Rate based on Check-in: Apr 21, 2014 Check-out: Apr 22, 2014

DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Chicago - Magnificent Mile

3 stars
300 E. Ohio Street, Chicago, IL 60611
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
190 reviews
Great value

We were greeted upon arrival by smiling staff. The room was very clean and comfortable. A very... See full review

  • gym Mom and daughter
  • Feb 9, 2014
Hilton double tree

Outstanding. Met all my expectations! Would stay there again. See full review

  • Lovic
  • Dec 13, 2013
Windy City style and a side of hospitality with cookies at check-in

When guests are torn between shopping and sightseeing, this Streeterville hotel answers the call with its convenient location near the Magnificent Mile and Navy Pier. Situated in the middle of both landmarks, Doubletree Hotel Chicago Magnificent Mile is a popular choice for families. Ample meeting rooms lure event planners with 16,000 square feet of event space.  Einstein Bros Bagels is onsite, as well as Markethouse, taking its inspiration from the Heartland: All ingredients are seasonal and locally sourced.

Highlights
  • Walk to Navy Pier and the Magnificent Mile
  • Markethouse restaurant features seasonal fare
  • 16,000 square feet of event space
  • Outdoor pool, sundeck and H2O bar open in summer
  • Warm chocolate chip cookies at check-in
Rooms

Spacious rooms at Doubletree Hotel Chicago Magnificent Mile stick to a chic palette of red, mahogany and gray. Guests sleep on signature Doubletree Sweet Dreams mattresses topped with white linens and shiny rouge coverlets. Windows frame city or lake views, partial or full depending on the room. Standard rooms attend to the basics, from flat-screen TVs to Wolfgang Puck coffee and tea. Wireless Internet can be accessed for a charge.

Dining

Localvores will appreciate the use of organic, locally-sourced produce and meat at Markethouse, one of two dining options at the Doubletree Hotel Chicago Magnificent Mile. While the farmhouse chic space could qualify as fine dining, the menu is approachable, boasting classics such as meatloaf, angus burgers and half-chicken fired in the rotisserie.

On the run? Take a bagel break at Einstein Bros Bagels, which serves hot, fresh bagels alongside breakfast wraps, sandwiches and salads.

Transportation
  • O'Hare International Airport (17 miles)
  • Midway Airport (12 miles)
  • Closest train stops: Blue Line (Chicago to O'Hare) and Orange Line (Roosevelt to Midway)
  • McCormick Place Convention Center (10 minutes)
Business
  • 16,000 square feet of meeting space, including a 6,700-square-foot ballroom and one floor dedicated to breakout rooms
  • 24-hour business center with workstation, color printing and copying
  • Free Wi-Fi in lobby
  • Wi-Fi in rooms (fees apply)

DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Chicago - Magnificent Mile Rooms

2 Queens Bed
2 Queen beds-nonsmoking...Hi speed 9.95/Day-sweet dreams experience bed...Minibar-cable package with hbo-clock with mp3
1 King Bed
1 King bed-nonsmoking...Hi speed 9.95/Day-sweet dreams experience bed...Minibar-cable package with hbo-clock with mp3

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Pool
Activities
Pool
Dining
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Wheel chair access

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Chicago - Magnificent Mile also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5

Hotel Map

41.893 -87.619
Area served
Chicago
Nearby airports
O`Hare Intl Airport, (ORD), 18.00, MI, SE; Chicago Midway Airport, (MDW), 15.00, MI, NE;

Nearby points of interest

  • North Michigan Avenue: 0.3 mi
  • Lake Shore Park: 0.3 mi
  • Tribune Tower: 0.3 mi
  • Terra Museum of American Art: 0.3 mi
  • Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.3 mi
  • Seneca Park: 0.3 mi
  • Lake Point Tower: 0.4 mi
  • Wrigley Building: 0.4 mi
  • Chicago - Mag Mile - Wacker Dr: 0.4 mi
  • Drury Lane Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • John Hancock Center: 0.5 mi
  • Holy Name Cathedral: 0.5 mi
  • Water Tower: 0.5 mi
  • Children Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Prudential Plaza: 0.6 mi
  • North Michigan Avenue: 0.3 mi
  • Lake Shore Park: 0.3 mi
  • Tribune Tower: 0.3 mi
  • Terra Museum of American Art: 0.3 mi
  • Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.3 mi
  • Seneca Park: 0.3 mi
  • Lake Point Tower: 0.4 mi
  • Wrigley Building: 0.4 mi
  • Chicago - Mag Mile - Wacker Dr: 0.4 mi
  • Drury Lane Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • John Hancock Center: 0.5 mi
  • Holy Name Cathedral: 0.5 mi
  • Water Tower: 0.5 mi
  • Children Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Prudential Plaza: 0.6 mi
  • Museum of Broadcast Communications: 0.6 mi
  • Marina City: 0.6 mi
  • Harold Washington College: 0.6 mi
  • Harris Theater: 0.6 mi
  • Navy Pier: 0.7 mi
  • Chicago Theater: 0.7 mi
  • Chicago Cultural Center: 0.7 mi
  • Pritzker Pavilion: 0.7 mi
  • Oak Street Beach: 0.7 mi
  • Washington Square Park: 0.7 mi
  • Cloud Gate: 0.7 mi
  • Macys: 0.8 mi
  • Oriental Theatre: 0.8 mi
  • Goodman Theatre: 0.8 mi
  • Shubert Theatre: 0.8 mi
  • Crown Fountain: 0.8 mi
  • Yacht Club: 0.8 mi
  • Michigan Avenue: 0.9 mi
  • State Street: 0.9 mi
  • Merchandise Mart: 0.9 mi
  • City Hall: 0.9 mi
  • Chicago Historical Society: 0.9 mi
  • Cadillac Palace Theatre: 0.9 mi
  • Art Institute of Chicago: 1 mi
  • Bank of America Theatre: 1 mi
  • Symphony Center: 1 mi
  • Chicago Architecture Foundation: 1 mi
  • Buckingham Fountain: 1.2 mi
  • Opera House: 1.2 mi
  • Auditorium Building: 1.2 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (190)

Ratings and reviews for DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Chicago - Magnificent Mile

Overall score

3.9 / 5
190 out of 190
Amenities:
3.7
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.9

85% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Chicago - Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

4
GBH
Indianapolis, IN
Jan 31, 2011

Weekend getaway

Great location, walking distance to Michigan Ave stores and restaurants. Nice room, good service. The coffee-maker in the room did not work, however.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Gino's East for deep-dish pizza.

Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Chicago - Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

4
Anonymous
St. Paul, MN
Jan 30, 2011

Nice

Had to pay to use the athletic club

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Chicago - Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

4
One miserable former Sheraton guest
Jackson, GA
Jan 18, 2011

A good deal in a great city

Staff were helpful. Although not a flashy hotel, they readily provided the convenience of bar, restaurant, and good service. We walked everywhere and took public transportation to several sites.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The best restaurant we went to was only 3 blocks away, as was the main Michigan Ave. shopping area. We chose to walk 6 to 8 blocks for another meal. Cabs are available at reasonable cost.

Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Chicago - Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

3
Anonymous
Galesburg, IL
Jan 17, 2011

Double Tree

My experience at the hotel was pleasant [...] The hotel was good, but only good for the bed. The service was rather awful, which was probably because they saw me as only a nineteen year old. Overall, I would probably stay in the hotel again if I had to.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

The Magnificent Mile!

Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Chicago - Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

2
djcali
everett, wa
Jan 17, 2011

It's good, needs to improve the room

Our first day greeting was good, everyone's friendly and polite, inside our room was okay, except for the shower head which doesn't go up and water was very low, and then to top it off, in the middle of the night around 2am, we smelled a strong odor which was like a paint thinner or gas, which we go alarmed, so we called the operator, and just answer us as "maybe they were painting", instead of finding out...so we slept around 4am 'cause we can't stand the smell....and we tell the front the following day and they said it was their cleaner..

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Money-saving tip: In Hotel

affordable prices and it will taste good...

Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Chicago - Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

4
Anonymous
Business
Michigan
Jan 17, 2011

Unbeatable location for the price

We were in the city for an open house for Northwestern University's Graduate program. The location was perfect. We were able to walk everywhere within minutes. The room was clean and comfortable. The only negative comment is...this noise that went off every 30 seconds or so. It sounded like planes flying over but I didn't see any and didn't hear it any other place. I wonder if it was actually the elevator we were hearing? Our room was right next to the elevators. Overall I would stay here again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Chicago - Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

4
Anonymous
Loves Park, IL
Jan 15, 2011

Sisters & Family getaway

I thought that it was a good hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Chicago - Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

4
Anonymous
Atlanta, GA
Jan 13, 2011

Cool with a few Caveats

The hotel staff was very accommodating. However, there was no microwave in the room and the refrigerator was already fully stocked with beverages that were for purchase only, which did not work for us considering the fact that we had a baby who needed to have food warmed and chilled. The ambiance of the lobby and rooms was nice. And the beds and shower were heavenly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Chicago - Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

5
Anonymous
Manchester, MI
Jan 6, 2011

Beautifull freindly hotel within walking

Shopping, sightseeing.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Distance to attractions.

Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Chicago - Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

4
Anonymous
Washington, DC
Jan 4, 2011

A Bit Pricey--But Service Was Amazing

The Doubletree Hotel was a perfect spot to stay for my second trip to Chicago. All of the employees were nice and were extremely helpful. The hotel is only a few blocks from the red line metro stations at Grand/State. We experienced good weather so we walked about 10 blocks to Ed Debevic's a hilarious restaurant in which the waiters and waitresses are supposed to be rude. The doormen were always around and willing to call a cab if necessary. My only problem was that the attached restaurant was a bit pricey (with little-to-no options in regards to food), but what can I expect from a four star hotel in downtown Chicago? Overall, this was one of my best trips out of town. I would definitely stay here again. One other problem: our sink was stopped up the entire trip. Be sure to have a credit card, they require a hold of $250 dollars if you use a debit card.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

One of the best nightlife areas in Chicago has to be the Belmont area (red line metro). There are multiple clubs and bars in the area, all which still are untouched by corporate America. There are also many thrift and consignment shops around in this area, so if you are into thrifting, this area would be perfect.

Back to menu Return to top