Rate based on Check-in: Apr 26, 2015 Check-out: Apr 27, 2015

Holiday Inn Express CHICAGO - MAGNIFICENT MILE

3 stars
View map of 640 N. Wabash Avenue, Chicago, IL 60611

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Holiday Inn Express CHICAGO - MAGNIFICENT MILE

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
217 out of 217
Amenities:
3.5
Cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
3.4
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.9

85% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Holiday Inn Express CHICAGO - MAGNIFICENT MILE

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Granite City, IL
Feb 3, 2013

Nice Hotel

The location was good--a 20 min walk from Michigan Ave. The rooms were small but clean. The staff were friendly and the breakfast was good. Overall a pleasant and affordable choice when visiting the Chicago metro area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Trader Joe's is across the road.

Review of Holiday Inn Express CHICAGO - MAGNIFICENT MILE

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Paminator
Business
Houston
Feb 13, 2013

Schools Summit chicago

I actually got lost trying to find parking at this hotel. The nice lady at the front desk gave me turn-by-turn directions to get back but the valet parking was $44 / night. How ridiculous! The rooms were small but super cozy. The breakfast was descent and the customer service was pretty good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Holiday Inn Express CHICAGO - MAGNIFICENT MILE

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Buckeye3
Business
cincinnati
Feb 26, 2013

Good place to stay for business

Great loaction and priced nice. Parking is expensive but every place is like that.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Holiday Inn Express CHICAGO - MAGNIFICENT MILE

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Wild Goose
Business
Anchorage, AK, USA
Mar 23, 2013

Very nice hotel, close to Magnificent Mile

My wife and I stayed four nights. The hotel is in a great location with many excellent restaurants and bars close by as well as great shopping (Nordstrom's, Bloomingdale's, Crate and Barrel, Orvis, etc.). It is an old hotel, but it has been renovated very nicely. There is a little wear on the carpet and walls, so I assume it gets a lot of business (which it had when I was there). The rooms are small, but nicely decorated and the bed was very comfortable. Staff was excellent - very friendly and helpful. Breakfast was typical for Holiday Inn Express - not bad. If you want something a little better, Eggsperience is only two blocks away. All in all, this is a very nice place to stay in a fantastic location, at a very reasonable rate. I highly recommend it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Fogo de Chao is a fantastic place to eat if you want great quality, quantity, variety, and flavor of meat (many different cuts of beef, lamb, pork, and chicken). Also has a fantastic salad bar.

Review of Holiday Inn Express CHICAGO - MAGNIFICENT MILE

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
chitown guest
Business
wisconsin
Apr 1, 2013

Good downtown deal

Clean, efficient and fantastic location for a good price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Holiday Inn Express CHICAGO - MAGNIFICENT MILE

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
mburkitt2
Business
Illinois
May 29, 2013

Great Stay

This hotel was a good deal for the money. Only 2 blocks from the shops on Michigan Ave. It was clean and the staff was very friendly and accommodating. I would recommend to anyone staying in Chicago.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Holiday Inn Express CHICAGO - MAGNIFICENT MILE

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
HaveShoesWillTravel
Business
Saint Louis, MO
Jun 3, 2013

Awesome place for a weekend getaway.

The staff was great; personal, reliable, cordial and accommodating. This hotel is awesome for anyone visiting Chicago for a short time and enjoys walking to everything they need within a mile. It made a great home base. When I needed a pizza at 12am, the attendant got me great pizza. When it rained, the doorman lent me an umbrella. The price? O_o Too good to pass up.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Everything was within a mile walk.

Review of Holiday Inn Express CHICAGO - MAGNIFICENT MILE

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Lori L.
Business
Lincoln, NE
Jul 16, 2013

Chicago getaway

Location of the hotel is just a couple blocks from Michigan Ave and from Giordano's, my favorite place for pizza. Enjoyed the continental breakfast, have a large variety of hot/cold food. Staff is very helpful and friendly. The Hotel/room was very clean. Our room for two people was small compared to what we were used to, but had everything we needed in it and we were only there at night anyway.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Holiday Inn Express CHICAGO - MAGNIFICENT MILE

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Good times 1952
Business
Madison
Jun 8, 2013

Great bargain

We were in Chicago for three days of sightseeing, plays, shopping, and eating. Holiday Inn offered the best price by far. We have visited the area numerous times so at the lowest price were prepared for some issues. To our pleasant surprise, we had NO issues at all and found this hotel nicer than others we have stayed at in the area for 2 and 3x the cost. Courteous, friendly, helpful staff throughout, especially Fran at the front desk. Room small, but clean (as was the whole hotel), comfortable, with all the amentitiies we needed especially since we rarely were in it. Nice variety at the breakfast in the morning to start your day. Location was great for everything we wished to do on this trip, easy walks to the Mile and other attractions. We would have no issues with recommending this hotel to our friends and will definitely return in the future.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Holiday Inn Express CHICAGO - MAGNIFICENT MILE

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Lolasabunny
Business
Fremont, CA
Aug 1, 2013

My solo getaway

This hotel was perfect for my solo trip. It was very affordable, room was small (perfect for just me), free breakfast (loved it)! The staff was great, very friendly and ready to recommend wonderful places to see and restaurants. The bed wasn't as comfy as I hoped it would be, but who cares! I was there to tour around not lay in bed. The location of the hotel was 2-3 blocks from the magnificent mile and surrounded by great restaurants. I would go back again and again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top