Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 12, 2014 Check-out: Aug 15, 2014

Congress Plaza Hotel at Grant Park

3 stars
520 South Michigan Ave, Chicago, IL 60605
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.4
out of 5
1,509 reviews
nice place to stay

Valet was a little slow but, when checking in at 3 and everyone else is also checking in I... See full review

  • silly Philly
  • Jul 10, 2014
Great family get away

Stayed the weekend with wife, son, and daughter in law and we all loved this hotel, location, and... See full review

  • Terri and Sherrill
  • Jul 3, 2014
With its neon-red sign standing out against the Chicago skyline, its vaulted Italianate ceilings, and glimmering 'Gold Room' banquet hall, the Congress Plaza Hotel makes an imposing first impression. Once known as the "Home of Presidents" due to its popularity with both Roosevelt's, Woodrow Wilson and Richard Nixon, it's been operating since 1893. Valet dry-cleaning and barber services of yesteryear sit side-by-side with modern amenities like audiovisual tech for business meetings and a 24-hour fitness center. On-site eating options are globally diverse (Rafael's Steakhouse) and come straight from the griddle in the morning (Gazebo Restaurant). In the evenings, settle into a leather back armchair with a bourbon, or take your shots at the dartboard in the Congress Lounge, where both business users and vacationers gather for some much-needed R&R.
Key facts
  • 871 guestrooms
  • 36 suites
  • 23 meeting/event rooms
  • 2 restaurants: Rafael's Steakhouse, Gazebo Restaurant
  • Congress Lounge & Bar
  • Gift shop
  • Barber shop
  • 24-hour gym
  • Valet dry cleaning/shoeshine
  • Smoking rooms available on request
Neighborhood
Across the street from Grant Park and the famous Buckingham Fountain, Congress Plaza rests on the main thoroughfare and shopping mecca of Michigan Avenue, aka, the Magnificent Mile. The hotel is walking distance from world-renowned institutions like the Art Institute of Chicago, Shedd Aquarium, and the fascinating Field Museum. Found on the banks of Lake Michigan, the Field Museum is the home of "Sue," the largest and most complete Tyrannosaurus Rex skeleton ever discovered, as well as a life-size Maori meeting house.
Hints and tips
The Congress is frequently nicknamed 'the most haunted hotel in Chicago,' and budding paranormal detectives should request a room in the oldest part of the building, the South Tower, for the 'highest chance' of ghostly activity.

Be on the lookout for characters like notorious murder victim Peg Leg Johnny, or test your courage near the 12th floor room which was allegedly closed down due to paranormal activity.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Congress Plaza Hotel at Grant Park Rooms

Lakefront King
Guest room with one king-sized bed. Rooms face Lake Michigan and Buckingham Fountain and can accommodate a maximum of 2 quests. All rooms have cable satellite T.V., coffee maker, radio and voice mail, high speed internet connection for $9.95 + TAX for 24 hours and Movies on Demand.
Lakefront Suite
Guest room with one king-sized bed. Rooms face Lake Michigan and Buckingham Fountain and can accommodate a maximum of 2 quests. All rooms have cable satellite T.V., coffee maker, radio and voice mail, high speed internet connection for $9.95 + TAX for 24 hours and Movies on Demand.
Standard Double
Guest room with two double beds and can accommodate a maximum of 4 guests. All rooms have cable satellite T.V., coffee maker, radio and voice mail, high speed internet connection for $9.95 + TAX for 24 hours and Movies on Demand.
City View King Suite
Guest room with one king-sized bed. Accommodate a maximum of 2 guests. All rooms have cable satellite T.V., coffee maker, radio and voice mail, high speed internet connection for $9.95 + TAX for 24 hours and Movies on Demand.
Standard Room - 1 Double Bed
Guest room with one double bed and can accommodate a maximum of two guests. All rooms have cable satellite T.V., coffee maker, radio and voice mail, high speed internet connection for $9.95 + TAX for 24 hours and Movies on Demand.
Standard King
Guest room with one king-sized bed and can accommodate a maximum of two guests. All rooms have cable satellite T.V., coffee maker, radio and voice mail, high speed internet connection for $9.95 + TAX for 24 hours and Movies on Demand.

Amenities

  • Free internet in room
General
Concierge
Activities
Fitness Center
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Internet
Free internet in room

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Congress Plaza Hotel at Grant Park also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5

Hotel Map

41.8751 -87.6243
Area served
Chicago, IL
Nearby airports
Midway and O'Hare International Airports
Area description
Adjacent to Grant Park and Buckingham Fountain. Near Millenium Park, The Art Institute of Chicago, Museum Campus, Symphony Center, and the Sears Tower.

Nearby points of interest

  • Auditorium Building: 0.1 mi
  • Harold Washington Library: 0.2 mi
  • Chicago Architecture Foundation: 0.3 mi
  • Buckingham Fountain: 0.3 mi
  • Symphony Center: 0.3 mi
  • Grant Park: 0.3 mi
  • Printers Square: 0.3 mi
  • Art Institute of Chicago: 0.3 mi
  • Crown Fountain: 0.4 mi
  • Bank of America Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Chicago Board of Trade: 0.5 mi
  • State Street: 0.5 mi
  • Cloud Gate: 0.5 mi
  • Shubert Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Pritzker Pavilion: 0.6 mi
  • Auditorium Building: 0.1 mi
  • Harold Washington Library: 0.2 mi
  • Chicago Architecture Foundation: 0.3 mi
  • Buckingham Fountain: 0.3 mi
  • Symphony Center: 0.3 mi
  • Grant Park: 0.3 mi
  • Printers Square: 0.3 mi
  • Art Institute of Chicago: 0.3 mi
  • Crown Fountain: 0.4 mi
  • Bank of America Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Chicago Board of Trade: 0.5 mi
  • State Street: 0.5 mi
  • Cloud Gate: 0.5 mi
  • Shubert Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Pritzker Pavilion: 0.6 mi
  • Willis Tower (Sears Tower): 0.6 mi
  • Yacht Club: 0.6 mi
  • Chicago Cultural Center: 0.6 mi
  • Macys: 0.6 mi
  • Harris Theater: 0.6 mi
  • Oriental Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • City Hall: 0.7 mi
  • Chicago Theater: 0.7 mi
  • Goodman Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Prudential Plaza: 0.7 mi
  • Field Museum of Natural History: 0.7 mi
  • Cadillac Palace Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Shedd Aquarium: 0.8 mi
  • Harold Washington College: 0.8 mi
  • Chicago Mercantile Exchange: 0.8 mi
  • Opera House: 0.9 mi
  • Union Station: 0.9 mi
  • Marina City: 0.9 mi
  • Soldier Field: 1 mi
  • Museum of Broadcast Communications: 1 mi
  • Wrigley Building: 1 mi
  • Merchandise Mart: 1 mi
  • Tribune Tower: 1.1 mi
  • Adler Planetarium: 1.1 mi
  • North Michigan Avenue: 1.1 mi
  • Hull House Museum: 1.2 mi
  • Chicago - Mag Mile - Wacker Dr: 1.3 mi
  • Lake Point Tower: 1.3 mi
  • Michigan Avenue South: 1.3 mi
  • Terra Museum of American Art: 1.3 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
50,000 square feet of meeting space. World renowned gold room

Dining

Gazebo Restaurant
Breakfast, Lunch and Dinner served from 6:30am to 10:30pm. Breakfast includes full American Breakfast, lunch- a variety of salads and sandwiches, dinner- chicken, beef, pork and seafood dishes.
Tavern Tap
A relaxed setting to enjoy cocktails or play pool or watch your favorite sports

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (1509)

Ratings and reviews for Congress Plaza Hotel at Grant Park

Overall score

3.4 / 5
5.01.0
118 out of 1509
Amenities:
3.3
Room cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
3.9
Room comfort:
3.6
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.5

79% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Congress Plaza Hotel at Grant Park

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
silly Philly
Peoria, Illinois
Jul 10, 2014

nice place to stay

Valet was a little slow but, when checking in at 3 and everyone else is also checking in I recommend the garage around back. The hotel is a little older which adds to the fun and character of staying here. Room was really nice and clean. View was awesome! Would stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Congress Plaza Hotel at Grant Park

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Cubs fan 21
Chicago, Illinois
Jul 7, 2014

Good for the price

The hotel is definitely a little out of date and past its prime but still has a nice old charm to it. The pillows were not very comfortable and the TV wasn't too great but you can't beat the price and location. Would stay again if I was trying to keep things cheap.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of Congress Plaza Hotel at Grant Park

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
YanksRV23fan
New York
May 27, 2014

Very disappointed

I have to say I was very disappointed with this hotel. The outside and lobby look great but the room was old and in need of repairs. Also, it wasn't clean when I checked in. There was hair in the bathtub and mud on the bathroom floor. The location was great but still not worth the price of the room. I would not recommend staying here.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Review of Congress Plaza Hotel at Grant Park

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Victim of the Congress
Chicago, il
May 25, 2014

Spooky Wedding Weekend

I was in a wedding that took place here, so naturally I booked my stay here. After booking, I heard it was haunted. Not wanting to scare myself completely, I avoided all readings on the hotel. Upon arriving to the hotel and taking a look around the lobby, I thought to myself... Ok a little dated but not bad. Completely different story once I walked upstairs. The corridors were straight from 'The Shining'... And once I walked into my room, forget about it! It was like I stepped back in time to a mediocre hotel room (not including the flat screen TV and parts of the bathroom. I left shortly after arriving and was not back until after the rehearsal dinner. I had to walk three corridors on my floor to get back to my room- the entire time I felt that someone was following me. I went to my room, got ready for bed, and kept the TV on while I slept (mainly because I was creeped out). Around 2:30am I woke up to my radio blasting some man's voice. I hit the radio and screamed 'leave me alone!' And it went silent. I checked to see if the alarm was on so it wouldn't happen again but it was turned off. Is this hotel haunted? I don't know.. But is it creepy? Definitely!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Review of Congress Plaza Hotel at Grant Park

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Dicecal
AZ
May 7, 2014

OK

Good location in downtown by Grant park. Older hotel that could use some remodeling, old bed with worn mattress.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Congress Plaza Hotel at Grant Park

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Allen Chen
Philidelphia
May 7, 2014

on business

It;s good, just a little bit old. location is convenience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of Congress Plaza Hotel at Grant Park

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
C7travelers
Atlanta Ga
May 4, 2014

luxuriously exquisite

I like the staff and the hotel scenery it's old but beautiful.. A preservation of history. ..

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Around every thing

Review of Congress Plaza Hotel at Grant Park

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Tom super
Illinois
Apr 14, 2014

Very conventional hotel

So as I enter in to the hotel premises and very classical appearence with gold and red palette. Seen by very nice receptionist. It felt like fast food chain restaurant where you come and go. So now I get my room card, walking down towards elevator around nice corridor and you feel ohh ! My what a wonder hotel. I get to my floor and this where it all begins, right coming out you feel like in 80's horror movies hotel and I am not even joking. The whole floor is covered my closed door sections, you have to open the door to pass through. Every moment I feel this is it dude !! Finally, reaching at my room, opening with odd feelings and as I peak in, so not good looking room. I felt like, I am a very poor by paying 129.00 a day. Very not so cozy room. If you looking for feel good feeling, this is not the place, but if you want to know how getto place feels like, this the right place on magnificent mile. Oh! One more thing, around 10 am the cleaning lady knocks your door, cleaning, I don't know about the rest but I am still sleeping in my boxers after party hard late night. FYI FREE WIFI, which stopped working on day of my checkout. Very small tv. Parking available for 39-45 dollars a day.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Review of Congress Plaza Hotel at Grant Park

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Rebecca14
Minnesota
Feb 27, 2014

good trip

The hotel was reasonable. I expected that the hallways would be cleaner than they were. The room was reasonably clean, nice mattress and linens, towels with logos. The fitness room was outdated, with very old equipment that was still working, the lights in the room did not seem to work. The treadmill faced a window into the street so everyone could see you exercising. It did not feel safe to exercise in that room, although nothing had happened. They charge a separate, and high ($11 for 24 hours), fee for the Internet access. The location is great, it is easy to get everywhere by public transport. The hotel is close to both a subway station and several bus stops. There are reasonable places to eat and to use free wifi, there is also a pharmacy with some necessities nearby. Overall, it was a very reasonable stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Congress Plaza Hotel at Grant Park

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Blondie59
Chicago, IL
Nov 7, 2013

Good for 2 night stay

Room was okay but did not have a very good view. Had view of a fire escape & other windows view of streets & Roosevelt University!!! Not very becoming!!! I guess I should've asked for a Lake view room of the Great Lake Michigan. Rooms did NOT have microwaves or refrigerators. What the heck? For as much as I paid per night I felt I should've at least had those 2 amenities.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
2
Value:
2
Back to menu Return to top