Rate based on Check-in: Nov 20, 2014 Check-out: Nov 21, 2014

Best Western Grant Park

3 stars
1100 S Michigan Avenue, Chicago, IL 60605
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.3
out of 5
325 reviews
Great 6 nights

First let me say I am used to backpacking and youth hostels. That being said, I was more than taken... See full review

  • Curlygirl55
  • Apr 6, 2014
A hotel with good location and park view

Our room is upgraded to a lake view. It's very beautiful to see the night view and sunrise. See full review

  • EXOEXO
  • Sep 26, 2013
Catch a ball game, visit major museums, relax on a budget
The Best Western Grant Park Hotel offers visitors a great downtown location to take in all of Chicago's main attractions. Chicago's hustling and bustling Loop district, Millennium Park, Soldier Field (home of the Chicago Bears) and three of the city's most notable museums (the Art Institute of Chicago, the Adler Planetarium, Shedd Aquarium and the Field Museum of Natural History) are all within easy reach. Families will find the accommodations both comfortable and affordable. Savor a wide range of cuisines in Mei's Kitchen, where Asian, American and Italian dishes compete for guests' attention. Looking for a little exercise? Take advantage of the seasonal outdoor pool and sundeck or visit the fitness room. It's also an easy train ride away from both O'Hare and Midway Airports.
Best Western Grant Park Rooms

The hotel's 172 country-themed rooms and suites are warm and inviting. Standard King Rooms contain one king-size bed, plus an in-room safe, voice mail and coffee maker. Standard Double Rooms feature the same comforts as the Standard King, but with two double beds. Lakeview rooms feature one queen bed and have impressive views of Lake Michigan and Grant Park. The Executive Rooms are fitted out for work, rest or play, and include a king bed, work desk and loveseat, refrigerator and microwave. All rooms boast pay movies, cable TV and high speed Internet. Room service is included for all guests, and there are accessible rooms available for visitors who are physically challenged. Most of the rooms are smoke-free, but there are a limited number of rooms where smoking is allowed.

Reasons to Stay
  • Comfortable guest rooms and suites for budget-conscious visitors
  • Close to Museum Campus, Chicago's Loop and Soldier Field
  • Only seven minutes to McCormick Place Convention Center
  • Seasonal outdoor swimming pool and sundeck
Things To Do Nearby
    • Shedd Aquarium (0.3 mi/0.4 km)
    • Northerly Island (0.3 mi/0.4 km)
    • Soldier Field (0.3 mi/0.4 km)
    • Millennium Park (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
    • McCormick Place Convention Center (1 mi/2 km)
    • Willis Tower (1.5 mi/2 km)
    • Chinatown (2 mi/3 km)
    • United Center (2 mi/3 km)
    • Wrigley Field (3 mi/5 km)
    • U.S. Cellular Field (3 mi/5 km)
    Policies and Fees
    Starting 1 Oct, the hotel will charge a parking fee of $36 USD per night.

    This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

    Best Western Grant Park Rooms

    Standard Room
    This room offers one king or two double beds (double beds not guaranteed) with cable TV, coffee maker, complimentary high speed internet access.

    Amenities

    • WiFi
    • Pool
    Activities
    Pool
    Fitness Center
    Dining
    Restaurant
    Room service
    Internet
    WiFi
    Accessibility
    Handicapped rooms/facilities

    Recommendations for you

    Customers who viewed Best Western Grant Park also booked these hotels.

    Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
    Reviewer score 2.9 out of 5
    Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5

    Hotel Map

    41.8687 -87.6246
    Area served
    Chicago.
    Nearby airports
    Chicago International Airport.
    Area description
    Best Western Grant Park has proximity to Grant Park/Millennium Park, Field Museum, Shedd Aquarium, Planeterium, Soldier Field, McCormick Place, Navy Pier, Art Institute of Chicago, Sears Tower Skydeck and Lincoln Park Zoo.

    Nearby points of interest

    • Grant Park: 0.2 mi
    • Printers Square: 0.4 mi
    • Field Museum of Natural History: 0.4 mi
    • Auditorium Building: 0.5 mi
    • Harold Washington Library: 0.6 mi
    • Shedd Aquarium: 0.6 mi
    • Buckingham Fountain: 0.6 mi
    • Soldier Field: 0.6 mi
    • Chicago Architecture Foundation: 0.7 mi
    • Symphony Center: 0.7 mi
    • Chicago Board of Trade: 0.7 mi
    • Art Institute of Chicago: 0.8 mi
    • Willis Tower (Sears Tower): 0.8 mi
    • Bank of America Theatre: 0.9 mi
    • Michigan Avenue South: 0.9 mi
    • Grant Park: 0.2 mi
    • Printers Square: 0.4 mi
    • Field Museum of Natural History: 0.4 mi
    • Auditorium Building: 0.5 mi
    • Harold Washington Library: 0.6 mi
    • Shedd Aquarium: 0.6 mi
    • Buckingham Fountain: 0.6 mi
    • Soldier Field: 0.6 mi
    • Chicago Architecture Foundation: 0.7 mi
    • Symphony Center: 0.7 mi
    • Chicago Board of Trade: 0.7 mi
    • Art Institute of Chicago: 0.8 mi
    • Willis Tower (Sears Tower): 0.8 mi
    • Bank of America Theatre: 0.9 mi
    • Michigan Avenue South: 0.9 mi
    • Crown Fountain: 0.9 mi
    • Adler Planetarium: 0.9 mi
    • State Street: 0.9 mi
    • Yacht Club: 1 mi
    • Cloud Gate: 1 mi
    • Shubert Theatre: 1 mi
    • Pritzker Pavilion: 1 mi
    • Chicago Cultural Center: 1.1 mi
    • Macys: 1.1 mi
    • Union Station: 1.1 mi
    • Harris Theater: 1.1 mi
    • Chicago Mercantile Exchange: 1.1 mi
    • City Hall: 1.1 mi
    • Oriental Theatre: 1.1 mi
    • Cadillac Palace Theatre: 1.1 mi
    • Goodman Theatre: 1.1 mi
    • Chicago Theater: 1.2 mi
    • Opera House: 1.2 mi
    • Prudential Plaza: 1.2 mi
    • Chicago Chinatown: 1.2 mi
    • Hull House Museum: 1.2 mi
    • Harold Washington College: 1.2 mi
    • McCormick Place: 1.3 mi
    • Marina City: 1.4 mi
    • US Cellular Field: 1.4 mi
    • Merchandise Mart: 1.4 mi
    • Museum of Broadcast Communications: 1.4 mi
    • Wrigley Building: 1.5 mi
    • Tribune Tower: 1.5 mi
    • North Michigan Avenue: 1.6 mi

    Hotel Policies

    Check-in:
    1500
    Check-out:
    1200

    Terms and conditions

    Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

    The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

    Back to menu Return to top

    Guest Reviews (325)

    Ratings and reviews for Best Western Grant Park

    Overall score

    3.3 / 5
    5.01.0
    325 out of 325
    Amenities:
    3
    Room cleanliness:
    3.8
    Hotel staff:
    3.8
    Room comfort:
    3.6
    Location:
    4.2
    Value:
    3.6

    78% would recommend to a friend.

    Sort by:
    Review of Best Western Grant Park

    Reviewer score

    3
    5.01.0
    Grandpa S
    Business
    Ohio
    Oct 21, 2014

    Great location

    Short pleasant walk to the museum complex which is what we were looking for. .The hotel could use some updating but the price was what attracted us.. The staff was very helpful and pleasant.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    3
    Room cleanliness:
    3
    Hotel staff:
    5
    Room comfort:
    3
    Location:
    5
    Value:
    3
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Review of Best Western Grant Park

    Reviewer score

    3
    5.01.0
    Suressh
    Business
    Bloomington, IL
    Oct 14, 2014

    Great location

    Had just a one night stay for the Marathon so Great Location but sleep was spoilt by the noisy air conditioner.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    3
    Room cleanliness:
    4
    Hotel staff:
    4
    Room comfort:
    3
    Location:
    5
    Value:
    4
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Review of Best Western Grant Park

    Reviewer score

    4
    5.01.0
    AJewel4
    Business
    St. Louis, MO
    Sep 9, 2014

    Excellent Location!

    This hotel is the closest hotel to Soldier Field so if you are going to a game or event there, this is where you want to stay! It's also a short walking distance to access the walking/running/biking paths at Lakefront Trail. The hotel has a restaurant on site but it was only open for breakfast when we were there. The hotel is outdated but clean. The staff were friendly & helpful. We were disappointed that the outdoor pool was not open. It appeared to be closed for an extended period of time, not just closed for the season.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    2
    Room cleanliness:
    3
    Hotel staff:
    3
    Room comfort:
    3
    Location:
    5
    Value:
    3
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

    Walk across Michigan Ave (directly across from the hotel) to access the Riverfront Trail if you are interested in spectacular views. Not as many restaurants in this area but if you are a sports fan, make the short walk to Scouts, this is a pre game hang out for Bears Games. We were rooting for the opposing team but were welcomed by the staff & fans.

    Review of Best Western Grant Park

    Reviewer score

    3
    5.01.0
    Tarak
    Business
    Freeport, Il
    Sep 2, 2014

    Perfect location!

    Stayed here because we were attending concert at Soldier Field, couldn't have asked for better location. Great walking paths all the way there. Hotel could use some updating but staff was friendly and hotel worked for what we needed.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    3
    Room cleanliness:
    3
    Hotel staff:
    4
    Room comfort:
    4
    Location:
    5
    Value:
    4
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Review of Best Western Grant Park

    Reviewer score

    1
    5.01.0
    Kimberly Jean
    Business
    Indianapolis, Indiana
    Sep 1, 2014

    VERY DISAPPOINTED!!!

    As soon as we got there we were told that we had a room with one king size bed, but we had reserved out room at least 5 months + in advance for two queen size beds. Then we were told that the parking was full and we would need to find parking else where. We did find parking down the street for $40 per night, normally $27 per night. Had to walk back to hotel from parking garage. The room smelled like smoke and didn't even have a frig or microwave to use( for what we paid should have had both). We where told that even though we had made reservations many months in advance that because we booked on O--- they could not guarantee the room that we asked for, even though we verified 2 weeks before our trip that it was all set. I was very disappointed in this hotel. BW usually has very nice hotels, not GP BW. I would recommend spending a few dollars more and get excellent customer service and much nicer rooms. Will NEVER stay there again. Location was the ONLY thing good about this hotel.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    1
    Room cleanliness:
    2
    Hotel staff:
    1
    Room comfort:
    2
    Location:
    4
    Value:
    1
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Entertainment tip: Long walk from hotel

    Me, my daughter and her best friend were staying the weekend for the One Direction and Five Seconds of Summer Concert at Soldier Field. Great location. With the money we spent we could have stayed in a much nicer hotel.

    Review of Best Western Grant Park

    Reviewer score

    1
    5.01.0
    1Dwasworthit
    Business
    Chicago, IL
    Sep 1, 2014

    Definitely not the "Best Night Ever."

    Booked this hotel only for the convenience of walking to and from Soldier Field for a One Direction concert. Check in was at 3, arrived a bit early and was told it would be just a few minutes before the room was ready. Over an hour later, we were still waiting in the non air-conditioned lobby packed with other concert goers. There was a line for the elevator at all times, and when we finally were given the room key, we discovered a bag filled with rotting food leftover from a previous guest. TV also did not work. Pool was freezing and not well maintained. Those who drove to the hotel were told that there were no more parking spaces left in the garage, so they had to park elsewhere. Many frustrated, hot, and confused guests in the lobby. Would only stay there again if absolutely desperate for a place close to Soldier Field. Its ONE saving grace was the fact that the location is very convenient for concerts and sporting events there.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    1
    Room cleanliness:
    1
    Hotel staff:
    1
    Room comfort:
    3
    Location:
    5
    Value:
    2
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Review of Best Western Grant Park

    Reviewer score

    2
    5.01.0
    Tmacc83
    Business
    Chicago
    Aug 23, 2014

    average experience

    It was OK at best had better there are better best westerns in the suburbs Merrillville to be exact

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    2
    Room cleanliness:
    3
    Hotel staff:
    2
    Room comfort:
    2
    Location:
    4
    Value:
    2
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Review of Best Western Grant Park

    Reviewer score

    3
    5.01.0
    The ice Miner
    Business
    St. Louis, MO
    Aug 17, 2014

    Good enough

    We stayed here because it was closest to the museum campus--and for that reason, it did the trick. Very basic, but a great location. My wife said it best: "this is the kind of hotel you would stay at on a high school field trip."

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    3
    Room cleanliness:
    3
    Hotel staff:
    3
    Room comfort:
    3
    Location:
    5
    Value:
    3
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Review of Best Western Grant Park

    Reviewer score

    2
    5.01.0
    Mama Bear 82
    Business
    New Mexico
    Aug 10, 2014

    Location

    Staff was great! Hotel is old, Room and bathroom were clean. Bed was comfortable.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    4
    Room cleanliness:
    4
    Hotel staff:
    5
    Room comfort:
    3
    Location:
    5
    Value:
    3
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

    Walk to Soldier Field. Perfect spot to catch tour buses.

    Review of Best Western Grant Park

    Reviewer score

    3
    5.01.0
    Uncle Felix Grand
    Business
    Holland, Michigan
    Aug 10, 2014

    Best Western Grant Park

    The location was great. Convenient to the Loop, Shedd Aquarium, etc. We were surprised that the in-house restaurant only served dinner.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    2
    Room cleanliness:
    3
    Hotel staff:
    4
    Room comfort:
    4
    Location:
    5
    Value:
    4
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

    Several eateries within walking distance.

    Back to menu Return to top