Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 19, 2014 Check-out: May 22, 2014

The Fairmont Kea Lani Maui

4 stars
4100 Wailea Alanui Dr, Wailea Makena, HI 96753
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.6
out of 5
123 reviews
all about the service

Apart from the beautiful tropical setting, and top notch amenities, the thing that stood out about... See full review

  • Steve E1
  • Apr 10, 2013
You need to be here

This Hotel is Niiiiicccceeee! The Beach is nice and the Ocean water is cleaner than any I have... See full review

  • SME USA
  • Dec 27, 2012
Grander than ever, renovated Wailea resort offers extra value
A 22-acre beachfront luxury resort, The Fairmont Kea Lani offers extra value in one-bedroom suites. The all-suite and villa resort recently completed a multimillion dollar renovation and is more glamorous than ever. Guests enjoy added-value benefits such fitness classes, no resort fee and free dining for kids five and under. Park the family on Polo Beach, fronting the resort, for sunshine, exotic views of distant islands and whale watching in winter.
Highlights
  • Experience exclusive beachfront living on Maui’s Gold Coast in large resort rooms
  • Free fitness classes and free dining for kids under five (restrictions apply)
  • Full-service, award-winning Spa Kea Lani
Location
Wailea is the Gold Coast’s most upscale destination, and the 22-acre Fairmont Kea Lani is a jewel among its exclusive beachfront resorts. The community is surrounded by golf courses, fine restaurants and shops, and is fronted by some of Maui’s best beaches. The distant islands of Lanai, uninhabited Kahoolawe and little Molokini create a picture-perfect setting.
Rooms
The Fairmont Kea Lani exclusively features suites and villas, each offering 840 to 2,200 square feet of luxurious living. All include private balcony, living room, full entertainment system, high-speed Internet access (fees may apply), a marble bathroom, deep soaking tub, wet bar and much more. Two- and three-bedroom villas go a step beyond with washer/dryer, full kitchen, second bathroom and private plunge pool area.
Dining
Guests enjoy one of Hawaii’s most respected award-winning seafood restaurants, Nick’s Fishmarket-Maui, located on site, as well as several other dining options. The Fairmont Kea Lani emphasizes its signature Lifestyle Cuisine -- dishes that contribute to health and wellness -- and can meet a variety of special dietary needs. Kids under five dine for free at the resort (restrictions apply).
Recreation
  • Three swimming pools, including an adults-only pool
  • Keiki Lani Kid’s Club, an activity center for kids
  • Full-service Spa Kea Lani
  • 24-hour fitness center
  • Cultural activities and tours
  • Recreational water sports, including sailing, snorkeling and kayaking
  • Tennis (near the resort)
  • Golf (near the resort)
Transportation
  • Kahului Airport (17.3 mi/27.8 km)
Attractions
  • Maui Ocean Center (13.9 mi/22.3 km)
  • Alexander & Baldwin Sugar Museum (15.1 mi/24.3 km)
  • Iao Valley State Monument (20.4 mi/32.9 km)
  • Lahaina Town (28.6 mi/46.0 km)
  • Haleakala National Park (52.7 mi/84.8 km)
Policies and fees

Effective Sept. 16, valet parking is available for $30/night while self-parking is $20/night.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

The Fairmont Kea Lani Maui Rooms

Garden View Suite
Fairmont Suites consist of a living room, a separate bedroom and a bathroom. The bedroom closes off from the living room and has either a King bed or two Double beds. There are two televisions-one in the living room, one in the bedroom. Bed Type: One King or two Doubles and a queen size sofa bed Size: 860 sq. ft. (including furnished lanai) View: Overlooking scenic tropical gardens or Mount Haleakala
Deluxe Ocean View Suite
Deluxe Ocean View Suites consist of a living room, a separate bedroom and a bathroom. The bedroom closes off from the living room and has either a King bed or two Double beds. There are two televisions-one in the living room, one in the bedroom. Bed Type: One King or two Doubles and a queen size sofa bed Size: 860 sq. ft. (including furnished lanai) View: Full Ocean View
Partial Ocean View Suite
Partial Ocean View Suites consist of a living room, a separate bedroom and a bathroom. The bedroom closes off from the living room and has either a King bed or two Double beds. There are two televisions-one in the living room, one in the bedroom. Bed Type: One King or two Doubles and a queen size sofa bed Size: 860 sq. ft. (including furnished lanai) View: Partial or angled Ocean View from outside the suite
Ocean View Suite
Ocean View Suites consist of a living room, a separate bedroom and a bathroom. The bedroom closes off from the living room and has either a King bed or two Double beds. There are two televisions-one in the living room, one in the bedroom. Bed Type: One King or two Doubles and a queen size sofa bed Size: 860 sq. ft. (including furnished lanai) View: Partial or angled Ocean View from within the suite
Fairimont Suite
Fairmont Suites consist of a living room, a separate bedroom and a bathroom. The bedroom closes off from the living room and has either a King bed or two Double beds. There are two televisions-one in the living room, one in the bedroom. Bed Type: One King or two Doubles and a queen size sofa bed Size: 860 sq. ft. (including furnished lanai) View: Limited view overlooking parking facility or side street
Mountainside Suite
Fairmont Suites consist of a living room, a separate bedroom and a bathroom. The bedroom closes off from the living room and has either a King bed or two Double beds. There are two televisions-one in the living room, one in the bedroom. Bed Type: One King or two Doubles and a queen size sofa bed Size: 860 sq. ft. (including furnished lanai) View: Haleakala Mountainside
Poolside Suite
Poolside Suites consist of a living room, a separate bedroom and a bathroom. The bedroom closes off from the living room and has either a King bed or two Double beds. There are two televisions-one in the living room, one in the bedroom. Bed Type: One King or two Doubles and a queen size sofa bed Size: 860 sq. ft. (including furnished lanai) View: Poolside and lawn area

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Pet friendly
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Room service
Services
Business center
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Gift shop
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA) compliant
Wheel chair access
Service animals allowed
Audible emergency alarm for sight impaired guest
Wheelchair accessible elevators
Visual emergency alarm for hearing impaired guest

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Fairmont Kea Lani Maui also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.4 out of 5

Hotel Map

20.6851 -156.4395
Area served
Maui, Hawaii
Nearby airports
Kahului, Maui, Hawaii
Area description
Exit airport terminal or car rental area onto Keolani Place. Continue straight through the intersection onto Dairy Road (Hwy 380) passing CostCo and Kmart on your left. Continue on Dairy Road (Hwy 380) to the traffic light at Mokulele Hwy 311 & S. Puunene Avenue turn left onto Mokulele Hwy 311. Continue on Mokulele Hwy approximately 6 miles. You will automatically merge left onto Piilani Hwy 31. Continue south on the Piilani Hwy 31 until the end of highway. It will veer right onto Wailea Ike Drive. Drive down toward the ocean and at the end of Wailea Ike Drive, turn left at the traffic light onto Wailea Alanui. Follow Wailea Alanui south until you reach The Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui on the right side.

Dining

Twilight Dinner
Enjoy the Twilight Dinner in your own private cabana under the soft glow of hanging lanterns. Located adjacent to K on the Adult Pool deck, the Twilight Dinner is available for up to six people. As a Twilight Dinner guest, you will be served a personalized four course meal along with a choice of selected wines, as you enjoy the brilliant colors of the sky at dusk. This is the perfect way to create a lasting memory of any celebration.
Hoku Lani Dinner
The Hoku Lani Dinner experience is designed especially for those who are seeking a more intimate and elegant evening, whether you are celebrating an anniversary, engagement, birthday or just want to share an enchanting evening with someone special, this dinner is the perfect way to create a romantic memory to last a lifetime. Hoku Lani, "Dining Under the Stars," is served oceanfront at our Pacific Terrace, complete with tiki torches and your own private servers. This lavish four-course dinner offers a truly beautiful and romantic dining experience.
In-Room Dining
Hours Of Operation: Available 24 hours a day Elegant, intimate dining on your own private lanai with picturesque garden and ocean views. Let us bring the dining room to you! Daily specialties with delicious breakfast, sandwiches, assorted salads and complete meals for gourmet lunches and romantic dinners. Refreshing tropical drink specialties, fine wines and champagnes are also available to you through In-Room Dining.
Ko Restaurant
Hours Of Operation: Open for lunch and dinner. Hours vary depending on season. Dress Code: Casual resort attire is requested. Ko offers cuisine reflective of the many cultures of Hawaii's sugarcane plantation era. The menu is inspired by the rich history and culinary traditions of Hawaiian, Chinese, Filipino, Portuguese, Korean, and Japanese cultures. K, meaning "sugarcane" in Hawaiian, features Ahi "On the Rock," shichimi spiced with orange ginger miso sauce, Lobster Tempura with spicy-sesame, pineapple sweet chili garlic and grapefruit soy sauce, Maui Cattle Company "Paniolo" Rib-Eye Steak, and Coconut-Curry Lamb Chops marinated and grilled with mango-mint salsa. Each dish celebrates the cultures of the plantation workers with an emphasis on sustainability.
Nick's Fishmarket-Maui
Hours Of Operation: Open nightly 5:00 p.m. to 9:30 p.m. Dress Code: Resort casual (collared shirt and dress shorts) This is one of Maui's premier seafood restaurants offering the Islands' freshest fish, Live Keahole Maine Lobster, and Maui Cattle Company Steaks in a tropical ambiance. Special features include a 2,000 bottle wine cellar, outdoor seating and a private dining room to accommodate as many as fifty guests. Nick's was voted Best Special Occasion Restaurant for 2004 and 2005. Nick's has also earned the Award of Excellence from Wine Spectator magazine for having one of the most outstanding restaurant wine lists in the world.
Polo Beach Grille & Bar
Hours Of Operation: Open daily from 10:30 a.m. to 6:00 p.m. (Bar) Open daily from 11:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m. (Restaurant) Times may vary depending on season. Dress Code: Casual resort attire For lunch, this is THE place to go for expansive views of the neighboring Islands or when in season, to catch a glimpse of the majestic humpback whales. Polo Beach Grille and Bar is a casual poolside restaurant offering All American Beef burgers, garden salads, delicious sandwiches, and fresh local fish. Refreshing tropical drinks and fruit smoothies are served all day long at the restaurant's swim-up bar.
Kea Lani Restaurant
Hours Of Operation: Open daily from 6:30 a.m. to 11:00 a.m. Dress Code: Casual resort attire This open-air dining area offers a daily bountiful breakfast buffet and an exceptional a la carte menu service. The buffet contains fresh fruit including local seasonal favorites such as guava, mountain apples, rambutans and papayas as well as pastries and breads such as mango and banana nut bread that are freshly baked in the resort's pastry shop. The buffet also features an omelet station and rotating choices of hot and cold items including pancakes, waffles, link sausage, and smoked bacon as well as authentic Asian style breakfast foods including miso soup.
Luana Lounge
Hours Of Operation: Open daily from 3:00 p.m. - 11:00 p.m. Dress Code: Resort casual The open-air Luana Lounge offers spectacular views of the beautiful Maui sunset. You can enjoy a selection of pupus and a Kea Lani Cocktail or one of many specialty martinis served in a silver cocktail shaker and poured at your table. Enjoy live entertainment nightly from local musicians playing contemporary light jazz and music from the Islands.
Caffe Ciao Deli
Hours Of Operation: Open daily from 6:30 a.m. to 9:00 p.m. Hours may vary depending on season. Dress Code: Casual resort attire. Caffe Ciao Deli is a trattoria with home made sandwiches, salads and produce. Enjoy fresh bread, scones, muffins and desserts from our bake shop with a selection of coffee drinks. Signature Kea Lani jams, jellies, condiments and a variety of other gifts are also available. Enjoy a Custom Picnic Basket for your day at the beach or around the island. Choose from a large selection of gourmet food items, cheeses and wines from around the world. Or Take a gourmet meal for your plane ride home through our "Food for Flight" program. Select your very own lunch, dinner, or snack, tailored just to your taste-it is the perfect end to a perfect vacation.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
The Fairmont Kea Lani offers a broad range of function rooms-from elegant boardrooms and banquet halls, to magnificent ballrooms and state-of-the-art amphitheaters with professional multimedia services.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (123)

Ratings and reviews for The Fairmont Kea Lani Maui

Overall score

4.6 / 5
123 out of 123
Amenities:
4.6
Room cleanliness:
4.8
Hotel staff:
4.7
Room comfort:
4.7
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.2

97% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Fairmont Kea Lani Maui

Reviewer score

5
Anonymous
Houston, TX
Sep 15, 2008

Stay at the Fairmont

I highly recommend the Fairmont. The hotel is located in Wailea which is a quiet and really nice part of Maui. The hotel itself is very nice. The lobby is picturesque and the hotel has 3 pools... one of which is an adults only pool. I recommend the ocean view suites as you have a nice view of the ocean. Pool view suites are Ok as well, because you will be able to see some of the ocean. The room is very nice. You will not be disappointed. The only setback for this hotel is that there are only a few dining choices. Of course the breakfast buffet is awesome, however for dinner there are only a few nice restaurants such as Nicks Fish Market. The Four Seasons is next door and you will find some nice resaurants there, such as DUO, a nice steak and seafood restaurant. If you are going to Maui on a honeymoon or special occasion and would like to spend time in a nice place, I suggest you stay in Wailea. Kannapali is OK, but you will see so much more traffic in that part of Maui. Wailea is the quieter, more scenic and beautiful part of Maui. Also, the Fairmont or Four Seasons are your best bet for really nice hotels. Grand Wailea is very nice as well, but you will find more families there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Long walk from hotel

Shops at Wailea is an upscale shopping center that is a 5 minute drive from the Fairmont. There are also some nice resaurants there.

Review of The Fairmont Kea Lani Maui

Reviewer score

5
Anonymous
San Francisco,CA
Jul 21, 2010

It was great!!!

We had a great time during our honeymoon. I think it is the best location of Maui. Everything was just perfact. we really want to visit again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of The Fairmont Kea Lani Maui

Reviewer score

5
amhenner
Cincinnati Ohio USA
Sep 12, 2011

The best hotel experience ever!

We could not of ask for a better hotel. It made our vacation one of the best. I was so impressed with the friendliness of the staff and what excellent service they provided. Thanks for a wonderful vacation

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

I loved the artists in Lahaina and Pa'ia. Unbelievable quality.

Review of The Fairmont Kea Lani Maui

Reviewer score

5
Anonymous
Columbus, WI
Oct 9, 2009

Everyone was extremely pleasant.

Recently spent 8 days in Hawaii for the first time. Started at the Sheraton Waikiki in Honolulu, and then shipped out for a stay at the Fairmont Kea Lani. From the first moment we got there, we were welcomed with open arms. Every single member of the staff was friendly. We were greeted with tropical juice and native jewelry. We had great bellman service, and our room was very spacious. We booked the ocean front deluxe suite, and it came with a nice panoramic view of the ocean. Unfortunately, it overlooked one of the swimming pools / swimming pool bars. This got to be a bit noisy at times, but only when we were out on the balcony. The room had a separate living room and bedroom. The bed was mildly comfortably, and there was a tv in both the living and bedrooms. The bathroom was huge with 2 sinks, separate shower and bath and separate toilet room. There were plenty of dining options, and we particularly liked the small cafe / deli. The beach was great, and there are plenty of watersport options. We took a nice canoe / snorkeling tour. We looked at the surrounding properties (Grand Wailea and Four Seasons), and we were glad that we chose the Kea Lani. There was plenty of shopping within a 2 minute drive. Overall, things were great. The only negative I would add would be that the rooms seemed a bit dated and could use some cosmetic touch-ups. However, the stay was great and Maui was far better than Oahu.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Plenty of dining on site, but the Shops at Wailea have 4 nice choices as well and they're only 2 minutes away.

Review of The Fairmont Kea Lani Maui

Reviewer score

5
Steve E1
Boston, MA
Apr 10, 2013

all about the service

Apart from the beautiful tropical setting, and top notch amenities, the thing that stood out about my stay was the incredibly attentive and polite staff. They really went out of their way to make our stay exceptional.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Waterfront Restaurant in Maalaea is worth a visit.

Review of The Fairmont Kea Lani Maui

Reviewer score

5
Doops
Reno, NV, USA
Dec 13, 2011

Great Vacation

We had one of the best vacations at The Fairmont. The location and staff were great. Stayed at the Grand Wailea before and prefer The Fairmont because it's smaller and has a more laid back vibe.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of The Fairmont Kea Lani Maui

Reviewer score

5
none
Enid, OK, USA
Aug 12, 2011

Wonderful Couple Getaway

Prefect. All Staff very helpful and very nice. Staff was able to answer all questions and setup things for us to do and took us to the events they scheduled for us. Gave us maps with directions as to how to get to different malls and shopping centers to go shopping and sight seeing. Perfect room service and maid service. We plan another trip to Hawaii... Loved it..

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Lots to do at hotel. Shopping really nice sight seeing wonderful. Enjoyed many things

Review of The Fairmont Kea Lani Maui

Reviewer score

5
Anonymous
Minneapolis, MN
Apr 24, 2009

Wonderful Maui Getaway

The resort itself was excellent all around. We really enjoyed the location on Maui (our first visit there) as we debated between Ka'anapali and Wailea. Free self parking is a huge bonus. Didn't feel nickeled and dimed at all. We were warmly welcomed by the front desk and staff with lais and cold beverages. The rooms were large suites with a very comfortable bed and huge luxurious bathroom. Rooms were cleaned daily with special cares to our belongings. Fitness center can be very busy around 8am. Machines are good. Yoga instructor not impressive if you have any previous experience. Breakfast good ?worth the $30. We had a great breakfast for the same price at Longhi's right down the street. Food was excellent everywhere we ate on the resort (didn't try Ko), including poolside (service overall good poolside, but slow at times). Nick's was fantastic (our favorite bottle of wine was $10 cheaper at Nick's than at Duo next door at the Four Seasons and the food was leaps better). Our last day there we had the worst service of our stay there at the Polo Grill (food was great though) and mentioned it to the front desk staff at checkout and they offered to remove the charge from our bill. With a late flight out we were able to use the pool the rest of the day and use one of the complimentary suites to shower and change before heading to the airport. Everyone was very nice. We did a lot of driving as a lot of the restaurants/functions we wanted to visit were in Lahaina and Ka'anapali - so consider that in your decision where on the island you want to stay. BUT, the beaches and snorkeling are fantastic in Wailea (with more turtles than up north). The Four Seasons looks like a phenomenal place to stay - very newly renovated, but price difference is so significant that I would go back to the Kea Lani in a heartbeat!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of The Fairmont Kea Lani Maui

Reviewer score

5
Anonymous
la jolla, ca
Sep 8, 2009

great vacation, will go back!

outstanding check in, with leis, guava juice and plenty of smiles, great ocean view, service always attentive and friendly but never invasive, great housekeeping twice a day and on request as well, beach is calm and perfect for swimming, lost a hat and in 30 minutes security and front desk found it...concierge very helpful,...we loved this vacation and everyone in the hotel went out of their way to help us and fulfill our requests. lovely architectural solutions with many indoor-outdoor open spaces and lounges...with spectacular views to hang out. we travel alot with our kids in 4 and 5 stars hotel in usa and europe and had a superb time in wailea!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: In Hotel

nick's is outstanding quality, delicious, romantic atmosphere and impeccable service!our kids loved the attention and had great kids meals as well. if you are in the mood try the hotel great room service and ask for tablecloth to dine in your private lanai at a reasonable price. ko is good but the only time where service was slow. breakfast buffet very good with an extensive variety, even though the location now has only a garden view. the pool bar and grill was very good too! if you need a sandwich, a pizza, snacks, drinks, desserts...the deli is very good. for the best sushi go to sansei in kihei, but ask concierge to reserve it for you...it is very busy! (it would be nice to have another restaurant open for dinner on site beside nick's ko, room srvice and the deli pizza shop).

Review of The Fairmont Kea Lani Maui

Reviewer score

5
Anonymous
Los Angeles, CA
Jun 2, 2011

Playful and Easy vacation

This hotel is really lovely. It is comfortable and luxurious without being ostentatious. We had a great vacation. The major upsides of this hotel: The rooms are perfect - spacious, well equipped with refrigerators/sink/coffee maker, and beautiful. We had a mountain view and it was still lovely. The staff are beyond helpful and friendly. The place is just breathtaking. Downsides: The food is very expensive and not worth the prices, for the most part. The take out food at the cafe is more reasonable. The pool chair system is strange. They reserve a number of prime spots under shaded tents for rental but they sat open most of the time we were there. It seems a wasteful way to use pool space in a relatively crowded resort. Overall, loved the place. Would definitely go back again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Check out Monkeypod - a new restaurant just up the street. Good food and great beer and wine.

Back to menu Return to top