Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 3, 2014 Check-out: Sep 4, 2014

Homewood Suites Chicago Downtown

3 stars
40 East Grand Avenue, Chicago, IL 60611
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.4
out of 5
117 reviews
Perfect location to the beautiful magnificent miles.

This hotel is in the quiet location but steps away fr Michigan ave; across the street from the back... See full review

  • Lanie R
  • Jul 5, 2014
professsional conference

great locattion, courteous staff, convenient restaurant. See full review

  • Sunsnoozer
  • Jun 29, 2014
Home sweet Homewood

A hot breakfast. Free Wi-Fi throughout the space. Gathering with others over wine, beer and soda. These daily conveniences might be missed while on vacation, but are customary amenities at Homewood Suites Chicago Downtown. Within walking distance of the Magnificent Mile and downtown Chicago restaurants, bars and shops, the River North Hilton property prides itself on the extras--regardless of whether the trip is for business or leisure.

Highlights
  • Complimentary daily hot breakfast buffet
  • Complimentary Wi-Fi throughout the hotel
  • Free nightly reception with meal, beer, wine and soda
  • Free grocery shopping service
  • King suites with full kitchens
Rooms

If these weren't hotel rooms, they might pass as city condos. Each space boasts two rooms and a full kitchen that includes a two-burner stove, microwave, dishwasher and refrigerator--ideal for a family looking to save money on dining expenses or an executive on an business trip. A wall separates the living, dining and sleeping quarters to provide maximum comfort.

A palette of amber, brown and burgundy warms rooms, while several wall hangings add local flavor with images of Chicago landmarks. Guests sleep on the signature, plush Homewood Sweet Dreams mattress. LCD TV, two phone lines with voicemail and complimentary local calls are standard amenities.

Features

Homewood Suites Chicago Downtown provides a laundry list of bonuses that come at no extra cost to visitors. Expect a daily hot breakfast buffet, Wi-Fi throughout the space, a nightly reception with meal, beer, wine and soda, free coffee, tea or hot cider in the lobby all day, a grocery shopping service and a business center.

During downtime, guests head to the indoor pool and cardio center, which are blessed with panoramic views of the Chicago skyline.

Transportation
  • O'Hare International Airport (16 miles)
  • Midway Airport (11 miles)
  • Closest train stops: Blue Line (Clark/Lake to O'Hare) and Orange Line (State/Lake to Midway)
  • McCormick Place Convention Center (11 minutes)
Attractions
  • Magnificent Mile
  • Museum of Contemporary Art
  • Navy Pier
  • John Hancock Center
  • Tribune Tower
  • Wrigley Building
  • Civic Opera House
Business
  • More than 3,000 square feet of meeting space
  • Free Wi-Fi throughout the hotel
  • Business center with computer and printer

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Pool
General
Pet friendly
Activities
Pool
Exercise gym
Dining
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Wheel chair access

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Homewood Suites Chicago Downtown also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

Hotel Map

41.8921 -87.626
Nearby airports
O`Hare Intl Airport, (ORD), 18.00, MI, SE; Chicago Midway Airport, (MDW), 15.00, MI, NW;

Nearby points of interest

  • Chicago - Mag Mile - Wacker Dr: 0.1 mi
  • North Michigan Avenue: 0.1 mi
  • Tribune Tower: 0.2 mi
  • Terra Museum of American Art: 0.2 mi
  • Wrigley Building: 0.2 mi
  • Museum of Broadcast Communications: 0.2 mi
  • Holy Name Cathedral: 0.3 mi
  • Marina City: 0.3 mi
  • Seneca Park: 0.4 mi
  • Harold Washington College: 0.4 mi
  • Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.4 mi
  • Drury Lane Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Chicago Theater: 0.5 mi
  • Prudential Plaza: 0.5 mi
  • John Hancock Center: 0.5 mi
  • Chicago - Mag Mile - Wacker Dr: 0.1 mi
  • North Michigan Avenue: 0.1 mi
  • Tribune Tower: 0.2 mi
  • Terra Museum of American Art: 0.2 mi
  • Wrigley Building: 0.2 mi
  • Museum of Broadcast Communications: 0.2 mi
  • Holy Name Cathedral: 0.3 mi
  • Marina City: 0.3 mi
  • Seneca Park: 0.4 mi
  • Harold Washington College: 0.4 mi
  • Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.4 mi
  • Drury Lane Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Chicago Theater: 0.5 mi
  • Prudential Plaza: 0.5 mi
  • John Hancock Center: 0.5 mi
  • Lake Shore Park: 0.5 mi
  • Water Tower: 0.5 mi
  • Goodman Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Oriental Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Washington Square Park: 0.5 mi
  • Merchandise Mart: 0.5 mi
  • Chicago Cultural Center: 0.6 mi
  • Macys: 0.6 mi
  • Harris Theater: 0.6 mi
  • City Hall: 0.6 mi
  • Shubert Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Cadillac Palace Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Pritzker Pavilion: 0.7 mi
  • Cloud Gate: 0.7 mi
  • State Street: 0.7 mi
  • Lake Point Tower: 0.7 mi
  • Crown Fountain: 0.7 mi
  • Oak Street Beach: 0.8 mi
  • Bank of America Theatre: 0.8 mi
  • Michigan Avenue: 0.8 mi
  • Chicago Historical Society: 0.8 mi
  • Art Institute of Chicago: 0.9 mi
  • Children Museum: 0.9 mi
  • Opera House: 0.9 mi
  • Symphony Center: 0.9 mi
  • Chicago Architecture Foundation: 0.9 mi
  • Yacht Club: 0.9 mi
  • Chicago Mercantile Exchange: 1 mi
  • Navy Pier: 1 mi
  • Chicago Board of Trade: 1 mi

Dining

Restaurant
onsite

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (117)

Ratings and reviews for Homewood Suites Chicago Downtown

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
117 out of 117
Amenities:
4.4
Room cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.7
Room comfort:
4.6
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.6

98% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Homewood Suites Chicago Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Vermont
Aug 24, 2009

Homwood Suites

Great Place!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Homewood Suites Chicago Downtown

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Susie the traveler
Spring Hill, Florida
Aug 24, 2009

Fantastic Location a very nice place

The L was only a block away which was great. We rode the L from the airport. We bought a three day pass to ride the L,saved a lot of money. Very clean place.Rooms were "Very" pleasant. It had a video game in the room,two TV's, grab rails in the shower/tub, carpet and beds very clean. Waiters were attentive.The complementary breakfast was wonderful. Had eggs,breakfast meat, cereals, bagels, fruit, etc. Maids cleaned your romm and didn't even know they were there. Every night before going to bed, we'd open the curtians, Wow what a light display. It was beauitful. Front desk was great checking in and all through the stay..

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Be sure to take the Mercy boat tour. It's down by the river. You are able to get your tickets there. Boat rode you via waterway out into Lake Michigan through the locks, to the pier. Coming back, back though the locks, you now are going to boat though downtown looking at all the buildings. They looked enormous. The guide narrated all though the tour. Very nice, was about 90 mins. 15 min walk to the river.

Review of Homewood Suites Chicago Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ghirardelli's fan
Ottawa, Canada
Aug 19, 2009

Great location and service

My husband and I, along with our 15-year-old son stayed here and we found the hotel's location excellent: a 15-minute walk to the Navy Pier and the Oak Street Beach (with palm trees) which is lovely in the evening, especially with a stop at Ghirardelli's for a sundae on the way back. It was about the same distance to Millenium Park. Even closer (5 to 7 minutes) were: architectural boat tours and the "Untouchables" bus tour (not to be missed). There are terrific restaurants on every block near the hotel. If you want something a bit different for your teenager, try Ed Debevic's for an unusual 1950s diner experience. The staff at the hotel were terrific at giving us information and even got us a "preferred seating" card at Ed Debevic's. I also wanted to mention that the breakfasts and suppers at the hotel offered tasty food and allowed us to save money.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Entertainment tip: Not Applicable

One top quality museum - Science and Industry - is easy to get to on the train. A short walk to the area just north of Millenium Park gets you to the Metra train station. From there it is a short trip on the double-deck train to the station called 55th-56th-57th. The museum is a two-minute walk from the station. Check the schedule in advance for times. At the museum, be sure to check out the WW2 submarine. If you are going to a few museums, get the Chicago CityPass. You save money plus you can usually bypass the long entrance lines.

Review of Homewood Suites Chicago Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Appleton, WI
Aug 12, 2009

Mostly Good, Except for First Day

I was attending a conference. For the most part the hotel did a good job. Firs day, however, they did not have a non-smoking room and that is a must for us. We were sent a hotel 30 blocks away and the quality of the hotel was barely satisfactory. The hotel has assured us a refund for first night and we are awaiting the refund. On the whole, the hotel offered a very good experience and courtesy. We are looking forward to receiving our first night refund.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Homewood Suites Chicago Downtown

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
kg424
Chicago, IL
Aug 6, 2009

Perfect location! Excellent Service!

This hotel is worth every penny. Traveling with a family, I needed to find a location central to the things we would want to see and do downtown. This hotel fits in perfectly. It just a few blocks from Millennium Park, a short walk to Navy Pier and only a $10 cab fare to the Museums. Michigan avenue (Magnificent Mile) is just on block away! The parking rate is high, but not much more than surface lots surrounding the hotel. At least it has in-out privileges. The breakfast buffet and the Welcome Home dinners provide an opportunity to save on meals and the food is quite good and has many choices. The pool, although indoors, was really cold. Even my children thought so and wanted to leave. The pool is really the only true negative thing to say about this hotel as the staff, rooms, and proximity, well make up for anything lacking in amenities.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: In Hotel

If not traveling with a family, you can save a load on parking as the train station is only one block from the hotel. At more than forty dollars per day it adds up quickly.

Review of Homewood Suites Chicago Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Kentucky
Aug 3, 2009

overall good value and location

Great location to Magnificent Mile (which is important when you are shopping and need to run your goodies back to the hotel instead of lugging them around with you all day) and plenty of restaurants! Close to so many attractions. The staff was very helpful!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Homewood Suites Chicago Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Muncie, IN
Aug 2, 2009

perfect location

It was wonderful and the location was excellent

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Homewood Suites Chicago Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Lexi's Rad Mom
Detroit, MI
Jul 26, 2009

Great location, well worth it

Couldn't ask for a better location. Traveling with a toddler is tough, but with the free shuttle to Navy Pier right outside the door, things were a little easier. Great family friendly restaurants were right around the corner (Pizzeria Uno & Due, Su Casa). Front desk staff went out of their way to get us a crib that had a decent mattress (no pack n play for our gal) and the bellhops/valets were awesome. Very friendly and helpful! Would absolutely go back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

If you're going to Chicago with a young child, Millenium Park is a short walk. The fountain is fabulous on a hot day and provides tons of fun photo opps!

Review of Homewood Suites Chicago Downtown

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Eagan, MN
Jul 21, 2009

Fantastic family vacation

We had an amazing vacation in Chicago! The staff were incredibly friendly, helpful and knowledgeable! The suite was perfect with a great view. We were pleasantly surprised. Our kids had tons of fun in the pool. The location was great for us. We went to museums and other sight-seeing. An added feature was breakfast in the morning and a reception in the evening. Perfect for a family or business traveler! My daughter said, "Mommy, you should have brought the pancake mix." She had looked through the cabinets and found a griddle and spatula. We will definitely stay here again! Maybe I will even bring the pancake mix next time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Homewood Suites Chicago Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
St. Louis, MO
Jul 20, 2009

Little Vacation

We had a great experience at Homewood Suites. Friendly staff, very good location, etc. Great price through Orbitz. We were able to check in early. We extended our stay while we were there and the Hotel gave us the discounted price that we payed through Orbitz! We accidently left some clothes behind and the hotel is shipping them to us! Overal Great experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Back to menu Return to top