Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 25, 2014 Check-out: Aug 28, 2014

The Fairmont Kea Lani Maui

4 stars
4100 Wailea Alanui Dr, Wailea Makena, HI 96753
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.6
out of 5
207 reviews
Best Hotel For Families!

This was our 2nd stay at the Fairmont and we had a great time. The two-room suite works perfectly... See full review

  • PDX Family
  • Jun 26, 2014
all about the service

Apart from the beautiful tropical setting, and top notch amenities, the thing that stood out about... See full review

  • Steve E1
  • Apr 10, 2013
Fairmont Hotels and Resorts on the islands of Hawaii and Bermuda have become part of the local communities here, providing world-class hospitality and cultural quirks. White domes and life-sized Hawaiian murals set the tone for your stay at The Kea Lani Maui Hotel, while a traditional lei greeting welcomes guests upon arrival. Immerse yourself in island culture on the hotel's Canoe Experience and Cultural Property tour, or drop your kids off at the children's club, where they can learn a few conversational Hawaiian phrases. A contemporary spa facility has special treatments like the Energy Journey -which allows guests to restore their inner balance with ingredients grown on Maui -plus Chamomile Body Polishes, Magnesium and Jade Wraps, and Relaxation Massages. After all that pampering, dine at one of the on-site restaurants and choose from seafood, internationally-influenced dishes, or bakery and deli treats.
Key facts
  • 24-hour fitness center
  • Kids' club
  • Restaurants & lounges: Ko, Nick's Fishmarket Maui, Kea Lani Restaurant, Caffe Ciao Bakery & Deli, Polo Beach Grill & Bar, Luana Lounge
  • Willow Stream Spa: 9,000-square-feet
  • Several pools, including an adult-only pool
  • On-site business center
  • Eco-incentives
  • Child care services (additional charges may apply)
  • 24-hour room service
  • 36,000-square-foot conference and event space
Neighborhood
One of four luxury accommodations in Wailea, the Kea Lani Maui is 22 acres of well-manicured property on the southwest shore of Maui, right on the edge of Wailea Polo Beach. The hotel is minutes away from The Shops at Wailea, an open mall that includes varied high-end shops and eateries, while golf enthusiasts can tee off on four different nearby courses.
Hints and tips
You may prefer to book a first-floor room near the lobby's north side for easy access to the upper pool and swim bar - sunset views are also stunning from these rooms.

If you are heading out on day trips in the local area, order a picnic basket from Caffe Ciao Bakery & Deli for Italian lunch treats.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

The Fairmont Kea Lani Maui Rooms

Garden View Suite
Fairmont Suites consist of a living room, a separate bedroom and a bathroom. The bedroom closes off from the living room and has either a King bed or two Double beds. There are two televisions-one in the living room, one in the bedroom. Bed Type: One King or two Doubles and a queen size sofa bed Size: 860 sq. ft. (including furnished lanai) View: Overlooking scenic tropical gardens or Mount Haleakala
Deluxe Ocean View Suite
Deluxe Ocean View Suites consist of a living room, a separate bedroom and a bathroom. The bedroom closes off from the living room and has either a King bed or two Double beds. There are two televisions-one in the living room, one in the bedroom. Bed Type: One King or two Doubles and a queen size sofa bed Size: 860 sq. ft. (including furnished lanai) View: Full Ocean View
Partial Ocean View Suite
Partial Ocean View Suites consist of a living room, a separate bedroom and a bathroom. The bedroom closes off from the living room and has either a King bed or two Double beds. There are two televisions-one in the living room, one in the bedroom. Bed Type: One King or two Doubles and a queen size sofa bed Size: 860 sq. ft. (including furnished lanai) View: Partial or angled Ocean View from outside the suite
Ocean View Suite
Ocean View Suites consist of a living room, a separate bedroom and a bathroom. The bedroom closes off from the living room and has either a King bed or two Double beds. There are two televisions-one in the living room, one in the bedroom. Bed Type: One King or two Doubles and a queen size sofa bed Size: 860 sq. ft. (including furnished lanai) View: Partial or angled Ocean View from within the suite
Fairimont Suite
Fairmont Suites consist of a living room, a separate bedroom and a bathroom. The bedroom closes off from the living room and has either a King bed or two Double beds. There are two televisions-one in the living room, one in the bedroom. Bed Type: One King or two Doubles and a queen size sofa bed Size: 860 sq. ft. (including furnished lanai) View: Limited view overlooking parking facility or side street
Mountainside Suite
Fairmont Suites consist of a living room, a separate bedroom and a bathroom. The bedroom closes off from the living room and has either a King bed or two Double beds. There are two televisions-one in the living room, one in the bedroom. Bed Type: One King or two Doubles and a queen size sofa bed Size: 860 sq. ft. (including furnished lanai) View: Haleakala Mountainside
Poolside Suite
Poolside Suites consist of a living room, a separate bedroom and a bathroom. The bedroom closes off from the living room and has either a King bed or two Double beds. There are two televisions-one in the living room, one in the bedroom. Bed Type: One King or two Doubles and a queen size sofa bed Size: 860 sq. ft. (including furnished lanai) View: Poolside and lawn area

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Pet friendly
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Room service
Services
Business center
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Gift shop
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA) compliant
Wheel chair access
Service animals allowed
Audible emergency alarm for sight impaired guest
Wheelchair accessible elevators
Visual emergency alarm for hearing impaired guest

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Fairmont Kea Lani Maui also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5

Hotel Map

20.6851 -156.4395
Area served
Maui, Hawaii
Nearby airports
Kahului, Maui, Hawaii
Area description
Exit airport terminal or car rental area onto Keolani Place. Continue straight through the intersection onto Dairy Road (Hwy 380) passing CostCo and Kmart on your left. Continue on Dairy Road (Hwy 380) to the traffic light at Mokulele Hwy 311 & S. Puunene Avenue turn left onto Mokulele Hwy 311. Continue on Mokulele Hwy approximately 6 miles. You will automatically merge left onto Piilani Hwy 31. Continue south on the Piilani Hwy 31 until the end of highway. It will veer right onto Wailea Ike Drive. Drive down toward the ocean and at the end of Wailea Ike Drive, turn left at the traffic light onto Wailea Alanui. Follow Wailea Alanui south until you reach The Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui on the right side.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
The Fairmont Kea Lani offers a broad range of function rooms-from elegant boardrooms and banquet halls, to magnificent ballrooms and state-of-the-art amphitheaters with professional multimedia services.

Dining

Twilight Dinner
Enjoy the Twilight Dinner in your own private cabana under the soft glow of hanging lanterns. Located adjacent to K on the Adult Pool deck, the Twilight Dinner is available for up to six people. As a Twilight Dinner guest, you will be served a personalized four course meal along with a choice of selected wines, as you enjoy the brilliant colors of the sky at dusk. This is the perfect way to create a lasting memory of any celebration.
Hoku Lani Dinner
The Hoku Lani Dinner experience is designed especially for those who are seeking a more intimate and elegant evening, whether you are celebrating an anniversary, engagement, birthday or just want to share an enchanting evening with someone special, this dinner is the perfect way to create a romantic memory to last a lifetime. Hoku Lani, "Dining Under the Stars," is served oceanfront at our Pacific Terrace, complete with tiki torches and your own private servers. This lavish four-course dinner offers a truly beautiful and romantic dining experience.
In-Room Dining
Hours Of Operation: Available 24 hours a day Elegant, intimate dining on your own private lanai with picturesque garden and ocean views. Let us bring the dining room to you! Daily specialties with delicious breakfast, sandwiches, assorted salads and complete meals for gourmet lunches and romantic dinners. Refreshing tropical drink specialties, fine wines and champagnes are also available to you through In-Room Dining.
Ko Restaurant
Hours Of Operation: Open for lunch and dinner. Hours vary depending on season. Dress Code: Casual resort attire is requested. Ko offers cuisine reflective of the many cultures of Hawaii's sugarcane plantation era. The menu is inspired by the rich history and culinary traditions of Hawaiian, Chinese, Filipino, Portuguese, Korean, and Japanese cultures. K, meaning "sugarcane" in Hawaiian, features Ahi "On the Rock," shichimi spiced with orange ginger miso sauce, Lobster Tempura with spicy-sesame, pineapple sweet chili garlic and grapefruit soy sauce, Maui Cattle Company "Paniolo" Rib-Eye Steak, and Coconut-Curry Lamb Chops marinated and grilled with mango-mint salsa. Each dish celebrates the cultures of the plantation workers with an emphasis on sustainability.
Nick's Fishmarket-Maui
Hours Of Operation: Open nightly 5:00 p.m. to 9:30 p.m. Dress Code: Resort casual (collared shirt and dress shorts) This is one of Maui's premier seafood restaurants offering the Islands' freshest fish, Live Keahole Maine Lobster, and Maui Cattle Company Steaks in a tropical ambiance. Special features include a 2,000 bottle wine cellar, outdoor seating and a private dining room to accommodate as many as fifty guests. Nick's was voted Best Special Occasion Restaurant for 2004 and 2005. Nick's has also earned the Award of Excellence from Wine Spectator magazine for having one of the most outstanding restaurant wine lists in the world.
Polo Beach Grille & Bar
Hours Of Operation: Open daily from 10:30 a.m. to 6:00 p.m. (Bar) Open daily from 11:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m. (Restaurant) Times may vary depending on season. Dress Code: Casual resort attire For lunch, this is THE place to go for expansive views of the neighboring Islands or when in season, to catch a glimpse of the majestic humpback whales. Polo Beach Grille and Bar is a casual poolside restaurant offering All American Beef burgers, garden salads, delicious sandwiches, and fresh local fish. Refreshing tropical drinks and fruit smoothies are served all day long at the restaurant's swim-up bar.
Kea Lani Restaurant
Hours Of Operation: Open daily from 6:30 a.m. to 11:00 a.m. Dress Code: Casual resort attire This open-air dining area offers a daily bountiful breakfast buffet and an exceptional a la carte menu service. The buffet contains fresh fruit including local seasonal favorites such as guava, mountain apples, rambutans and papayas as well as pastries and breads such as mango and banana nut bread that are freshly baked in the resort's pastry shop. The buffet also features an omelet station and rotating choices of hot and cold items including pancakes, waffles, link sausage, and smoked bacon as well as authentic Asian style breakfast foods including miso soup.
Luana Lounge
Hours Of Operation: Open daily from 3:00 p.m. - 11:00 p.m. Dress Code: Resort casual The open-air Luana Lounge offers spectacular views of the beautiful Maui sunset. You can enjoy a selection of pupus and a Kea Lani Cocktail or one of many specialty martinis served in a silver cocktail shaker and poured at your table. Enjoy live entertainment nightly from local musicians playing contemporary light jazz and music from the Islands.
Caffe Ciao Deli
Hours Of Operation: Open daily from 6:30 a.m. to 9:00 p.m. Hours may vary depending on season. Dress Code: Casual resort attire. Caffe Ciao Deli is a trattoria with home made sandwiches, salads and produce. Enjoy fresh bread, scones, muffins and desserts from our bake shop with a selection of coffee drinks. Signature Kea Lani jams, jellies, condiments and a variety of other gifts are also available. Enjoy a Custom Picnic Basket for your day at the beach or around the island. Choose from a large selection of gourmet food items, cheeses and wines from around the world. Or Take a gourmet meal for your plane ride home through our "Food for Flight" program. Select your very own lunch, dinner, or snack, tailored just to your taste-it is the perfect end to a perfect vacation.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (207)

Ratings and reviews for The Fairmont Kea Lani Maui

Overall score

4.6 / 5
5.01.0
207 out of 207
Amenities:
4.6
Room cleanliness:
4.8
Hotel staff:
4.7
Room comfort:
4.7
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.1

97% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Fairmont Kea Lani Maui

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Dallas TX
Oct 7, 2009

Great Trip

spent 5 days with family- incl 2 kids. 25 minute drive from airport. plenty of shops @ kihei.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

cafe lei

Review of The Fairmont Kea Lani Maui

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Nuv
San Jose, CA
Jul 23, 2009

Nice Room

Large resort hotel built in the 1990s, rooms are all suites and large at 840-sf with bedroom and living room. Nice large renovated bathroom. Best value if you compare the other 4 star hotels in Wailea. Orbitz had the lowest price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of The Fairmont Kea Lani Maui

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Utlfan
Bay Area
Jul 6, 2012

Very nice hotel

We have stayed at the Fairmont in Maui many times and are never disappointed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of The Fairmont Kea Lani Maui

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Swooch
Kentucky
Sep 8, 2011

Luxurious retreat

Hotel was absolutely beautiful. Rooms were spacious (all of them are suites) and clean and the beds were some of the most comfortable I've experienced at a hotel. The grounds of the hotel were immaculate. We took advantage of the renovation rates and were not disturbed by construction in the least. However, we spent most of our time sightseeing on Maui so were mainly only at the resort to sleep, along with a little beach time there, so cannot comment on the restaurants, amenities, or resort services.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Money-saving tip: In Hotel

Hotel charges $20-25 a day for valet parking, but self-parking is free and is just a short walk.

Review of The Fairmont Kea Lani Maui

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
southern california
May 27, 2009

Fairmont Wailea

Relaxing, laid back vacation

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

all hotels in vacinity hae good restaurants but are quite expensive. A few additional optins exist at Wailea Shops.

Review of The Fairmont Kea Lani Maui

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Palo Alto
Jul 6, 2011

Another great trip to the Kea Lani

This was our 5th time staying at the Kea Lani and we were once again very pleased! While it is not as "exciting" for our kids (ages 9, 11 and 14) as the Grand Wailea, to us parents it represents the perfect family resort. Pools, a great beach, activities, etc. but not too big or hectic so that you feel like you're always looking for your kids. The rooms are what really set the Kea Lani apart as far as value for your money; every room is an 800 sq ft suite. We book two since our kids are older and we like to have our space, but you could definitely have a family of 4 or 5 in one suite if you ask for two queen beds in the bedroom and then use the pull-out couch in the living room. The staff everywhere is extremely friendly, with the exception of perhaps the servers at the breakfast buffet. They seem to be "over it" a bit, which is strange since all they do is bring you coffee and take away plates. The concierge staff, pool attendants, etc are all great and very accommodating. We also found that booking a pool cabana worked well for us since we don't like to get out to the pool at the crack of dawn to save seats. The cost of the cabana is $150/day, but if you are a Fairmont President's Club member (free to join), they take off 15%. The price of the cabana includes a cooler with drinks (sodas, juice and water) and a large fruit plate which would often serve as our lunch since we ate so much at breakfast. The one area that we were disappointed in was the restaurants-- Ko and Nick's Fishmarket, which seem to have gone downhill in the last few years. We are definitely "foodies", so our tastes may run a little high, but it really seems like Nick's especially has lost it's edge. In years past we had been very impressed, but now found the food to be very contrived and heavy and the service unpredictable. Overall, we will definitely go back to the Kea Lani again, but probably choose to eat elsewhere more often (like at Spago at the Four Seasons where we had two AMAZING meals).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of The Fairmont Kea Lani Maui

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
AlisonK
Larkspur, CA
Aug 9, 2011

Lovely Kea Lani

We really enjoyed our ocean front suite. The view from the lanai was perfect! I wouldn't book anything other than ocean front here; your room becomes the best place to dine, read, relax, and you hear the ocean at night - divine! My husband and I enjoyed our own room with a king bed. The two tween/teens shared the other room; one on the queen sofa bed and the other on a rollaway which costs extra, but the hotel waived the daily fee. The furnishings were lovely. The bathroom was huge and well appointed. The beach in front of the resort, Polo Beach, had perfect boogie-boarding waves. We rented an umbrella for the week and relaxed and read and swam. We all liked the gradual descent into the water; on some beaches in Hawaii, you drop off into the deep almost immediately and that freaks my boy out (me too). We snorkeled right from the beach, but would recommend you take the lovely beach walk north toward Wailea Beach where the Four Seasons and Grand Wailea are and snorkel from the south end there; the reef was simply better and had more fish. I even saw a seal in the reef! And if you are a good swimmer, you can swim around the reef from Polo Beach to Wailea Beach or vice versa which I did our last morning there. The Kea Lani is at the south end of the 1.5 mile beach walk. My daughter ran the beach walk every morning. My boy enjoyed the huge water slide that connected the upper and lower swimming pools. We ate elsewhere, unimpressed with the restaurants at the resort. We enjoyed Monkeypod and Pita in Paradise 5 minutes away. We also enjoyed Eskimo Candy take out for lunch which we ate on our lanai. We so enjoyed Koiso sushi in Kihei our last night. We stocked up on breakfast food and snacks which we kept in a kitchen in our suite. We had a fridge, toaster, microwave, and coffeemaker. We hate eating out 3 meals/day while on holiday. We appreciated the kitchen in our suite very much. My kids sneaked into the Grand Wailea pool one day and we all agreed that if you want the best kid pool, that's the one, but the Kea Lani is closer to the beach and so much less of a scene. The kids described how everyone was packed around the pool at the Grand Wailea like sardines! We like a more mellow vibe and have not done resorts previously because of that. The Kea Lani was very mellow. The lobby of the Kea Lani is exquisite. The service at the front desk, concierge, housekeeping, and at the beach were all top notch. I did not feel tipped out here at all. We did not try the spa though my daughter went to one sunset yoga class. We went for rest and relaxation; we had the best weather and the water temperature in the ocean was perfect.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Dining in Wailea that doesn't break the bank and is 5 minutes away by car: Monkeypod and Pita in Paradise.

Review of The Fairmont Kea Lani Maui

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
World traveller8
San Mateo, CA
Apr 6, 2014

Nice resort

Beautiful resort, beautiful area. This area of Hawaii is very pricey though

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of The Fairmont Kea Lani Maui

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Southern California
Aug 2, 2010

Great Hotel, Expensive

We have been to this hotel many times. We will go again. It is a perfect place for a great vacation. The cost of some of the amenities are over the top right now. $15 dollars for a Mai Tai at the pool? $30 for one buffet breakfast? $20 a day to park your rental and a tip for them to bring it to you. $15 a day for internet connections? A Best Western or Holiday Inn Express gives away free internet on a room that costs 75% less than the Kea Lani. Room Service prices are overtly expensive as well. This may be the prices at all upscale hotels BUT it is irritating and puts you off on the over all experience. The Kea Lani IS beautiful. Three great pools and a beautiful beach and the people are great. The service is very good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
1
Dining tip: In Hotel

Nicks Fish Market is simply awesome food.

Review of The Fairmont Kea Lani Maui

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Swooch
Kentucky
Sep 8, 2011

Luxurious retreat

Hotel was absolutely beautiful. Rooms were spacious (all of them are suites) and clean and the beds were some of the most comfortable I've experienced at a hotel. The grounds of the hotel were immaculate. We took advantage of the renovation rates and were not disturbed by construction in the least. However, we spent most of our time sightseeing on Maui so were mainly only at the resort to sleep, along with a little beach time there, so cannot comment on the restaurants, amenities, or resort services.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Money-saving tip: In Hotel

Hotel charges $20-25 a day for valet parking, but self-parking is free and is just a short walk.

Back to menu Return to top