Rate based on Check-in: Feb 1, 2015 Check-out: Feb 4, 2015

Holiday Inn Express CHICAGO - MAGNIFICENT MILE

3 stars
640 N. Wabash Avenue, Chicago, IL 60611
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.7
out of 5
214 reviews
No free parking

Overall, was good. Except for the parking. No parking and the parking next door doesn't have any... See full review

  • JORGE G.
  • Jan 12, 2015
Business Trip

Great location for a business trip. The rooms are small but the location is walking distance to... See full review

  • Richard M.
  • Dec 29, 2014
Welcome to our Holiday Inn Express Magnificent Mile Hotel. Our downtown Chicago hotel , conveniently located off Michigan Avenue on the Magnificent Mile, is situated in the heart of Chicago near several businesses and attractions. Business travelers will appreciate our downtown Chicago hotel location near major companies such as Deloitte, Boeing, AT&T, Sun Microsystems, Computer Sciences Corp. and Northwestern Hospital . Flying into Chicago? Our Chicago hotel is close to O'Hare (18 miles) and Midway (12 miles) Airports, saving time for the busy executive. Staying at this landmark Chicago hotel will make it easy to visit popular Chicago attractions like the Shedd Aquarium, the Art Institute, Navy Pier, Lincoln Park Zoo and Millennium Park . Just 2 blocks away from Michigan Ave, Chicago's Magnificent Mile, where you can indulge in shopping at the Water Tower Place, Nordstrom Mall, plus more shops to choose from. The historic Holiday Inn Express Magnificent Mile hotel has 174 guestrooms and 1 suite. The public areas reflect 1920s Beaux Arts' architecture and feature a great room with comfortable seating areas for the complimentary Express Start breakfast. Our Chicago hotel provides a chic, urban setting that is Wi-Fi friendly, stylishly updated and convenient to downtown businesses and attractions. Whether you visit Chicago for business or vacation travel, stay comfortably at our Magnificent Mile hotel.

Amenities

  • Free breakfast
  • High-speed internet
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Free local telephone calls
Ice machine
Activities
Golf
Dining
Free breakfast
Bar/Lounge
Coffee maker in room
Services
Business center
Maid service
Concierge desk
ATM/Cash machine
Shops/Commercial services
Car rental desk
Porters
FAX
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Satellite TV
Phone with speaker
Desk with lamp
Hairdryer in room
Outlet adapters
Turndown service
Temperature control
Ironing board
Bath tub

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Holiday Inn Express CHICAGO - MAGNIFICENT MILE also booked these hotels.

Hotel Map

41.8933 -87.6268
Nearby airports
Chicago Ohare International, (ORD), 18.00, MI, NW; Chicago Midway Airport, (MDW), 12.00, MI, SW;
Area description
Downtown, downtown

Nearby points of interest

  • Chicago - Mag Mile - Wacker Dr: 0 mi
  • Terra Museum of American Art: 0.1 mi
  • North Michigan Avenue: 0.2 mi
  • Holy Name Cathedral: 0.2 mi
  • Tribune Tower: 0.3 mi
  • Wrigley Building: 0.3 mi
  • Museum of Broadcast Communications: 0.3 mi
  • Seneca Park: 0.4 mi
  • Marina City: 0.4 mi
  • Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.4 mi
  • Drury Lane Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • John Hancock Center: 0.4 mi
  • Water Tower: 0.5 mi
  • Washington Square Park: 0.5 mi
  • Lake Shore Park: 0.5 mi
  • Chicago - Mag Mile - Wacker Dr: 0 mi
  • Terra Museum of American Art: 0.1 mi
  • North Michigan Avenue: 0.2 mi
  • Holy Name Cathedral: 0.2 mi
  • Tribune Tower: 0.3 mi
  • Wrigley Building: 0.3 mi
  • Museum of Broadcast Communications: 0.3 mi
  • Seneca Park: 0.4 mi
  • Marina City: 0.4 mi
  • Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.4 mi
  • Drury Lane Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • John Hancock Center: 0.4 mi
  • Water Tower: 0.5 mi
  • Washington Square Park: 0.5 mi
  • Lake Shore Park: 0.5 mi
  • Harold Washington College: 0.5 mi
  • Chicago Theater: 0.6 mi
  • Merchandise Mart: 0.6 mi
  • Prudential Plaza: 0.6 mi
  • Goodman Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Oriental Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Macys: 0.7 mi
  • Chicago Cultural Center: 0.7 mi
  • Harris Theater: 0.7 mi
  • Oak Street Beach: 0.7 mi
  • City Hall: 0.7 mi
  • Michigan Avenue: 0.7 mi
  • Cadillac Palace Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Chicago Historical Society: 0.7 mi
  • Shubert Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Cloud Gate: 0.8 mi
  • Pritzker Pavilion: 0.8 mi
  • Lake Point Tower: 0.8 mi
  • State Street: 0.8 mi
  • Crown Fountain: 0.8 mi
  • Bank of America Theatre: 0.9 mi
  • Children Museum: 0.9 mi
  • Opera House: 0.9 mi
  • Art Institute of Chicago: 1 mi
  • Symphony Center: 1 mi
  • Chicago Architecture Foundation: 1 mi
  • Chicago Mercantile Exchange: 1 mi
  • Yacht Club: 1 mi
  • Navy Pier: 1.1 mi
  • Chicago Board of Trade: 1.1 mi

Dining

Quartino
Wine bar and Italian restaurant

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by CheapTickets

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (214)

Ratings and reviews for Holiday Inn Express CHICAGO - MAGNIFICENT MILE

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
214 out of 214
Amenities:
3.5
Cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
3.4
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.9

85% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Holiday Inn Express CHICAGO - MAGNIFICENT MILE

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Wild Goose
Business
Anchorage, AK, USA
Mar 23, 2013

Very nice hotel, close to Magnificent Mile

My wife and I stayed four nights. The hotel is in a great location with many excellent restaurants and bars close by as well as great shopping (Nordstrom's, Bloomingdale's, Crate and Barrel, Orvis, etc.). It is an old hotel, but it has been renovated very nicely. There is a little wear on the carpet and walls, so I assume it gets a lot of business (which it had when I was there). The rooms are small, but nicely decorated and the bed was very comfortable. Staff was excellent - very friendly and helpful. Breakfast was typical for Holiday Inn Express - not bad. If you want something a little better, Eggsperience is only two blocks away. All in all, this is a very nice place to stay in a fantastic location, at a very reasonable rate. I highly recommend it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Fogo de Chao is a fantastic place to eat if you want great quality, quantity, variety, and flavor of meat (many different cuts of beef, lamb, pork, and chicken). Also has a fantastic salad bar.

Review of Holiday Inn Express CHICAGO - MAGNIFICENT MILE

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Traveler from C'ville
Business
Charlottesville, VA
Mar 20, 2013

Perfect location but not the best room experience

The room was clean and you couldn't ask for a better location and the staff was very good as well. Problems: Shower curtain too high and didn't hit below the tub level enough this water flooded the bathroom without extreme care, problems with the heater (quickly resolved) and the sounds....not well I sound insulated. The noise from the elevator and the streets outside made it almost impossible to sleep.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Holiday Inn Express CHICAGO - MAGNIFICENT MILE

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Buckeye3
Business
cincinnati
Feb 26, 2013

Good place to stay for business

Great loaction and priced nice. Parking is expensive but every place is like that.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Holiday Inn Express CHICAGO - MAGNIFICENT MILE

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Paminator
Business
Houston
Feb 13, 2013

Schools Summit chicago

I actually got lost trying to find parking at this hotel. The nice lady at the front desk gave me turn-by-turn directions to get back but the valet parking was $44 / night. How ridiculous! The rooms were small but super cozy. The breakfast was descent and the customer service was pretty good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Holiday Inn Express CHICAGO - MAGNIFICENT MILE

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Granite City, IL
Feb 3, 2013

Nice Hotel

The location was good--a 20 min walk from Michigan Ave. The rooms were small but clean. The staff were friendly and the breakfast was good. Overall a pleasant and affordable choice when visiting the Chicago metro area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Trader Joe's is across the road.

Review of Holiday Inn Express CHICAGO - MAGNIFICENT MILE

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Bflat2
Business
Wisconsin
Feb 1, 2013

Location/Value

Great location - right in the heart of things - small dated rooms - the bottom line is you will be happy if you got a low price/deal and disappointed if you paid close to rack-rate-

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Holiday Inn Express CHICAGO - MAGNIFICENT MILE

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ed Baldini
Business
Glen Rock, NJ
Jan 24, 2013

Felt it was fine. Convenient to the after PROMAT activities that I went to after 6 PM

The check in and out were the fastest experience in a while. A convenient cab or walk to any of the vendor party locations - The Chop House was down the street, Rock Brewery was 5 blocks, and 71 Water was 4 blocks so I was unusually happy about proximity to all. It was cold out so some of those were cab rides!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Holiday Inn Express CHICAGO - MAGNIFICENT MILE

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Steve HSR
Business
Detroit area
Jan 7, 2013

Perfect 3 day get-away

Family of 6 stayed in 2 rooms. Small but comfy rooms. The staff are probably the most friendly group I've ever encountered. Great location, excellent breakfast.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

If going to Union Station to catch the Amtrak, have the cab driver drop you off on the east side of the building.

Review of Holiday Inn Express CHICAGO - MAGNIFICENT MILE

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Tccccc
Business
Maryland
Dec 25, 2012

Hidden Gem

Considering what I paid for this hotel, I was not expecting to stay in such a clean and confortable room. The lobby is gorgeous. There are framed pictures of chickens hanging on the wall, but I promise it isn't weird..just stare at them and appreciate the art. They serve a DELICIOUS every morning. The staff was also extremely friendly, and one of them gave me great advice on how to take the train to O'hare after I woke up late and almost missed my flight!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Holiday Inn Express CHICAGO - MAGNIFICENT MILE

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
JB since 1995
Business
Mountain Home, AR
Dec 16, 2012

Great Location

You cannot beat the price for the location. But, and I do mean but, the rooms are small. This may be a Holiday Inn Express but this is an old building with small rooms, small bathrooms, small (and slow) elevators... They put a new heating system in the rooms but I found it to be loud and uncontrollable. The breakfast was fine. I will stay here again if the price continues to be reasonable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top