Rate based on Check-in: Aug 24, 2014 Check-out: Aug 25, 2014

Holiday Inn Express CHICAGO - MAGNIFICENT MILE

3 stars
640 N. WABASH AVENUE, CHICAGO, IL 60611
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.7
out of 5
299 reviews
Awesome Shopping hotel

This hotel has a perfect location if you want to go shopping on the Magnificent Mile. They were all... See full review

  • Jtomm
  • Dec 8, 2013
Chicago Day Trip

On a quick trip to Chicago to visit some siblings I decided on a whim to find a hotel downtown. I... See full review

  • Koiifish
  • Nov 4, 2013
Welcome to our Holiday Inn Express Magnificent Mile Hotel. Our downtown Chicago hotel , conveniently located off Michigan Avenue on the Magnificent Mile, is situated in the heart of Chicago near several businesses and attractions. Business travelers will appreciate our downtown Chicago hotel location near major companies such as Deloitte, Boeing, AT&T, Sun Microsystems, Computer Sciences Corp. and Northwestern Hospital . Flying into Chicago? Our Chicago hotel is close to O'Hare (18 miles) and Midway (12 miles) Airports, saving time for the busy executive. Staying at this landmark Chicago hotel will make it easy to visit popular Chicago attractions like the Shedd Aquarium, the Art Institute, Navy Pier, Lincoln Park Zoo and Millennium Park . Just 2 blocks away from Michigan Ave, Chicago's Magnificent Mile, where you can indulge in shopping at the Water Tower Place, Nordstrom Mall, plus more shops to choose from. The historic Holiday Inn Express Magnificent Mile hotel has 174 guestrooms and 1 suite. The public areas reflect 1920s Beaux Arts' architecture and feature a great room with comfortable seating areas for the complimentary Express Start breakfast. Our Chicago hotel provides a chic, urban setting that is Wi-Fi friendly, stylishly updated and convenient to downtown businesses and attractions. Whether you visit Chicago for business or vacation travel, stay comfortably at our Magnificent Mile hotel.

Amenities

  • Free breakfast
  • High-speed internet
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Free local telephone calls
Ice machine
Activities
Golf
Dining
Free breakfast
Bar/Lounge
Coffee maker in room
Services
Business center
Maid service
Concierge desk
ATM/Cash machine
Shops/Commercial services
Car rental desk
Porters
FAX
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Satellite TV
Safe
Phone with speaker
Desk with lamp
Hairdryer in room
Outlet adapters
Turndown service
Temperature control
Ironing board
Bath tub

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Holiday Inn Express CHICAGO - MAGNIFICENT MILE also booked these hotels.

Hotel Map

41.8933 -87.6268
Nearby airports
Chicago Ohare International, (ORD), 18.00, MI; Chicago Midway Airport, (MDW), 12.00, MI;
Area description
Downtown, downtown

Nearby points of interest

  • Chicago - Mag Mile - Wacker Dr: 0 mi
  • Terra Museum of American Art: 0.1 mi
  • North Michigan Avenue: 0.2 mi
  • Holy Name Cathedral: 0.2 mi
  • Tribune Tower: 0.3 mi
  • Wrigley Building: 0.3 mi
  • Museum of Broadcast Communications: 0.3 mi
  • Seneca Park: 0.4 mi
  • Marina City: 0.4 mi
  • Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.4 mi
  • Drury Lane Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • John Hancock Center: 0.4 mi
  • Water Tower: 0.5 mi
  • Washington Square Park: 0.5 mi
  • Lake Shore Park: 0.5 mi
  • Chicago - Mag Mile - Wacker Dr: 0 mi
  • Terra Museum of American Art: 0.1 mi
  • North Michigan Avenue: 0.2 mi
  • Holy Name Cathedral: 0.2 mi
  • Tribune Tower: 0.3 mi
  • Wrigley Building: 0.3 mi
  • Museum of Broadcast Communications: 0.3 mi
  • Seneca Park: 0.4 mi
  • Marina City: 0.4 mi
  • Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.4 mi
  • Drury Lane Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • John Hancock Center: 0.4 mi
  • Water Tower: 0.5 mi
  • Washington Square Park: 0.5 mi
  • Lake Shore Park: 0.5 mi
  • Harold Washington College: 0.5 mi
  • Chicago Theater: 0.6 mi
  • Merchandise Mart: 0.6 mi
  • Prudential Plaza: 0.6 mi
  • Goodman Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Oriental Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Macys: 0.7 mi
  • Chicago Cultural Center: 0.7 mi
  • Harris Theater: 0.7 mi
  • Oak Street Beach: 0.7 mi
  • City Hall: 0.7 mi
  • Michigan Avenue: 0.7 mi
  • Cadillac Palace Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Chicago Historical Society: 0.7 mi
  • Shubert Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Cloud Gate: 0.8 mi
  • Pritzker Pavilion: 0.8 mi
  • Lake Point Tower: 0.8 mi
  • State Street: 0.8 mi
  • Crown Fountain: 0.8 mi
  • Bank of America Theatre: 0.9 mi
  • Children Museum: 0.9 mi
  • Opera House: 0.9 mi
  • Art Institute of Chicago: 1 mi
  • Symphony Center: 1 mi
  • Chicago Architecture Foundation: 1 mi
  • Chicago Mercantile Exchange: 1 mi
  • Yacht Club: 1 mi
  • Navy Pier: 1.1 mi
  • Chicago Board of Trade: 1.1 mi

Dining

Quartino
Wine bar and Italian restaurant

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by CheapTickets

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (299)

Ratings and reviews for Holiday Inn Express CHICAGO - MAGNIFICENT MILE

Overall score

3.4 / 5
5.01.0
125 out of 299
Amenities:
3.2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
3.1
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.7

77% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Holiday Inn Express CHICAGO - MAGNIFICENT MILE

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Baseball Fan Ron
Riverside, California
Jul 26, 2014

Hotel is as advertised!

The staff was outstanding and friendly. The room was small, but we were not in much. We enjoyed our stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Holiday Inn Express CHICAGO - MAGNIFICENT MILE

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
mnmnk
Sioux Falls, SD
Jul 10, 2014

vacation

We were disappointed that we were not informed in the information provided that there was no parking. I had not planned on having to spend an additional $49.00 per night for parking.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Holiday Inn Express CHICAGO - MAGNIFICENT MILE

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
mnmnk
Sioux Falls, SD
Jul 9, 2014

Chicago visit

I was not prepared for the fact that there would not be any parking available. It cost me $49.00 per night to park. I am disappointed that your ad did not inform me that I would have the extra cost for parking my car.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Review of Holiday Inn Express CHICAGO - MAGNIFICENT MILE

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Retirees on the go
Minneapolis, MN
Jul 6, 2014

Great Location!

Great location for a visit to Chicago! Breakfast here was great also. Rooms were on the smaller size (think Europe) but the queen bed was comfortable. The room had a closet and safe. The staff was very accommodating. There was a lot of shopping and many, many restaurants within walking distance. We took the train from the airport and used the extensive bus system for our daily transportation needs.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Rental blue bikes are nearby and cost $7 for 24 hours. The Navy Pier and Downtown were each about 1 mile away.

Review of Holiday Inn Express CHICAGO - MAGNIFICENT MILE

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Cantwelll
Coralville, IA
Jul 6, 2014

Great location

Small rooms because it's a renovated older hotel, but great location and friendly staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Go across the street to Trader Joes for hotel room snacks!

Review of Holiday Inn Express CHICAGO - MAGNIFICENT MILE

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
jenjojo
Columbus Ohio
Jan 13, 2014

No frills, but perfect location.

We have stayed here three times because of the location. It's not a luxury hotel, but it is clean and modern. The rooms are small, but if you are going to be out and about it doesn't really matter. The staff is super friendly and you can walk anywhere or get a cab really easily in this location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Holiday Inn Express CHICAGO - MAGNIFICENT MILE

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Backwsh
North East PA
Dec 10, 2013

A bit expensive relative to what else is available in the area.

OK. About what I expected. Couldn't get change for a $20 at the front desk. Needed a magnifying glass to read the street names on the courtesy map of the neighborhood.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Holiday Inn Express CHICAGO - MAGNIFICENT MILE

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Jtomm
Chicago, Illinois
Dec 8, 2013

Awesome Shopping hotel

This hotel has a perfect location if you want to go shopping on the Magnificent Mile. They were all so nice and very helpful with whatever we needed. The room was comfortable and always clean for us. The breakfast was okay but had a good variety.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Holiday Inn Express CHICAGO - MAGNIFICENT MILE

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
B.G. Here for the wedding
Chicago, IL
Nov 19, 2013

Great Location. Great Breakfast. Great Price.

We went with this hotel because it was on the cheaper hotels near the Magnificent Mile. We were going out for Halloween and needed a place to crash afterwards. We also chose this hotel because it has a continental breakfast included. This was one of the best continental breakfasts that I've ever had. I really enjoyed the cinnamon rolls. The room was comfortable. We had one on the third floor (so pretty close to the street). The problem was that the window didn't quite seal correctly, so there was loud noises coming from the street, including a parking garage that made loud beeping noises every time a car exited. Needless to say, not the most pleasant when you are trying to sleep in on a Sunday morning. It was also a little cold. If we had been staying there more than one night, I would have said something about it, but we were in a rush, so I didn't mention it. The room was small, but it was all we needed. The bed was comfy. No fridge or anything, but oh well. Overall, I would recommend staying here if you're looking for a good deal in downtown Chicago.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: In Hotel

Don't miss the continental breakfast. It's great!

Review of Holiday Inn Express CHICAGO - MAGNIFICENT MILE

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
B.G. Here for the wedding
Chicago, IL
Oct 28, 2013

Loved the breakfast buffet

It's a Holiday Inn, so you know what you're getting. Our room was small, no fridge or microwave. The TV was nice. The bed was comfy, but the windows were not sealed all the way, so there was a tiny draft, and many of the noises of the outside traffic/parking garages were quite annoying while trying to sleep. It probably would have been worth mentioning this to the management, but it didn't seem worth the trouble, especially since we were only staying there one night after going out for halloween. If i were staying longer, I think I would have mentioned this. On the plus side, the breakfast buffet is great. It's one of the nicest Holiday Inn breakfast buffets. All the usual stuff, nice and fresh. And a free breakfast is MUCH cheaper than anything you would get in the loop. Overall I would recommend this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
4
Money-saving tip: In Hotel

The free breakfast buffet is the cheapest breakfast you will find in downtown chicago.

Back to menu Return to top