Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 1, 2015 Check-out: Sep 3, 2015

Congress Plaza Hotel at Grant Park

3 stars
View map of 520 South Michigan Ave, Chicago, IL 60605

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.3
out of 5
153 reviews
Perfect Home Base for Chicago

The hotel was charming and had tons of character. Not like your usual sterile chain environment. We... See full review

  • Susan D.
  • Apr 29, 2015
Great vacay! Definitely booking this hotel in the future!

Hotel was nearby a lot of the sites that me and my sister visited. We literally just walked around... See full review

  • Meleeboo
  • Apr 12, 2015
The Congress Plaza Hotel & convention center is perfect for the value driven guest looking for a convenient downtown location with spectacular views of Grant Park, Buckingham Fountain and Lake Michigan. It is just short walk to the New Millennium Park, The Art Institute of Chicago, Museum Campus, Symphony Center, and the Sears Tower. The city business districts, shopping and restaurants, as well as downtown theaters and universities are also just minutes away. Chicago O'Hare International Airport (15 miles) and Midway Airport (11 miles) are easily accessible. The Congress Plaza Hotel & convention center was originally designed and built in 1893 to accommodate visitors to the Columbian World's Exposition. There are a total of 840 guest rooms, including 50 deluxe suites, many of which overlook the beautiful waters of Lake Michigan. Valet Parking: $33.00/night Garage Parking: $28.00/night.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Congress Plaza Hotel at Grant Park also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5

Hotel Map

41.8751 -87.6243
Area served
Chicago, IL
Nearby airports
Midway and O'Hare International Airports
Area description
Adjacent to Grant Park and Buckingham Fountain. Near Millenium Park, The Art Institute of Chicago, Museum Campus, Symphony Center, and the Sears Tower.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by CheapTickets

Ratings and reviews for Congress Plaza Hotel at Grant Park

Overall score

3.3 / 5
5.01.0
16 out of 153
Amenities:
3.7
Cleanliness:
3.8
Hotel staff:
3.9
Comfort:
4
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.8

81% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Congress Plaza Hotel at Grant Park

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
JORGE G.
Single
AGUASCALIENTES
May 5, 2015

great location

right in the middle of everything... clean and safe...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Single

Review of Congress Plaza Hotel at Grant Park

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Mrs. Unhappy
Single
N/A
Feb 17, 2015

Worst Stay Ever!

Hair all over bed, staff never came to clean the bed. They claimed we were in a newly renovated room. It was just newly painted. My husband and I left and found another hotel. Vintage isn't the word, old building.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Single

Review of Congress Plaza Hotel at Grant Park

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Deborah F.
Single
N/A
Jan 7, 2015

Great People

I absolutely loved the workers. Everyone except one young lady that worked in the restaurant (I don't know her name) was very nice, courteous and helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Single

Review of Congress Plaza Hotel at Grant Park

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Vennie
Single
Calif.
Oct 23, 2013

visiting family

This hotel provided a great location for visiting my daughter and her family. it was an easy walk to her house.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Single

Review of Congress Plaza Hotel at Grant Park

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ma. del Rocio
Single
Asuncion, Paraguay
Mar 29, 2012

I recommend!!

Excellent attention and location!!!. It´s location at Michigan av. is wonderful because is near downtown, is front of the Grant Park, the Aquarius and McCormick. It´s safe to walk. I really enjoy there!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Single

Review of Congress Plaza Hotel at Grant Park

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jhakobe
Single
Elkhart, IN, USA
Feb 27, 2012

Yeah, it's a good place to stay

It is an old property and doesn't offer some of the updated amenities or looks of a newer or recent remodeled hotel. But it is an excellent value for it's location, friendly staff and the amenities it does offer. I walk about everywhere in the city, so it's proximity to museums, food/drinks, entertainment is quite good. The staff is always quick to offer a cab or to check your bags for a few extra hours. Never been disappointed staying here, I'll go back again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Single

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Riding the South Shore rail? Hop off at Van Buren. Walk only a block and a half to the front door of the hotel.

Review of Congress Plaza Hotel at Grant Park

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
happily retired
Single
San Antonio, TX, USA
Sep 20, 2011

great location

Great location--excellent staff especially at the concierge desk. An older hotel hotel, so did not expect everything to be modern, but I found it very comfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Single

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

get 3 day cta pass

Review of Congress Plaza Hotel at Grant Park

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
happily retired
Single
San Antonio, TX, USA
Sep 20, 2011

great location

Great location--excellent staff especially at the concierge desk. An older hotel hotel, so did not expect everything to be modern, but I found it very comfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Single

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

get 3 day cta pass

Review of Congress Plaza Hotel at Grant Park

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Dewar
Single
NEW YORK
Aug 8, 2011

Very good location and reasonable price

Very good location and reasonable price

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Single

Review of Congress Plaza Hotel at Grant Park

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Dewar
Single
NEW YORK
Aug 8, 2011

Very good location and reasonable price

Very good location and reasonable price

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Single

Back to menu Return to top