Rate based on Check-in: Feb 11, 2016 Check-out: Feb 12, 2016

Holiday Inn Express CHICAGO - MAGNIFICENT MILE

3 stars
View map of 640 N. Wabash Avenue, Chicago, IL 60611

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
25 reviews
No free parking

Overall, was good. Except for the parking. No parking and the parking next door doesn't have any... See full review

  • JORGE G.
  • Jan 12, 2015
Awesome

Very clean very nice and very updated the parking was expensive though 44 dollars for 24 hours I... See full review

  • Alex1212
  • Sep 3, 2014
Welcome to our Holiday Inn Express Magnificent Mile Hotel. Our downtown Chicago hotel, conveniently located off Michigan Avenue on the Magnificent Mile, is situated in the heart of Chicago near several businesses and attractions. Business travelers will appreciate our downtown Chicago hotel location near major companies such as Deloitte, Boeing, AT&T, Sun Microsystems, Computer Sciences Corp. and Northwestern Hospital. Flying into Chicago? Our Chicago hotel is close to O'Hare (18 miles) and Midway (12 miles) Airports, saving time for the busy executive. Staying at this landmark Chicago hotel will make it easy to visit popular Chicago attractions like the Shedd Aquarium, the Art Institute, Navy Pier, Lincoln Park Zoo and Millennium Park. Just 2 blocks away from Michigan Ave, Chicago's Magnificent Mile, where you can indulge in shopping at the Water Tower Place, Nordstrom Mall, plus more shops to choose from. The historic Holiday Inn Express Magnificent Mile hotel has 174 guestrooms and 1 suite. The public areas reflect 1920s Beaux Arts' architecture and feature a great room with comfortable seating areas for the complimentary Express Start breakfast. Our Chicago hotel provides a chic, urban setting that is Wi-Fi friendly, stylishly updated and convenient to downtown businesses and attractions. Whether you visit Chicago for business or vacation travel, stay comfortably at our Magnificent Mile hotel.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Holiday Inn Express CHICAGO - MAGNIFICENT MILE also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5

Hotel Map

41.8933 -87.6268
Area served
CHICAGO
Nearby airports
Chicago Ohare International, (ORD), 18.00, MI, NW; Chicago Midway Airport, (MDW), 12.00, MI, SW;
Area description
City Center, city

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by CheapTickets

Ratings and reviews for Holiday Inn Express CHICAGO - MAGNIFICENT MILE

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
7 out of 25
Amenities:
3.1
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3.9
Comfort:
3
Location:
4.3
Value:
3.7

71% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Holiday Inn Express CHICAGO - MAGNIFICENT MILE

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Backwsh
Couples
North East PA
Dec 10, 2013

A bit expensive relative to what else is available in the area.

OK. About what I expected. Couldn't get change for a $20 at the front desk. Needed a magnifying glass to read the street names on the courtesy map of the neighborhood.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Holiday Inn Express CHICAGO - MAGNIFICENT MILE

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
jlucette
Couples
Minneapoils
Aug 15, 2012

Better than expected!

This is a great place to stay if you just want a clean, simple place to sleep in Chicago. Rooms are small - true, but extremely clean and the bed was comfortable. The staff was very nice, went out of their way to get us a fridge (that we did request before we got there - a small mix up that they fixed asap). One of the men at the desk was above and beyond helpful, he suggested many places to eat and dance, then actually called us after we left to go sight see to list a few more he remembered. I hope he gets a raise, or is paid well, because that was so awesome! Overall, very happy, and great location - will definitely stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Holiday Inn Express CHICAGO - MAGNIFICENT MILE

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Calcass
Couples
Traverse City, MI, USA
Mar 23, 2012

Great Location, breakfast and staff !!

The hotel was clean, updated and very accommodating. The breakfast is a great way to start your day and plenty of options to fill you up.. Only complaints are rooms are very small....computers in work room are slow and printer didn't work.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Holiday Inn Express CHICAGO - MAGNIFICENT MILE

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Septluv11
Couples
West Palm Beach, FL
Feb 22, 2012

Good for a weekend stay

Very close to Michigan Ave. but without the busyness of the city. Friendly staff, clean room, good breakfast buffet. We were given a wheelchair-accessible room (neither one of us are handicapped) which resulted in a very small room and huge bathroom. Not very comfortable (I can only speak for this room in particular. It's not a regular room.) but perfect if you're looking for an affordable place to stay a couple of nights that is within walking distance to the Magnificent Mile, train station and tons of restaurant choices.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Use the train/ subway system. You can go anywhere with it, no need to rent a car. We took it right from the airport. Very safe, you'll be surprised how many people ride it late at night. We took it back to our hotel at 10:30pm on a Sunday night and it was FULL!

Review of Holiday Inn Express CHICAGO - MAGNIFICENT MILE

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Charly Brown
Couples
Detroit, MI, USA
Jan 16, 2012

Like a Hostel

Perfect Location and everything you need, but no spare square inch, a bit loud.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Holiday Inn Express CHICAGO - MAGNIFICENT MILE

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
black barbie
Couples
St Paul, MN
Oct 24, 2010

Great location, incredibly small

My Fiance and I went to Chicago for a little get away. We did the typical tourist things like the Shedd Aquarium, Magnificent mile etc. I had read that the rooms were small but I have stayed in New York before so I didn't think it would be any different. Wow, was it small. It was incredibly cramped. Even in the lobby there wasn't a lot of room for many people. Also, our window was facing a brick wall so we didn't have any natural light and the room had florescent lighting. The location is the best about the hotel. It was close to everything which was very nice since we weren't there very long.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The weber grill restaurant is very close. Excellent food and priced well

Review of Holiday Inn Express CHICAGO - MAGNIFICENT MILE

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Penguin
Couples
St. Louis, MO
Nov 10, 2009

Good location and Great staff!

The first thing that came to mind when opening our hotel room door was, "This is very small and cramped." It was very neat, clean, and contemporary though. We left for a couple of hours and came back to ashes on our bed. Someone was obviously in our non-smoking room while we were gone! When I called the front desk, the staff and the manager were very friendly and moved us to an upgraded room with a king bed,bench,mini fridge,and more space! I was very pleased with how they handled the situation. It was nice being just a couple blocks from shopping and restaurants.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

The magnificent mile is two blocks away. It consists mostly of high end designer shops though. There are some places like Forever 21 and NikeTown that are more affordable though. There are Starbucks on almost every corner lol

Back to menu Return to top