Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 8, 2015 Check-out: May 10, 2015

The Drake Hotel

4 stars
View map of 140 East Walton Place, Chicago, IL 60611-1501

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Drake Hotel

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
197 out of 197
Amenities:
4.1
Cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.5
Comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.7
Value:
4

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Drake Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Graduation Trip
Business
Carlye Hotel in New York
Dec 30, 2013

Old World Charm

We have stayed at this hotel in July. Excellent customer service. Wonderful Old World Charm!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Drake Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Traveling for Christmas
Business
illinois
Dec 28, 2013

A Mere Shadow of What It Used to Be

Upon check in, valet lost our heirloom Christmas tree and we found it kicked into a corner outside after numerous calls and 8 hours later. Bras and other feminine hygiene products laying in the halls for days. The food and service was less than average. Had to call housekeeping to get our room cleaned - amenities were minimal. Only thing going for it now is getting a room with a view of the lake. Won't be back. What a shame.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Grill next to the Westin is an excellent restaurant. If you make reservations at the Signature Room at the Hancock make sure you request the main room - otherwise you get the small room on the side.

Review of The Drake Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Happy Chicagoland Guest
Business
Peoria, Illinois
Dec 11, 2013

Girlfriends' Shopping Trip

We arrived at 11 am, and hoped to leave our luggage so we could shop. We were offered an upgraded room for a nominal fee which would also allow us early check in. We were delighted with the size, arrangement, and comfort of our room. And the view was so lovely that we almost didn't want to leave to shop. We had planned to go to several different restaurants for our meals, but since it was so very cold outside we dined in the hotel. Our supper in the cozy, paneled bar was very good, as was our breakfast, though a little pricey. The Christmas decorations were gorgeous!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Long walk from hotel

Shopping along Michigan Avenue is fun. And if you get as far south as the Chicago River and are tired, a cab ride is less than $5.00 back!

Review of The Drake Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
RSNAer
Business
East coast
Dec 7, 2013

Short stay for business

Hotel came highly recommended, so disappointed. Spacious room, but outdated and there was significant street noise. Would suggest visit to lobby, though - beautifully decorated Christmas tree.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Purple Pig

Review of The Drake Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
kywildcatfan
Business
Corbin, KY
Nov 14, 2013

Top shelf hotel

The only place to stay in Chicago! Excellent food and wine right on the premises. Convenient to everything downtown.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Drake Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Tchr Scott
Business
Portage, Michigan
Nov 4, 2013

First time stay

The location really makes this a great place to stay. You are really within 10 minutes walking to all the shopping and dinning you could ask for.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Drake Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Co Nam
Business
Dearborn, Michigan
Oct 16, 2013

cHICAGO IN OCTOBER

Beside the best location and the comfort of the big room that make the difference from another hotel, it needs a little more warmth from the staff to give us the reason to say next time we should come back here instead of looking for some where else. IF i would recommend this hotel to a friend, it would be for the same reason. Otherwise, i will be back to Chicago again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Drake Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
PeJu
Business
Madison, Wisconsin
Aug 23, 2013

Enjoyed my stay

I had a wonderful stay. The location is perfect, as it is located right on Michigan Ave. and just across Lake Michigan, so one has both, the beach and the shopping just outside the hotel. There is a great coffee shop within the Hotel that offers real good coffee. The concierge was not only very knowledgeable, but also extremely friendly and helpful. Also the bed seemed very comfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Piccolo sognio due - a wonderful Italian dining place with great balance regarding price and food, and a lovely and relaxing atmosphere.

Review of The Drake Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
FamilyWithKids
Business
Chicago
Aug 19, 2013

Great location and service

We loved it. The location was great. Room was very clean. The staff were very friendly and helpful. Real nice view of the lake.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Spiaggia across the straight is a great restaurant. Fancy and pricey but if you have an occasion you want to celebrate, go for this.

Review of The Drake Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
mwindom23
Business
Chicago, Illinois
Aug 4, 2013

Mikes Review

Even though we are a younger couple, it was a interesting stay at this hotel since its history. It's been around since the 1920s, but the remodeling is great! I like it! I would recommend it to the older crowd!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Cheese cake factory

Back to menu Return to top