Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jun 5, 2015 Check-out: Jun 6, 2015

The Drake Hotel

4 stars
View map of 140 East Walton Place, Chicago, IL 60611-1501

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Drake Hotel

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
209 out of 209
Amenities:
4.1
Cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.5
Comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.7
Value:
4

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Drake Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Lab momma
Business
New Mexico
Oct 6, 2014

disappointing

A lovely, historic, elegant , downstairs but the room was somewhat shabby. The view was beautiful but the room was cold, amenities in the bathroom stingy, in the room as well. We had to call housekeeping for more tea, stirrers, sugar, etc. We were pleased with the location for our needs. The staff we found helpful and friendly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Drake Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
MEB54
Business
Syracuse NY
Sep 29, 2014

Wonderful Weekend in Chicago

Big comfortable room, both beds (including the sofa bed)were very comfortable. couldn't beat the location. concierge was right on with his/her recommendation for meals, and bell staffer gave directions with a smile.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: In Hotel

This is a Wonderful city for walkers.

Review of The Drake Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
indymom6
Business
Indianapolis, IN
Sep 26, 2014

Old but nice

Old hotel with modern updates, great location, view of a building across the alley

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Drake Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ijim
Business
Chicago
Sep 24, 2014

Love the Drake

Great classic hotel. Convenient to Michigan avenue and the Lake . Restaurant is good . Staff is accosting.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Drake Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
J Leiff
Business
Glastonbury, Ct.
Sep 22, 2014

Quick getaway.

Very nice. Great historic hotel. The Concierge was outstanding!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Architectural river boat cruise.

Review of The Drake Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
BAINQESI
Business
Cincinnati OH
Sep 17, 2014

Lacking service details

Have stayed 2 other times, and had several negative issues this time. Initial executive suite was way too hot and HVAC was not working. After 3 calls and waiting an hour, got a call they were working on it. After 2 calls was finally offered to move rooms. Also, requested additional towels twice before they were brought up. Elevators were not working well (doors open and immediately shut, and opened only half way. It is a beautiful old hotel and the staff requires some additional attention to service.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

The Cape Cod room is great and deserves a try.

Review of The Drake Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Terry the Dub
Business
Dublin, Ireland
Sep 8, 2014

Most enjoyable Holiday

First time in Chicago, this Hotel was recommended, and did not disappoint. Location just off The Magnificent Mile was ideal. All the staff, from the minute we arrived, was most helpful, and courteous. Room was spacious, and very clean. Meals exceptional and great value.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: In Hotel

Ask the Concierge for advice, and directions. Most helpful.

Review of The Drake Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Guest at The Drake
Business
Chicago, IL
Sep 2, 2014

Great Weekend!

My boyfriend took me to this hotel for a celebration, and we had a fantastic time! Our lakeside room was gorgeous! The whole hotel is beautiful. The front desk employees, and most of the staff were very gracious and helpful. All of the food and drinks we had in the building were well made and delicious. The manager was very friendly and helpful, and determined to make our stay as comfortable as possible. There were a couple of small things that we weren't satisfied with. We talked to the concierges several times, and felt they could have done more to help us. The bathroom was also not as updated as you would expect from a hotel of this caliber, but it is an old hotel, so that's just what it is. Overall, we had a great time, and will be back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Drake Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Airshow weekend
Business
Illinois
Aug 25, 2014

Room was not great

The room was large but the sofa bed was broken and didn't have any sheets. We had to ask for sheets twice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Drake Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
babybooby
Business
California
Aug 18, 2014

The Drake

We were so looking forward to our stay. The lobby and Palm Court et. al do not disappoint. We splurged on a junior suite with a lake view. The room seemed nice - then we discovered a swarm of bugs on the ceiling molding. Ugh. They quickly gave us the same room - a floor below - which was bug free - HOWEVER - it was not well-cleaned. We asked them to clean it and upon our return, things got dusted off - but the mini fridge was filthy and the toilet was dirty underneath - which you could see when sitting in the tub - and the tub wouldn't shut off. They also slipped the wrong bill under our door at checkout. Very disappointing. When we nicely complained, the manager did give us $100 off - but rather grudgingly. The rest of the staff - housekeeping and the bellmen - were are terrific! But as I said - for a "grand hotel" very disappointing.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top