Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 19, 2015 Check-out: Apr 20, 2015

DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Chicago - Magnificent Mile

3 stars
View map of 300 E. Ohio Street, Chicago, IL 60611

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Chicago - Magnificent Mile

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
226 out of 226
Amenities:
3.7
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.9

86% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Chicago - Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
MIssy
Business
Rochester Hills Mi
May 8, 2012

Great Customer Service

This hotel was fantastic! Close enough to shopping that we didn't need a cab yet far enough away that we didn't have to pay top dollar. Being unfamiliar with the area and stores and resturaunts near by the hotel staff made suggestions that all turned out to be great choises. We happened to be in Chicago the weekend of a big resturaunt conference and reservations were difficult to get. The staff at the Doubletree got us reservations for dinner with no trouble- we walked in and went right to our table! Great people at this place- kudos Doubletree Hilton!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Yolk for breakfast/brunch. Huge menu

Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Chicago - Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Annettelynn2012
Business
White Plains, NY
May 7, 2012

Girls weekend

The hotel was very nice. The rooms were very clean, the bathrooms were clean as well. I did miss the in-room safe. The bed was extremely comfortable, pillows not so much, but that is a personal preference. The staff was very helpful and kind. It was a great location. It was a nice walk to Navy Pier, and to restaurants, as well as most shopping.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Coco Pazzo Cafe- this is a nice little Italian restaurant with a Tuscan influence. The bar was nice, but not too big. The dining room is nice as well. The food was good and staff was great. The price was resonable. Its a quick walk from hotel.

Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Chicago - Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Pooh7132
Business
Rush City, Minnesota
Apr 9, 2012

Wonderful trip to Chicago!

The staff at Doubletree are amazing! Thanks for a perfect vacation! Everyone was so helpful and kind!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Yolk is an outstanding breakfast! WOW~ Sit at the counter and enjoy "real" Chicago. The food is great and the staff is wonderful!

Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Chicago - Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
rachelfitz
Business
San Francisco, CA, USA
Apr 8, 2012

Very good hotel, location, etc

I was only in for one night, but the location is just a few blocks from "the mile" and was also hip styling, a nice lobby bar, good restaurant, and a nice room. It was also a plus that Einstein Bros Bagels is attached. The warm cookies upon check in were also a nice touch.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Chicago - Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Paddys Day
Business
California
Mar 21, 2012

Great place to stay

The staff were great place is very close to everything shopping, navy pier, downtown and its was a great deal for the price

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Chicago - Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Absentmindedprof
Business
Cuyahoga Falls, OH
Mar 7, 2012

First time in Chicago!

Our experience in downtown Chicago was made even better by our stay at the Doubletree. It was clean, the staff (especially the concierge) were really helpful and accommodating. I also made use of the gym every morning (we stayed for four nights) and had no problem getting a treadmill. Our room was kept clean and was very comfortable. The only thing I would change is making complimentary wireless available to EVERYONE. Considering the price you pay per night, it should be free to everyone.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Devon's Seafood Grille is an awesome local establishment. It's about a 15 minute walk from the the Doubletree on E. Chicago Ave. The food is moderately priced and the owner is extremely accommodating and generous. We got a piece of carrot cake from him, on the house! At the end of the evening you can fill out a card and get on an e-mail list where they send you coupons and specials.

Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Chicago - Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
kollinv
Business
San Francisco, CA, USA
Mar 7, 2012

Nice Hotel! No Views but still nice.

The staff was very friendly and nice. The highlight of our trip was the warm chocolate chip cookies they give you and you can get as much as you like. They are super addictive! The hotel is close to Michigan Avenue and to a bunch of restaurants are available around the corner. The grocery store Dominicks is right around the corner of the hotel which GREAT! BE FORWARNED, THEY HAVE SENSORS FOR THE MINI BAR AND THE SNACK BAR. I found out the hard way by just using the mini bar as a refrigerator. But the front desk person was also nice enough to return the charges to the room when I told him I haven't used anything. Overall, I wouldn't mind staying here again and reasonable pricing.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Dominick's Grocery Store to buy water and snacks and alcohol!

Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Chicago - Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Writerly
Business
Santa Cruz, CA, USA
Mar 5, 2012

alternative to conference

Really great, gracious staff -- nice bar and restaurant, not great location, moderate $ for cabs most days to proper downtown chicago, but nice to have the quiet.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Chicago - Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Dickly
Business
Sweet Home, OR
Feb 27, 2012

AES Meeting

I felt very comfortable here. The cookies were fantastic.... the room was always clean and comfortable and the staff were very helpful. I would recommend staying at the Double Tree to any of my friends.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Chicago - Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
wvkrp
Business
West Virginia, USA
Feb 20, 2012

Couldn't be better

I hadn't stayed in a Doubletree for years and wasn't sure what to expect. The service here was excellent. At check-in they asked if I wanted a low or a high room. Wow! I love a view so that was a bonus for me. There were around the clock doormen and the concierge was knowledgeable about everything from transportation, night life, restaurants, and theater. Fantastic location for downtown shopping and dining. Room was clean and the beds were fantastic. Could I get one at home? I couldn't give the amenities 4 stars since the Internet was an extra charge per night. But there was free Internet in the lobby area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

I'd take the L from the airport next time. The shuttle was $55 round trip!

Back to menu Return to top