Rate based on Check-in: Apr 21, 2014 Check-out: Apr 22, 2014

Homewood Suites Chicago Downtown

3 stars
40 East Grand Avenue, Chicago, IL 60611
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.4
out of 5
108 reviews
Amazing weekend!

This hotel was amazing!! The room was much bigger than usual, with a kitchen and separate bedroom... See full review

  • Smoochie18
  • Feb 25, 2014
Chicago Homewood Suites - Grand Avenue

Very nice hotel. The staff, especially at the door, were outstanding. Great value for the price. See full review

  • JimW
  • Dec 11, 2013
Home sweet Homewood

A hot breakfast. Free Wi-Fi throughout the space. Gathering with others over wine, beer and soda. These daily conveniences might be missed while on vacation, but are customary amenities at Homewood Suites Chicago Downtown. Within walking distance of the Magnificent Mile and downtown Chicago restaurants, bars and shops, the River North Hilton property prides itself on the extras--regardless of whether the trip is for business or leisure.

Highlights
  • Complimentary daily hot breakfast buffet
  • Complimentary Wi-Fi throughout the hotel
  • Free nightly reception with meal, beer, wine and soda
  • Free grocery shopping service
  • King suites with full kitchens
Rooms

If these weren't hotel rooms, they might pass as city condos. Each space boasts two rooms and a full kitchen that includes a two-burner stove, microwave, dishwasher and refrigerator--ideal for a family looking to save money on dining expenses or an executive on an business trip. A wall separates the living, dining and sleeping quarters to provide maximum comfort.

A palette of amber, brown and burgundy warms rooms, while several wall hangings add local flavor with images of Chicago landmarks. Guests sleep on the signature, plush Homewood Sweet Dreams mattress. LCD TV, two phone lines with voicemail and complimentary local calls are standard amenities.

Features

Homewood Suites Chicago Downtown provides a laundry list of bonuses that come at no extra cost to visitors. Expect a daily hot breakfast buffet, Wi-Fi throughout the space, a nightly reception with meal, beer, wine and soda, free coffee, tea or hot cider in the lobby all day, a grocery shopping service and a business center.

During downtime, guests head to the indoor pool and cardio center, which are blessed with panoramic views of the Chicago skyline.

Transportation
  • O'Hare International Airport (16 miles)
  • Midway Airport (11 miles)
  • Closest train stops: Blue Line (Clark/Lake to O'Hare) and Orange Line (State/Lake to Midway)
  • McCormick Place Convention Center (11 minutes)
Attractions
  • Magnificent Mile
  • Museum of Contemporary Art
  • Navy Pier
  • John Hancock Center
  • Tribune Tower
  • Wrigley Building
  • Civic Opera House
Business
  • More than 3,000 square feet of meeting space
  • Free Wi-Fi throughout the hotel
  • Business center with computer and printer

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Pool
General
Pet friendly
Activities
Pool
Exercise gym
Dining
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Wheel chair access

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Homewood Suites Chicago Downtown also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

Hotel Map

41.8921 -87.626
Nearby airports
O`Hare Intl Airport, (ORD), 18.00, MI, SE; Chicago Midway Airport, (MDW), 15.00, MI, NW;

Nearby points of interest

  • Chicago - Mag Mile - Wacker Dr: 0.1 mi
  • North Michigan Avenue: 0.1 mi
  • Tribune Tower: 0.2 mi
  • Terra Museum of American Art: 0.2 mi
  • Wrigley Building: 0.2 mi
  • Museum of Broadcast Communications: 0.2 mi
  • Holy Name Cathedral: 0.3 mi
  • Marina City: 0.3 mi
  • Seneca Park: 0.4 mi
  • Harold Washington College: 0.4 mi
  • Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.4 mi
  • Drury Lane Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Chicago Theater: 0.5 mi
  • Prudential Plaza: 0.5 mi
  • John Hancock Center: 0.5 mi
  • Chicago - Mag Mile - Wacker Dr: 0.1 mi
  • North Michigan Avenue: 0.1 mi
  • Tribune Tower: 0.2 mi
  • Terra Museum of American Art: 0.2 mi
  • Wrigley Building: 0.2 mi
  • Museum of Broadcast Communications: 0.2 mi
  • Holy Name Cathedral: 0.3 mi
  • Marina City: 0.3 mi
  • Seneca Park: 0.4 mi
  • Harold Washington College: 0.4 mi
  • Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.4 mi
  • Drury Lane Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Chicago Theater: 0.5 mi
  • Prudential Plaza: 0.5 mi
  • John Hancock Center: 0.5 mi
  • Lake Shore Park: 0.5 mi
  • Water Tower: 0.5 mi
  • Goodman Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Oriental Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Washington Square Park: 0.5 mi
  • Merchandise Mart: 0.5 mi
  • Chicago Cultural Center: 0.6 mi
  • Macys: 0.6 mi
  • Harris Theater: 0.6 mi
  • City Hall: 0.6 mi
  • Shubert Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Cadillac Palace Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Pritzker Pavilion: 0.7 mi
  • Cloud Gate: 0.7 mi
  • State Street: 0.7 mi
  • Lake Point Tower: 0.7 mi
  • Crown Fountain: 0.7 mi
  • Oak Street Beach: 0.8 mi
  • Bank of America Theatre: 0.8 mi
  • Michigan Avenue: 0.8 mi
  • Chicago Historical Society: 0.8 mi
  • Art Institute of Chicago: 0.9 mi
  • Children Museum: 0.9 mi
  • Opera House: 0.9 mi
  • Symphony Center: 0.9 mi
  • Chicago Architecture Foundation: 0.9 mi
  • Yacht Club: 0.9 mi
  • Chicago Mercantile Exchange: 1 mi
  • Navy Pier: 1 mi
  • Chicago Board of Trade: 1 mi

Dining

Restaurant
onsite

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (108)

Ratings and reviews for Homewood Suites Chicago Downtown

Overall score

4.4 / 5
108 out of 108
Amenities:
4.3
Room cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.7
Room comfort:
4.6
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.6

98% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Homewood Suites Chicago Downtown

Reviewer score

4
Anonymous
Kentucky
Aug 3, 2009

overall good value and location

Great location to Magnificent Mile (which is important when you are shopping and need to run your goodies back to the hotel instead of lugging them around with you all day) and plenty of restaurants! Close to so many attractions. The staff was very helpful!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Homewood Suites Chicago Downtown

Reviewer score

4
Anonymous
Muncie, IN
Aug 2, 2009

perfect location

It was wonderful and the location was excellent

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Homewood Suites Chicago Downtown

Reviewer score

4
Lexi's Rad Mom
Detroit, MI
Jul 26, 2009

Great location, well worth it

Couldn't ask for a better location. Traveling with a toddler is tough, but with the free shuttle to Navy Pier right outside the door, things were a little easier. Great family friendly restaurants were right around the corner (Pizzeria Uno & Due, Su Casa). Front desk staff went out of their way to get us a crib that had a decent mattress (no pack n play for our gal) and the bellhops/valets were awesome. Very friendly and helpful! Would absolutely go back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

If you're going to Chicago with a young child, Millenium Park is a short walk. The fountain is fabulous on a hot day and provides tons of fun photo opps!

Review of Homewood Suites Chicago Downtown

Reviewer score

5
Anonymous
Eagan, MN
Jul 21, 2009

Fantastic family vacation

We had an amazing vacation in Chicago! The staff were incredibly friendly, helpful and knowledgeable! The suite was perfect with a great view. We were pleasantly surprised. Our kids had tons of fun in the pool. The location was great for us. We went to museums and other sight-seeing. An added feature was breakfast in the morning and a reception in the evening. Perfect for a family or business traveler! My daughter said, "Mommy, you should have brought the pancake mix." She had looked through the cabinets and found a griddle and spatula. We will definitely stay here again! Maybe I will even bring the pancake mix next time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Homewood Suites Chicago Downtown

Reviewer score

4
Anonymous
St. Louis, MO
Jul 20, 2009

Little Vacation

We had a great experience at Homewood Suites. Friendly staff, very good location, etc. Great price through Orbitz. We were able to check in early. We extended our stay while we were there and the Hotel gave us the discounted price that we payed through Orbitz! We accidently left some clothes behind and the hotel is shipping them to us! Overal Great experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Homewood Suites Chicago Downtown

Reviewer score

4
Higaloha
Elgin, IL
Jul 18, 2009

Great Service, Decent Room

Overall, the staff was very friendly and helpful. They seemed very cheerful, especially downstairs. There would only be two complaints I have. One being that there are only two elevators to take you upstairs. The lobby is located on the 6th floor so everyone checking in at 4, means that those elevators are super busy, and there aren't any stairs to take you up. It's not that bad after checking in, but that part is just a hassle. The only other complaint I would have is the showers, the shower we had was no tub of any kind, it was sort of like gym locker showers. Except, the floor didn't curve in, so when showering, the whole floor got soaked in the bathroom. The rest of the room was great though, decent sized, nice kitchen, provide silverware, etc. It's good for a short stay, the breakfast is decent just a little small. Good for the price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

If you're looking for cheap fast food, you're best bet is going to be to head away from magnificent mile. Either head the opposite way about two blocks and there is a portillos which is really good, or head towards magnificent mile, pass it, and you'll run into many small restaurants that won't be as expensive. Try to go to dinner before 5 or after 7 because the lines can get long places.

Review of Homewood Suites Chicago Downtown

Reviewer score

5
CBTraveler
Palm Beach, FL
Jul 15, 2009

Definitely worth returning to

We were in Chicago for a week. Our location was the perfect hub to enjoy the park for Taste of Chicago, the pier for 4th of July fireworks, the "el" to take us to a Cubs game, walking distance to museums and easy walking to shopping. The work-out room is modest, but guests are free to use the gym right next door. Breakfast offered a nice variety and [...] (our hostess) was a charmer. We were pleasantly surprised to see cocktails at dinner. With two teenage boys who wanted to sleep until noon, the housekeeping staff was very attentive to giving us what we needed without disturbing our 'sleeping beauties'. Our room was spacious enough to accomodate us all. We even cooked steaks in our room one night and had no trouble maneuvering. Elevators were fast enough considering there are only two of them. There's an ATM on site and a small convenience store. Cabs were always available at the front door. I couldn't ask for anything more.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Don't be afraid to take the "el" to Wrigley (if you can get a ticket). The entrance is a half block from your hotel. And do go early to eat at one of the many restaurants that surround the stadium.

Review of Homewood Suites Chicago Downtown

Reviewer score

5
Anonymous
Laguna Hills, CA
Jul 14, 2009

Great location!

The hot breakfast buffet and light dinner & drinks in the evening really make this a great value. The location is ideal; easy walk to Milennium Park, Michigan Ave, Navy Pier, from the hotel. Having a separate kitchen/living room is a bonus compared to typical hotel rooms.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Short walk to Red Line stop, where you can catch train to Wrigley Field! Also, fun and inexpensive place for dinner is "Regal Beagle" a block away (on Grand and St Clair) where they play reruns of "Three's Company" on several TV screens within the restaurant, reminiscient of the bar where Jack, Chrissy, Janet, used to hang out.

Review of Homewood Suites Chicago Downtown

Reviewer score

5
Anonymous
Michigan
Jul 13, 2009

"Great Get-a-way!!!!!!!!!!!"

Great!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Homewood Suites Chicago Downtown

Reviewer score

5
Anonymous
Euclid, Ohio
Jul 13, 2009

Homewood Suites Chicago Downtown

The staff were wonderful. I mistakenly made the resevation for one week later and they accommodated us anyway. Even though we had to be in a smoking room, it was as clean as it could be and quiet.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Back to menu Return to top