Rate based on Check-in: Apr 20, 2014 Check-out: Apr 21, 2014

The Drake Hotel

4 stars
140 East Walton Place, Chicago, IL 60611-1501
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.3
out of 5
168 reviews
weekend get away

Lovely weekend getaway. Great location, great hotel. See full review

  • bandl2
  • Feb 18, 2014
Old World Charm

We have stayed at this hotel in July. Excellent customer service. Wonderful Old World Charm! See full review

  • Graduation Trip
  • Dec 30, 2013
From its beginning on New Year's Eve 1920 to today, The Drake Hotel has defined elegance and hospitality. Set in the prestigious Gold Coast neighborhood at the start of the Magnificent Mile, this iconic Chicago hotel is footsteps from Oak Street Beach and Lake Michigan.Relax at The Drake Hotel in one of 535 elegantly decorated guest rooms and 74 suites, including the Princess Diana Suite, which was graced by the Princess of Wales herself. Appreciate the amenities that include classic decor, plush bedding, marble bathrooms, and views of Lake Michigan and the city. The Executive Lounge on the top floor features amazing views, and Executive Level Guests will enjoy a complimentary continental breakfast, hot and cold beverages, and an honor bar with evening appetizers.Become a part of Chicago history. Relax with a cocktail in Coq D’Or, one of the first establishments in Chicago to serve alcohol after the repeal of Prohibition. Enjoy a memorable dinner at Cape Cod, where Joe DiMaggio and Marilyn Monroe hand-carved their initials in the bar, or take afternoon tea at Palm Court, just as Queen Elizabeth II did in 1958.The Drake Hotel provides the perfect spaces for meetings and gatherings. Hold a meeting in the heart of Chicago in the sophisticated boardrooms, or host an elegant Windy City celebration in the Gold Coast and Grand Ballrooms. Write your own chapter of Chicago history at The Drake — one real Chicago moment at a t

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Pool
  • Non Smoking
General
Non Smoking
Pet friendly
Activities
Pool
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Wheel chair access

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Drake Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5

Hotel Map

41.9004 -87.6232
Nearby airports
O`Hare Intl Airport, (ORD), 14.00, MI, NW; Chicago Midway Airport, (MDW), 17.00, MI, SW;

Nearby points of interest

  • Water Tower: 0.1 mi
  • John Hancock Center: 0.1 mi
  • Drury Lane Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Oak Street Beach: 0.2 mi
  • Seneca Park: 0.2 mi
  • Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.2 mi
  • Lake Shore Park: 0.3 mi
  • Michigan Avenue: 0.3 mi
  • Holy Name Cathedral: 0.4 mi
  • Washington Square Park: 0.4 mi
  • Chicago Historical Society: 0.4 mi
  • Terra Museum of American Art: 0.4 mi
  • Chicago - Mag Mile - Wacker Dr: 0.5 mi
  • North Michigan Avenue: 0.6 mi
  • Tribune Tower: 0.7 mi
  • Water Tower: 0.1 mi
  • John Hancock Center: 0.1 mi
  • Drury Lane Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Oak Street Beach: 0.2 mi
  • Seneca Park: 0.2 mi
  • Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.2 mi
  • Lake Shore Park: 0.3 mi
  • Michigan Avenue: 0.3 mi
  • Holy Name Cathedral: 0.4 mi
  • Washington Square Park: 0.4 mi
  • Chicago Historical Society: 0.4 mi
  • Terra Museum of American Art: 0.4 mi
  • Chicago - Mag Mile - Wacker Dr: 0.5 mi
  • North Michigan Avenue: 0.6 mi
  • Tribune Tower: 0.7 mi
  • Wrigley Building: 0.7 mi
  • Museum of Broadcast Communications: 0.8 mi
  • Lake Point Tower: 0.8 mi
  • History Museum: 0.9 mi
  • Marina City: 0.9 mi
  • Children Museum: 1 mi
  • Harold Washington College: 1 mi
  • Prudential Plaza: 1 mi
  • Merchandise Mart: 1.1 mi
  • Navy Pier: 1.1 mi
  • Chicago Theater: 1.1 mi
  • Goodman Theatre: 1.1 mi
  • Harris Theater: 1.1 mi
  • Oriental Theatre: 1.1 mi
  • Chicago Cultural Center: 1.1 mi
  • Macys: 1.2 mi
  • North Avenue Beach: 1.2 mi
  • Pritzker Pavilion: 1.2 mi
  • Cloud Gate: 1.2 mi
  • City Hall: 1.2 mi
  • Cadillac Palace Theatre: 1.2 mi
  • Shubert Theatre: 1.2 mi
  • State Street: 1.3 mi
  • Crown Fountain: 1.3 mi
  • Kendall College: 1.3 mi
  • Bank of America Theatre: 1.4 mi
  • Yacht Club: 1.4 mi
  • Art Institute of Chicago: 1.4 mi
  • Opera House: 1.4 mi
  • Symphony Center: 1.5 mi

Dining

Restaurant
onsite

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by CheapTickets

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (168)

Ratings and reviews for The Drake Hotel

Overall score

4.3 / 5
168 out of 168
Amenities:
4.1
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.5
Room comfort:
4.5
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.1

89% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Drake Hotel

Reviewer score

4
Tom Crean
Denver, CO, USA
Jul 6, 2012

Overall good experience

You can't beat the location of the Drake. The hotel could use a little updating which seems to be occuring. Also, surprised the air conditioner didn't work very well and there were no robes in the room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of The Drake Hotel

Reviewer score

4
Catie Go Sixers
Tullytown, PA
May 25, 2012

Fun in the Windy City

The Drake was elegant. Staff, especially Andrea, the BEST!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

There is some program that allows vistors to Chicago to show out of town visitors to show ID and receive discounts!

Review of The Drake Hotel

Reviewer score

4
Look n good
Petoskey, MI, USA
Apr 3, 2012

Small room, good location

We booked two rooms, both were tiny compared to other travellers in our group. View of the fire escape stairs, ick! However, did not spend much time in room. Like the drake for proximity to tunnel under Lake Shore Drive to run along Lake Michigan, to Oak St., to Rush St., and of course Mag Mile. Had nice High Tea experience, excellent waiter. Enjoyed harpist. Excellent wait staff at breakfast in Drake Brothers, although buffet kind of skimpy. Hotel in general looking dated, tiny , slow elevators, not the Peninsula, but not the prices either.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of The Drake Hotel

Reviewer score

5
Portenos
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Mar 31, 2012

Excellency

It is a top hotel, excellent in all senses. For those like us who prefer not to take our notebooks, an easier and cheaper service for using the hotel's pc's, should be provided.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of The Drake Hotel

Reviewer score

5
TEDDYT
Savannah, GA, USA
Mar 4, 2012

GOOD VALUE

THE TOTAL PACKAGE WITH THIS HOTEL WAS A GREAT VALUE. THE LOCATION COULD NOT BE BETTER. I WILL USE YOUR PACKAGE PLANS IN THE FUTURE. THE AIELINE AS ALWAYS WAS THE PITS. CANCELLED FLIGHT. HAD TO SPEND AN EXTRA NIGHT AT THE AIRPORT HOTEL. AIR TRAVEL TODAY IS JUST ABOUT AS BAD AS IT GETS.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of The Drake Hotel

Reviewer score

5
mom2joshari
Boardman, OR 97818, USA
Feb 28, 2012

Eastern Oregon to East Chicago Mag Mile

Even though we watched a tumbleweed roll across our path on the way to Portland International Airport, The Drake staff treated my friend and I with the same dignity as celebs & royalty. Top notch and first class in the face of our tiny town do-it-yourself ways. Doormen attempting to assist were bumped into but gracious amid the quickly exchanged 'sorry'. A dream of a lifetime and 20 year bucket list trip to Chicago only enchanced by staying at the world renown Drake Hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

If you need hosiery, lip balm or honey goat cheese, walk 5 blocks south on Michigan to Chicago Ave and visit Walgreens. LIFESAVER (also available) on our short stay AND when I worked on Northwestern University's Medical campus.

Review of The Drake Hotel

Reviewer score

5
DeHart
Business
Wichita, KS, USA
Feb 27, 2012

Nice for business trip

The experienc was what I have come to expect at the Drake. The staff was very helpful and friendly and the location is ideal for what we like to do in Chicago.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Gibsons Steak House is close and wonderful.

Review of The Drake Hotel

Reviewer score

4
brien
Peoria, IL, USA
Feb 27, 2012

Fire escape room

Everything was great except we were given a room down a small fire escape hallway. The fire escape was directly outside the window. Next time I would request a room in another location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
1
Value:
3
Review of The Drake Hotel

Reviewer score

5
Isabella2005
Chicago, IL, USA
Feb 6, 2012

great weekend getaway

Stafff was very accomodating and the room was cozy. We also enjoyed the restaurants in the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of The Drake Hotel

Reviewer score

3
Kasmo
Michigan, USA
Feb 1, 2012

Very nice

Room was nice, went with another couple, booked same way, but their room was much bigger. Didn't get our day robes as was stated , and they did not refill coffee packets or cups for next day. But we had a great time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Can walk to everything

Back to menu Return to top