Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 19, 2015 Check-out: Apr 20, 2015

Homewood Suites Chicago Downtown

3 stars
View map of 40 East Grand Avenue, Chicago, IL 60611

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Homewood Suites Chicago Downtown

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
115 out of 115
Amenities:
4.4
Cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.7
Comfort:
4.6
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.6

98% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Homewood Suites Chicago Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Ohio
Aug 25, 2009

Good value

No real complaints about our stay. Kind of a no frills hotel. There's no real lobby or bar to hang out in, but the rooms were comfortable and clean. The pool was nice and the location was fantastic. We also had a great view (partial view of the river included) from our room on the 19th floor. The staff was friendly and helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Really enjoyed the Weber Grill and would recommend to anyone.

Review of Homewood Suites Chicago Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Ann Arbor, MI
Aug 25, 2009

Great location

We were able to check in early. Room did not have much of a view, but was quiet and the location of the hotel is great. Full breakfast in morning, including to-go containers. We grabbed items from the breakfast, and toasted bagels in our suite, and used the microwave to heat up the rest. On the downside, only one bedside table with lamp, not enough room on the other side of the bed. Also, sink is outside the bathroom so if one person is sleeping, another person has to be quiet while getting ready in morning/at night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

There is a Jewel/Osco grocery story two blocks west. Very convenient for stocking your fridge, and for buying transit passes.

Review of Homewood Suites Chicago Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Vermont
Aug 24, 2009

Homwood Suites

Great Place!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Homewood Suites Chicago Downtown

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Susie the traveler
Business
Spring Hill, Florida
Aug 24, 2009

Fantastic Location a very nice place

The L was only a block away which was great. We rode the L from the airport. We bought a three day pass to ride the L,saved a lot of money. Very clean place.Rooms were "Very" pleasant. It had a video game in the room,two TV's, grab rails in the shower/tub, carpet and beds very clean. Waiters were attentive.The complementary breakfast was wonderful. Had eggs,breakfast meat, cereals, bagels, fruit, etc. Maids cleaned your romm and didn't even know they were there. Every night before going to bed, we'd open the curtians, Wow what a light display. It was beauitful. Front desk was great checking in and all through the stay..

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Be sure to take the Mercy boat tour. It's down by the river. You are able to get your tickets there. Boat rode you via waterway out into Lake Michigan through the locks, to the pier. Coming back, back though the locks, you now are going to boat though downtown looking at all the buildings. They looked enormous. The guide narrated all though the tour. Very nice, was about 90 mins. 15 min walk to the river.

Review of Homewood Suites Chicago Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ghirardelli's fan
Business
Ottawa, Canada
Aug 19, 2009

Great location and service

My husband and I, along with our 15-year-old son stayed here and we found the hotel's location excellent: a 15-minute walk to the Navy Pier and the Oak Street Beach (with palm trees) which is lovely in the evening, especially with a stop at Ghirardelli's for a sundae on the way back. It was about the same distance to Millenium Park. Even closer (5 to 7 minutes) were: architectural boat tours and the "Untouchables" bus tour (not to be missed). There are terrific restaurants on every block near the hotel. If you want something a bit different for your teenager, try Ed Debevic's for an unusual 1950s diner experience. The staff at the hotel were terrific at giving us information and even got us a "preferred seating" card at Ed Debevic's. I also wanted to mention that the breakfasts and suppers at the hotel offered tasty food and allowed us to save money.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Not Applicable

One top quality museum - Science and Industry - is easy to get to on the train. A short walk to the area just north of Millenium Park gets you to the Metra train station. From there it is a short trip on the double-deck train to the station called 55th-56th-57th. The museum is a two-minute walk from the station. Check the schedule in advance for times. At the museum, be sure to check out the WW2 submarine. If you are going to a few museums, get the Chicago CityPass. You save money plus you can usually bypass the long entrance lines.

Review of Homewood Suites Chicago Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Appleton, WI
Aug 12, 2009

Mostly Good, Except for First Day

I was attending a conference. For the most part the hotel did a good job. Firs day, however, they did not have a non-smoking room and that is a must for us. We were sent a hotel 30 blocks away and the quality of the hotel was barely satisfactory. The hotel has assured us a refund for first night and we are awaiting the refund. On the whole, the hotel offered a very good experience and courtesy. We are looking forward to receiving our first night refund.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Homewood Suites Chicago Downtown

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
kg424
Business
Chicago, IL
Aug 6, 2009

Perfect location! Excellent Service!

This hotel is worth every penny. Traveling with a family, I needed to find a location central to the things we would want to see and do downtown. This hotel fits in perfectly. It just a few blocks from Millennium Park, a short walk to Navy Pier and only a $10 cab fare to the Museums. Michigan avenue (Magnificent Mile) is just on block away! The parking rate is high, but not much more than surface lots surrounding the hotel. At least it has in-out privileges. The breakfast buffet and the Welcome Home dinners provide an opportunity to save on meals and the food is quite good and has many choices. The pool, although indoors, was really cold. Even my children thought so and wanted to leave. The pool is really the only true negative thing to say about this hotel as the staff, rooms, and proximity, well make up for anything lacking in amenities.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

If not traveling with a family, you can save a load on parking as the train station is only one block from the hotel. At more than forty dollars per day it adds up quickly.

Review of Homewood Suites Chicago Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Kentucky
Aug 3, 2009

overall good value and location

Great location to Magnificent Mile (which is important when you are shopping and need to run your goodies back to the hotel instead of lugging them around with you all day) and plenty of restaurants! Close to so many attractions. The staff was very helpful!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Homewood Suites Chicago Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Muncie, IN
Aug 2, 2009

perfect location

It was wonderful and the location was excellent

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Homewood Suites Chicago Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Lexi's Rad Mom
Business
Detroit, MI
Jul 26, 2009

Great location, well worth it

Couldn't ask for a better location. Traveling with a toddler is tough, but with the free shuttle to Navy Pier right outside the door, things were a little easier. Great family friendly restaurants were right around the corner (Pizzeria Uno & Due, Su Casa). Front desk staff went out of their way to get us a crib that had a decent mattress (no pack n play for our gal) and the bellhops/valets were awesome. Very friendly and helpful! Would absolutely go back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

If you're going to Chicago with a young child, Millenium Park is a short walk. The fountain is fabulous on a hot day and provides tons of fun photo opps!

Back to menu Return to top