Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 25, 2014 Check-out: Aug 26, 2014

Homewood Suites Chicago Downtown

3 stars
40 East Grand Avenue, Chicago, IL 60611
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.4
out of 5
195 reviews
Perfect location to the beautiful magnificent miles.

This hotel is in the quiet location but steps away fr Michigan ave; across the street from the back... See full review

  • Lanie R
  • Jul 5, 2014
professsional conference

great locattion, courteous staff, convenient restaurant. See full review

  • Sunsnoozer
  • Jun 29, 2014
Home sweet Homewood

A hot breakfast. Free Wi-Fi throughout the space. Gathering with others over wine, beer and soda. These daily conveniences might be missed while on vacation, but are customary amenities at Homewood Suites Chicago Downtown. Within walking distance of the Magnificent Mile and downtown Chicago restaurants, bars and shops, the River North Hilton property prides itself on the extras--regardless of whether the trip is for business or leisure.

Highlights
  • Complimentary daily hot breakfast buffet
  • Complimentary Wi-Fi throughout the hotel
  • Free nightly reception with meal, beer, wine and soda
  • Free grocery shopping service
  • King suites with full kitchens
Rooms

If these weren't hotel rooms, they might pass as city condos. Each space boasts two rooms and a full kitchen that includes a two-burner stove, microwave, dishwasher and refrigerator--ideal for a family looking to save money on dining expenses or an executive on an business trip. A wall separates the living, dining and sleeping quarters to provide maximum comfort.

A palette of amber, brown and burgundy warms rooms, while several wall hangings add local flavor with images of Chicago landmarks. Guests sleep on the signature, plush Homewood Sweet Dreams mattress. LCD TV, two phone lines with voicemail and complimentary local calls are standard amenities.

Features

Homewood Suites Chicago Downtown provides a laundry list of bonuses that come at no extra cost to visitors. Expect a daily hot breakfast buffet, Wi-Fi throughout the space, a nightly reception with meal, beer, wine and soda, free coffee, tea or hot cider in the lobby all day, a grocery shopping service and a business center.

During downtime, guests head to the indoor pool and cardio center, which are blessed with panoramic views of the Chicago skyline.

Transportation
  • O'Hare International Airport (16 miles)
  • Midway Airport (11 miles)
  • Closest train stops: Blue Line (Clark/Lake to O'Hare) and Orange Line (State/Lake to Midway)
  • McCormick Place Convention Center (11 minutes)
Attractions
  • Magnificent Mile
  • Museum of Contemporary Art
  • Navy Pier
  • John Hancock Center
  • Tribune Tower
  • Wrigley Building
  • Civic Opera House
Business
  • More than 3,000 square feet of meeting space
  • Free Wi-Fi throughout the hotel
  • Business center with computer and printer

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Pool
General
Pet friendly
Activities
Pool
Exercise gym
Dining
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Wheel chair access

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Homewood Suites Chicago Downtown also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

Hotel Map

41.8921 -87.626
Nearby airports
O`Hare Intl Airport, (ORD), 18.00, MI, SE; Chicago Midway Airport, (MDW), 15.00, MI, NW;

Nearby points of interest

  • Chicago - Mag Mile - Wacker Dr: 0.1 mi
  • North Michigan Avenue: 0.1 mi
  • Tribune Tower: 0.2 mi
  • Terra Museum of American Art: 0.2 mi
  • Wrigley Building: 0.2 mi
  • Museum of Broadcast Communications: 0.2 mi
  • Holy Name Cathedral: 0.3 mi
  • Marina City: 0.3 mi
  • Seneca Park: 0.4 mi
  • Harold Washington College: 0.4 mi
  • Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.4 mi
  • Drury Lane Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Chicago Theater: 0.5 mi
  • Prudential Plaza: 0.5 mi
  • John Hancock Center: 0.5 mi
  • Chicago - Mag Mile - Wacker Dr: 0.1 mi
  • North Michigan Avenue: 0.1 mi
  • Tribune Tower: 0.2 mi
  • Terra Museum of American Art: 0.2 mi
  • Wrigley Building: 0.2 mi
  • Museum of Broadcast Communications: 0.2 mi
  • Holy Name Cathedral: 0.3 mi
  • Marina City: 0.3 mi
  • Seneca Park: 0.4 mi
  • Harold Washington College: 0.4 mi
  • Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.4 mi
  • Drury Lane Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Chicago Theater: 0.5 mi
  • Prudential Plaza: 0.5 mi
  • John Hancock Center: 0.5 mi
  • Lake Shore Park: 0.5 mi
  • Water Tower: 0.5 mi
  • Goodman Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Oriental Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Washington Square Park: 0.5 mi
  • Merchandise Mart: 0.5 mi
  • Chicago Cultural Center: 0.6 mi
  • Macys: 0.6 mi
  • Harris Theater: 0.6 mi
  • City Hall: 0.6 mi
  • Shubert Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Cadillac Palace Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Pritzker Pavilion: 0.7 mi
  • Cloud Gate: 0.7 mi
  • State Street: 0.7 mi
  • Lake Point Tower: 0.7 mi
  • Crown Fountain: 0.7 mi
  • Oak Street Beach: 0.8 mi
  • Bank of America Theatre: 0.8 mi
  • Michigan Avenue: 0.8 mi
  • Chicago Historical Society: 0.8 mi
  • Art Institute of Chicago: 0.9 mi
  • Children Museum: 0.9 mi
  • Opera House: 0.9 mi
  • Symphony Center: 0.9 mi
  • Chicago Architecture Foundation: 0.9 mi
  • Yacht Club: 0.9 mi
  • Chicago Mercantile Exchange: 1 mi
  • Navy Pier: 1 mi
  • Chicago Board of Trade: 1 mi

Dining

Restaurant
onsite

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (195)

Ratings and reviews for Homewood Suites Chicago Downtown

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
195 out of 195
Amenities:
4.4
Room cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.7
Room comfort:
4.6
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.6

98% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Homewood Suites Chicago Downtown

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Tampa, FL
Mar 15, 2010

AMAZING!

Most amazing stay ever. Went to Chicago on spring break and couldn't have been happier! The staff, hotel and location were all amazing. Free breakfast AND dinner Monday-Thursday. I would recommend this hotel to EVERYONE!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Homewood Suites Chicago Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
De Pere,WI
Feb 22, 2010

Felt so welcome and Comfortable

Stayed for a family vacation - 3 kids ages 4,7,and 9. Rooms are large, so we were all very comfortable. Staff was EXCEPTIONAL - always very friendly, willing to help, welcoming,& wonderful suggestions. Hot breakfast in the mornings were very good and with many choices. Great location - we walked almost everywhere we wanted to go. If not, it was a short, inexpensive cab ride away.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Navy Pier was a short, easy walk away. Fun for adults and kids!

Review of Homewood Suites Chicago Downtown

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New York
Jan 31, 2010

Great Hotel....rip off parking

Wonderful hotel.....will go back long as I don't need a car and only have to work downtown. Parking fees of $42 per night are outrageous taking away the value we felt we got with the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Sunda.....great restaurant

Review of Homewood Suites Chicago Downtown

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New York
Jan 31, 2010

Great Hotel....rip off parking

Wonderful hotel.....will go back long as I don't need a car and only have to work downtown. Parking fees of $42 per night are outrageous taking away the value we felt we got with the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Sunda.....great restaurant

Review of Homewood Suites Chicago Downtown

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Minneapolis, MN
Jan 1, 2010

Perfect for family get away

We went to Chicago for a quick visit right before Christmas and found this hotel to be perfect. From O'Hare airport, we were able to take the subway into donwtown, transfer once and then walk one block to the hotel. Once there, everything we wanted or needed was either within walking distance or easily reached by public transportation. It was wonderful to have full kitchen facilities, a roomy and separate sitting area, an indoor pool and breakfast buffet each moring. The staff we encountered were very friendly and helpful. It made for a great holdiay visit and one we hope to repeat in the years to come!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Homewood Suites Chicago Downtown

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Minneapolis, MN
Jan 1, 2010

Perfect for family get away

We went to Chicago for a quick visit right before Christmas and found this hotel to be perfect. From O'Hare airport, we were able to take the subway into donwtown, transfer once and then walk one block to the hotel. Once there, everything we wanted or needed was either within walking distance or easily reached by public transportation. It was wonderful to have full kitchen facilities, a roomy and separate sitting area, an indoor pool and breakfast buffet each moring. The staff we encountered were very friendly and helpful. It made for a great holdiay visit and one we hope to repeat in the years to come!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Homewood Suites Chicago Downtown

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
pentastar1
rockford IL>
Dec 6, 2009

great weeekend getaway

great hotel and great location. walking distance to major attractions.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

right across the street from nordstroms and a mall.

Review of Homewood Suites Chicago Downtown

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
pentastar1
rockford IL>
Dec 6, 2009

great weeekend getaway

great hotel and great location. walking distance to major attractions.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

right across the street from nordstroms and a mall.

Review of Homewood Suites Chicago Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Tony & Olga
Indianapolis, IN
Nov 30, 2009

Great Hotel for the price & location

We were very surprised to get such a good rate for a hotel this good in downtown Chicago! I doubt we will ever stay anywhere else!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Short walk to the shopping on Mich Ave or the clubs on Rush.

Review of Homewood Suites Chicago Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Tony & Olga
Indianapolis, IN
Nov 30, 2009

Great Hotel for the price & location

We were very surprised to get such a good rate for a hotel this good in downtown Chicago! I doubt we will ever stay anywhere else!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Short walk to the shopping on Mich Ave or the clubs on Rush.

Back to menu Return to top