Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 27, 2015 Check-out: May 28, 2015

Homewood Suites Chicago Downtown

3 stars
View map of 40 East Grand Avenue, Chicago, IL 60611

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Homewood Suites Chicago Downtown

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
122 out of 122
Amenities:
4.4
Cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.7
Comfort:
4.6
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.6

98% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Homewood Suites Chicago Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Appleton, WI
Aug 12, 2009

Mostly Good, Except for First Day

I was attending a conference. For the most part the hotel did a good job. Firs day, however, they did not have a non-smoking room and that is a must for us. We were sent a hotel 30 blocks away and the quality of the hotel was barely satisfactory. The hotel has assured us a refund for first night and we are awaiting the refund. On the whole, the hotel offered a very good experience and courtesy. We are looking forward to receiving our first night refund.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Homewood Suites Chicago Downtown

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
kg424
Business
Chicago, IL
Aug 6, 2009

Perfect location! Excellent Service!

This hotel is worth every penny. Traveling with a family, I needed to find a location central to the things we would want to see and do downtown. This hotel fits in perfectly. It just a few blocks from Millennium Park, a short walk to Navy Pier and only a $10 cab fare to the Museums. Michigan avenue (Magnificent Mile) is just on block away! The parking rate is high, but not much more than surface lots surrounding the hotel. At least it has in-out privileges. The breakfast buffet and the Welcome Home dinners provide an opportunity to save on meals and the food is quite good and has many choices. The pool, although indoors, was really cold. Even my children thought so and wanted to leave. The pool is really the only true negative thing to say about this hotel as the staff, rooms, and proximity, well make up for anything lacking in amenities.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

If not traveling with a family, you can save a load on parking as the train station is only one block from the hotel. At more than forty dollars per day it adds up quickly.

Review of Homewood Suites Chicago Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Kentucky
Aug 3, 2009

overall good value and location

Great location to Magnificent Mile (which is important when you are shopping and need to run your goodies back to the hotel instead of lugging them around with you all day) and plenty of restaurants! Close to so many attractions. The staff was very helpful!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Homewood Suites Chicago Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Muncie, IN
Aug 2, 2009

perfect location

It was wonderful and the location was excellent

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Homewood Suites Chicago Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Lexi's Rad Mom
Business
Detroit, MI
Jul 26, 2009

Great location, well worth it

Couldn't ask for a better location. Traveling with a toddler is tough, but with the free shuttle to Navy Pier right outside the door, things were a little easier. Great family friendly restaurants were right around the corner (Pizzeria Uno & Due, Su Casa). Front desk staff went out of their way to get us a crib that had a decent mattress (no pack n play for our gal) and the bellhops/valets were awesome. Very friendly and helpful! Would absolutely go back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

If you're going to Chicago with a young child, Millenium Park is a short walk. The fountain is fabulous on a hot day and provides tons of fun photo opps!

Review of Homewood Suites Chicago Downtown

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Eagan, MN
Jul 21, 2009

Fantastic family vacation

We had an amazing vacation in Chicago! The staff were incredibly friendly, helpful and knowledgeable! The suite was perfect with a great view. We were pleasantly surprised. Our kids had tons of fun in the pool. The location was great for us. We went to museums and other sight-seeing. An added feature was breakfast in the morning and a reception in the evening. Perfect for a family or business traveler! My daughter said, "Mommy, you should have brought the pancake mix." She had looked through the cabinets and found a griddle and spatula. We will definitely stay here again! Maybe I will even bring the pancake mix next time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Homewood Suites Chicago Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
St. Louis, MO
Jul 20, 2009

Little Vacation

We had a great experience at Homewood Suites. Friendly staff, very good location, etc. Great price through Orbitz. We were able to check in early. We extended our stay while we were there and the Hotel gave us the discounted price that we payed through Orbitz! We accidently left some clothes behind and the hotel is shipping them to us! Overal Great experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Homewood Suites Chicago Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Higaloha
Business
Elgin, IL
Jul 18, 2009

Great Service, Decent Room

Overall, the staff was very friendly and helpful. They seemed very cheerful, especially downstairs. There would only be two complaints I have. One being that there are only two elevators to take you upstairs. The lobby is located on the 6th floor so everyone checking in at 4, means that those elevators are super busy, and there aren't any stairs to take you up. It's not that bad after checking in, but that part is just a hassle. The only other complaint I would have is the showers, the shower we had was no tub of any kind, it was sort of like gym locker showers. Except, the floor didn't curve in, so when showering, the whole floor got soaked in the bathroom. The rest of the room was great though, decent sized, nice kitchen, provide silverware, etc. It's good for a short stay, the breakfast is decent just a little small. Good for the price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

If you're looking for cheap fast food, you're best bet is going to be to head away from magnificent mile. Either head the opposite way about two blocks and there is a portillos which is really good, or head towards magnificent mile, pass it, and you'll run into many small restaurants that won't be as expensive. Try to go to dinner before 5 or after 7 because the lines can get long places.

Review of Homewood Suites Chicago Downtown

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
CBTraveler
Business
Palm Beach, FL
Jul 15, 2009

Definitely worth returning to

We were in Chicago for a week. Our location was the perfect hub to enjoy the park for Taste of Chicago, the pier for 4th of July fireworks, the "el" to take us to a Cubs game, walking distance to museums and easy walking to shopping. The work-out room is modest, but guests are free to use the gym right next door. Breakfast offered a nice variety and [...] (our hostess) was a charmer. We were pleasantly surprised to see cocktails at dinner. With two teenage boys who wanted to sleep until noon, the housekeeping staff was very attentive to giving us what we needed without disturbing our 'sleeping beauties'. Our room was spacious enough to accomodate us all. We even cooked steaks in our room one night and had no trouble maneuvering. Elevators were fast enough considering there are only two of them. There's an ATM on site and a small convenience store. Cabs were always available at the front door. I couldn't ask for anything more.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Don't be afraid to take the "el" to Wrigley (if you can get a ticket). The entrance is a half block from your hotel. And do go early to eat at one of the many restaurants that surround the stadium.

Review of Homewood Suites Chicago Downtown

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Laguna Hills, CA
Jul 14, 2009

Great location!

The hot breakfast buffet and light dinner & drinks in the evening really make this a great value. The location is ideal; easy walk to Milennium Park, Michigan Ave, Navy Pier, from the hotel. Having a separate kitchen/living room is a bonus compared to typical hotel rooms.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Short walk to Red Line stop, where you can catch train to Wrigley Field! Also, fun and inexpensive place for dinner is "Regal Beagle" a block away (on Grand and St Clair) where they play reruns of "Three's Company" on several TV screens within the restaurant, reminiscient of the bar where Jack, Chrissy, Janet, used to hang out.

Back to menu Return to top