Rate based on Check-in: Sep 2, 2014 Check-out: Sep 3, 2014

Holiday Inn Express CHICAGO - MAGNIFICENT MILE

3 stars
640 N. Wabash Avenue, Chicago, IL 60611
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.7
out of 5
207 reviews
Awesome Shopping hotel

This hotel has a perfect location if you want to go shopping on the Magnificent Mile. They were all... See full review

  • Jtomm
  • Dec 8, 2013
Chicago Day Trip

On a quick trip to Chicago to visit some siblings I decided on a whim to find a hotel downtown. I... See full review

  • Koiifish
  • Nov 4, 2013
Welcome to our Holiday Inn Express Magnificent Mile Hotel. Our downtown Chicago hotel , conveniently located off Michigan Avenue on the Magnificent Mile, is situated in the heart of Chicago near several businesses and attractions. Business travelers will appreciate our downtown Chicago hotel location near major companies such as Deloitte, Boeing, AT&T, Sun Microsystems, Computer Sciences Corp. and Northwestern Hospital . Flying into Chicago? Our Chicago hotel is close to O'Hare (18 miles) and Midway (12 miles) Airports, saving time for the busy executive. Staying at this landmark Chicago hotel will make it easy to visit popular Chicago attractions like the Shedd Aquarium, the Art Institute, Navy Pier, Lincoln Park Zoo and Millennium Park . Just 2 blocks away from Michigan Ave, Chicago's Magnificent Mile, where you can indulge in shopping at the Water Tower Place, Nordstrom Mall, plus more shops to choose from. The historic Holiday Inn Express Magnificent Mile hotel has 174 guestrooms and 1 suite. The public areas reflect 1920s Beaux Arts' architecture and feature a great room with comfortable seating areas for the complimentary Express Start breakfast. Our Chicago hotel provides a chic, urban setting that is Wi-Fi friendly, stylishly updated and convenient to downtown businesses and attractions. Whether you visit Chicago for business or vacation travel, stay comfortably at our Magnificent Mile hotel.

Amenities

  • Free breakfast
  • High-speed internet
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Free local telephone calls
Ice machine
Activities
Golf
Dining
Free breakfast
Bar/Lounge
Coffee maker in room
Services
Business center
Maid service
Concierge desk
ATM/Cash machine
Shops/Commercial services
Car rental desk
Porters
FAX
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Satellite TV
Phone with speaker
Desk with lamp
Hairdryer in room
Outlet adapters
Turndown service
Temperature control
Ironing board
Bath tub

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Holiday Inn Express CHICAGO - MAGNIFICENT MILE also booked these hotels.

Hotel Map

41.8933 -87.6268
Nearby airports
Chicago Ohare International, (ORD), 18.00, MI, NW; Chicago Midway Airport, (MDW), 12.00, MI, SW;
Area description
Downtown, downtown

Nearby points of interest

  • Chicago - Mag Mile - Wacker Dr: 0 mi
  • Terra Museum of American Art: 0.1 mi
  • North Michigan Avenue: 0.2 mi
  • Holy Name Cathedral: 0.2 mi
  • Tribune Tower: 0.3 mi
  • Wrigley Building: 0.3 mi
  • Museum of Broadcast Communications: 0.3 mi
  • Seneca Park: 0.4 mi
  • Marina City: 0.4 mi
  • Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.4 mi
  • Drury Lane Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • John Hancock Center: 0.4 mi
  • Water Tower: 0.5 mi
  • Washington Square Park: 0.5 mi
  • Lake Shore Park: 0.5 mi
  • Chicago - Mag Mile - Wacker Dr: 0 mi
  • Terra Museum of American Art: 0.1 mi
  • North Michigan Avenue: 0.2 mi
  • Holy Name Cathedral: 0.2 mi
  • Tribune Tower: 0.3 mi
  • Wrigley Building: 0.3 mi
  • Museum of Broadcast Communications: 0.3 mi
  • Seneca Park: 0.4 mi
  • Marina City: 0.4 mi
  • Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.4 mi
  • Drury Lane Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • John Hancock Center: 0.4 mi
  • Water Tower: 0.5 mi
  • Washington Square Park: 0.5 mi
  • Lake Shore Park: 0.5 mi
  • Harold Washington College: 0.5 mi
  • Chicago Theater: 0.6 mi
  • Merchandise Mart: 0.6 mi
  • Prudential Plaza: 0.6 mi
  • Goodman Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Oriental Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Macys: 0.7 mi
  • Chicago Cultural Center: 0.7 mi
  • Harris Theater: 0.7 mi
  • Oak Street Beach: 0.7 mi
  • City Hall: 0.7 mi
  • Michigan Avenue: 0.7 mi
  • Cadillac Palace Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Chicago Historical Society: 0.7 mi
  • Shubert Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Cloud Gate: 0.8 mi
  • Pritzker Pavilion: 0.8 mi
  • Lake Point Tower: 0.8 mi
  • State Street: 0.8 mi
  • Crown Fountain: 0.8 mi
  • Bank of America Theatre: 0.9 mi
  • Children Museum: 0.9 mi
  • Opera House: 0.9 mi
  • Art Institute of Chicago: 1 mi
  • Symphony Center: 1 mi
  • Chicago Architecture Foundation: 1 mi
  • Chicago Mercantile Exchange: 1 mi
  • Yacht Club: 1 mi
  • Navy Pier: 1.1 mi
  • Chicago Board of Trade: 1.1 mi

Dining

Quartino
Wine bar and Italian restaurant

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by CheapTickets

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (207)

Ratings and reviews for Holiday Inn Express CHICAGO - MAGNIFICENT MILE

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
207 out of 207
Amenities:
3.5
Room cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
3.4
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.9

85% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Holiday Inn Express CHICAGO - MAGNIFICENT MILE

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Layton, Utah
Jun 16, 2009

Hotel provided as advertised, we enjoyed

Keep the kids and strollers out, let them go to 6 Flags or stay home.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Talk to the bellman

Review of Holiday Inn Express CHICAGO - MAGNIFICENT MILE

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Andy Ga
Detroit, Mi
Apr 10, 2014

Holiday Inn Express on Magnificent Mile

Excellent price and amenities with a can't beat location. The added free WiFi and Breakfast make this hotel a must to consider when visiting Chicago.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Holiday Inn Express CHICAGO - MAGNIFICENT MILE

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Brian P. Nerney
Tallahassee, FL
Oct 17, 2013

2013 Chicago Marathon

Location, Location, Location and Staff! The hotel was perfectly situated for out Chicago Marathon, tourist trip. Everything we wanted to do or see was within comfortable walking distance. The entire staff was outstanding, from the doorman, to the front desk/concierge to the people who manage the ample (& free) morning hot breakfast. The only draw back to the hotel is the petite room size, although charming the room and bed were smaller than ideal. I would be happy recommend and stay at the property in the future.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of Holiday Inn Express CHICAGO - MAGNIFICENT MILE

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Traveler LGBT
Hosuton
May 27, 2014

Location

This hotel was perfectly located, close to metro line Red and easy to move around.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

-3 days Red double decker Bus 35 at the canopy. -Arquitectural river side at night with FREE fire works - Tilt - Free painted glass- Navy pier -

Review of Holiday Inn Express CHICAGO - MAGNIFICENT MILE

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
margaretinchicago
Business
margaretinchicago
Sep 9, 2013

Perfect location, clean, and SMALL

The room was really tiny- like european style inch-sideways-around-you-bed tiny. There was no nightstand by the bed presumably because it wouldn't fit. But it was clean and comfortable for a one-night business stay. The only thing I found completely illogical was that the lobby is up a flight of stairs. Welcome to our hotel, please lug your suitcase up a small staircase while the desk staff watches you? What?

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Holiday Inn Express CHICAGO - MAGNIFICENT MILE

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
brookfield, ct
Aug 2, 2009

this is a nice hotel

The staff is excellent. The rooms have been recently renovated and are very clean. I thought I reserved a room with 2 beds but it was unavailable when I checked in which was a disappointment. Every person who works at the hotel was extremely nice and helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Holiday Inn Express CHICAGO - MAGNIFICENT MILE

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Granite City, IL
Feb 3, 2013

Nice Hotel

The location was good--a 20 min walk from Michigan Ave. The rooms were small but clean. The staff were friendly and the breakfast was good. Overall a pleasant and affordable choice when visiting the Chicago metro area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Trader Joe's is across the road.

Review of Holiday Inn Express CHICAGO - MAGNIFICENT MILE

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Atlanta, GA
Apr 22, 2009

Great value for the money

Checkout is AT noon, no exceptions; they charge $25 per hour for late checkout. The TV in my room had some sound issues, and the cable service is somewhat limited. For me, this wasn't important. I'd happily stay there again. The room is tiny -- two people would have been cramped, there's no dresser to speak of and very little closet space; the bathroom was 3/4 of the size of the main room -- but it was clean, the bed was *very* comfortable and every staff person I encountered was cordial and helpful. The location couldn't be better for access to CTA transporation, the Loop and Michigan Avenue.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Holiday Inn Express CHICAGO - MAGNIFICENT MILE

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
DC Trip
Business
WI
Dec 13, 2013

Holiday Inn Mich Ave

Helpful staff and convenient location made for a nice stay

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Good shopping on Michigan Ave

Review of Holiday Inn Express CHICAGO - MAGNIFICENT MILE

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Teresa and John
Michigan
Jul 30, 2012

would stay again

Helpful staff, good location to downtown. This isn't one of those hotels that offer a spectacular view but that was ok with us and we were not expecting it. Room was fine for two people but may have been considered small for some. Breakfast was great and offered something for everyone. HD snd HBO channels did not work during our stay and they couldn't resolve, other channels were ok. Would stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Entertainment tip: In Hotel

Be sure to check your TV when you get in.

Back to menu Return to top