Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 2, 2015 Check-out: Apr 5, 2015

Sofitel Chicago Water Tower

4 stars
View map of 20 EAST CHESTNUT ST - DOWNTOWN, CHICAGO, IL 60611

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Sofitel Chicago Water Tower

Overall score

4.6 / 5
5.01.0
135 out of 135
Amenities:
4.4
Cleanliness:
4.8
Hotel staff:
4.8
Comfort:
4.7
Location:
4.9
Value:
4.3

96% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Sofitel Chicago Water Tower

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Panama City, FL
Nov 9, 2009

Overrated

I visit Chicago several times a year and have always wanted to stay at the Sofitel. It was a very average room for the money. Beds were'nt very comfortable and the shower was very small. The location is excellent, the staff was nice and the restaurant was very good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

The restaurant was very good for breakfast.

Review of Sofitel Chicago Water Tower

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
JAA
Business
Pittsburgh
Oct 26, 2009

Great Stay

Great hotel in great location. Excellent service and cleanliness.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Sofitel Chicago Water Tower

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
New Haven Traveller
Business
New Haven, CT
Oct 14, 2009

Lovely Place but Pricey

Lovely place; our room was smaller than I imagined for the price and expected a little more 'wow', I guess; staff was very pleasant but had limited interaction with them except housekeepers (who were charming); a block or two from the upper end of Mag Mile; a few blocks walk to most restaurants; a lesson learned (again)- if you're spending most of your time out seeing the city, spend less on your room and more on your activities and dining.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Tempo Cafe next door great omelettes and very reasonable; open 24/7; dining options at hotel expensive

Review of Sofitel Chicago Water Tower

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Branford, CT
Sep 29, 2009

Unbeatable location for the price

Gorgeous lobby, great food in hotel restaurant, rooms don't get better than here!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Sofitel Chicago Water Tower

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Logansport, Indiana
Sep 27, 2009

Loved, loved, loved!!

Great location. From the moment we stepped out of the car, there were staff ready to help, direct, and lead us toward the desk. The consierge was very helpful when we were looking for a restaurant for dinner ([...]). She made the reservations while we were out on a walking food tour of Chicago. I will reccomend this hotel to all my family and friends...as a matter of fact, I have already started!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Sofitel Chicago Water Tower

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
MA
Sep 8, 2009

Great hotel and near public trans.

My experience was great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Sofitel Chicago Water Tower

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Boston, MA
Sep 8, 2009

Comfortable, excellent service

We came here for a mini-vacation and to see some Red Sox games while they were in town. The hotel was in a great location, within walking distance to the Mag Mile, and Rush street...there was also a train station about 2 blocks away. The concierge staff was excellent at recommending restaurants and bars to go to. We did not have any children with us, but there were a lot of people in the hotel who did, and also lots of dogs! Even the room service menu had a pet menu! I would definatly stay here again when I return to Chicago!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

While the Mag mile is impressive, it really didn't have many additional stores than your typical mall did...and, Chicago has a sales tax of 10.25%!!!!!

Review of Sofitel Chicago Water Tower

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Det Mich
Aug 31, 2009

Great stay ,good price

The location and price were great for end of summer get away, My sister and I were able to relax and only think about what shopping routes we would take. The staff was very personable and the room was beautiful. We would definitely come here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Location to shopping ,places to eat and entertainment was a stones throw.

Review of Sofitel Chicago Water Tower

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
London, UK
Aug 26, 2009

Great location and service

Great location and most attractions and shopping areas are walking distance. Fairly close to the beach....if you visit Chicago during summer. Quite area but close to the Magnificent Mile. Really enjoyed staying at Sofitel....good rooms...relaxing environment (unlike other 5 star hotels....more cosy and does not feel like being at an airport lounge). Concierge was great, got me last minute ticks for the Bears vs Giants game.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Absolutely rent a bicycle from www.chicagobike.com. They have a location nearby the hotel.....at Oak Beach or Navy Pier, some 15/20 minutes walk....and you can ride the whole day....and leave the bike at another location within Chicago. Strongly recommend....during summer of course! Also segway tour at Millenium Park....alwasy with www.chcagobike.com.....available a combo....2.5hr segway tour + bike all day. GREAT!

Review of Sofitel Chicago Water Tower

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Prov. RI
Aug 21, 2009

Sofitel Chicago

The hotel was first class; with the staff being very friendly and helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top