Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 1, 2015 Check-out: Apr 3, 2015

DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Chicago - Magnificent Mile

3 stars
View map of 300 E. Ohio Street, Chicago, IL 60611

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Chicago - Magnificent Mile

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
226 out of 226
Amenities:
3.7
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.9

86% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Chicago - Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
cb4857
Business
illinois
Sep 8, 2014

clean, central, bit light on service

Overall just fine- hallways are a bit warn- but rooms are great. Strange that the eateries are not open on the weekends (when nearby places are often booked). Overall a fine place and GREAT value

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Sayat Nova- great tiny Armenian place- not to be missed

Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Chicago - Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
annaforexport
Business
NYC, USA
Sep 8, 2014

Good value for money!

Nothing too fancy or outstanding but good location, clean room and pleasant staff, was great value for money overall.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

I'm a big foodie and found the best restaurant in the US so far, which is only 10min taxi drive from the hotel, it's called Girl and The Goat, so do yourself a favor and go there. It can be hard to get in, so try and book it in advance, totally worth the wait or late booking!

Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Chicago - Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Amanda Jakubowski
Business
Lansing, MI
Aug 29, 2014

In town for class

I was in town for a Nurse Practitioner Board Review class. I didn't want to stay right on Mag mile, but wanted to be close enough to get everything done. My best friend and I were able to walk everywhere with ease, ran to the beach and Millennium Park. The front desk staff was amazing, nice bar in the lounge, and rooftop pool. This is almost unheard of in Chicago. I will definitely stay here again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Tips: eat at Jake Corner Tap (Corner of Wabash and Superior - its a bit of a walk) & RMP Italian (Illinois street)

Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Chicago - Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
................
Business
Milwaukee, Wi
Aug 26, 2014

Nice hotel / great location

Very nice room, comfy bed and pillows. Very courteous maintenance...our air conditioner wasnt working properly so a maintenance man was sent to our room he took the unit completely apart and replaced it with a good working unit in a very short time. Great location to all shopping, Navy Pier. Would stay again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Chicago - Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Emoti
Business
Nashvill, Tennessee
Aug 22, 2014

Great business getaway

Warm welcome by hospitable staff. Convenient downtown location for business contacts, shopping and a quick city tour of the must-see of Chicago. Memorable experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Proximity to diverse places of interest

Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Chicago - Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Frenchie and Bridey
Business
Troy, MI
Aug 20, 2014

Chicago Week-End

Everything was perfect except for repeated problems with the room keys. Each time required a trip back to the front desk and a wait time for an elevator and a busy clerk. This happened Friday afternoon on arrival, Friday night and Saturday night. Room 1601.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Air and Water show. Many nearby restaurants.

Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Chicago - Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
HHI lovers
Business
Illinois
Aug 10, 2014

Bad experience

The location is the only good thing about this hotel. The room is small and maintenance is terrible. Broken fixtures, smelling mold. The carpet was wet around the air conditioner. Long waiting for elevators. Don't know how Hilton puts their brand in something like that.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Chicago - Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Arkansas Cards' Fan
Business
Arkansas
Jul 28, 2014

Nice clean room

Normally for this price I expect a safe, fridge, and microwave. But at least the room was nice and clean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Nice proximity to navy peir if you're not out of shape.

Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Chicago - Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Tubesteak
Business
Northern VA
Jul 25, 2014

2014 Ballpark Tour

Was passing thru Chicago as part of a summer ballpark tour I was on with a friend. We chose this hotel due to its location in the Streeterville neighborhood, it's proximity to the river, the lake, a red-line CTA station (Grand), and the fact it was centrally located between both ballparks. Everything was pretty convenient, and there are also plenty of shopping and dining options nearby because it's also only 2 blocks from Michigan Ave. Upon arrival, which was hours before a normal check-in time, we were welcomed with a ready room and fresh out of the oven cookie. The staff was friendly and respectful. The room was clean & comfortable and so were the beds. Highly recommend this hotel if in Chicago for pleasure, site-seeing, and/or baseball.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Recommend "Yolk" for breakfast which is only a 2 block walk from the hotel and they have everything on the menu you could possibly dream up.

Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Chicago - Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Vinny Vacation
Business
Kansas City, MO
Jul 24, 2014

Pretty Good for $169

The Good: Very clean room except of one sticky spot on the bed comforter. AC worked like a champ and best water pressure/shower head you could ask for. Hot water was good. 2 Free Coffees in room. 2 Queen Beds. Einstein Bagels is attached. The Bad: You have to pay for Wi-Fi. No refrigerator in room. No microwave. The mini bar has sensors on everything that automatically charge when you lift something out to look at it. I wanted to stay one more night but they were all booked up. I prefer a continental breakfast over the built-in Bagel Store. Bonus: Staff was very helpful and nice. They got me switched to non smoking right away (booked it wrong). The hotel took minibar charges off when I explained I only removed items to look at them and returned them without consuming. Check-in was at 3pm but I arrived in town early at 8am and the hotel was glad to check my suitcases in for me so I could go eat breakfast and kill time without all my bags on me. I checked back at 10am and the room was already ready. Overall: I would stay here again but would look for a room with mini fridge so I could take leftovers home from the awesome restaurants. I didn't like the wifi not being free but luckily I had my cell phone hotspot available. I didn't make it to the pool so N/A

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

Pretty Centrally Located to many attractions: short walks, long walks, and short cabs to get everywhere. Oh, and Don't go the Brookfield Zoo (kinda lame)

Back to menu Return to top