Rate based on Check-in: Apr 3, 2015 Check-out: Apr 6, 2015

Holiday Inn Express CHICAGO - MAGNIFICENT MILE

3 stars
View map of 640 N. Wabash Avenue, Chicago, IL 60611

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Holiday Inn Express CHICAGO - MAGNIFICENT MILE

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
215 out of 215
Amenities:
3.5
Cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
3.4
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.9

85% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Holiday Inn Express CHICAGO - MAGNIFICENT MILE

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Gena super MoM
Business
Bedford In
Mar 30, 2013

Great weekend getaway

Hotel excellent. great breakfast and very friendly staff

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Holiday Inn Express CHICAGO - MAGNIFICENT MILE

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Wild Goose
Business
Anchorage, AK, USA
Mar 23, 2013

Very nice hotel, close to Magnificent Mile

My wife and I stayed four nights. The hotel is in a great location with many excellent restaurants and bars close by as well as great shopping (Nordstrom's, Bloomingdale's, Crate and Barrel, Orvis, etc.). It is an old hotel, but it has been renovated very nicely. There is a little wear on the carpet and walls, so I assume it gets a lot of business (which it had when I was there). The rooms are small, but nicely decorated and the bed was very comfortable. Staff was excellent - very friendly and helpful. Breakfast was typical for Holiday Inn Express - not bad. If you want something a little better, Eggsperience is only two blocks away. All in all, this is a very nice place to stay in a fantastic location, at a very reasonable rate. I highly recommend it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Fogo de Chao is a fantastic place to eat if you want great quality, quantity, variety, and flavor of meat (many different cuts of beef, lamb, pork, and chicken). Also has a fantastic salad bar.

Review of Holiday Inn Express CHICAGO - MAGNIFICENT MILE

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Traveler from C'ville
Business
Charlottesville, VA
Mar 20, 2013

Perfect location but not the best room experience

The room was clean and you couldn't ask for a better location and the staff was very good as well. Problems: Shower curtain too high and didn't hit below the tub level enough this water flooded the bathroom without extreme care, problems with the heater (quickly resolved) and the sounds....not well I sound insulated. The noise from the elevator and the streets outside made it almost impossible to sleep.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Holiday Inn Express CHICAGO - MAGNIFICENT MILE

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Buckeye3
Business
cincinnati
Feb 26, 2013

Good place to stay for business

Great loaction and priced nice. Parking is expensive but every place is like that.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Holiday Inn Express CHICAGO - MAGNIFICENT MILE

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Paminator
Business
Houston
Feb 13, 2013

Schools Summit chicago

I actually got lost trying to find parking at this hotel. The nice lady at the front desk gave me turn-by-turn directions to get back but the valet parking was $44 / night. How ridiculous! The rooms were small but super cozy. The breakfast was descent and the customer service was pretty good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Holiday Inn Express CHICAGO - MAGNIFICENT MILE

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Granite City, IL
Feb 3, 2013

Nice Hotel

The location was good--a 20 min walk from Michigan Ave. The rooms were small but clean. The staff were friendly and the breakfast was good. Overall a pleasant and affordable choice when visiting the Chicago metro area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Trader Joe's is across the road.

Review of Holiday Inn Express CHICAGO - MAGNIFICENT MILE

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Bflat2
Business
Wisconsin
Feb 1, 2013

Location/Value

Great location - right in the heart of things - small dated rooms - the bottom line is you will be happy if you got a low price/deal and disappointed if you paid close to rack-rate-

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Holiday Inn Express CHICAGO - MAGNIFICENT MILE

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ed Baldini
Business
Glen Rock, NJ
Jan 24, 2013

Felt it was fine. Convenient to the after PROMAT activities that I went to after 6 PM

The check in and out were the fastest experience in a while. A convenient cab or walk to any of the vendor party locations - The Chop House was down the street, Rock Brewery was 5 blocks, and 71 Water was 4 blocks so I was unusually happy about proximity to all. It was cold out so some of those were cab rides!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Holiday Inn Express CHICAGO - MAGNIFICENT MILE

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Steve HSR
Business
Detroit area
Jan 7, 2013

Perfect 3 day get-away

Family of 6 stayed in 2 rooms. Small but comfy rooms. The staff are probably the most friendly group I've ever encountered. Great location, excellent breakfast.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

If going to Union Station to catch the Amtrak, have the cab driver drop you off on the east side of the building.

Review of Holiday Inn Express CHICAGO - MAGNIFICENT MILE

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Tccccc
Business
Maryland
Dec 25, 2012

Hidden Gem

Considering what I paid for this hotel, I was not expecting to stay in such a clean and confortable room. The lobby is gorgeous. There are framed pictures of chickens hanging on the wall, but I promise it isn't weird..just stare at them and appreciate the art. They serve a DELICIOUS every morning. The staff was also extremely friendly, and one of them gave me great advice on how to take the train to O'hare after I woke up late and almost missed my flight!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top