Rate based on Check-in: Aug 10, 2014 Check-out: Aug 11, 2014

MileNorth, A Chicago Hotel

4 stars
166 E Superior Street, Chicago, IL 60611
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.3
out of 5
568 reviews
Beautiful Rooms, Excellent Price!

My wife and I stayed here in May 2014, and absolutely loved it. I took several pictures to share... See full review

  • Jared and Jenny Ribic
  • Jun 21, 2014
Long weekend getaway

First time at Milenorth. My wife and I wanted a nice long weekend on the Mag Mile for a few days... See full review

  • DLR0520
  • Jun 11, 2014
This boutique property offers a residential-style retreat that soars above Chicago's Magnificent Mile. Each floor is home to no more than 11 spacious guest rooms and suites, and your evenings would be well spent enjoying appetizers and sipping cocktails at the 52Eighty rooftop club. MileNorth?s accommodations are inspired by neoclassical, Art Deco and classical deco trends with light shades, huge windows, shimmering silver tones, and white glass doors all set against brash colors.
Key facts
  • 213 guestrooms
  • 2 suites
  • 29 floors
  • Restaurant: Ferris & Jack
  • 52EIGHTY Rooftop Lounge
  • Coffee shop
  • 24-hour fitness center
  • Ballroom
  • Banquet facilities
  • 3,000-square-feet of meeting space
  • 24-hour front desk
  • Pet-friendly (refer to company pet policy for further details, fees may apply)
  • Smoke-free property
Neighborhood
Located one block east of famous Michigan Avenue, the excitement of the big city is just outside your door, and Chicago's Magnificent Mile is your boulevard to it all when you stay at the gracious MileNorth Hotel. The shores of Lake Michigan are due east, Neiman Marcus is just down the block, and the John Hancock Center beckons to the north. Live theater and entertainment at Navy Pier brings culture vultures of all stripes. Your favorite shopping fantasies come true up and down the Magnificent Mile, where you'll find the ultimate in luxury retail. Get closer to the stars with a visit to the John Hancock Observatory, and wear comfortable shoes, because the best of Chicago is all within walking distance of your MileNorth front door.
Hints and tips
When you check into the MileNorth, be sure to make a reservation for relaxing in-room spa services.Ask the friendly staff for directions - whether you're organizing a tour of nearby museums, or setting up a business meeting, you can count on the hotel's premier concierge services.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

MileNorth, A Chicago Hotel Rooms

King Suite
In this 650 square foot suite, enjoy residential comfort with an elevated arrival entrance, steps which lead to a sunken living area and a private alcove featuring a queen bed. This bi-level suite offers neoclassical, jazz deco and urban design with a soft palette and splashes of bold, vibrant colors with crisp white linens. Relax in the separate living space which features a Queen size pull-out sleeper sofa and large Chicago Windows. All loft suites include a separate executive work station, CD stereo clock radio with MP3 capability, mini refrigerator, complimentary coffee/tea maker, dataport, complimentary high-speed Internet access and a wall-mounted 32" flat-screen TV. Featured amenities are rounded out with a separate vanity as part of an ensuite bath.
MileNorth Queen
At 350 to 400 square feet, these accommodations showcase a neutral palette with octagonal shaped mirrors, crystal glass lighting, curved tables, and silver accents which set the stage to magnify the stylish bold splashes of mango and avocado hues. Each room includes an expansive bathroom featuring a glass shower, CD stereo clock radio with MP3 capability, mini refrigerator, complimentary coffee/tea maker, a 32" flat-screen wall-mounted TV, hairdryer and makeup mirror on the vanity. In-room amenities are rounded out by a workstation featuring an ergonomic chair, a data port and complimentary high-speed wireless Internet access.
MileNorth King
At 350 to 400 square feet, these accommodations showcase a neutral palette with octagonal shaped mirrors, crystal glass lighting, curved tables, and silver accents which set the stage to magnify the stylish bold splashes of mango and avocado hues. Each room includes an expansive bathroom featuring a glass shower, CD stereo clock radio with MP3 capability, mini refrigerator, complimentary coffee/tea maker, a 32" flat-screen wall-mounted TV, hairdryer and makeup mirror on the vanity. In-room amenities are rounded out by a workstation featuring an ergonomic chair, a data port and complimentary high-speed wireless Internet access.
MileNorth Double
At 350 to 400 square feet, these accommodations showcase a neutral palette with octagonal shaped mirrors, crystal glass lighting, curved tables, and silver accents which set the stage to magnify the stylish bold splashes of mango and avocado hues. Each room includes an expansive bathroom featuring a glass shower, CD stereo clock radio with MP3 capability, mini refrigerator, complimentary coffee/tea maker, a 32" flat-screen wall-mounted TV, hairdryer and makeup mirror on the vanity. In-room amenities are rounded out by a workstation featuring an ergonomic chair, a data port and complimentary high-speed wireless Internet access.
City View King
Urban inspired guestrooms highlight residential design elements including wrought iron, crystal and glass lighting and alcove niches. Each oversized (350-400 sq. ft.) Our signature accommodation features an inviting entryway with steps that lead to a sunken living space. This bi-level floor plan offers expansive Chicago windows with natural light, white crisp linens and splashes of bold tones. Each room includes a small ensuite dressing vanity area, separate workstation, CD stereo clock radio with MP3 capability, mini refrigerator, complimentary coffee/tea maker, dataport, complimentary high-speed Internet access and a wall-mounted 32" flat-screen TV. Rounding out the amenity package are a hairdryer and makeup mirror on the vanity.
City View Double
Urban inspired guestrooms highlight residential design elements including wrought iron, crystal and glass lighting and alcove niches. Each oversized (350-400 sq. ft.) Our signature accommodation features an inviting entryway with steps that lead to a sunken living space. This bi-level floor plan offers expansive Chicago windows with natural light, white crisp linens and splashes of bold tones. Each room includes a small ensuite dressing vanity area, separate workstation, CD stereo clock radio with MP3 capability, mini refrigerator, complimentary coffee/tea maker, dataport, complimentary high-speed Internet access and a wall-mounted 32" flat-screen TV. Rounding out the amenity package are a hairdryer and makeup mirror on the vanity.
Tower Queen Suite
In this 650 square foot suite, enjoy residential comfort with an elevated arrival entrance, steps which lead to a sunken living area and a private alcove featuring a queen bed. This bi-level suite offers neoclassical, jazz deco and urban design with a soft palette and splashes of bold, vibrant colors with crisp white linens. Relax in the separate living space which features a Queen size pull-out sleeper sofa and large Chicago Windows. All loft suites include a separate executive work station, CD stereo clock radio with MP3 capability, mini refrigerator, complimentary coffee/tea maker, dataport, complimentary high-speed Internet access and a wall-mounted 32" flat-screen TV. Featured amenities are rounded out with a separate vanity as part of an ensuite bath.
Tower City View King Suite
In this 650 square foot suite, enjoy residential comfort with an elevated arrival entrance, steps which lead to a sunken living area and a private alcove featuring a queen bed. This bi-level suite offers neoclassical, jazz deco and urban design with a soft palette and splashes of bold, vibrant colors with crisp white linens. Relax in the separate living space which features a Queen size pull-out sleeper sofa and large Chicago Windows. All loft suites include a separate executive work station, CD stereo clock radio with MP3 capability, mini refrigerator, complimentary coffee/tea maker, dataport, complimentary high-speed Internet access and a wall-mounted 32" flat-screen TV. Featured amenities are rounded out with a separate vanity as part of an ensuite bath.

Amenities

  • WiFi
General
Concierge
Pet friendly
Activities
Fitness Center
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed MileNorth, A Chicago Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

Hotel Map

41.8962 -87.6233
Area served
Chicago
Nearby airports
O'Hare International Airport Midway Airport
Area description
Magnificent Mile

Nearby points of interest

  • Seneca Park: 0.1 mi
  • Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.1 mi
  • Terra Museum of American Art: 0.1 mi
  • Drury Lane Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • John Hancock Center: 0.2 mi
  • Water Tower: 0.2 mi
  • Holy Name Cathedral: 0.2 mi
  • Lake Shore Park: 0.2 mi
  • Chicago - Mag Mile - Wacker Dr: 0.3 mi
  • North Michigan Avenue: 0.3 mi
  • Tribune Tower: 0.4 mi
  • Washington Square Park: 0.4 mi
  • Wrigley Building: 0.5 mi
  • Oak Street Beach: 0.5 mi
  • Museum of Broadcast Communications: 0.6 mi
  • Seneca Park: 0.1 mi
  • Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.1 mi
  • Terra Museum of American Art: 0.1 mi
  • Drury Lane Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • John Hancock Center: 0.2 mi
  • Water Tower: 0.2 mi
  • Holy Name Cathedral: 0.2 mi
  • Lake Shore Park: 0.2 mi
  • Chicago - Mag Mile - Wacker Dr: 0.3 mi
  • North Michigan Avenue: 0.3 mi
  • Tribune Tower: 0.4 mi
  • Washington Square Park: 0.4 mi
  • Wrigley Building: 0.5 mi
  • Oak Street Beach: 0.5 mi
  • Museum of Broadcast Communications: 0.6 mi
  • Michigan Avenue: 0.6 mi
  • Chicago Historical Society: 0.6 mi
  • Marina City: 0.6 mi
  • Lake Point Tower: 0.7 mi
  • Harold Washington College: 0.7 mi
  • Prudential Plaza: 0.7 mi
  • Chicago Theater: 0.8 mi
  • Children Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Merchandise Mart: 0.8 mi
  • Harris Theater: 0.8 mi
  • Goodman Theatre: 0.8 mi
  • Oriental Theatre: 0.8 mi
  • Chicago Cultural Center: 0.9 mi
  • Macys: 0.9 mi
  • Pritzker Pavilion: 0.9 mi
  • Cloud Gate: 0.9 mi
  • Navy Pier: 0.9 mi
  • Shubert Theatre: 1 mi
  • City Hall: 1 mi
  • Cadillac Palace Theatre: 1 mi
  • State Street: 1 mi
  • Crown Fountain: 1 mi
  • Bank of America Theatre: 1.1 mi
  • Yacht Club: 1.1 mi
  • Art Institute of Chicago: 1.1 mi
  • History Museum: 1.1 mi
  • Symphony Center: 1.2 mi
  • Chicago Architecture Foundation: 1.2 mi
  • Opera House: 1.2 mi
  • Chicago Mercantile Exchange: 1.3 mi

Dining

Ferris & Jack
Come and explore the Ferris & Jack Marketplace at MileNorth. A new concept in the downtown Chicago hotel scene, Ferris & Jack offers our guests a choice by providing a Barista Bar featuring Starbucks coffee, Gourmet grab & go Marketplace, the Breakfast Table and The Bar at Ferris & Jack items for a quick lunch or late bite to eat in your guestroom. You'll be sure to enjoy the variety of options available in this exciting marketplace. Our blend of soulful style and authentic Chicago hospitality make this a great place to meet up with friends, entertain your family or getaway for an inviting meal.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (568)

Ratings and reviews for MileNorth, A Chicago Hotel

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
568 out of 568
Amenities:
3.9
Room cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.5
Room comfort:
4.6
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.3

94% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of MileNorth, A Chicago Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Chartv1010
Troy, Mi
Oct 12, 2013

Excellent location, adequate hotel

Hotel has a terrific location, a block off Michigan Avenue in the heart of the Magnificent Mile, right next door to Gino's East, the best pizza joint in Chicago. That's about the only endorsement for this hotel. There are many better in Chicago at the same price point. It was not cheap, averaging over $300/night for our weekend stay, so we were expecting luxury. We were greeted at the small check in desk by only two employees handling arrivals, so had to wait to check in. Since we were three hours earlier than the 3pm check in time we were prepared to check our bags, but the clerk said our room was ready. She then informed us that while it was ready, there was an early check in fee of $29, which billed at $34 after taxes. I opted to pay it, although it seemed ridiculous since we were paying so much for the room already. I then overheard the clerk helping the couple next to us explain the early check in fee, and then waive it for them. The value for the money just isn't there at this hotel. It is a remodeled hotel and while it is updated with some nice touches, it still shows it's age in the details and the narrow hallways and close room proximity. Noise carries, and even in our King City View Suite, we did not escape the noise from the hall and adjoining rooms. Also was disappointed that there are no elevator lobbies, just the small hallway with adjacent elevators which you exit into another small hallway which could be any cookie cutter chain motel. For the price I was expecting more luxury, and grand open spaces like the Palmer House or the Drake. Other than that, adequate, but when there are so many truly nice places to stay with friendlier staff and better service at the same price point, I would not return to this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
1
Review of MileNorth, A Chicago Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Rlal
Business
Washington, DC
Oct 9, 2013

Perfect for any type of stay

Location is ideal for visits to Northwestern University and downtown shopping. Metro is nearby. Hotel itself was very clean and comfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of MileNorth, A Chicago Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
RachCourtTrish
Leslie, MI
Oct 8, 2013

Fun girls weekend

The staff was very courteous and helpful. Room was nice except we paid for a city view and the shade was broken and could not be opened. Location is perfect and there's a Starbucks in the lobby. I would definitely stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of MileNorth, A Chicago Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
1st daughter
McHenry, il
Oct 4, 2013

Near the hospital

Great location if you need to be near Prentiss or Lurie Hospitals. Only problem was there was 3 steps in the room...hard for walker use. Very clean, friendly and great window views of the city.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Near Northwestern Hospital complex

Review of MileNorth, A Chicago Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Laura Marie
Woodstock, IL
Sep 30, 2013

Nice room, friendly staff, awesome location

When we arrived staff was super friendly, gave us a room upgrade without even asking. Room was good size, decorated nicely, very clean. Location is great, walking distance to shopping, eating, Navy Pier. Ginos East right next door. Hotel is smaller than I expected. & Roof Top bar is quite small. But this really didn't bother me too much. Service was good & this hotel has everything you need for a nice overnight stay in the city. A little pricey in comparison with some of the other larger hotels. Overall, for the right price, I would stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

If you like doing something active, rent some bikes from Navy Pier & bike the Lakefront path. Beautiful beaches, & views of the city. Stop along the way at various parks, beaches, museums or zoo. Book online in advance for the best daily rate.

Review of MileNorth, A Chicago Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Sarmar
Portland, Or
Sep 24, 2013

Great location, friendly staff, nice price = I'll be back!

After arriving in Chicago - on our way from Portland to Madison - we decided to stay for a night and enjoy the city. Our main priority was to find Gino's pizza for some true Chicago deep dish pizza which does not exist in Portland. We found a good deal on a room at the Mile North and decided the hotel looked cool and had the right location. What we didn't realize was the hotel was next door to Gino's East! The hotel is clean yet comfortable. Upon our check-in the staff was nothing but friendly and ensured our stay was relaxing and easy. There is a nice bar and restaurant on the main floor - again with awesome staff - and a cool rooftop bar. The room was beyond what I expected - clean, fancy but comfortable, decent size, and with a microwave (to heat up pizza leftovers) and plenty of Chicago guidebooks. The hotel stored our luggage as we walked to navy pier and millennium park. The location is prime! I will be back!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Ginos

Review of MileNorth, A Chicago Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Really122
Detroit, MI
Sep 23, 2013

Nice

Great location, nice room, great staff... but a small hotel without some of the nicer amenities like a concierge.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of MileNorth, A Chicago Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
KCNY
New York, NY
Sep 17, 2013

Needs Updating Still

Lobby was beautifully redone but the room itself needed to be updated. Specifically the bathroom. We paid a bit extra to have the suite so we would have some extra space. So the space itself was nice, but the bed squeaked and the bathroom didn't feel luxurious at all. My home bathroom and bed were nicer than the hotel's, so that made the hotel stay feel a bit less enjoyable as I would have liked. Staff is great. Location is great. From what I hear renovations are to come, so I wouldn't rule out staying here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of MileNorth, A Chicago Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Kathy1230
Toledo, Ohio
Sep 12, 2013

Excellent location and friendly staff!

Was very happy with this hotel. Staff was professional, helpful and very welcoming. Room was beyond my expectations (28th floor) and never heard another guest from inside the room. Enjoyed the rooftop terrace (drinks were pricey but I guess we were paying for that gorgeous view!) and breakfast at Ferris and Jacks was terrific. My husband and I would recommend and we definitely will be back. Valet parking was pricey but worth it!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: In Hotel

Ferris and Jacks restaurant was pleasant with competent staff and you can choose to sit inside, in the lobby at countertops or on the outside patio. Breakfast was very good.

Review of MileNorth, A Chicago Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Minnesota pastor
Minnesota
Sep 6, 2013

Perfect stay

Wonderful staff, spacious room, great food, excellent location. We were there to drop my daughter off for fall semester of college. We will definitely be back!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Back to menu Return to top