Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Nov 27, 2014 Check-out: Nov 28, 2014

Hotel Felix

4 stars
111 W Huron, 111 W Huron Street, Chicago, IL 60654
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
111 reviews
great weekend getaway

the hotel is located in the near north area within walking distance to Michigan Avenue, shopping,... See full review

  • Mr. Shoes
  • Oct 27, 2014
outstanding value

great value, nice room, very helpful staff, would stay again See full review

  • Chitowndc commuter
  • Sep 16, 2014
A green hotel in the Windy City
A hotel that offers luxury yet cares for the environment? That's Hotel Felix. Located downtown, the Hotel Felix Chicago offers guests a variety of excellently priced rooms and amenities with an eco-friendly approach. Hotel Felix greets guests with a surprisingly modern design, blending a mix of earthy tones and post-modern decor. Diners savor delectable European cuisines while listening to live music at the in-house Troquet Restaurant. Guests enjoy a variety of facilities including business rooms, a fitness center, a comprehensive spa and 24-hour concierge service. Valet parking is available at an extra fee.
3 Reasons To Stay
  • Eco-friendly hotel, the first in Chicago to be Gold LEED certified
  • Located in downtown Chicago, in close proximity to all of the area landmarks
  • French Bistro-style dining serving European cuisines at Trouquet on site
Hotel Felix Chicago Rooms
The Hotel Felix Chicago derives its name from the Latin word for "happy," and guest rooms here encourage the feeling. Beds boast luxurious linen and pillows, ensuring that guests can relax and enjoy their surroundings. Each room boasts tasteful decor with muted tones and chocolates that give guests a feeling of elegance. Rooms at the Hotel Felix Chicago are spacious and illuminated with great swathes of natural light due to their large windows. These windows enable guests to enjoy sweeping vistas of the Chicago skyline that are breathtaking day or night. No hotel room would be complete without amenities, and the Hotel Felix Chicago offers plenty of them. Each room features a high-speed Wi-Fi connection, a flat-screen HD television, a safety deposit box, and room service on demand. Bathrooms have a clean and minimalist feel with pleasant, bright lighting and full amenities including a complimentary robe. Each room is very environmentally conscious. Lighting is fully energy efficient and guest rooms feature carpets made from recycled materials.
Things To Do
  • Museum of Contemporary Art (0.8 mi/1.3 km)
  • Chicago Harbor (1.8 mi/2.9 km)
  • University of Illinois (2.4 mi/3.4 km)
  • Grant Park (2.6 mi/4.2 km)
  • O'Hare International Airport (17.5 mi/28 km)
Policies and fees
Valet parking with unlimited access in and out is available at a charge. Please contact hotel directly for further information.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Felix Rooms

STANDARD - QUEEN
Standard Queen room offers one queen bed. Experience inviting accommodations, with a contemporary flare. The non-smoking queen bedded rooms offer travelers a refreshing experience in both luxury and comfort. Rooms feature: plush luxurious bedding, complimentary wireless high speed internet access, 32 inch flat panel HD TV, comfortable and functional work desk, iHome, in-room safe, upgraded bathroom amenities and bathrobes. Additional services on property include: a full service spa, a full service restaurant, fully equipped business center, valet parking, room service and concierge services.
STANDARD - KING
Standard King room offers one king bed. Experience inviting accommodations, with a contemporary flare. The non-smoking king bedded rooms offer travelers a refreshing experience in both luxury and comfort. Rooms feature: plush luxurious bedding, complimentary wireless high speed internet access, 32 inch flat panel HD TV, comfortable and functional work desk, iHome, in-room safe, upgraded bathroom amenities and bathrobes. Additional services on property include: a full service spa, a full service restaurant, fully equipped business center, valet parking, room service and concierge services.
STANDARD - DOUBLE
Standard Double room offers two double beds. Experience inviting accommodations, with a contemporary flare. The non-smoking two double bedded rooms offer travelers a refreshing experience in both luxury and comfort. Rooms feature: plush luxurious bedding, complimentary wireless high speed internet access, 32 inch flat panel HD TV, comfortable and functional work desk, iHome, in-room safe, upgraded bathroom amenities and bathrobes. Additional services on property include: a full service spa, a full service restaurant, fully equipped business center, valet parking, room service and concierge services.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Spa
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Internet
WiFi

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hotel Felix also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5

Hotel Map

41.8944 -87.6315
Area served
Downtown Chicago.
Nearby airports
O'Hare International Airport, Midway Airport.
Area description
Hotel Felix is located in the River North area of downtown Chicago, surrounded by many of Chicagos renowned attractions, popular restaurants and bars and world-class entertainment.

Nearby points of interest

  • Holy Name Cathedral: 0.2 mi
  • Chicago - Mag Mile - Wacker Dr: 0.3 mi
  • Washington Square Park: 0.3 mi
  • Terra Museum of American Art: 0.4 mi
  • Museum of Broadcast Communications: 0.4 mi
  • North Michigan Avenue: 0.4 mi
  • Marina City: 0.5 mi
  • Wrigley Building: 0.5 mi
  • Merchandise Mart: 0.5 mi
  • Tribune Tower: 0.5 mi
  • Seneca Park: 0.5 mi
  • Water Tower: 0.5 mi
  • John Hancock Center: 0.5 mi
  • Drury Lane Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.6 mi
  • Holy Name Cathedral: 0.2 mi
  • Chicago - Mag Mile - Wacker Dr: 0.3 mi
  • Washington Square Park: 0.3 mi
  • Terra Museum of American Art: 0.4 mi
  • Museum of Broadcast Communications: 0.4 mi
  • North Michigan Avenue: 0.4 mi
  • Marina City: 0.5 mi
  • Wrigley Building: 0.5 mi
  • Merchandise Mart: 0.5 mi
  • Tribune Tower: 0.5 mi
  • Seneca Park: 0.5 mi
  • Water Tower: 0.5 mi
  • John Hancock Center: 0.5 mi
  • Drury Lane Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.6 mi
  • Harold Washington College: 0.6 mi
  • Chicago Historical Society: 0.6 mi
  • Michigan Avenue: 0.6 mi
  • Chicago Theater: 0.7 mi
  • Goodman Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Lake Shore Park: 0.7 mi
  • Oriental Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Cadillac Palace Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Oak Street Beach: 0.7 mi
  • City Hall: 0.7 mi
  • Prudential Plaza: 0.8 mi
  • Macys: 0.8 mi
  • Chicago Cultural Center: 0.8 mi
  • Shubert Theatre: 0.8 mi
  • Harris Theater: 0.9 mi
  • State Street: 0.9 mi
  • Opera House: 0.9 mi
  • Cloud Gate: 0.9 mi
  • Pritzker Pavilion: 0.9 mi
  • Kendall College: 0.9 mi
  • Bank of America Theatre: 1 mi
  • Chicago Mercantile Exchange: 1 mi
  • Crown Fountain: 1 mi
  • Lake Point Tower: 1 mi
  • Art Institute of Chicago: 1.1 mi
  • Symphony Center: 1.1 mi
  • Chicago Architecture Foundation: 1.1 mi
  • Chicago Board of Trade: 1.1 mi
  • Willis Tower (Sears Tower): 1.2 mi
  • Children Museum: 1.2 mi

Dining

Troquet
Troquet is a French restaurant and bar focusing on wine, great cocktails and live entertainment. Acclaimed Chef Martial Nougier is overseeing all culinary aspects, and will deliver fun and approachable food from all regions of France. Live music will be featured every Wednesday & Thursday (6pm-9:30pm) and every Friday & Saturday (9pm-12:30am).

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (111)

Ratings and reviews for Hotel Felix

Overall score

3.4 / 5
5.01.0
11 out of 111
Amenities:
3.2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3.6
Room comfort:
2.6
Location:
4.2
Value:
2.8

55% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel Felix

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
mamabear7
Business
MidWest
Apr 11, 2013

I wanted to like the Hotel Felix

For me, Hotel Felix came up a little short in just about every way. Now, if you've already booked your room, don't fret. It is quite likely that you will have a fine stay; the hotel is clean enough and secure enough and convenient enough that you will have no lasting regrets from staying there. The other people we ran into staying in the hotel were very pleasant - nice families and couples. My room was small. The bed (purportedly a queen) was small and the only other furniture in the room was a small bedside table on one side and an approx 24inch desk on the other side of the bed, doing double duty. Walking around the end of the bed you had to bend a bit sideways so as to not knock the tv off the wall. There was a spot with a curtain to hang things. The alarm clock had an Ipod docking station which charged my phone. I had to call the front desk at 1am to ask them to have my neighbor turn down his TV, which was blasting. They did so promptly (for which I am grateful) and told me the next morning that the noise was coming from two rooms away, as I had no immediate neighbors: Thin walls. I could hear rowdy folks walking home street-side in the middle of the night, even though we were on the 9th floor. I purchased ear plugs for the second night and left the hotel after two nights feeling really tired. The hotel itself was ok. They put out good coffee each morning as there is no coffee maker in the room. I used the valet parking, and while the typical cost for Chicago, they were prompt and helpful. I don't think I'll return; the price I paid isn't compelling enough to sacrifice the comforts of a more spacious, quiet hotel room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Felix

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
DaveHotelGuest
Business
NYC, New York
May 14, 2012

mediocre at best

More expensive than similar hotels in the area and you get less for it. It's a mystery to me.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Felix

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Can't Get Enough Shopping
Business
Signal Hill, CA
Sep 24, 2013

Travel Alone; Otherwise, you and your guest will not fit in the room!

This hotel is designed for the traveling professional that only sleeps and shower's in their room and spends all of their time away from the hotel...the sink was so shallow that you can't even wash your face at night before heading to bed. 2 guests and 2 small luggage is maximum capacity!! Too noisy if you are within the first 3 floors. Only a drinking vending machine or snack vending machine per other floor but never both! Hotel bar is for a very small group. Dishes from room service outside someone's room stayed on the floor from the time we arrived one evening around 10:30 p.m. until the next morning when we checked-out at 11:00 a.m.) However, housekeeper maintaining our room was amazing. We have stayed at the Allerton Hotel and the Knickerbocker Hotel where rooms where as nice but a lot larger and quiet. Amenities were much better and guests services were outstanding.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

If you like to sleep in a tiny room but have access to lots of shopping (where you will have to ship all of your purchases) then Hotel Felix is your place!

Review of Hotel Felix

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
ChrisJ23
Business
Chicago
Dec 29, 2013

Decent value, but...

Got a good discount, so that helps, but rooms are tiny. Surly bartender put a damper on our stay. Housekeeping, engineer, front door staff were great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Felix

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Huron, Oh
Jul 18, 2009

Felix, Chicago

This was our first stay at this hotel and the location was good. However, the room was too small and the room service was not good at all. However, the bellman/doorman were very helpful and friendly, kudos to them.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Felix

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Tavilal
Business
New York City
Aug 26, 2014

would not return

when I booked the trip originally, the default was a single bed - I was unable to reserve a double room, double bed on the site. I telephone the hotel directly several weeks in advance of my trip to change the room specifics - I spoke to the reservations desk and was told that my reservation was changed, no problem. Imagine my upset when I got to the hotel only to have a single full size bed, no vacancies and no willingness on their part to accommodate me (and my sister that I was traveling with) in any way - they just kept telling me that the reservations people were at a separate location, it was not their problem, etc. and they were not willing to do anything to accommodate me in any way.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Felix

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MNGirl1987
Business
St Paul
Mar 31, 2014

Hotel Felix

The hotel was located perfectly in Chicago. Close to many sights, buses, and subway lines. The room was on the small side, but the staff and the cleanliness of the rooms made up for that.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Felix

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Paul & Penny
Business
Washington, NC
Oct 1, 2009

Execellent hotel for location and price

Excellent hotel for location and price. Room was small, but expected considering price. Hotel was spotless; friendly staff. Would recommend and would use again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Five short blocks to Michigan Avenue shopping. Four blocks to subway.

Review of Hotel Felix

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Alan Tourist
Business
Colorado
Jul 26, 2012

very good location

about 1 mile walking distance to great city spots or ride a water taxi, if you want to have a greater experience

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Felix

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Lawbuk
Business
Minnesota
May 30, 2013

Excellent

Perfect location, u can take a walk to the town or hop on or off on tour buses. nice customer care, clean rooms and excellent services

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

If u r in town for some 3 days, pay hop on/off buses so that u can use them for 3 days from moving to points of your interest. Otherwise you can walk of the weather permits

Back to menu Return to top