Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 4, 2015 Check-out: Jan 6, 2015

Homewood Suites Chicago Downtown

3 stars
40 East Grand Avenue, Chicago, IL 60611
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.4
out of 5
112 reviews
excellent

The hotel is very clean! The staff was helpful and patient with all of our questions. The location... See full review

  • td and cl
  • Sep 16, 2014
Perfect location to the beautiful magnificent miles.

This hotel is in the quiet location but steps away fr Michigan ave; across the street from the back... See full review

  • Lanie R
  • Jul 5, 2014
Home sweet Homewood

A hot breakfast. Free Wi-Fi throughout the space. Gathering with others over wine, beer and soda. These daily conveniences might be missed while on vacation, but are customary amenities at Homewood Suites Chicago Downtown. Within walking distance of the Magnificent Mile and downtown Chicago restaurants, bars and shops, the River North Hilton property prides itself on the extras--regardless of whether the trip is for business or leisure.

Highlights
  • Complimentary daily hot breakfast buffet
  • Complimentary Wi-Fi throughout the hotel
  • Free nightly reception with meal, beer, wine and soda
  • Free grocery shopping service
  • King suites with full kitchens
Rooms

If these weren't hotel rooms, they might pass as city condos. Each space boasts two rooms and a full kitchen that includes a two-burner stove, microwave, dishwasher and refrigerator--ideal for a family looking to save money on dining expenses or an executive on an business trip. A wall separates the living, dining and sleeping quarters to provide maximum comfort.

A palette of amber, brown and burgundy warms rooms, while several wall hangings add local flavor with images of Chicago landmarks. Guests sleep on the signature, plush Homewood Sweet Dreams mattress. LCD TV, two phone lines with voicemail and complimentary local calls are standard amenities.

Features

Homewood Suites Chicago Downtown provides a laundry list of bonuses that come at no extra cost to visitors. Expect a daily hot breakfast buffet, Wi-Fi throughout the space, a nightly reception with meal, beer, wine and soda, free coffee, tea or hot cider in the lobby all day, a grocery shopping service and a business center.

During downtime, guests head to the indoor pool and cardio center, which are blessed with panoramic views of the Chicago skyline.

Transportation
  • O'Hare International Airport (16 miles)
  • Midway Airport (11 miles)
  • Closest train stops: Blue Line (Clark/Lake to O'Hare) and Orange Line (State/Lake to Midway)
  • McCormick Place Convention Center (11 minutes)
Attractions
  • Magnificent Mile
  • Museum of Contemporary Art
  • Navy Pier
  • John Hancock Center
  • Tribune Tower
  • Wrigley Building
  • Civic Opera House
Business
  • More than 3,000 square feet of meeting space
  • Free Wi-Fi throughout the hotel
  • Business center with computer and printer

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Pool
General
Pet friendly
Activities
Pool
Exercise gym
Dining
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Wheel chair access

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Homewood Suites Chicago Downtown also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

Hotel Map

41.8921 -87.626
Nearby airports
O`Hare Intl Airport, (ORD), 18.00, MI, SE; Chicago Midway Airport, (MDW), 15.00, MI, NW;

Nearby points of interest

  • Chicago - Mag Mile - Wacker Dr: 0.1 mi
  • North Michigan Avenue: 0.1 mi
  • Tribune Tower: 0.2 mi
  • Terra Museum of American Art: 0.2 mi
  • Wrigley Building: 0.2 mi
  • Museum of Broadcast Communications: 0.2 mi
  • Holy Name Cathedral: 0.3 mi
  • Marina City: 0.3 mi
  • Seneca Park: 0.4 mi
  • Harold Washington College: 0.4 mi
  • Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.4 mi
  • Drury Lane Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Chicago Theater: 0.5 mi
  • Prudential Plaza: 0.5 mi
  • John Hancock Center: 0.5 mi
  • Chicago - Mag Mile - Wacker Dr: 0.1 mi
  • North Michigan Avenue: 0.1 mi
  • Tribune Tower: 0.2 mi
  • Terra Museum of American Art: 0.2 mi
  • Wrigley Building: 0.2 mi
  • Museum of Broadcast Communications: 0.2 mi
  • Holy Name Cathedral: 0.3 mi
  • Marina City: 0.3 mi
  • Seneca Park: 0.4 mi
  • Harold Washington College: 0.4 mi
  • Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.4 mi
  • Drury Lane Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Chicago Theater: 0.5 mi
  • Prudential Plaza: 0.5 mi
  • John Hancock Center: 0.5 mi
  • Lake Shore Park: 0.5 mi
  • Water Tower: 0.5 mi
  • Goodman Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Oriental Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Washington Square Park: 0.5 mi
  • Merchandise Mart: 0.5 mi
  • Chicago Cultural Center: 0.6 mi
  • Macys: 0.6 mi
  • Harris Theater: 0.6 mi
  • City Hall: 0.6 mi
  • Shubert Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Cadillac Palace Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Pritzker Pavilion: 0.7 mi
  • Cloud Gate: 0.7 mi
  • State Street: 0.7 mi
  • Lake Point Tower: 0.7 mi
  • Crown Fountain: 0.7 mi
  • Oak Street Beach: 0.8 mi
  • Bank of America Theatre: 0.8 mi
  • Michigan Avenue: 0.8 mi
  • Chicago Historical Society: 0.8 mi
  • Art Institute of Chicago: 0.9 mi
  • Children Museum: 0.9 mi
  • Opera House: 0.9 mi
  • Symphony Center: 0.9 mi
  • Chicago Architecture Foundation: 0.9 mi
  • Yacht Club: 0.9 mi
  • Chicago Mercantile Exchange: 1 mi
  • Navy Pier: 1 mi
  • Chicago Board of Trade: 1 mi

Dining

Restaurant
onsite

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (112)

Ratings and reviews for Homewood Suites Chicago Downtown

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
112 out of 112
Amenities:
4.3
Room cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.7
Room comfort:
4.6
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.6

98% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Homewood Suites Chicago Downtown

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
CBTraveler
Business
Palm Beach, FL
Jul 15, 2009

Definitely worth returning to

We were in Chicago for a week. Our location was the perfect hub to enjoy the park for Taste of Chicago, the pier for 4th of July fireworks, the "el" to take us to a Cubs game, walking distance to museums and easy walking to shopping. The work-out room is modest, but guests are free to use the gym right next door. Breakfast offered a nice variety and [...] (our hostess) was a charmer. We were pleasantly surprised to see cocktails at dinner. With two teenage boys who wanted to sleep until noon, the housekeeping staff was very attentive to giving us what we needed without disturbing our 'sleeping beauties'. Our room was spacious enough to accomodate us all. We even cooked steaks in our room one night and had no trouble maneuvering. Elevators were fast enough considering there are only two of them. There's an ATM on site and a small convenience store. Cabs were always available at the front door. I couldn't ask for anything more.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Don't be afraid to take the "el" to Wrigley (if you can get a ticket). The entrance is a half block from your hotel. And do go early to eat at one of the many restaurants that surround the stadium.

Review of Homewood Suites Chicago Downtown

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Laguna Hills, CA
Jul 14, 2009

Great location!

The hot breakfast buffet and light dinner & drinks in the evening really make this a great value. The location is ideal; easy walk to Milennium Park, Michigan Ave, Navy Pier, from the hotel. Having a separate kitchen/living room is a bonus compared to typical hotel rooms.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Short walk to Red Line stop, where you can catch train to Wrigley Field! Also, fun and inexpensive place for dinner is "Regal Beagle" a block away (on Grand and St Clair) where they play reruns of "Three's Company" on several TV screens within the restaurant, reminiscient of the bar where Jack, Chrissy, Janet, used to hang out.

Review of Homewood Suites Chicago Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
luvtutravel
Business
chicago
Jul 13, 2009

excellent rooms and amenities

No hang ups! smooth transaction. exceptional service and staff. we loved the California King size bed and the extra living room space. kitchen was a +. Take advantage of the breakfast buffet definately above average all the way around. we'll be back! Only drawback is a check in time of 3pm.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Homewood Suites Chicago Downtown

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Euclid, Ohio
Jul 13, 2009

Homewood Suites Chicago Downtown

The staff were wonderful. I mistakenly made the resevation for one week later and they accommodated us anyway. Even though we had to be in a smoking room, it was as clean as it could be and quiet.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Homewood Suites Chicago Downtown

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Michigan
Jul 13, 2009

"Great Get-a-way!!!!!!!!!!!"

Great!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Homewood Suites Chicago Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Granger, IN
Jul 12, 2009

Not too bad

With two elevators and all hotel rooms starting above sixth floor be prepared for a long wait if there is a lot of guests. Very efficient air conditioning makes for windy condition in rooms. 20 minutes walk to Navy Pier, nice restaurants in 15 minutes walk radius, shopping nearby. Parking offered by hotel is pricey, lots of parkings in the area some of them with in/out privilege and cheaper...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Trolleys provide a lot of local information and take you from one place of interest to another. The problem is it gets boring soon. If you just need transportation get bus map and ticket. Using your car in downtown Chicago is very stressful unless you know it well.

Review of Homewood Suites Chicago Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Atlantic hoppers
Business
London
Jul 7, 2009

Ideal for families

We spent three nights in Chicago on our way from London to Santa Fe to visit our son. We loved Chicago, so decided to stay on our way back too. This hotel was cheaper than our first one, and we liked it much better although not so 'posh'. We bought a travel card and visited the Hancock Tower, the Art Institute and Navy Pier, also the millenium park, all of which were within easy reach. Would definitely recommend it for families as the kitchen and the breakfast and evening meal are ideal for people on a budget.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Homewood Suites Chicago Downtown

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
singer
Business
Iowa City Ia
Jul 5, 2009

Excellent downtown accomodations!!!

The hotel was clean and the staff very friendly and helpful. The parking was a little expensive, but you had a valet to bring your car to you and you come and go as much as you wanted.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Homewood Suites Chicago Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago
Jul 2, 2009

Ideally located for downtown sightseeing

Was here for a wedding, but also did some centralized downtown sightseeing while my family and I were there. The hotel staff are very friendly, know the area very well, are very good with sightseeing suggestions, and the rooms are very clean, quiet, and very tastefully decorated with restful themes and colors. I used to be a travel agent for many years and have learned to be quite picky about where I stay. For the value, and the excellent rooms and friendly staff, I would gladly recommend this to any family, business traveller, or leisure vacationing clients. It is within walking distance to many sightseeing locations, or if needed, a taxi cab ride, is easily available.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Be sure that you are located in a safe and well light area, and feel comfortable with the hotel. Look at the amenties offered with the hotel, and this many times will give you a hint of what to expect.

Review of Homewood Suites Chicago Downtown

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
mandoman
Business
United Kingdom
Jun 30, 2009

Always a pleasure

We always stay at Homewod when we visit Chicago, usually twice a year. Great location, yards from Michigan Avenue, CTA and choice of restaurants. Staff always courteous and obliging.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Dont take an expensive cab or bus ride. Hop on the blue line CTA, change at Jackson for Red Line and a few stops to Grand and literally a few steps to the hotel,

Back to menu Return to top