Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Feb 27, 2015 Check-out: Feb 28, 2015

DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Chicago - Magnificent Mile

3 stars
300 E. Ohio Street, Chicago, IL 60611
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
221 reviews
Very good stay

The Double Tree Hilton on Ohio St. was just the right hotel for my three day stay in Chicago. The... See full review

  • Aubrey C.
  • Feb 24, 2015
awesome trip

Last stayed here late 1977, when it was Jumers and beautiful. Present owners are doing their best... See full review

  • Feimeng G.
  • Feb 9, 2015
Windy City style and a side of hospitality with cookies at check-in

When guests are torn between shopping and sightseeing, this Streeterville hotel answers the call with its convenient location near the Magnificent Mile and Navy Pier. Situated in the middle of both landmarks, Doubletree Hotel Chicago Magnificent Mile is a popular choice for families. Ample meeting rooms lure event planners with 16,000 square feet of event space.  Einstein Bros Bagels is onsite, as well as Markethouse, taking its inspiration from the Heartland: All ingredients are seasonal and locally sourced.

Highlights
  • Walk to Navy Pier and the Magnificent Mile
  • Markethouse restaurant features seasonal fare
  • 16,000 square feet of event space
  • Outdoor pool, sundeck and H2O bar open in summer
  • Warm chocolate chip cookies at check-in
Rooms

Spacious rooms at Doubletree Hotel Chicago Magnificent Mile stick to a chic palette of red, mahogany and gray. Guests sleep on signature Doubletree Sweet Dreams mattresses topped with white linens and shiny rouge coverlets. Windows frame city or lake views, partial or full depending on the room. Standard rooms attend to the basics, from flat-screen TVs to Wolfgang Puck coffee and tea. Wireless Internet can be accessed for a charge.

Dining

Localvores will appreciate the use of organic, locally-sourced produce and meat at Markethouse, one of two dining options at the Doubletree Hotel Chicago Magnificent Mile. While the farmhouse chic space could qualify as fine dining, the menu is approachable, boasting classics such as meatloaf, angus burgers and half-chicken fired in the rotisserie.

On the run? Take a bagel break at Einstein Bros Bagels, which serves hot, fresh bagels alongside breakfast wraps, sandwiches and salads.

Transportation
  • O'Hare International Airport (17 miles)
  • Midway Airport (12 miles)
  • Closest train stops: Blue Line (Chicago to O'Hare) and Orange Line (Roosevelt to Midway)
  • McCormick Place Convention Center (10 minutes)
Business
  • 16,000 square feet of meeting space, including a 6,700-square-foot ballroom and one floor dedicated to breakout rooms
  • 24-hour business center with workstation, color printing and copying
  • Free Wi-Fi in lobby
  • Wi-Fi in rooms (fees apply)

DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Chicago - Magnificent Mile Rooms

2 Queens Bed
2 Queen beds-nonsmoking...Hi speed 9.95/Day-sweet dreams experience bed...Minibar-cable package with hbo-clock with mp3
1 King Bed
1 King bed-nonsmoking...Hi speed 9.95/Day-sweet dreams experience bed...Minibar-cable package with hbo-clock with mp3

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Pool
Activities
Pool
Dining
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Wheel chair access

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Chicago - Magnificent Mile also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

Hotel Map

41.893 -87.619
Area served
Chicago
Nearby airports
O`Hare Intl Airport, (ORD), 18.00, MI, SE; Chicago Midway Airport, (MDW), 15.00, MI, NE;

Nearby points of interest

  • North Michigan Avenue: 0.3 mi
  • Lake Shore Park: 0.3 mi
  • Tribune Tower: 0.3 mi
  • Terra Museum of American Art: 0.3 mi
  • Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.3 mi
  • Seneca Park: 0.3 mi
  • Lake Point Tower: 0.4 mi
  • Wrigley Building: 0.4 mi
  • Chicago - Mag Mile - Wacker Dr: 0.4 mi
  • Drury Lane Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • John Hancock Center: 0.5 mi
  • Holy Name Cathedral: 0.5 mi
  • Water Tower: 0.5 mi
  • Children Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Prudential Plaza: 0.6 mi
  • North Michigan Avenue: 0.3 mi
  • Lake Shore Park: 0.3 mi
  • Tribune Tower: 0.3 mi
  • Terra Museum of American Art: 0.3 mi
  • Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.3 mi
  • Seneca Park: 0.3 mi
  • Lake Point Tower: 0.4 mi
  • Wrigley Building: 0.4 mi
  • Chicago - Mag Mile - Wacker Dr: 0.4 mi
  • Drury Lane Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • John Hancock Center: 0.5 mi
  • Holy Name Cathedral: 0.5 mi
  • Water Tower: 0.5 mi
  • Children Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Prudential Plaza: 0.6 mi
  • Museum of Broadcast Communications: 0.6 mi
  • Marina City: 0.6 mi
  • Harold Washington College: 0.6 mi
  • Harris Theater: 0.6 mi
  • Navy Pier: 0.7 mi
  • Chicago Theater: 0.7 mi
  • Chicago Cultural Center: 0.7 mi
  • Pritzker Pavilion: 0.7 mi
  • Oak Street Beach: 0.7 mi
  • Washington Square Park: 0.7 mi
  • Cloud Gate: 0.7 mi
  • Macys: 0.8 mi
  • Oriental Theatre: 0.8 mi
  • Goodman Theatre: 0.8 mi
  • Shubert Theatre: 0.8 mi
  • Crown Fountain: 0.8 mi
  • Yacht Club: 0.8 mi
  • Michigan Avenue: 0.9 mi
  • State Street: 0.9 mi
  • Merchandise Mart: 0.9 mi
  • City Hall: 0.9 mi
  • Chicago Historical Society: 0.9 mi
  • Cadillac Palace Theatre: 0.9 mi
  • Art Institute of Chicago: 1 mi
  • Bank of America Theatre: 1 mi
  • Symphony Center: 1 mi
  • Chicago Architecture Foundation: 1 mi
  • Buckingham Fountain: 1.2 mi
  • Opera House: 1.2 mi
  • Auditorium Building: 1.2 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (221)

Ratings and reviews for DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Chicago - Magnificent Mile

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
221 out of 221
Amenities:
3.7
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.9

86% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Chicago - Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Absentmindedprof
Business
Cuyahoga Falls, OH
Mar 7, 2012

First time in Chicago!

Our experience in downtown Chicago was made even better by our stay at the Doubletree. It was clean, the staff (especially the concierge) were really helpful and accommodating. I also made use of the gym every morning (we stayed for four nights) and had no problem getting a treadmill. Our room was kept clean and was very comfortable. The only thing I would change is making complimentary wireless available to EVERYONE. Considering the price you pay per night, it should be free to everyone.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Devon's Seafood Grille is an awesome local establishment. It's about a 15 minute walk from the the Doubletree on E. Chicago Ave. The food is moderately priced and the owner is extremely accommodating and generous. We got a piece of carrot cake from him, on the house! At the end of the evening you can fill out a card and get on an e-mail list where they send you coupons and specials.

Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Chicago - Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
kollinv
Business
San Francisco, CA, USA
Mar 7, 2012

Nice Hotel! No Views but still nice.

The staff was very friendly and nice. The highlight of our trip was the warm chocolate chip cookies they give you and you can get as much as you like. They are super addictive! The hotel is close to Michigan Avenue and to a bunch of restaurants are available around the corner. The grocery store Dominicks is right around the corner of the hotel which GREAT! BE FORWARNED, THEY HAVE SENSORS FOR THE MINI BAR AND THE SNACK BAR. I found out the hard way by just using the mini bar as a refrigerator. But the front desk person was also nice enough to return the charges to the room when I told him I haven't used anything. Overall, I wouldn't mind staying here again and reasonable pricing.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Dominick's Grocery Store to buy water and snacks and alcohol!

Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Chicago - Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Writerly
Business
Santa Cruz, CA, USA
Mar 5, 2012

alternative to conference

Really great, gracious staff -- nice bar and restaurant, not great location, moderate $ for cabs most days to proper downtown chicago, but nice to have the quiet.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Chicago - Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Dickly
Business
Sweet Home, OR
Feb 27, 2012

AES Meeting

I felt very comfortable here. The cookies were fantastic.... the room was always clean and comfortable and the staff were very helpful. I would recommend staying at the Double Tree to any of my friends.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Chicago - Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
wvkrp
Business
West Virginia, USA
Feb 20, 2012

Couldn't be better

I hadn't stayed in a Doubletree for years and wasn't sure what to expect. The service here was excellent. At check-in they asked if I wanted a low or a high room. Wow! I love a view so that was a bonus for me. There were around the clock doormen and the concierge was knowledgeable about everything from transportation, night life, restaurants, and theater. Fantastic location for downtown shopping and dining. Room was clean and the beds were fantastic. Could I get one at home? I couldn't give the amenities 4 stars since the Internet was an extra charge per night. But there was free Internet in the lobby area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

I'd take the L from the airport next time. The shuttle was $55 round trip!

Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Chicago - Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Beer Man
Business
Kansas City, MO, USA
Feb 8, 2012

Awesome Weekend Getaway

About a $15 taxi ride to the bar/restaurant district, museum island, Sears/Willis Tower. Friendly staff and clean room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

If you get the chance and are a beer connoisseur like myself, check out Goose Island Clyborne brewery. Take the tour they some great local beers.

Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Chicago - Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
AliciaVena
Business
Chicago, IL, USA
Feb 6, 2012

1 Day

My experience at the hotel was good, the staff was really nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Chicago - Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Double A
Business
Champaign, IL
Feb 2, 2012

Chciago vacation

This hotel was almost in the perfect location. It was close enough to Navy Pier and Magnificent Mile, but far enough away that you didn't feel like you were fighting for space. Room was a good size but the bathroom was very tiny. Worth the money though.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

GREAT place to eat about three blocks away is Yolk. Nice prices (most under $10/entree) and taste fantastic. Worth looking into!

Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Chicago - Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
CAIA
Business
Central Illinois
Jan 30, 2012

Great for the money!

We were very surprised by how nice this hotel was for the price we paid. It was so close to Michigan Avenue and a quick walk to State street. The only downside: We stayed three nights in a non-smoking room. The first night we stayed, everything was normal. However the next two nights, the room smelled like smoke (and not cigarette smoke either). We were not sure why it was smelling like this - if it was maybe coming from our neighbors or what. But everything else was really nice. Close to everything!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Chicago - Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Felipe Pinzon
Business
Bogotá, Bogota, Colombia
Jan 30, 2012

Very good

Great expirence it was very clean, grear service. i recomed this hotel

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top