Rate based on Check-in: Apr 27, 2014 Check-out: Apr 30, 2014

Holiday Inn Express CHICAGO - MAGNIFICENT MILE

3 stars
640 N. WABASH AVENUE, CHICAGO, IL 60611
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.7
out of 5
195 reviews
Awesome Shopping hotel

This hotel has a perfect location if you want to go shopping on the Magnificent Mile. They were all... See full review

  • Jtomm
  • Dec 8, 2013
Chicago Day Trip

On a quick trip to Chicago to visit some siblings I decided on a whim to find a hotel downtown. I... See full review

  • Koiifish
  • Nov 4, 2013
Welcome to our Holiday Inn Express Magnificent Mile Hotel. Our downtown Chicago hotel , conveniently located off Michigan Avenue on the Magnificent Mile, is situated in the heart of Chicago near several businesses and attractions. Business travelers will appreciate our downtown Chicago hotel location near major companies such as Deloitte, Boeing, AT&T, Sun Microsystems, Computer Sciences Corp. and Northwestern Hospital . Flying into Chicago? Our Chicago hotel is close to O'Hare (18 miles) and Midway (12 miles) Airports, saving time for the busy executive. Staying at this landmark Chicago hotel will make it easy to visit popular Chicago attractions like the Shedd Aquarium, the Art Institute, Navy Pier, Lincoln Park Zoo and Millennium Park . Just 2 blocks away from Michigan Ave, Chicago's Magnificent Mile, where you can indulge in shopping at the Water Tower Place, Nordstrom Mall, plus more shops to choose from. The historic Holiday Inn Express Magnificent Mile hotel has 174 guestrooms and 1 suites. The public areas reflect 1920s Beaux Arts' architecture and feature a great room with comfortable seating areas for the complimentary Express Start breakfast. Our Chicago hotel provides a chic, urban setting that is Wi-Fi friendly, stylishly updated and convenient to downtown businesses and attractions. Whether you visit Chicago for business or vacation travel, stay comfortably at our Magnificent Mile hotel.

Amenities

  • Free breakfast
  • High-speed internet
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Free local telephone calls
Ice machine
Activities
Golf
Dining
Free breakfast
Bar/Lounge
Coffee maker in room
Services
Business center
Maid service
Concierge desk
ATM/Cash machine
Shops/Commercial services
Car rental desk
Porters
FAX
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Satellite TV
Safe
Phone with speaker
Desk with lamp
Hairdryer in room
Outlet adapters
Turndown service
Temperature control
Ironing board
Bath tub

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Holiday Inn Express CHICAGO - MAGNIFICENT MILE also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5

Hotel Map

41.8933 -87.6268
Nearby airports
Chicago Ohare International, (ORD), 18.00, MI, NW; Chicago Midway Airport, (MDW), 12.00, MI, SW;
Area description
Downtown, downtown

Nearby points of interest

  • Chicago - Mag Mile - Wacker Dr: 0 mi
  • Terra Museum of American Art: 0.1 mi
  • North Michigan Avenue: 0.2 mi
  • Holy Name Cathedral: 0.2 mi
  • Tribune Tower: 0.3 mi
  • Wrigley Building: 0.3 mi
  • Museum of Broadcast Communications: 0.3 mi
  • Seneca Park: 0.4 mi
  • Marina City: 0.4 mi
  • Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.4 mi
  • Drury Lane Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • John Hancock Center: 0.4 mi
  • Water Tower: 0.5 mi
  • Washington Square Park: 0.5 mi
  • Lake Shore Park: 0.5 mi
  • Chicago - Mag Mile - Wacker Dr: 0 mi
  • Terra Museum of American Art: 0.1 mi
  • North Michigan Avenue: 0.2 mi
  • Holy Name Cathedral: 0.2 mi
  • Tribune Tower: 0.3 mi
  • Wrigley Building: 0.3 mi
  • Museum of Broadcast Communications: 0.3 mi
  • Seneca Park: 0.4 mi
  • Marina City: 0.4 mi
  • Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.4 mi
  • Drury Lane Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • John Hancock Center: 0.4 mi
  • Water Tower: 0.5 mi
  • Washington Square Park: 0.5 mi
  • Lake Shore Park: 0.5 mi
  • Harold Washington College: 0.5 mi
  • Chicago Theater: 0.6 mi
  • Merchandise Mart: 0.6 mi
  • Prudential Plaza: 0.6 mi
  • Goodman Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Oriental Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Macys: 0.7 mi
  • Chicago Cultural Center: 0.7 mi
  • Harris Theater: 0.7 mi
  • Oak Street Beach: 0.7 mi
  • City Hall: 0.7 mi
  • Michigan Avenue: 0.7 mi
  • Cadillac Palace Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Chicago Historical Society: 0.7 mi
  • Shubert Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Cloud Gate: 0.8 mi
  • Pritzker Pavilion: 0.8 mi
  • Lake Point Tower: 0.8 mi
  • State Street: 0.8 mi
  • Crown Fountain: 0.8 mi
  • Bank of America Theatre: 0.9 mi
  • Children Museum: 0.9 mi
  • Opera House: 0.9 mi
  • Art Institute of Chicago: 1 mi
  • Symphony Center: 1 mi
  • Chicago Architecture Foundation: 1 mi
  • Chicago Mercantile Exchange: 1 mi
  • Yacht Club: 1 mi
  • Navy Pier: 1.1 mi
  • Chicago Board of Trade: 1.1 mi

Dining

Quartino
Wine bar and Italian restaurant

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by CheapTickets

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (195)

Ratings and reviews for Holiday Inn Express CHICAGO - MAGNIFICENT MILE

Overall score

3.7 / 5
195 out of 195
Amenities:
3.5
Room cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
3.4
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.9

84% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Holiday Inn Express CHICAGO - MAGNIFICENT MILE

Reviewer score

4
Heathey
Atlanta
Oct 10, 2011

Excellent location for a combo trip of work & play

Other reviews I read on this hotel complained about the staff, size of the rooms and noise from the adjacent rooms, but I found the staff ALL very friendly and helpful. The rooms ARE small, but that's what you expect in Times Square area, so it didn't surprise me that the Magnificent Mile would be the same. You can hear the showers running and doors closing in adjacent rooms, but as a frequent traveler, that doesn't bother me much -- at least it was clean! The worst thing about it in my opinion was that the bed sagged in the middle. If you're looking for a quiet B&B type setting, go somewhere else! But if you just need a good, comparatively affordable place to crash near the center of everything in Chi-Town, this is a good option. Free breakfast is a nice bonus!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Pizano's flatcrust pizza on State Street was to die for.

Review of Holiday Inn Express CHICAGO - MAGNIFICENT MILE

Reviewer score

4
Andy Ga
Detroit, Mi
Apr 10, 2014

Holiday Inn Express on Magnificent Mile

Excellent price and amenities with a can't beat location. The added free WiFi and Breakfast make this hotel a must to consider when visiting Chicago.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Holiday Inn Express CHICAGO - MAGNIFICENT MILE

Reviewer score

4
Brian P. Nerney
Tallahassee, FL
Oct 17, 2013

2013 Chicago Marathon

Location, Location, Location and Staff! The hotel was perfectly situated for out Chicago Marathon, tourist trip. Everything we wanted to do or see was within comfortable walking distance. The entire staff was outstanding, from the doorman, to the front desk/concierge to the people who manage the ample (& free) morning hot breakfast. The only draw back to the hotel is the petite room size, although charming the room and bed were smaller than ideal. I would be happy recommend and stay at the property in the future.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of Holiday Inn Express CHICAGO - MAGNIFICENT MILE

Reviewer score

4
margaretinchicago
Business
margaretinchicago
Sep 9, 2013

Perfect location, clean, and SMALL

The room was really tiny- like european style inch-sideways-around-you-bed tiny. There was no nightstand by the bed presumably because it wouldn't fit. But it was clean and comfortable for a one-night business stay. The only thing I found completely illogical was that the lobby is up a flight of stairs. Welcome to our hotel, please lug your suitcase up a small staircase while the desk staff watches you? What?

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Holiday Inn Express CHICAGO - MAGNIFICENT MILE

Reviewer score

4
Anonymous
St. Louis
Jun 30, 2011

Great value!

Very small room but served it's purpose. It was very clean and the staff was great. The breakfast was nice as well. Would stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Holiday Inn Express CHICAGO - MAGNIFICENT MILE

Reviewer score

4
Anonymous
Business
Granite City, IL
Feb 3, 2013

Nice Hotel

The location was good--a 20 min walk from Michigan Ave. The rooms were small but clean. The staff were friendly and the breakfast was good. Overall a pleasant and affordable choice when visiting the Chicago metro area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Trader Joe's is across the road.

Review of Holiday Inn Express CHICAGO - MAGNIFICENT MILE

Reviewer score

4
Anonymous
ohio
Oct 8, 2009

"Great Location"

very nice hotel. very good location. rooms smaller than expected but worked for us.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Holiday Inn Express CHICAGO - MAGNIFICENT MILE

Reviewer score

4
Anonymous
Cleveland, Ohio
Mar 7, 2010

Nice stay

A colleague and I needed a cheep place to stay during a conference we attended downtown. We thought we'd be fine with sharing a queen bed, however, we didn't realize we would have a last minute colleague join us. We figured we would just get a cot, but didn't anticipate the rooms to be so small to begin with. The receptionist tried to get us a larger room at check-in but they were pretty booked. That was the only downside but we made it work. The rooms were very clean and modern. The continental breakfast was decent. They had the usual cereal, bagels min-muffins, and some hot eggs, bacon or sausage, and sometimes fruit. It was enough to get a coffee and some carbs before going out on the town. The location was great for us. Right near shops, restaurants, and a scenic walk or quick cab ride to the conference. It was also about a 5 minute cab ride to the Megabus station. Staff were very friendly especially the door-men, I would stay again, just probably spring for a bigger room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Holiday Inn Express CHICAGO - MAGNIFICENT MILE

Reviewer score

4
Anonymous
shakopee. minnesota
Oct 25, 2010

A perfect hotel for our group

The staff was extaordinary. Princess at the front desk and Steve the doorman were extremely helpful. Our maid (Virginia, I think) was super. The entire staff was friendly and courteous. Even John (maintenance??), who we saw throughout our stay and always remembered us as the Minnesota girls (although we are far from girls). If we needed anything, it was delivered immediately. The rooms were a bit small for 4 to a room, but it was cozy. For the price and close proximity to everything, you can't beat it. We loved having a warm breakfast in the morning to get our stay started, but would have liked a small cafe as well. Our stay in Chicago was made more pleasant by the entire staff at this Holiday Inn Express.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Most music venues (House of Blues, Jazz Clubs, etc) have a cover charge. Check these spots before you go, if you get there before a certain time, there is no cover charge.

Review of Holiday Inn Express CHICAGO - MAGNIFICENT MILE

Reviewer score

4
DC Trip
Business
WI
Dec 13, 2013

Holiday Inn Mich Ave

Helpful staff and convenient location made for a nice stay

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Good shopping on Michigan Ave

Back to menu Return to top