Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 1, 2014 Check-out: Sep 3, 2014

Raffaello Hotel

4 stars
201 E. Delaware Place, Chicago, IL 60611
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
255 reviews
Chicago Reprieve

The Raffaello is in a great location. One block from John Hancock. Great breakfast/lunch nook on... See full review

  • Pat and Tiff
  • Aug 3, 2014
Perfect for us

We wanted a quick little anniversary getaway, and this was perfect. Awesome value. Amazing... See full review

  • Peter and Abby
  • Jul 17, 2014

Menin Hospitality operates several luxury boutique hotels in Miami and a single hotel in Chicago, the Raffaello Hotel. This cozy boutique hotel is situated right on Michigan Avenue, very close to some of the most celebrated attractions and amenities on the Gold Coast and Magnificent Mile. From its highly-rated rooftop lounge to its impeccably appointed rooms and suites, the Raffaello is a definite standout in a city known for its incredible accommodations. What the Raffaello lacks in size, it more than makes up for in amenities. Drumbar, its speakeasy-style rooftop lounge, was dubbed 'the best new bar in America' by Details Magazine. With its intimate seating, wood paneling, crackling fireplace and a bar that offers sensational views of the city and lake, it's easy to see why.

Key facts
  • 173 guestrooms
  • 15 floors
  • 2 restaurants
  • Gym
  • Full-service spa
  • Fitness center
  • Wi-Fi (fees may apply)
  • Conference and event spaces
Neighborhood
Raffaello Hotel is located in the heart of Chicago's Magnificent Mile, so there's no need to grab a cab to enjoy the best shopping and dining in the city. Exciting attractions like the Hancock Building, Millennium Park, Navy Pier, the Lincoln Park Zoo and North Avenue Beach are easily accessible on foot, and the vibrant nightlife and restaurants of Rush Street are also within easy walking distance.
Hints and tips
Check out Pelago Ristorante at least once during your stay, since it's helmed by Michelin star-rated chef Mauro Mafrici.

Ask the concierge about personal training sessions at the hotel gym, and if you're staying at the hotel on a Saturday, head over to Millennium Park for free yoga sessions.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Raffaello Hotel Rooms

Deluxe Suite
The traditional Suite offers One King Bed with pullout sofa bed suitable for multiple guests. The room is non-smoking and include in room safe, iron and ironing board, mini bar stocked with the finest treats, hair dryer, GUYandGIRL Collection bath amenities, rain forest shower heads, cable TV with 70 channels of free to guest entertainment available on a 32 inch flat panel LCD television.
Double Double Room
The traditional Double room features Two Double beds with a brand new Modern design coupled with an old world charm. The room is non-smoking and include in room safe, iron and ironing board, mini bar stocked with the finest treats, hair dryer, GUYandGIRL Collection bath amenities, rain forest shower heads, cable TV with 70 channels of free to guest entertainment available on a 32 inch flat panel LCD television.
King Room
The traditional King room features One King Bed with a brand new Modern design coupled with an old world charm. The room is non-smoking and include in room safe, iron and ironing board, mini bar stocked with the finest treats, hair dryer, GUYandGIRL Collection bath amenities, rain forest shower heads, cable TV with 70 channels of free to guest entertainment available on a 32 inch flat panel LCD television.
Grand Suite
The Suite offers 1 King size bed, One Murphy Bed and sofa bed with spacious living area. The room is non-smoking and include in room safe, iron and ironing board, mini bar stocked with the finest treats, hair dryer, GUYandGIRL Collection bath amenities, rain forest shower heads, cable TV with 70 channels of free to guest entertainment available on a 32 inch flat panel LCD television.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA) compliant
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Public areas wheelchair accessible for disabled
Wheelchair accessible elevators
Ramp access to buildings

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Raffaello Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

Hotel Map

41.8993 -87.6218
Area served
Located in the Gold Coast of downtown Chicago.
Nearby airports
Chicago O'Hare International Airport.
Area description
Best location in Chicago, just one block east of Michigan. All the convenience, nightlife, clubs, restaurants, shopping, theatre of the magnificent mile but without the noise of congestion. Pick any direction and walk one block and you've arrivedJohn Hancock Center and Observatory Cheesecake Factory, Drury Lane, Museum of Modern Art, Lake Michigan, Signature Room, Navy Pier, farmer's market, Water Tower, First Presbyterian Church, buses, trains.

Nearby points of interest

  • John Hancock Center: 0.1 mi
  • Drury Lane Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Water Tower: 0.1 mi
  • Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.1 mi
  • Seneca Park: 0.1 mi
  • Lake Shore Park: 0.2 mi
  • Oak Street Beach: 0.3 mi
  • Terra Museum of American Art: 0.4 mi
  • Holy Name Cathedral: 0.4 mi
  • Michigan Avenue: 0.5 mi
  • Washington Square Park: 0.5 mi
  • Chicago - Mag Mile - Wacker Dr: 0.5 mi
  • Chicago Historical Society: 0.5 mi
  • North Michigan Avenue: 0.6 mi
  • Tribune Tower: 0.6 mi
  • John Hancock Center: 0.1 mi
  • Drury Lane Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Water Tower: 0.1 mi
  • Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.1 mi
  • Seneca Park: 0.1 mi
  • Lake Shore Park: 0.2 mi
  • Oak Street Beach: 0.3 mi
  • Terra Museum of American Art: 0.4 mi
  • Holy Name Cathedral: 0.4 mi
  • Michigan Avenue: 0.5 mi
  • Washington Square Park: 0.5 mi
  • Chicago - Mag Mile - Wacker Dr: 0.5 mi
  • Chicago Historical Society: 0.5 mi
  • North Michigan Avenue: 0.6 mi
  • Tribune Tower: 0.6 mi
  • Wrigley Building: 0.7 mi
  • Lake Point Tower: 0.7 mi
  • Museum of Broadcast Communications: 0.8 mi
  • Marina City: 0.9 mi
  • Children Museum: 0.9 mi
  • Prudential Plaza: 1 mi
  • Navy Pier: 1 mi
  • Harold Washington College: 1 mi
  • History Museum: 1 mi
  • Chicago Theater: 1 mi
  • Merchandise Mart: 1 mi
  • Harris Theater: 1.1 mi
  • Goodman Theatre: 1.1 mi
  • Oriental Theatre: 1.1 mi
  • Chicago Cultural Center: 1.1 mi
  • Macys: 1.1 mi
  • Pritzker Pavilion: 1.1 mi
  • Cloud Gate: 1.2 mi
  • Shubert Theatre: 1.2 mi
  • City Hall: 1.2 mi
  • Cadillac Palace Theatre: 1.2 mi
  • State Street: 1.2 mi
  • Crown Fountain: 1.2 mi
  • North Avenue Beach: 1.3 mi
  • Yacht Club: 1.3 mi
  • Bank of America Theatre: 1.3 mi
  • Art Institute of Chicago: 1.4 mi
  • Kendall College: 1.4 mi
  • Symphony Center: 1.4 mi
  • Chicago Architecture Foundation: 1.4 mi

Dining

drumBar
Drumbar, on the hotel's 18th floor is a multi-seasonal destination with a speakeasy style inside lounge and outdoor garden terrace. Drumbar is designed to deliver warmth, style, and an energetic spirit of old meets new.
Pelago Ristorante
Raffaello is also home to the distinguished Pelago Ristorante by Chef and Owner Mauro Mafrici. Pelago redefines upscale Italian dining with a focus on homemade pastas and seafood. The traditions of Italian cooking from the North to the South of Italy have been translated with a local twist and modern cooking flair to create a contemporary menu for an outstanding culinary journey.
Glazed and Infused
In the morning, head to the lobby for gourmet donuts from Glazed and Infused. The Chicago Tribune says the shop's eclectic selection is "so good it's difficult to pick a favorite."

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (255)

Ratings and reviews for Raffaello Hotel

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
15 out of 255
Amenities:
3.7
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
3.9
Room comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.2

87% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Raffaello Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Wish I lived in Chicago
Minneapolis
Jul 3, 2014

Raffaello

I just returned from my stay at the Raffaello and it was virtually perfect for my needs. The room was not only clean but aesthetically pleasing with lovely antique molding on ceiling and textured walls. At the same time it was painted and furnished with most of the modern elements that today's traveler desires (flat screen TVs, wifi, mini fridge, trendy coffee maker, etc#. The bathroom was not updated recently and showed some signs of wear #e.g., a bit of staining on wall, tile in shower was older), but it was still fine and met my needs. The location was perfect, just a few steps from beautifully landscaped Michigan Ave with upscale shopping, loads of restaurants, and walking distance to the river, Art Institute, Mill. Park, and lakefront strolls. I experienced only 2 things that needed improvement. First, there was an error in my reservation made on travel website so I had to wait for some time at check in for the staff to sort the problem out, and at certain times of day, the 2 small elevators that service the building were insufficient so I had to wait quite a while for an elevator. Despite these two snafus, I wouldn't hesitate to stay at the Raffaello next time I'm in town. Lovely place and definitely good value for the money.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

Visit the Chicago Cultural Center across from Millenium Park if you'd like to learn a bit more about the city. On weekends they offer free mini tours about the development of the city (very informative) and on weekdays they offer free tours of Millenium Park, informing you about its development and design. Both tours are really enjoyable. .

Review of Raffaello Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
TommyBaseball
Decatur, IL, USA
Jul 3, 2014

Glad I stayed here

I had a lovely experience at the Raffaello, though for full disclosure I was upgraded (for free) to a suite on a lucky fluke. The bed was extremely comfortable (not always the case with hotels), and the room was clean (if a bit worn/dinged in places). I had a new-looking, large-screen HDTV in my room. Two negatives -- the water faucet in the sink by the mini-bar didn't work, and there was a scary incident one night with the elevator bouncing around between floors and then stopping for about 10 seconds. Still, great location, and I would definitely think of staying here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Raffaello Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
dallasgirljean
Chicago
Jul 1, 2014

Great adult hotel

Great boutique hotel. Very quiet,clean great staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Raffaello Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Tom super
Illinois
Apr 13, 2014

Good hotel

Fine n clean. Courteous members. Would book again if i need to

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Raffaello Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Rosalie Rand
Chicago
Jan 15, 2014

Excellent!

I got this room for a night to get out of my house. I invited a friend over, and we didn't really leave the room, but boy we sure had fun anyway. The hotel was clean, quiet, and I got a great deal on the room. I was a little disappointed that the restaurant was closed the day I was there, but that's what GrubHub is for, right? 9/10, would stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Raffaello Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ndhdhdhagffsfsgdhdhhdhdfh
Royal Oak, MI, USA
Sep 18, 2013

good BUTTTT!

Good place but internet should be included for what they charge. Need a business center. Gym facilities need upgrade

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Raffaello Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
salt79
South Bend
Sep 15, 2013

Family getaway

This is a great boutique hotel. Highly recommend it! It's close to shopping, to the lake, and the beds are really comfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Raffaello Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mikeylm
Dubai
Aug 22, 2013

Very nice Hotek!

Would stay here again. Grt size room in a good location next to John Hancock Centre, although a bit of a walk to the blue line metro. Had to pay for wifi which was a small negative, otherwise a very nice hotel.....

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Raffaello Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
sparlington
Washington, DC
Apr 30, 2013

Nice Stay except the $54.00 overnight parking charge

I really enjoyed my stay at The Raffaello Hotel. The room was really nice and clean. Great showerhead in the bathroom and I appreciate the mini fridge and microwave in the room. I only have two complaints. When I booked my room I was offered two complimentary drinks at the Drum Lounge. I stayed from Sunday to Monday and the lounge is closed both days so I feel like they should have done something else to make up for that. Next was parking. The overnight hotel parking rate is $54.00 which is absolutely ridiculous when there is a garage on the other side of the hotel with overnight parking for $30.00. That is a complete rip off. But overall very nice hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Park in the garage on the opposite side of the building (back). Its $30.00 overnight vs. $54.00 at the hotel.

Review of Raffaello Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Nanny O
Sterling, VA
Oct 2, 2012

Needed something

Left a list of things that needed fixing. Over all it was okay. For the price expected more. Staff was helpful and friendly. But the room was just ok. Almost on par with a Comfort Hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Time-saving tip: Long walk from hotel

You can get to most place by foot, but the trolly pass for 3 days is the best value. Easy on and off at all the best places. Much safer the a cab.

Back to menu Return to top