Rate based on Check-in: Jul 27, 2014 Check-out: Jul 28, 2014

DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Chicago - Magnificent Mile

3 stars
300 E. Ohio Street, Chicago, IL 60611
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
311 reviews
LocationLocationLocation

Excellent hotel...we really enjoyed how close it is to Navy Pier and the beach See full review

  • cubryno23
  • Jul 21, 2014
Great stay

From the moment we walked in we were treated very well. Service was great and there was nothing... See full review

  • Schel
  • May 5, 2014
Windy City style and a side of hospitality with cookies at check-in

When guests are torn between shopping and sightseeing, this Streeterville hotel answers the call with its convenient location near the Magnificent Mile and Navy Pier. Situated in the middle of both landmarks, Doubletree Hotel Chicago Magnificent Mile is a popular choice for families. Ample meeting rooms lure event planners with 16,000 square feet of event space.  Einstein Bros Bagels is onsite, as well as Markethouse, taking its inspiration from the Heartland: All ingredients are seasonal and locally sourced.

Highlights
  • Walk to Navy Pier and the Magnificent Mile
  • Markethouse restaurant features seasonal fare
  • 16,000 square feet of event space
  • Outdoor pool, sundeck and H2O bar open in summer
  • Warm chocolate chip cookies at check-in
Rooms

Spacious rooms at Doubletree Hotel Chicago Magnificent Mile stick to a chic palette of red, mahogany and gray. Guests sleep on signature Doubletree Sweet Dreams mattresses topped with white linens and shiny rouge coverlets. Windows frame city or lake views, partial or full depending on the room. Standard rooms attend to the basics, from flat-screen TVs to Wolfgang Puck coffee and tea. Wireless Internet can be accessed for a charge.

Dining

Localvores will appreciate the use of organic, locally-sourced produce and meat at Markethouse, one of two dining options at the Doubletree Hotel Chicago Magnificent Mile. While the farmhouse chic space could qualify as fine dining, the menu is approachable, boasting classics such as meatloaf, angus burgers and half-chicken fired in the rotisserie.

On the run? Take a bagel break at Einstein Bros Bagels, which serves hot, fresh bagels alongside breakfast wraps, sandwiches and salads.

Transportation
  • O'Hare International Airport (17 miles)
  • Midway Airport (12 miles)
  • Closest train stops: Blue Line (Chicago to O'Hare) and Orange Line (Roosevelt to Midway)
  • McCormick Place Convention Center (10 minutes)
Business
  • 16,000 square feet of meeting space, including a 6,700-square-foot ballroom and one floor dedicated to breakout rooms
  • 24-hour business center with workstation, color printing and copying
  • Free Wi-Fi in lobby
  • Wi-Fi in rooms (fees apply)

DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Chicago - Magnificent Mile Rooms

2 Queens Bed
2 Queen beds-nonsmoking...Hi speed 9.95/Day-sweet dreams experience bed...Minibar-cable package with hbo-clock with mp3
1 King Bed
1 King bed-nonsmoking...Hi speed 9.95/Day-sweet dreams experience bed...Minibar-cable package with hbo-clock with mp3

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Pool
Activities
Pool
Dining
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Wheel chair access

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Chicago - Magnificent Mile also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5

Hotel Map

41.893 -87.619
Area served
Chicago
Nearby airports
O`Hare Intl Airport, (ORD), 18.00, MI, SE; Chicago Midway Airport, (MDW), 15.00, MI, NE;

Nearby points of interest

  • North Michigan Avenue: 0.3 mi
  • Lake Shore Park: 0.3 mi
  • Tribune Tower: 0.3 mi
  • Terra Museum of American Art: 0.3 mi
  • Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.3 mi
  • Seneca Park: 0.3 mi
  • Lake Point Tower: 0.4 mi
  • Wrigley Building: 0.4 mi
  • Chicago - Mag Mile - Wacker Dr: 0.4 mi
  • Drury Lane Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • John Hancock Center: 0.5 mi
  • Holy Name Cathedral: 0.5 mi
  • Water Tower: 0.5 mi
  • Children Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Prudential Plaza: 0.6 mi
  • North Michigan Avenue: 0.3 mi
  • Lake Shore Park: 0.3 mi
  • Tribune Tower: 0.3 mi
  • Terra Museum of American Art: 0.3 mi
  • Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.3 mi
  • Seneca Park: 0.3 mi
  • Lake Point Tower: 0.4 mi
  • Wrigley Building: 0.4 mi
  • Chicago - Mag Mile - Wacker Dr: 0.4 mi
  • Drury Lane Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • John Hancock Center: 0.5 mi
  • Holy Name Cathedral: 0.5 mi
  • Water Tower: 0.5 mi
  • Children Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Prudential Plaza: 0.6 mi
  • Museum of Broadcast Communications: 0.6 mi
  • Marina City: 0.6 mi
  • Harold Washington College: 0.6 mi
  • Harris Theater: 0.6 mi
  • Navy Pier: 0.7 mi
  • Chicago Theater: 0.7 mi
  • Chicago Cultural Center: 0.7 mi
  • Pritzker Pavilion: 0.7 mi
  • Oak Street Beach: 0.7 mi
  • Washington Square Park: 0.7 mi
  • Cloud Gate: 0.7 mi
  • Macys: 0.8 mi
  • Oriental Theatre: 0.8 mi
  • Goodman Theatre: 0.8 mi
  • Shubert Theatre: 0.8 mi
  • Crown Fountain: 0.8 mi
  • Yacht Club: 0.8 mi
  • Michigan Avenue: 0.9 mi
  • State Street: 0.9 mi
  • Merchandise Mart: 0.9 mi
  • City Hall: 0.9 mi
  • Chicago Historical Society: 0.9 mi
  • Cadillac Palace Theatre: 0.9 mi
  • Art Institute of Chicago: 1 mi
  • Bank of America Theatre: 1 mi
  • Symphony Center: 1 mi
  • Chicago Architecture Foundation: 1 mi
  • Buckingham Fountain: 1.2 mi
  • Opera House: 1.2 mi
  • Auditorium Building: 1.2 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (311)

Ratings and reviews for DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Chicago - Magnificent Mile

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
311 out of 311
Amenities:
3.7
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.9

85% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Chicago - Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Kojoro
Davison, MI 48423, USA
Oct 4, 2011

Great Shopping Location

Great friendly service, clean and roomy and close to Mag Mile...Love this hotel!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Chicago - Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Kojoro
Davison, MI 48423, USA
Oct 4, 2011

Great Location for Mag Mile Shopping

Very clean, great service and close to Mag Mile and great if you like to shop. Close to Garretts Popcorn and Grand Lux Cafe'

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Chicago - Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
SharonLou
Wichita, KS
Oct 4, 2011

Roomy hotel room, Good Location

Once a few issues were taken care of in the bathroom, it was a great room in a great location for a couple of gal pals taking on the sights of the Windy City! Staff was particularly accommodating and helpful! (Note for other ladies.... the bathroom had a long counter with "cubbies" below to get your many "essentials" out of the way so two (or more) of you could get ready at the same time.... A REAL TIME-SAVER FEATURE)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Across the street from the Doubletree was one of our favorite bars (and we sampled many).... Timothy O'Toole's. Food and drinks were very good and a very FUN atmosphere!

Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Chicago - Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
AERchicago
San Diego, CA, USA
Sep 20, 2011

Disappointed!!!

The only thing this hotel has going for it is its location. Now that I'm done with the good stuff... -this hotel was supposedly 'recently updated.' If so, they either haven't made it down to the 3rd floor yet OR their idea of updating is way different than mine. The decor is vintage 1970, dark & just not nice looking. And the TV was a ~30" CRT. No DVD player in the room either. -on our floor, the elevator call panel was hanging off the wall...this may have something to do with why the elevators got stuck in between floors during our stay. This is where the 3rd floor came in handy...not too much time on the stairs. -the reservation from Orbitz said we had "two queen beds." I assure you they were not queens, but doubles. Surprise! -bathroom cleanliness left something to be desired -lots of noise overhead from the hallway...not because of our loud neighbors, but because of poor noise attenuation. -and the price was OUTRAGEOUS! For all the bads, we were still paying almost $300 / night. You've got to be kidding. Don't stay at this hotel!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Chicago - Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
AERchicago
San Diego, CA, USA
Sep 20, 2011

Disappointed!!!

The only thing this hotel has going for it is its location. Now that I'm done with the good stuff... -this hotel was supposedly 'recently updated.' If so, they either haven't made it down to the 3rd floor yet OR their idea of updating is way different than mine. The decor is vintage 1970, dark & just not nice looking. And the TV was a ~30" CRT. No DVD player in the room either. -on our floor, the elevator call panel was hanging off the wall...this may have something to do with why the elevators got stuck in between floors during our stay. This is where the 3rd floor came in handy...not too much time on the stairs. -the reservation from Orbitz said we had "two queen beds." I assure you they were not queens, but doubles. Surprise! -bathroom cleanliness left something to be desired -lots of noise overhead from the hallway...not because of our loud neighbors, but because of poor noise attenuation. -and the price was OUTRAGEOUS! For all the bads, we were still paying almost $300 / night. You've got to be kidding. Don't stay at this hotel!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Chicago - Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Dave VW
Business
Michigan, USA
Sep 14, 2011

Overpriced but good location

This is my first negative review I have ever given. I will try to be kind. While I did like the location, and I had to be there because of a conference, the rest was not fantastic. The rooms are smaller than average. The TV's in the room are not great. I lost my air conditioner in the middle of the second night. The shower smelled like mold. Elevators are slow and can take 3 cars before you can actually fit in during rush hours. The only difference between this hotel and a cheap low rate hotel is the free cookie. Over all it is overpriced for what you get.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Chicago - Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Dave VW
Business
Michigan, USA
Sep 14, 2011

Overpriced but good location

This is my first negative review I have ever given. I will try to be kind. While I did like the location, and I had to be there because of a conference, the rest was not fantastic. The rooms are smaller than average. The TV's in the room are not great. I lost my air conditioner in the middle of the second night. The shower smelled like mold. Elevators are slow and can take 3 cars before you can actually fit in during rush hours. The only difference between this hotel and a cheap low rate hotel is the free cookie. Over all it is overpriced for what you get.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Chicago - Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Kojoro
Davison, MI 48423, USA
Sep 12, 2011

Great for Mag Mile Shopping

Ohio St. Doubletree Hotel has an exceptional staff and very helpful, kind and courteous. The shopping is a block or 2 away from Mag Mile and lots of great shops and restaurants. I book with this hotel every 4 to 5 weeks.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Chicago - Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Hugh
Minnesota, USA
Sep 7, 2011

Family trip

Good location. Staff service was very quick for extra towels and the room was clean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: In Hotel

For multiple night stay, ask the concierge for parking pass. The daily fee is capped at 24h and unlimited in and out the parking ramp.

Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Chicago - Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Hugh
Minnesota, USA
Sep 7, 2011

Family trip

Good location. Staff service was very quick for extra towels and the room was clean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: In Hotel

For multiple night stay, ask the concierge for parking pass. The daily fee is capped at 24h and unlimited in and out the parking ramp.

Back to menu Return to top