Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 7, 2015 Check-out: Apr 8, 2015

Homewood Suites Chicago Downtown

3 stars
View map of 40 East Grand Avenue, Chicago, IL 60611

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Homewood Suites Chicago Downtown

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
115 out of 115
Amenities:
4.4
Cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.7
Comfort:
4.6
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.6

98% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Homewood Suites Chicago Downtown

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Eagan, MN
Jul 21, 2009

Fantastic family vacation

We had an amazing vacation in Chicago! The staff were incredibly friendly, helpful and knowledgeable! The suite was perfect with a great view. We were pleasantly surprised. Our kids had tons of fun in the pool. The location was great for us. We went to museums and other sight-seeing. An added feature was breakfast in the morning and a reception in the evening. Perfect for a family or business traveler! My daughter said, "Mommy, you should have brought the pancake mix." She had looked through the cabinets and found a griddle and spatula. We will definitely stay here again! Maybe I will even bring the pancake mix next time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Homewood Suites Chicago Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
St. Louis, MO
Jul 20, 2009

Little Vacation

We had a great experience at Homewood Suites. Friendly staff, very good location, etc. Great price through Orbitz. We were able to check in early. We extended our stay while we were there and the Hotel gave us the discounted price that we payed through Orbitz! We accidently left some clothes behind and the hotel is shipping them to us! Overal Great experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Homewood Suites Chicago Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Higaloha
Business
Elgin, IL
Jul 18, 2009

Great Service, Decent Room

Overall, the staff was very friendly and helpful. They seemed very cheerful, especially downstairs. There would only be two complaints I have. One being that there are only two elevators to take you upstairs. The lobby is located on the 6th floor so everyone checking in at 4, means that those elevators are super busy, and there aren't any stairs to take you up. It's not that bad after checking in, but that part is just a hassle. The only other complaint I would have is the showers, the shower we had was no tub of any kind, it was sort of like gym locker showers. Except, the floor didn't curve in, so when showering, the whole floor got soaked in the bathroom. The rest of the room was great though, decent sized, nice kitchen, provide silverware, etc. It's good for a short stay, the breakfast is decent just a little small. Good for the price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

If you're looking for cheap fast food, you're best bet is going to be to head away from magnificent mile. Either head the opposite way about two blocks and there is a portillos which is really good, or head towards magnificent mile, pass it, and you'll run into many small restaurants that won't be as expensive. Try to go to dinner before 5 or after 7 because the lines can get long places.

Review of Homewood Suites Chicago Downtown

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
CBTraveler
Business
Palm Beach, FL
Jul 15, 2009

Definitely worth returning to

We were in Chicago for a week. Our location was the perfect hub to enjoy the park for Taste of Chicago, the pier for 4th of July fireworks, the "el" to take us to a Cubs game, walking distance to museums and easy walking to shopping. The work-out room is modest, but guests are free to use the gym right next door. Breakfast offered a nice variety and [...] (our hostess) was a charmer. We were pleasantly surprised to see cocktails at dinner. With two teenage boys who wanted to sleep until noon, the housekeeping staff was very attentive to giving us what we needed without disturbing our 'sleeping beauties'. Our room was spacious enough to accomodate us all. We even cooked steaks in our room one night and had no trouble maneuvering. Elevators were fast enough considering there are only two of them. There's an ATM on site and a small convenience store. Cabs were always available at the front door. I couldn't ask for anything more.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Don't be afraid to take the "el" to Wrigley (if you can get a ticket). The entrance is a half block from your hotel. And do go early to eat at one of the many restaurants that surround the stadium.

Review of Homewood Suites Chicago Downtown

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Laguna Hills, CA
Jul 14, 2009

Great location!

The hot breakfast buffet and light dinner & drinks in the evening really make this a great value. The location is ideal; easy walk to Milennium Park, Michigan Ave, Navy Pier, from the hotel. Having a separate kitchen/living room is a bonus compared to typical hotel rooms.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Short walk to Red Line stop, where you can catch train to Wrigley Field! Also, fun and inexpensive place for dinner is "Regal Beagle" a block away (on Grand and St Clair) where they play reruns of "Three's Company" on several TV screens within the restaurant, reminiscient of the bar where Jack, Chrissy, Janet, used to hang out.

Review of Homewood Suites Chicago Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
luvtutravel
Business
chicago
Jul 13, 2009

excellent rooms and amenities

No hang ups! smooth transaction. exceptional service and staff. we loved the California King size bed and the extra living room space. kitchen was a +. Take advantage of the breakfast buffet definately above average all the way around. we'll be back! Only drawback is a check in time of 3pm.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Homewood Suites Chicago Downtown

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Euclid, Ohio
Jul 13, 2009

Homewood Suites Chicago Downtown

The staff were wonderful. I mistakenly made the resevation for one week later and they accommodated us anyway. Even though we had to be in a smoking room, it was as clean as it could be and quiet.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Homewood Suites Chicago Downtown

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Michigan
Jul 13, 2009

"Great Get-a-way!!!!!!!!!!!"

Great!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Homewood Suites Chicago Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Granger, IN
Jul 12, 2009

Not too bad

With two elevators and all hotel rooms starting above sixth floor be prepared for a long wait if there is a lot of guests. Very efficient air conditioning makes for windy condition in rooms. 20 minutes walk to Navy Pier, nice restaurants in 15 minutes walk radius, shopping nearby. Parking offered by hotel is pricey, lots of parkings in the area some of them with in/out privilege and cheaper...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Trolleys provide a lot of local information and take you from one place of interest to another. The problem is it gets boring soon. If you just need transportation get bus map and ticket. Using your car in downtown Chicago is very stressful unless you know it well.

Review of Homewood Suites Chicago Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Atlantic hoppers
Business
London
Jul 7, 2009

Ideal for families

We spent three nights in Chicago on our way from London to Santa Fe to visit our son. We loved Chicago, so decided to stay on our way back too. This hotel was cheaper than our first one, and we liked it much better although not so 'posh'. We bought a travel card and visited the Hancock Tower, the Art Institute and Navy Pier, also the millenium park, all of which were within easy reach. Would definitely recommend it for families as the kitchen and the breakfast and evening meal are ideal for people on a budget.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top