Rate based on Check-in: Aug 21, 2014 Check-out: Aug 23, 2014

Homewood Suites Chicago Downtown

3 stars
40 East Grand Avenue, Chicago, IL 60611
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.4
out of 5
195 reviews
Perfect location to the beautiful magnificent miles.

This hotel is in the quiet location but steps away fr Michigan ave; across the street from the back... See full review

  • Lanie R
  • Jul 5, 2014
professsional conference

great locattion, courteous staff, convenient restaurant. See full review

  • Sunsnoozer
  • Jun 29, 2014
Home sweet Homewood

A hot breakfast. Free Wi-Fi throughout the space. Gathering with others over wine, beer and soda. These daily conveniences might be missed while on vacation, but are customary amenities at Homewood Suites Chicago Downtown. Within walking distance of the Magnificent Mile and downtown Chicago restaurants, bars and shops, the River North Hilton property prides itself on the extras--regardless of whether the trip is for business or leisure.

Highlights
  • Complimentary daily hot breakfast buffet
  • Complimentary Wi-Fi throughout the hotel
  • Free nightly reception with meal, beer, wine and soda
  • Free grocery shopping service
  • King suites with full kitchens
Rooms

If these weren't hotel rooms, they might pass as city condos. Each space boasts two rooms and a full kitchen that includes a two-burner stove, microwave, dishwasher and refrigerator--ideal for a family looking to save money on dining expenses or an executive on an business trip. A wall separates the living, dining and sleeping quarters to provide maximum comfort.

A palette of amber, brown and burgundy warms rooms, while several wall hangings add local flavor with images of Chicago landmarks. Guests sleep on the signature, plush Homewood Sweet Dreams mattress. LCD TV, two phone lines with voicemail and complimentary local calls are standard amenities.

Features

Homewood Suites Chicago Downtown provides a laundry list of bonuses that come at no extra cost to visitors. Expect a daily hot breakfast buffet, Wi-Fi throughout the space, a nightly reception with meal, beer, wine and soda, free coffee, tea or hot cider in the lobby all day, a grocery shopping service and a business center.

During downtime, guests head to the indoor pool and cardio center, which are blessed with panoramic views of the Chicago skyline.

Transportation
  • O'Hare International Airport (16 miles)
  • Midway Airport (11 miles)
  • Closest train stops: Blue Line (Clark/Lake to O'Hare) and Orange Line (State/Lake to Midway)
  • McCormick Place Convention Center (11 minutes)
Attractions
  • Magnificent Mile
  • Museum of Contemporary Art
  • Navy Pier
  • John Hancock Center
  • Tribune Tower
  • Wrigley Building
  • Civic Opera House
Business
  • More than 3,000 square feet of meeting space
  • Free Wi-Fi throughout the hotel
  • Business center with computer and printer

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Pool
General
Pet friendly
Activities
Pool
Exercise gym
Dining
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Wheel chair access

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Homewood Suites Chicago Downtown also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

Hotel Map

41.8921 -87.626
Nearby airports
O`Hare Intl Airport, (ORD), 18.00, MI, SE; Chicago Midway Airport, (MDW), 15.00, MI, NW;

Nearby points of interest

  • Chicago - Mag Mile - Wacker Dr: 0.1 mi
  • North Michigan Avenue: 0.1 mi
  • Tribune Tower: 0.2 mi
  • Terra Museum of American Art: 0.2 mi
  • Wrigley Building: 0.2 mi
  • Museum of Broadcast Communications: 0.2 mi
  • Holy Name Cathedral: 0.3 mi
  • Marina City: 0.3 mi
  • Seneca Park: 0.4 mi
  • Harold Washington College: 0.4 mi
  • Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.4 mi
  • Drury Lane Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Chicago Theater: 0.5 mi
  • Prudential Plaza: 0.5 mi
  • John Hancock Center: 0.5 mi
  • Chicago - Mag Mile - Wacker Dr: 0.1 mi
  • North Michigan Avenue: 0.1 mi
  • Tribune Tower: 0.2 mi
  • Terra Museum of American Art: 0.2 mi
  • Wrigley Building: 0.2 mi
  • Museum of Broadcast Communications: 0.2 mi
  • Holy Name Cathedral: 0.3 mi
  • Marina City: 0.3 mi
  • Seneca Park: 0.4 mi
  • Harold Washington College: 0.4 mi
  • Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.4 mi
  • Drury Lane Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Chicago Theater: 0.5 mi
  • Prudential Plaza: 0.5 mi
  • John Hancock Center: 0.5 mi
  • Lake Shore Park: 0.5 mi
  • Water Tower: 0.5 mi
  • Goodman Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Oriental Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Washington Square Park: 0.5 mi
  • Merchandise Mart: 0.5 mi
  • Chicago Cultural Center: 0.6 mi
  • Macys: 0.6 mi
  • Harris Theater: 0.6 mi
  • City Hall: 0.6 mi
  • Shubert Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Cadillac Palace Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Pritzker Pavilion: 0.7 mi
  • Cloud Gate: 0.7 mi
  • State Street: 0.7 mi
  • Lake Point Tower: 0.7 mi
  • Crown Fountain: 0.7 mi
  • Oak Street Beach: 0.8 mi
  • Bank of America Theatre: 0.8 mi
  • Michigan Avenue: 0.8 mi
  • Chicago Historical Society: 0.8 mi
  • Art Institute of Chicago: 0.9 mi
  • Children Museum: 0.9 mi
  • Opera House: 0.9 mi
  • Symphony Center: 0.9 mi
  • Chicago Architecture Foundation: 0.9 mi
  • Yacht Club: 0.9 mi
  • Chicago Mercantile Exchange: 1 mi
  • Navy Pier: 1 mi
  • Chicago Board of Trade: 1 mi

Dining

Restaurant
onsite

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (195)

Ratings and reviews for Homewood Suites Chicago Downtown

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
195 out of 195
Amenities:
4.4
Room cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.7
Room comfort:
4.6
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.6

98% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Homewood Suites Chicago Downtown

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
columbus, ohio
Nov 29, 2009

convenient to shopping

all in all, no problems. Was very busy and stressed morning breakfast. but was okay. Very convenient to the El.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Homewood Suites Chicago Downtown

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
columbus, ohio
Nov 29, 2009

convenient to shopping

all in all, no problems. Was very busy and stressed morning breakfast. but was okay. Very convenient to the El.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Homewood Suites Chicago Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Illinois
Nov 9, 2009

Nice and Convenient

We had tickets to see a show, and Homewood was recommened by some friends. It was easy to get to from the interstate and a short walk to the theater. Walking back after 11:00 pm was safe. The staff was helpful pointing out plenty of good places to eat very near the hotel. We spent the next day shopping on Michigan avenue, also a very short walk away. I was worried when we got the room closest to the elevator, but we didn't hear anyone the whole time we were in our room. Room was great, with a full kitchen, living area, and a separate bedroom.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Three days including a show, shopping, and a visit to the park without needing any car, cab, or transportation other than shoes.

Review of Homewood Suites Chicago Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Illinois
Nov 9, 2009

Nice and Convenient

We had tickets to see a show, and Homewood was recommened by some friends. It was easy to get to from the interstate and a short walk to the theater. Walking back after 11:00 pm was safe. The staff was helpful pointing out plenty of good places to eat very near the hotel. We spent the next day shopping on Michigan avenue, also a very short walk away. I was worried when we got the room closest to the elevator, but we didn't hear anyone the whole time we were in our room. Room was great, with a full kitchen, living area, and a separate bedroom.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Three days including a show, shopping, and a visit to the park without needing any car, cab, or transportation other than shoes.

Review of Homewood Suites Chicago Downtown

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
TravellinFeet
Los Angeles, Ca
Oct 30, 2009

Will be Back

Dining room staff were the best; breakfast items were always replenished no matter what time you came down; you were greeted each morning by lovely [...] (if my memory serves me)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Homewood Suites Chicago Downtown

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
TravellinFeet
Los Angeles, Ca
Oct 30, 2009

Will be Back

Dining room staff were the best; breakfast items were always replenished no matter what time you came down; you were greeted each morning by lovely [...] (if my memory serves me)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Homewood Suites Chicago Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Springfield Illinois
Oct 12, 2009

Shoppers perfect location

The hotel was in the middle of everything. The service was great, breakfast was great. Mon - Thurs there is a managers welcome dinner at no cost, also delicious. Beer and wine included. I would suggest that you ask for the highest floor you can get. We were on the 7th and you can hear the noise from the street. Taxi drivers in Chicago have no problem honking and honking and honking. Also, the firetrucks are always on the go. But overall Homewood Suites is a great hotel in the middle of everything at a great price. There is a Jewel/Osco a block or two away, convenient if you want to eat at the hotel since you have a kitchenette. If you are used to plush hotels, this is not it, but it is clean, comfortable, and efficient. The staff is great, friendly. What we expected out of Chicago residents was unfriendly and cold, what we found was just the opposite. People seen us looking at maps on the street, and stopped to help us. We noticed most everyone working were smiling and laughing. I would stay at Homewood Suites next time. See, I'm already planning a next time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Homewood Suites Chicago Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Springfield Illinois
Oct 12, 2009

Shoppers perfect location

The hotel was in the middle of everything. The service was great, breakfast was great. Mon - Thurs there is a managers welcome dinner at no cost, also delicious. Beer and wine included. I would suggest that you ask for the highest floor you can get. We were on the 7th and you can hear the noise from the street. Taxi drivers in Chicago have no problem honking and honking and honking. Also, the firetrucks are always on the go. But overall Homewood Suites is a great hotel in the middle of everything at a great price. There is a Jewel/Osco a block or two away, convenient if you want to eat at the hotel since you have a kitchenette. If you are used to plush hotels, this is not it, but it is clean, comfortable, and efficient. The staff is great, friendly. What we expected out of Chicago residents was unfriendly and cold, what we found was just the opposite. People seen us looking at maps on the street, and stopped to help us. We noticed most everyone working were smiling and laughing. I would stay at Homewood Suites next time. See, I'm already planning a next time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Homewood Suites Chicago Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Boston, Ma
Oct 6, 2009

Convenient location makes great stay

Hotel had an excellent location.Easy access to shopping and trains. The breakfasts were excellent-great idea! We basically saw all the the top ten attractions and more ( a free music concert) and did all of it on foot. The rooms were clean and the staff very friendly and helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
1
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Nordstroms right across the street was a big hit for my wife.

Review of Homewood Suites Chicago Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Boston, Ma
Oct 6, 2009

Convenient location makes great stay

Hotel had an excellent location.Easy access to shopping and trains. The breakfasts were excellent-great idea! We basically saw all the the top ten attractions and more ( a free music concert) and did all of it on foot. The rooms were clean and the staff very friendly and helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
1
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Nordstroms right across the street was a big hit for my wife.

Back to menu Return to top