Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Mar 31, 2015 Check-out: Apr 1, 2015

Chicago's Essex Inn

3 stars
View map of 800 S Michigan Avenue, Chicago, IL 60605

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Chicago's Essex Inn

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
256 out of 256
Amenities:
3.7
Cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.1

86% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Chicago's Essex Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
China
Mar 10, 2011

Great Location!

Taking the AIRPORT EXPRESS mini bus from O'Hare to this hotel is easy. It's right at the S Michigan Ave. and easy to get around. Rooms are clean and smell free. Space is enough for business stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Chicago's Essex Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago, IL
Mar 9, 2011

unbeatable location for the price

To visit Chicago Houseware Show, I mostly stay at hotel for working and sleeping. Nothing was missed. I personally think room wireless service is not detailed when the guest firstly came and had no idea to easily use wireless.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

It is in downtown and close to Micomick Place to attend Houseware Show. Just take you 10 minutes by taxi.

Review of Chicago's Essex Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
NE Ohio
Mar 2, 2011

Great deat, great location!

Essex is a nice hotel in a great place. Walk all over the city from there. Museums are the closest. fifteen minute walk to the Sears Tower. Hop on Hop Off Trolley has a stop thirty feet from the hotel door.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

The Hop On Hop Off trolley/doubledecker bus was really a time and energy saver to see all of the city. Well run, good price, convenient.

Review of Chicago's Essex Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
sailingsusi
Business
Pleasanton, CA
Feb 28, 2011

great week-end get-away

The staff was some of the MOST friendly that we have encountered in a very long time. The rooms were decorated very nicely and were VERY clean. The continental breakfast was generous. The only disappointment was that there was no spa with the pool, the pool was FULL of kids and the water murky.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Chicago's Essex Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Clove tree
Business
caseyville, il
Feb 20, 2011

good value

Overall it was a great value. Our room was very small and had no light from the ceiling, so it was a little dark. The hotel's climate control is 2 pipes and 2 pipes only, so whatever the season the climate system is set to either warm or cool, you can only control the fan speed in your own room. We visited in an unseasonably warm time frame, but the hotel's system was on heat so it was way too hot in the hotel, since we could sort of control the fan speed in our room it was okay, but everywhere else was terribly warm. The swimming pool was very nice and so was the sauna.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Chicago's Essex Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
chatham
Feb 13, 2011

Where's the Lounge/restaurant

Great place, great location ,resonably priced, but would have liked to know lounge/restaurant were being remodeled!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Chicago's Essex Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
St. Louis Missouri
Feb 2, 2011

business trip

I was there for interview for a job. The people who worked there were very nice and helpful. It was also very nicely priced in comparison to other hotels in the area who may or may not have similar standard of room accommodations I had.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Chicago's Essex Inn

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Lisa in Indy
Business
Indianapolis, Indiana
Jan 23, 2011

Very Disappointing

The room was so hot we had to turn off the heater and open windows - it was 19 degrees outside and more comfortable outside our room than inside. The restaurant is closed for renovation and that wasn't mentioned anywhere on their website. The walls are very thin, and it felt like we were never alone because of all the other conversations in other rooms. Definitely won't return - and we visit Chicago 5-6 times a year, so I'm back on the hunt for a hotel I can depend on for quality service and facilities.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Chicago's Essex Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Woodstock, Illinois
Jan 17, 2011

Cubs Convention

Extremely friendly. Checked in immediately at 9 a.m. which was perfect for us to drop off our clothes and jackets to run across the street for the cubs convention.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Chicago's Essex Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Southern, WI
Jan 3, 2011

Great loc. for Grant park, Shedd, etc

Good location for museums, fast food nearby but not many other dining options. Nice pool and workout facility, these could have been a little cleaner and better maintained. Helpful and friendly staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top