Rate based on Check-in: Aug 24, 2014 Check-out: Aug 26, 2014

The Drake Hotel

4 stars
140 East Walton Place, Chicago, IL 60611-1501
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.3
out of 5
286 reviews
A Great Chicago Weekend

The Drake provided a perfect home for a weekend of Chicago experiences. Its location is perfect for... See full review

  • Sparkster
  • Jul 21, 2014
Family Trip

The Family guest room was amazing. Very comfortable and large. Walking distance to amazing shopping... See full review

  • FL family visits Chi Town
  • Jul 14, 2014
From its beginning on New Year's Eve 1920 to today, The Drake Hotel has defined elegance and hospitality. Set in the prestigious Gold Coast neighborhood at the start of the Magnificent Mile, this iconic Chicago hotel is footsteps from Oak Street Beach and Lake Michigan.Relax at The Drake Hotel in one of 535 elegantly decorated guest rooms and 74 suites, including the Princess Diana Suite, which was graced by the Princess of Wales herself. Appreciate the amenities that include classic decor, plush bedding, marble bathrooms, and views of Lake Michigan and the city. The Executive Lounge on the top floor features amazing views, and Executive Level Guests will enjoy a complimentary continental breakfast, hot and cold beverages, and an honor bar with evening appetizers.Become a part of Chicago history. Relax with a cocktail in Coq D’Or, one of the first establishments in Chicago to serve alcohol after the repeal of Prohibition. Enjoy a memorable dinner at Cape Cod, where Joe DiMaggio and Marilyn Monroe hand-carved their initials in the bar, or take afternoon tea at Palm Court, just as Queen Elizabeth II did in 1958.The Drake Hotel provides the perfect spaces for meetings and gatherings. Hold a meeting in the heart of Chicago in the sophisticated boardrooms, or host an elegant Windy City celebration in the Gold Coast and Grand Ballrooms. Write your own chapter of Chicago history at The Drake — one real Chicago moment at a t

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Non Smoking
General
Non Smoking
Pet friendly
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Wheel chair access

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Drake Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5

Hotel Map

41.9004 -87.6232
Nearby airports
O`Hare Intl Airport, (ORD), 14.00, MI, NW; Chicago Midway Airport, (MDW), 17.00, MI, SW;

Nearby points of interest

  • Water Tower: 0.1 mi
  • John Hancock Center: 0.1 mi
  • Drury Lane Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Oak Street Beach: 0.2 mi
  • Seneca Park: 0.2 mi
  • Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.2 mi
  • Lake Shore Park: 0.3 mi
  • Michigan Avenue: 0.3 mi
  • Holy Name Cathedral: 0.4 mi
  • Washington Square Park: 0.4 mi
  • Chicago Historical Society: 0.4 mi
  • Terra Museum of American Art: 0.4 mi
  • Chicago - Mag Mile - Wacker Dr: 0.5 mi
  • North Michigan Avenue: 0.6 mi
  • Tribune Tower: 0.7 mi
  • Water Tower: 0.1 mi
  • John Hancock Center: 0.1 mi
  • Drury Lane Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Oak Street Beach: 0.2 mi
  • Seneca Park: 0.2 mi
  • Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.2 mi
  • Lake Shore Park: 0.3 mi
  • Michigan Avenue: 0.3 mi
  • Holy Name Cathedral: 0.4 mi
  • Washington Square Park: 0.4 mi
  • Chicago Historical Society: 0.4 mi
  • Terra Museum of American Art: 0.4 mi
  • Chicago - Mag Mile - Wacker Dr: 0.5 mi
  • North Michigan Avenue: 0.6 mi
  • Tribune Tower: 0.7 mi
  • Wrigley Building: 0.7 mi
  • Museum of Broadcast Communications: 0.8 mi
  • Lake Point Tower: 0.8 mi
  • History Museum: 0.9 mi
  • Marina City: 0.9 mi
  • Children Museum: 1 mi
  • Harold Washington College: 1 mi
  • Prudential Plaza: 1 mi
  • Merchandise Mart: 1.1 mi
  • Navy Pier: 1.1 mi
  • Chicago Theater: 1.1 mi
  • Goodman Theatre: 1.1 mi
  • Harris Theater: 1.1 mi
  • Oriental Theatre: 1.1 mi
  • Chicago Cultural Center: 1.1 mi
  • Macys: 1.2 mi
  • North Avenue Beach: 1.2 mi
  • Pritzker Pavilion: 1.2 mi
  • Cloud Gate: 1.2 mi
  • City Hall: 1.2 mi
  • Cadillac Palace Theatre: 1.2 mi
  • Shubert Theatre: 1.2 mi
  • State Street: 1.3 mi
  • Crown Fountain: 1.3 mi
  • Kendall College: 1.3 mi
  • Bank of America Theatre: 1.4 mi
  • Yacht Club: 1.4 mi
  • Art Institute of Chicago: 1.4 mi
  • Opera House: 1.4 mi
  • Symphony Center: 1.5 mi

Dining

Restaurant
onsite

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by CheapTickets

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (286)

Ratings and reviews for The Drake Hotel

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
286 out of 286
Amenities:
4.1
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.5
Room comfort:
4.5
Location:
4.8
Value:
4

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Drake Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
bandl2
chicago
Feb 18, 2014

weekend get away

Lovely weekend getaway. Great location, great hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of The Drake Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Graduation Trip
Carlye Hotel in New York
Dec 30, 2013

Old World Charm

We have stayed at this hotel in July. Excellent customer service. Wonderful Old World Charm!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of The Drake Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Traveling for Christmas
illinois
Dec 28, 2013

A Mere Shadow of What It Used to Be

Upon check in, valet lost our heirloom Christmas tree and we found it kicked into a corner outside after numerous calls and 8 hours later. Bras and other feminine hygiene products laying in the halls for days. The food and service was less than average. Had to call housekeeping to get our room cleaned - amenities were minimal. Only thing going for it now is getting a room with a view of the lake. Won't be back. What a shame.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
1
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Grill next to the Westin is an excellent restaurant. If you make reservations at the Signature Room at the Hancock make sure you request the main room - otherwise you get the small room on the side.

Review of The Drake Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Happy Chicagoland Guest
Peoria, Illinois
Dec 11, 2013

Girlfriends' Shopping Trip

We arrived at 11 am, and hoped to leave our luggage so we could shop. We were offered an upgraded room for a nominal fee which would also allow us early check in. We were delighted with the size, arrangement, and comfort of our room. And the view was so lovely that we almost didn't want to leave to shop. We had planned to go to several different restaurants for our meals, but since it was so very cold outside we dined in the hotel. Our supper in the cozy, paneled bar was very good, as was our breakfast, though a little pricey. The Christmas decorations were gorgeous!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Shopping tip: Long walk from hotel

Shopping along Michigan Avenue is fun. And if you get as far south as the Chicago River and are tired, a cab ride is less than $5.00 back!

Review of The Drake Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
RSNAer
Business
East coast
Dec 7, 2013

Short stay for business

Hotel came highly recommended, so disappointed. Spacious room, but outdated and there was significant street noise. Would suggest visit to lobby, though - beautifully decorated Christmas tree.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Purple Pig

Review of The Drake Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
kywildcatfan
Corbin, KY
Nov 14, 2013

Top shelf hotel

The only place to stay in Chicago! Excellent food and wine right on the premises. Convenient to everything downtown.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of The Drake Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Tchr Scott
Portage, Michigan
Nov 4, 2013

First time stay

The location really makes this a great place to stay. You are really within 10 minutes walking to all the shopping and dinning you could ask for.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of The Drake Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Co Nam
Dearborn, Michigan
Oct 16, 2013

cHICAGO IN OCTOBER

Beside the best location and the comfort of the big room that make the difference from another hotel, it needs a little more warmth from the staff to give us the reason to say next time we should come back here instead of looking for some where else. IF i would recommend this hotel to a friend, it would be for the same reason. Otherwise, i will be back to Chicago again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of The Drake Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
PeJu
Madison, Wisconsin
Aug 23, 2013

Enjoyed my stay

I had a wonderful stay. The location is perfect, as it is located right on Michigan Ave. and just across Lake Michigan, so one has both, the beach and the shopping just outside the hotel. There is a great coffee shop within the Hotel that offers real good coffee. The concierge was not only very knowledgeable, but also extremely friendly and helpful. Also the bed seemed very comfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Piccolo sognio due - a wonderful Italian dining place with great balance regarding price and food, and a lovely and relaxing atmosphere.

Review of The Drake Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
FamilyWithKids
Chicago
Aug 19, 2013

Great location and service

We loved it. The location was great. Room was very clean. The staff were very friendly and helpful. Real nice view of the lake.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Spiaggia across the straight is a great restaurant. Fancy and pricey but if you have an occasion you want to celebrate, go for this.

Back to menu Return to top