Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jun 21, 2015 Check-out: Jun 23, 2015

Chicago's Essex Inn

3 stars
View map of 800 S Michigan Avenue, Chicago, IL 60605

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Chicago's Essex Inn

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
273 out of 273
Amenities:
3.7
Cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.1

86% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Chicago's Essex Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Joe on the Go!
Business
Neenah, WI.
Aug 6, 2011

Great location

The rooms were less than to be desired. The rooms were a little small and dated. However, the workout area and pool were great for my kids. My wife and I were able to swim laps each morning. The patio area was really nice too! To be able to watch people go by on Michigan was great! The hotel was close to dining, and museum campus. A little ways to Mag. mile, but doable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Chicago's Essex Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Phila
Jul 23, 2011

Good Location, small adequate room, area

Next to Hilton; good if you plan to use their nice 4th floor pool and deck.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

red line to Wrigley field takes you riht there

Review of Chicago's Essex Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Detroit, MI
Jul 4, 2011

Good stay for a girls weekend

My good friend and I drove in for the Tastefest over the holiday weekend. This location was very convenient for that. Nice clean room, though a bit small. The in room fridge came in handy for storing water and snacks. The continental breakfast was just ok, but you cant complain about free food. Other than that, everything was fine; and I'd love to stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Chicago's Essex Inn

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
4 star wants on a 3 star budget
Business
Chicago
May 25, 2011

Three Star Disappointment

The Lobby is showing wear and tear. The restaurant was being renovated so no Room Service. The mattresses were too soft and lumpy and didn't use fitted sheets. The bed kept becoming undone every time you turned. The best part was the bath-- clean and modern but some towels looked too worn.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Chicago's Essex Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
JPMMusic
Business
Michigan
May 16, 2011

Very nice stay

The stay was great after taking care of the issue of [...]not contacting the hotel with our reservation information (we had reserved 2 rooms). The front desk staff handled the situation very professionally and got us into our room quite quickly.This is a very nice, clean hotel toward the south end of Michigan Avenue. The staff was very friendly and the price was fair. The pool and workout area were very nice. Shuttle service was provided to a few of the more distant locations like Navy Pier. We were in the area for a family get together. There were only two issues with the hotel that they actually had control over and that was the heating/cooling for the room. The hotel determines weather the units will either heat or cool. They had it set on heat for the first few days and the rooms were way too warm.The other was their "breakfast. It consisted of prepackaged muffins and danishes, coffee and juice.Other than that, it really was a nice place to stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Chicago's Essex Inn

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Francisco, CA
Apr 20, 2011

Chicago Essex Inn

I attended a conference across the street from the Essex at the Hilton. This was my 1st time in Chicago and I can honestly say that I will NOT stay at the Essex Inn again. During my first day in the room, the iron was old and rusted at the bottom thus ripping a hole in my business suit. Although the hotel reimbursed me for my suit (the 1 good thing that happened while I was there), there were still enough other things that went wrong which will make me not recommend this hotel. The walls are very thin (you can hear every detailed conversation from people in the next room), 2 light bulbs blew in my room, and my curling iron "disappeared" (side note - no one was in my room during the entire conference except me and the cleaning crew....so I have no idea why my curling iron was no longer plugged into the wall, but completely missing, when I was ready to use it on my last day there). Oh yeah, and what they are calling "breakfast" is awful!! Such a shame :(

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Chicago's Essex Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
FL
Apr 18, 2011

Essex Inn

The hotel didn't have a microwave service, which sucks.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Chicago's Essex Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Lake Orion, Michigan
Mar 25, 2011

Great location!

The Essex hotel is right on Michigan Ave., a little south of the main loop. This worked out great for us. It is with walking distance (about 3/4 of a mile) to the aquarium, planetarium, and Field museum. Hotel looks out onto Grant Park. Easy access to many bus runs. Hotel does have a shuttle to some museums and shopping areas however it is only one way and fills up fast. Cabs and busses were easier. Staff is friendly and helpfull. Rooms are small, but clean. Bathrooms are very small. Not a lot of restraunt choices near by. There is a restraunt in hotel however it was being remodeled. Continental breakfast is pastry, fruit, juice, and coffee. Over all, price was reasonable and we would stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

If you plan on riding the busses, find out where to purchase a bus pass. Each time you enter the bus, it is $2.25 per adult. If you are going to get on and off more the once per day, it is worth it. We found out the hard way.

Review of Chicago's Essex Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Lake Orion, Michigan
Mar 25, 2011

Great location!

The Essex hotel is right on Michigan Ave., a little south of the main loop. This worked out great for us. It is with walking distance (about 3/4 of a mile) to the aquarium, planetarium, and Field museum. Hotel looks out onto Grant Park. Easy access to many bus runs. Hotel does have a shuttle to some museums and shopping areas however it is only one way and fills up fast. Cabs and busses were easier. Staff is friendly and helpfull. Rooms are small, but clean. Bathrooms are very small. Not a lot of restraunt choices near by. There is a restraunt in hotel however it was being remodeled. Continental breakfast is pastry, fruit, juice, and coffee. Over all, price was reasonable and we would stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

If you plan on riding the busses, find out where to purchase a bus pass. Each time you enter the bus, it is $2.25 per adult. If you are going to get on and off more the once per day, it is worth it. We found out the hard way.

Review of Chicago's Essex Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
China
Mar 10, 2011

Great Location!

Taking the AIRPORT EXPRESS mini bus from O'Hare to this hotel is easy. It's right at the S Michigan Ave. and easy to get around. Rooms are clean and smell free. Space is enough for business stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top