Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 19, 2015 Check-out: Apr 20, 2015

Chicago's Essex Inn

3 stars
View map of 800 S Michigan Avenue, Chicago, IL 60605

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Chicago's Essex Inn

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
259 out of 259
Amenities:
3.7
Cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.1

86% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Chicago's Essex Inn

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Francisco, CA
Apr 20, 2011

Chicago Essex Inn

I attended a conference across the street from the Essex at the Hilton. This was my 1st time in Chicago and I can honestly say that I will NOT stay at the Essex Inn again. During my first day in the room, the iron was old and rusted at the bottom thus ripping a hole in my business suit. Although the hotel reimbursed me for my suit (the 1 good thing that happened while I was there), there were still enough other things that went wrong which will make me not recommend this hotel. The walls are very thin (you can hear every detailed conversation from people in the next room), 2 light bulbs blew in my room, and my curling iron "disappeared" (side note - no one was in my room during the entire conference except me and the cleaning crew....so I have no idea why my curling iron was no longer plugged into the wall, but completely missing, when I was ready to use it on my last day there). Oh yeah, and what they are calling "breakfast" is awful!! Such a shame :(

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Chicago's Essex Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
FL
Apr 18, 2011

Essex Inn

The hotel didn't have a microwave service, which sucks.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Chicago's Essex Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Lake Orion, Michigan
Mar 25, 2011

Great location!

The Essex hotel is right on Michigan Ave., a little south of the main loop. This worked out great for us. It is with walking distance (about 3/4 of a mile) to the aquarium, planetarium, and Field museum. Hotel looks out onto Grant Park. Easy access to many bus runs. Hotel does have a shuttle to some museums and shopping areas however it is only one way and fills up fast. Cabs and busses were easier. Staff is friendly and helpfull. Rooms are small, but clean. Bathrooms are very small. Not a lot of restraunt choices near by. There is a restraunt in hotel however it was being remodeled. Continental breakfast is pastry, fruit, juice, and coffee. Over all, price was reasonable and we would stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

If you plan on riding the busses, find out where to purchase a bus pass. Each time you enter the bus, it is $2.25 per adult. If you are going to get on and off more the once per day, it is worth it. We found out the hard way.

Review of Chicago's Essex Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
China
Mar 10, 2011

Great Location!

Taking the AIRPORT EXPRESS mini bus from O'Hare to this hotel is easy. It's right at the S Michigan Ave. and easy to get around. Rooms are clean and smell free. Space is enough for business stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Chicago's Essex Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago, IL
Mar 9, 2011

unbeatable location for the price

To visit Chicago Houseware Show, I mostly stay at hotel for working and sleeping. Nothing was missed. I personally think room wireless service is not detailed when the guest firstly came and had no idea to easily use wireless.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

It is in downtown and close to Micomick Place to attend Houseware Show. Just take you 10 minutes by taxi.

Review of Chicago's Essex Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
NE Ohio
Mar 2, 2011

Great deat, great location!

Essex is a nice hotel in a great place. Walk all over the city from there. Museums are the closest. fifteen minute walk to the Sears Tower. Hop on Hop Off Trolley has a stop thirty feet from the hotel door.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

The Hop On Hop Off trolley/doubledecker bus was really a time and energy saver to see all of the city. Well run, good price, convenient.

Review of Chicago's Essex Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
sailingsusi
Business
Pleasanton, CA
Feb 28, 2011

great week-end get-away

The staff was some of the MOST friendly that we have encountered in a very long time. The rooms were decorated very nicely and were VERY clean. The continental breakfast was generous. The only disappointment was that there was no spa with the pool, the pool was FULL of kids and the water murky.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Chicago's Essex Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Clove tree
Business
caseyville, il
Feb 20, 2011

good value

Overall it was a great value. Our room was very small and had no light from the ceiling, so it was a little dark. The hotel's climate control is 2 pipes and 2 pipes only, so whatever the season the climate system is set to either warm or cool, you can only control the fan speed in your own room. We visited in an unseasonably warm time frame, but the hotel's system was on heat so it was way too hot in the hotel, since we could sort of control the fan speed in our room it was okay, but everywhere else was terribly warm. The swimming pool was very nice and so was the sauna.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Chicago's Essex Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
chatham
Feb 13, 2011

Where's the Lounge/restaurant

Great place, great location ,resonably priced, but would have liked to know lounge/restaurant were being remodeled!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Chicago's Essex Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
St. Louis Missouri
Feb 2, 2011

business trip

I was there for interview for a job. The people who worked there were very nice and helpful. It was also very nicely priced in comparison to other hotels in the area who may or may not have similar standard of room accommodations I had.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top