Rate based on Check-in: Aug 21, 2014 Check-out: Aug 23, 2014

Homewood Suites Chicago Downtown

3 stars
40 East Grand Avenue, Chicago, IL 60611
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.4
out of 5
195 reviews
Perfect location to the beautiful magnificent miles.

This hotel is in the quiet location but steps away fr Michigan ave; across the street from the back... See full review

  • Lanie R
  • Jul 5, 2014
professsional conference

great locattion, courteous staff, convenient restaurant. See full review

  • Sunsnoozer
  • Jun 29, 2014
Home sweet Homewood

A hot breakfast. Free Wi-Fi throughout the space. Gathering with others over wine, beer and soda. These daily conveniences might be missed while on vacation, but are customary amenities at Homewood Suites Chicago Downtown. Within walking distance of the Magnificent Mile and downtown Chicago restaurants, bars and shops, the River North Hilton property prides itself on the extras--regardless of whether the trip is for business or leisure.

Highlights
  • Complimentary daily hot breakfast buffet
  • Complimentary Wi-Fi throughout the hotel
  • Free nightly reception with meal, beer, wine and soda
  • Free grocery shopping service
  • King suites with full kitchens
Rooms

If these weren't hotel rooms, they might pass as city condos. Each space boasts two rooms and a full kitchen that includes a two-burner stove, microwave, dishwasher and refrigerator--ideal for a family looking to save money on dining expenses or an executive on an business trip. A wall separates the living, dining and sleeping quarters to provide maximum comfort.

A palette of amber, brown and burgundy warms rooms, while several wall hangings add local flavor with images of Chicago landmarks. Guests sleep on the signature, plush Homewood Sweet Dreams mattress. LCD TV, two phone lines with voicemail and complimentary local calls are standard amenities.

Features

Homewood Suites Chicago Downtown provides a laundry list of bonuses that come at no extra cost to visitors. Expect a daily hot breakfast buffet, Wi-Fi throughout the space, a nightly reception with meal, beer, wine and soda, free coffee, tea or hot cider in the lobby all day, a grocery shopping service and a business center.

During downtime, guests head to the indoor pool and cardio center, which are blessed with panoramic views of the Chicago skyline.

Transportation
  • O'Hare International Airport (16 miles)
  • Midway Airport (11 miles)
  • Closest train stops: Blue Line (Clark/Lake to O'Hare) and Orange Line (State/Lake to Midway)
  • McCormick Place Convention Center (11 minutes)
Attractions
  • Magnificent Mile
  • Museum of Contemporary Art
  • Navy Pier
  • John Hancock Center
  • Tribune Tower
  • Wrigley Building
  • Civic Opera House
Business
  • More than 3,000 square feet of meeting space
  • Free Wi-Fi throughout the hotel
  • Business center with computer and printer

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Pool
General
Pet friendly
Activities
Pool
Exercise gym
Dining
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Wheel chair access

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Homewood Suites Chicago Downtown also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

Hotel Map

41.8921 -87.626
Nearby airports
O`Hare Intl Airport, (ORD), 18.00, MI, SE; Chicago Midway Airport, (MDW), 15.00, MI, NW;

Nearby points of interest

  • Chicago - Mag Mile - Wacker Dr: 0.1 mi
  • North Michigan Avenue: 0.1 mi
  • Tribune Tower: 0.2 mi
  • Terra Museum of American Art: 0.2 mi
  • Wrigley Building: 0.2 mi
  • Museum of Broadcast Communications: 0.2 mi
  • Holy Name Cathedral: 0.3 mi
  • Marina City: 0.3 mi
  • Seneca Park: 0.4 mi
  • Harold Washington College: 0.4 mi
  • Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.4 mi
  • Drury Lane Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Chicago Theater: 0.5 mi
  • Prudential Plaza: 0.5 mi
  • John Hancock Center: 0.5 mi
  • Chicago - Mag Mile - Wacker Dr: 0.1 mi
  • North Michigan Avenue: 0.1 mi
  • Tribune Tower: 0.2 mi
  • Terra Museum of American Art: 0.2 mi
  • Wrigley Building: 0.2 mi
  • Museum of Broadcast Communications: 0.2 mi
  • Holy Name Cathedral: 0.3 mi
  • Marina City: 0.3 mi
  • Seneca Park: 0.4 mi
  • Harold Washington College: 0.4 mi
  • Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.4 mi
  • Drury Lane Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Chicago Theater: 0.5 mi
  • Prudential Plaza: 0.5 mi
  • John Hancock Center: 0.5 mi
  • Lake Shore Park: 0.5 mi
  • Water Tower: 0.5 mi
  • Goodman Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Oriental Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Washington Square Park: 0.5 mi
  • Merchandise Mart: 0.5 mi
  • Chicago Cultural Center: 0.6 mi
  • Macys: 0.6 mi
  • Harris Theater: 0.6 mi
  • City Hall: 0.6 mi
  • Shubert Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Cadillac Palace Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Pritzker Pavilion: 0.7 mi
  • Cloud Gate: 0.7 mi
  • State Street: 0.7 mi
  • Lake Point Tower: 0.7 mi
  • Crown Fountain: 0.7 mi
  • Oak Street Beach: 0.8 mi
  • Bank of America Theatre: 0.8 mi
  • Michigan Avenue: 0.8 mi
  • Chicago Historical Society: 0.8 mi
  • Art Institute of Chicago: 0.9 mi
  • Children Museum: 0.9 mi
  • Opera House: 0.9 mi
  • Symphony Center: 0.9 mi
  • Chicago Architecture Foundation: 0.9 mi
  • Yacht Club: 0.9 mi
  • Chicago Mercantile Exchange: 1 mi
  • Navy Pier: 1 mi
  • Chicago Board of Trade: 1 mi

Dining

Restaurant
onsite

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (195)

Ratings and reviews for Homewood Suites Chicago Downtown

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
195 out of 195
Amenities:
4.4
Room cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.7
Room comfort:
4.6
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.6

98% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Homewood Suites Chicago Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
mcmani mom
denver, co
Jun 14, 2010

Great value, Nice people.

Perfect location for an impromptu reunion with friends from all over the country. The bell hops in the lobby were friendly and helpful. The breakfast was a little busy, but plentiful and good. Nice to have full refrigerators, and the suite set-up worked well for us.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

Second City.

Review of Homewood Suites Chicago Downtown

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
KCMO
May 18, 2010

Great service and location

We arrived early to Chicago, the hotel immediately began to accommodate us with friendly service. Everyone was kind, friendly and willing to help my family.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Homewood Suites Chicago Downtown

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
KCMO
May 18, 2010

Great service and location

We arrived early to Chicago, the hotel immediately began to accommodate us with friendly service. Everyone was kind, friendly and willing to help my family.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Homewood Suites Chicago Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Gibby5
Hilton, NY
Apr 21, 2010

Great service and location

This Homewood Suites Chicago is just one block off Michigan Ave. close to many great restaurants and shopping. It is also just 2 blocks from the CTA Grand Ave station making it easy to get to by train from Midway and O'Hare. The location is also in walking distance to many other popular areas and attractions. It's also very easy to get a taxi outside the front door when you want it. The complimentary breakfast buffet every day was so appreciated with our family of five and nothing was lacking. We even enjoyed the complimentary dinners for two nights which are catered by local restaurants. The staff were always welcoming, helpful and knew us by name. The suite was perfect for our family and we enjoyed the heated indoor pool and the views from the pool deck.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

We purchased City Passes online and really enjoyed every attraction included. The savings and special treatment using the City Pass were appreciated too.

Review of Homewood Suites Chicago Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Gibby5
Hilton, NY
Apr 21, 2010

Great service and location

This Homewood Suites Chicago is just one block off Michigan Ave. close to many great restaurants and shopping. It is also just 2 blocks from the CTA Grand Ave station making it easy to get to by train from Midway and O'Hare. The location is also in walking distance to many other popular areas and attractions. It's also very easy to get a taxi outside the front door when you want it. The complimentary breakfast buffet every day was so appreciated with our family of five and nothing was lacking. We even enjoyed the complimentary dinners for two nights which are catered by local restaurants. The staff were always welcoming, helpful and knew us by name. The suite was perfect for our family and we enjoyed the heated indoor pool and the views from the pool deck.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

We purchased City Passes online and really enjoyed every attraction included. The savings and special treatment using the City Pass were appreciated too.

Review of Homewood Suites Chicago Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Kansas City Missouri
Apr 13, 2010

Great location and views

This was our first family vacation and we couldn't have chosen a better place. The hotel was great. We would definitely stay there again! We walked all over Chicago and enjoyed all the sites and museums.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Homewood Suites Chicago Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Kansas City Missouri
Apr 13, 2010

Great location and views

This was our first family vacation and we couldn't have chosen a better place. The hotel was great. We would definitely stay there again! We walked all over Chicago and enjoyed all the sites and museums.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Homewood Suites Chicago Downtown

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Rochester, MN
Mar 30, 2010

Home Sweet Homewood in Chicago

We stayed for (5) days with our 18 yr old son and we were sorry to have to leave. The staff was so friendly and helpfull and the hotel so well cared for and managed that we could have happily lived there! It is conveniently located , no matter which sites you plan to enjoy (only a 12 minute walk to Navy Pier), surrounded by excellent restaurants/ shopping and only a 1/2 block from a full a service grocery and the entrance to the Red Line train of the "L".

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: In Hotel

The complimentary breakfast and light evening meal were a handy, tasty way to save time and money. It allowed us to go to nicer, more expensive eateries while out in the city.

Review of Homewood Suites Chicago Downtown

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Rochester, MN
Mar 30, 2010

Home Sweet Homewood in Chicago

We stayed for (5) days with our 18 yr old son and we were sorry to have to leave. The staff was so friendly and helpfull and the hotel so well cared for and managed that we could have happily lived there! It is conveniently located , no matter which sites you plan to enjoy (only a 12 minute walk to Navy Pier), surrounded by excellent restaurants/ shopping and only a 1/2 block from a full a service grocery and the entrance to the Red Line train of the "L".

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: In Hotel

The complimentary breakfast and light evening meal were a handy, tasty way to save time and money. It allowed us to go to nicer, more expensive eateries while out in the city.

Review of Homewood Suites Chicago Downtown

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Tampa, FL
Mar 15, 2010

AMAZING!

Most amazing stay ever. Went to Chicago on spring break and couldn't have been happier! The staff, hotel and location were all amazing. Free breakfast AND dinner Monday-Thursday. I would recommend this hotel to EVERYONE!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Back to menu Return to top