Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 24, 2014 Check-out: Aug 27, 2014

Chicago's Essex Inn

3 stars
800 S Michigan Avenue, Chicago, IL 60605
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.7
out of 5
380 reviews
Great

Clean and comfortable in the heart of downtown. Well worth the price. See full review

  • Cynthiamb123
  • May 10, 2014
Perfect Stay

I enjoyed my NYE getaway! One of the best stays I have ever had! Wonderful staff and a very clean... See full review

  • Tony91
  • Jan 2, 2014
The Essex Inn is an intimate hotel providing excellent views of the city, Grant Park and Lake Michigan with convenient access to Chicago's Magnificent Mile, Millenium Park, world-famous museums, sporting venues, the Loop and McCormick Place. One of the focal points of the hotel is the Garden Pool and Fitness Center on the fourth floor rooftop. Adjacent to the pool is the 1,350 square foot Fitness Center with a large selection of Life Fitness and Schwinn equipment including Cross Trainers, Lifecycles, treadmills and weight machines as well as free weights. Six televisions complement this expansive facility. The 24-hour Business Center comes complete with computer workstations, printers and high-speed Internet connections. Minimum booking age is 21 years of age. Overnight parking $52 per night plus tax. ******************************************** We are proud to serve guests with disabled and other special needs at Chicago's Essex Inn. To that end, the public spaces at Chicago's Essex Inn are accessible and include, but are not limited to, the following: ADA-compliant entrances to the hotel; Valet parking in the hotel garage; and Accessible public restrooms. In addition, we have a number of designated accessible guest rooms and our guest rooms include such accessible features as: Grab bars in the showers; ADA-compliant sitting stools for showering; hand held shower spray wands; protected plumbing covers; ADA-compliant lavatory fixtures; lowered security "peep" holes on the doors; ADA-compliant door hardware; touch lamps; and TTY Kits for hearing & visual assistance. Our swimming pool and garden deck areas are also accessible and we provide such accessible features as: ***COOLERS OF ANY SIZE NOT ALLOWED IN GUEST ROOMS.****

Chicago's Essex Inn Rooms

Standard Room
Our tastefully designed guest rooms are thoughtfully appointed with everything you need to enhance your stay whether you're traveling for business or pleasure. Our standard rooms feature one queen size bed or two double beds and have amenities such as hairdryers, data port hookups, voicemail messaging, automated wakeup service, iron and ironing board, and 25-inch color TV with extended cable package, including HBO.
Standard Room -ADA accessible
ADA-compliant entrances to the hotel, valet parking in the hotel garage and Accessible public restrooms. There are a number of designated accessible guest rooms which include accessible features as: grab bars in the showers; ADA-compliant sitting stools for showering; hand held shower spray wands; protected plumbing covers; ADA-compliant lavatory fixtures; Lowered security "peep" holes on the doors. Touch lamps and TTY Kits for hearing & visual assistance. The swimming pool and garden deck areas are also accessible and we provide ADA-compliant pool lift; and Accessible Fitness Center with ADA Universal Gym. There are accessible paths of travel to the restaurant located on the premises of the Essex Inn and the restaurant has accessible dining tables.

Amenities

  • Free internet in room
  • Indoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Activities
Indoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Services
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Internet
Free internet in room
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Service dogs allowed
Accessible parking

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Chicago's Essex Inn also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5

Hotel Map

41.8712 -87.6247
Area served
Chicago
Nearby airports
O'Hare International Midway
Area description
Millenium Park, Art Institute Chicago, Navy Pier, Adler Planetarium, Field Museum, McCormick Place, Buckingham Fountain, Lakefront, Grant Park

Nearby points of interest

  • Grant Park: 0.1 mi
  • Printers Square: 0.3 mi
  • Auditorium Building: 0.3 mi
  • Harold Washington Library: 0.4 mi
  • Buckingham Fountain: 0.4 mi
  • Field Museum of Natural History: 0.5 mi
  • Chicago Architecture Foundation: 0.5 mi
  • Symphony Center: 0.6 mi
  • Art Institute of Chicago: 0.6 mi
  • Chicago Board of Trade: 0.6 mi
  • Shedd Aquarium: 0.6 mi
  • Willis Tower (Sears Tower): 0.7 mi
  • Bank of America Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Crown Fountain: 0.7 mi
  • Soldier Field: 0.7 mi
  • Grant Park: 0.1 mi
  • Printers Square: 0.3 mi
  • Auditorium Building: 0.3 mi
  • Harold Washington Library: 0.4 mi
  • Buckingham Fountain: 0.4 mi
  • Field Museum of Natural History: 0.5 mi
  • Chicago Architecture Foundation: 0.5 mi
  • Symphony Center: 0.6 mi
  • Art Institute of Chicago: 0.6 mi
  • Chicago Board of Trade: 0.6 mi
  • Shedd Aquarium: 0.6 mi
  • Willis Tower (Sears Tower): 0.7 mi
  • Bank of America Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Crown Fountain: 0.7 mi
  • Soldier Field: 0.7 mi
  • State Street: 0.8 mi
  • Cloud Gate: 0.8 mi
  • Shubert Theatre: 0.8 mi
  • Yacht Club: 0.8 mi
  • Pritzker Pavilion: 0.8 mi
  • Chicago Cultural Center: 0.9 mi
  • Macys: 0.9 mi
  • Harris Theater: 0.9 mi
  • City Hall: 0.9 mi
  • Oriental Theatre: 1 mi
  • Union Station: 1 mi
  • Chicago Mercantile Exchange: 1 mi
  • Cadillac Palace Theatre: 1 mi
  • Goodman Theatre: 1 mi
  • Adler Planetarium: 1 mi
  • Chicago Theater: 1 mi
  • Prudential Plaza: 1 mi
  • Harold Washington College: 1 mi
  • Opera House: 1 mi
  • Michigan Avenue South: 1.1 mi
  • Hull House Museum: 1.2 mi
  • Marina City: 1.2 mi
  • Museum of Broadcast Communications: 1.3 mi
  • Merchandise Mart: 1.3 mi
  • Wrigley Building: 1.3 mi
  • Chicago Chinatown: 1.3 mi
  • Tribune Tower: 1.3 mi
  • North Michigan Avenue: 1.4 mi
  • McCormick Place: 1.4 mi
  • Chicago - Mag Mile - Wacker Dr: 1.5 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Five meeting rooms and an outdoor garden overlooking Lake Michigan and Grant Park provide an ideal environment for small and medium size meetings, conferences and social events. Essex Court - 40 people Windsor Court - 50 people Private Restaurant - 40 people Park East Gallery - 150 people Rooftop Garden Deck - 50 people

Dining

Restaurant
Brasserie by LM is located in the lobby of the Essex Inn. This French inspired restaurant and bar (open daily 7:00am-10:00pm) offers a relaxed modern setting for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Specialties include Onion Soup Gratinee, Lyonnaise Salad, Mussels Frites, Duck Confit and Croque Monsieur.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by CheapTickets

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (380)

Ratings and reviews for Chicago's Essex Inn

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
380 out of 380
Amenities:
3.7
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.1

86% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Chicago's Essex Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Dad&Co
Bloomington, IL
Dec 14, 2010

Chicago Trip

I originally made the reservation for a single queen room. I was travelling with my wife and two y.o. son and we were staying a single night. When I got my email confirmation before the trip it said the reservation was for 1 guest. I called [...]two days before the reservation and talked to [...], to let him know there were actually three of us. He talked to [...]with the hotel and got back to me saying it was ok. Was pleasantly surprised at check-in that we were upgraded to a king. The added space made our night sleep much more comfortable and pleasant.The rooms aren't huge, but reasonable for the price and were clean and comfortable. The hotel has a very nice pool area which my son really enjoyed. The location is ideal. Walking distance to the Field and Shedd. Good restaurants and shopping all very close.Again, I want to thank [...] for their kind act. Overall my family very much enjoyed our trip, but my son isn't used to travelling and was a bit stressed. Small things like that can make a big difference.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Chicago's Essex Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Dad&Co
Bloomington, IL
Dec 14, 2010

Chicago Trip

I originally made the reservation for a single queen room. I was travelling with my wife and two y.o. son and we were staying a single night. When I got my email confirmation before the trip it said the reservation was for 1 guest. I called [...]two days before the reservation and talked to [...], to let him know there were actually three of us. He talked to [...]with the hotel and got back to me saying it was ok. Was pleasantly surprised at check-in that we were upgraded to a king. The added space made our night sleep much more comfortable and pleasant.The rooms aren't huge, but reasonable for the price and were clean and comfortable. The hotel has a very nice pool area which my son really enjoyed. The location is ideal. Walking distance to the Field and Shedd. Good restaurants and shopping all very close.Again, I want to thank [...] for their kind act. Overall my family very much enjoyed our trip, but my son isn't used to travelling and was a bit stressed. Small things like that can make a big difference.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Chicago's Essex Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Great Lakes, Il
Dec 6, 2010

Wonderful location, Great price!

Great getaway spot. Very close to all the necessaties. Cllose to Lincoln Park, the Museums, tons of place to eat within a mile radius. Loved the downstairs bar. Staff and Housekeeping were unbeatable. Would recommend this to anyone!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Chicago's Essex Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Great Lakes, Il
Dec 6, 2010

Wonderful location, Great price!

Great getaway spot. Very close to all the necessaties. Cllose to Lincoln Park, the Museums, tons of place to eat within a mile radius. Loved the downstairs bar. Staff and Housekeeping were unbeatable. Would recommend this to anyone!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Chicago's Essex Inn

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Justin Kim
Iowa
Nov 27, 2010

Terrible trip with this hotel.

The first impression of this hotel was very nice. It was clean and neat. However, when we took a shower, we faced a drainage problem. so, we called the front dest, adn they sent an engineer to our room. So far, it wasn`t that bad. But the problem was that that engineer came to our room 20 mins later. We had to wait with being wet. Moreover, it wouldn`t be fixed perfectly even though that guy said " it is good as a new one". We call the font desk to ask about changing the room. but they didn`t do it for us. They dicided to sent the engineer to our room again. and we had to wait another 15 mins. Finally, our room was chaged. After we moved to 10th floor, we were pretty impressed by their careness. However, when we tried to sleep, heater made crazy noise.....I just didn`t want to complain again....So being tired of doing that....Also,,,neigbors on 10th floor..were crazy. they sang a song so loudly in the hall... In spite of their kindness they showed us, I won`t go this hotel again... One more, vending maching on 10th floor swallowed our money...I hope they can fix that machine..

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Review of Chicago's Essex Inn

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Justin Kim
Iowa
Nov 27, 2010

Terrible trip with this hotel.

The first impression of this hotel was very nice. It was clean and neat. However, when we took a shower, we faced a drainage problem. so, we called the front dest, adn they sent an engineer to our room. So far, it wasn`t that bad. But the problem was that that engineer came to our room 20 mins later. We had to wait with being wet. Moreover, it wouldn`t be fixed perfectly even though that guy said " it is good as a new one". We call the font desk to ask about changing the room. but they didn`t do it for us. They dicided to sent the engineer to our room again. and we had to wait another 15 mins. Finally, our room was chaged. After we moved to 10th floor, we were pretty impressed by their careness. However, when we tried to sleep, heater made crazy noise.....I just didn`t want to complain again....So being tired of doing that....Also,,,neigbors on 10th floor..were crazy. they sang a song so loudly in the hall... In spite of their kindness they showed us, I won`t go this hotel again... One more, vending maching on 10th floor swallowed our money...I hope they can fix that machine..

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Review of Chicago's Essex Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Cincinnati
Nov 23, 2010

The week before Thanksgiving

Absolutely delighted with the accomodations. Was lucky enough to get an end room so floor to ceiling windows on 2 sides. The room was small, but very tidy and perfect for what we needed. And we got a great rate. This place has obviously been recently upgraded becasue the hotel itself has been here for ages. Great location along Michican Ave, about 2 blocks to the Museum and Millennium Park. Only drawback was not being able to get into the free wifi but there's a Caribou Coffee a block away that served us well. I'd go back in a heartbeat.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

A couple very good, old-neighborhood restaurants along Wabash (1 block off Michigan)

Review of Chicago's Essex Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Cincinnati
Nov 23, 2010

The week before Thanksgiving

Absolutely delighted with the accomodations. Was lucky enough to get an end room so floor to ceiling windows on 2 sides. The room was small, but very tidy and perfect for what we needed. And we got a great rate. This place has obviously been recently upgraded becasue the hotel itself has been here for ages. Great location along Michican Ave, about 2 blocks to the Museum and Millennium Park. Only drawback was not being able to get into the free wifi but there's a Caribou Coffee a block away that served us well. I'd go back in a heartbeat.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

A couple very good, old-neighborhood restaurants along Wabash (1 block off Michigan)

Review of Chicago's Essex Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
cleveland, oh
Nov 12, 2010

convenient and affordable

Very close to the museums and on Michigan avenue! The location was perfect. No continental breakfast, otherwise would have been excellent.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Chicago's Essex Inn

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
disappointed KRS
Normal, IL
Nov 12, 2010

not so hot

I was in town for a funeral and I must say my stay was less than pleasant. The beds were HARD my daughter and I tossed and turned all night long, the bathroom was small and OLD! We were woke up around 6:30 in the morning to what appeared to be hammering on the walls, the maid banged on the door at 8 am to see when we were checking out. The food at the restarant was awful to put it lightly will NOT stay there ever again! Plus parking for ONE NIGHT in THEIR parking deck was almost $40!! Not impressed planning a trip again soon but will not be at that hotel!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
2
Back to menu Return to top