisconsin
Aug 23, 2013

Enjoyed my stay

I had a wonderful stay. The location is perfect, as it is located right on Michigan Ave. and just across Lake Michigan, so one has both, the beach and the shopping just outside the hotel. There is a great coffee shop within the Hotel that offers real good coffee. The concierge was not only very knowledgeable, but also extremely friendly and helpful. Also the bed seemed very comfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Piccolo sognio due - a wonderful Italian dining place with great balance regarding price and food, and a lovely and relaxing atmosphere.

Review of The Drake Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
FamilyWithKids
Business
Chicago
Aug 19, 2013

Great location and service

We loved it. The location was great. Room was very clean. The staff were very friendly and helpful. Real nice view of the lake.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Spiaggia across the straight is a great restaurant. Fancy and pricey but if you have an occasion you want to celebrate, go for this.

Review of The Drake Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
mwindom23
Business
Chicago, Illinois
Aug 4, 2013

Mikes Review

Even though we are a younger couple, it was a interesting stay at this hotel since its history. It's been around since the 1920s, but the remodeling is great! I like it! I would recommend it to the older crowd!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Cheese cake factory

Review of The Drake Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Mom in Minnesota
Business
Minneapolis, MN
Aug 2, 2013

End of Summer Get-Away

Spent four nights in Chicago at the Drake Hotel. We had an Executive room with a fabulous view of Lake Michigan. Charming, elegant, grand and historical. Very attentive staff. Beds, Linens, and Pillows extremely comfortable! Checked in and room had an article of clothing left in it from prior guest. Management immediately and graciously rectified the situation by offering a room upgrade and daily access to executive lounge for complimentary continental breakfast and soft drinks/water and evening appetizers. The housekeeping staff allowed us to have extra towels daily and the concierge went out of their way to provide us with walking maps of the city and dining suggestions . Desk staff always friendly and respectful. We had a four day visit: Table 52 was gourmet comfort food at its finest. cafe Siaiggia across the street had fantastic upscale Italian with superb ambiance and the Adobo Grill served up the freshest tableside shaken margeritas in town. We had tickets to The Best of Second City at Second City Comedy Club--a must if you are in town,Belleville at the Steppenwolf Theatre and Big Lake Big City at the Lookingglass Theatre. Dont forget to visit the John Hancock observation tower at night--city lights in Chicago will amaze and if you go at ten pm on a weeknight there will be no line. Gelato at the ground floor cafe at the drink wont disappoint either. Finally dont forget a trip to Navy Pier for a boat tour on Lake Michigan and a visit to both the Contemporary Museum of Art and the Art Institute. The gift shop at the Art Institute is full of treasures and prints you can purchase. The original Uno's Pizzeria is MUST --get a table by four pm and you will avoid the wait and shopping at The Water Tower Place is a good place to go if it rains and you don't want to walk around the city.( Also a good Chicago gift shop on the top level) I also made sure to carry plenty of cash for cab fair. I highly advise parking the car in garage while you are visiting and let the cabbies do the driving or walk. The drake is in a PIME location and there is a lot of things within walking distance. Be sure to bring comfortable shoes-my son got some blisters but didnt want to miss out on anything, so we walked three blocks to Walgreens for bandaids. I advise packing those on your own. Purchasing Bandaids in the city are twice the cost you would pay f you brought them from home. The Drake and Chicago will not disappoint. Fabulous , amazing trip! Would positively return !

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Get reservations a head of time for Table 52. Fabulous atmosphere, delicious food, and attentive wait staff. ALso get the gelato at the Cafe on the lower level of The Drake--sooo good!

Review of The Drake Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
semi retired grandparents
Business
Blaine, Minnesota
Jul 8, 2013

LOCATION TOO HIGH END FOR US

Hotel was great, beautiful hotel, great history, staff was excellent. The only problem we had was the Wi Fi keep going out so they credited us back the $12.95 a day charge. But to me the location sucked. Very windy and cold that close to the lake (high of 82 degrees 1 mile off the lake, high of 69 degrees around the Drake). I heard alot of poeple complain that they had to go out and buy jackets for the whole family so they could venture out. My wife and I each brought only one pair of pants, which we wore all four days we were there. Also there is no place "normal" to eat in or around the hotel for miles. I don't know how anyone can aford to live downtown ($60 for breakfast, $40-$50 for lunch, $80-$120 for dinner most places for my wife and I). All the shops are high end shops, we had to walk a mile and a half to get to any normal gift shops. Hotel rating 4.5, location a 2.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

Make sure to go to the "Bean" and the Navy Piere, both worth the 1.5 mile walk.

Review of The Drake Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Mike So Fast You'll Freak
Business
Columbia MO
Jul 1, 2013

Good location

I asked the woman at the front desk to put in my Hilton rewards number to get credit for my stay and she seemed irritated that I booked through a third party and told me I cant put my Hilton Honors number in because i did not book directly with the hotel. The view was fabulous, cleanliness ok. Under our bed was not cleaned for weeks or months, I was looking for my wife's earring and found a dusty pair of running shorts and lots of debris. The vent in the bathroom extremely dusty and peeling paint in several spots on the bathroom ceiling as well as "bubbling" wall paper. I had heard the Drake was the place to stay. I wasn't so impressed. We stayed around the corner three weeks ago for less than half the price

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

The Girl and the Goat a must eat

Review of The Drake Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
kayapek
Business
l,a. Calif
Jun 25, 2013

ordinary

The room was not a Jr. suite it was a room with an alcove with a bed in it. I talked to the staff and changed rooms. unfortunately it was a room with a lake view but not a Jr. Suite. Really disappointed!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Drake Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Parker Fly
Business
Fredericksburg, Texas
May 28, 2013

Home away from home

If you appreciate historical hotels, the Drake is for you. The rooms were a good mix of historical appointments and modern conveniences. The staff was extremely friendly and helpful, and the housekeeping service was excellent. I would definitely recommend this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Try the architectural tours located at Navy Pier. They operate from the river, which allows you to be far enough back from the buildings to actually see and appreciate them. Full of fascinating historical information.

Review of The Drake Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Dr. Shari
Business
Chicago, IL
May 24, 2013

Not really a "family" getaway

Free Wi-fi in the lobby, pay in the rooms. No swimming or hot tub. The beach was within walking distance, but I couldn't let the girls swim. The staff was awesome. We had fun but wasted precious time getting to the places we wanted to go. I was told the hotel was only a couple of blocks from the Metra Station. It was one mile! Not enough room to tell all I wanted to say.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

The City buses are awesome, but you have to ask which ones get you to where you need to go, and also know the times your attractions stop taking tickets.

Review of The Drake Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Darrell the Curious
Business
Southeast Side of Chicago
Apr 23, 2013

Two nights downtown

Being able to afford a stay at the here was unexpected, but cost only $11/night less than a rather seedy river east motel, thanks to a special cut rate from an online site. I expected a maid's closet, but got a spacious, beautifully appointed room with a partial view of Lake Michigan. Room appointments were posh by my standards. The bathroom was marble and fixtures classic style luxury. All service was grand and amenities were extensive. And the location, at the north end of the magnificent mile, was perfect for walking about.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

The most under-appreciated museum in Chicago (Museum of Surgical Science at 1524 N. Lake Shore Dr.) is just a walk away along beautiful Lake Shore Drive.

Back to menu Return to top